DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lowery et al. (US Patent 6250973 B1).
As per claim 1, Lowery teaches a structure (shown in figure 1), for changing an inner diameter (of 10) of a circular terminal (along 10), comprising spacers 12, wherein the spacers 12 have an outer diameter (along 4, see figure 3 and 4) consistent (along 12) with an outer diameter (along 4, see figure 3 and 4) of a terminal 10 matching with the spacers 12, the spacers 12 are configured to be circumferentially distributed with clamping mechanisms (along 26, see column 3, lines 1-10), a circle (along 12) formed around multi-groups (along 2 shown in figure 2) of the clamping mechanisms (along 26, see column 3, lines 1-10) has a diameter consistent (along 12) with an inner diameter (of 10) of the terminal 10; and the spacers 12 are further configured with connecting holes 17 for matching with a binding post (along 17), and two sets (12 along top and bottom portions, shown in figure 1) of the spacers 12 are connected to the terminal 10 via the clamping mechanisms (along 26, see column 3, lines 1-10) to be as a whole (shown in figure 1) and then connected to the binding post (along 17).
As per claim 2, Lowery teaches a structure (shown in figure 1), for changing the inner diameter (of 10) of the circular terminal (along 10), wherein the clamping mechanisms (along 26, see column 3, lines 1-10) comprise mounting holes 20 and clamping pieces 26, the mounting holes 20 are circumferentially distributed in the spacers 12, and the clamping pieces 26 are configured within the mounting holes 20.
As per claim 3, Lowery teaches a structure (shown in figure 1), for changing the inner diameter (of 10) of the circular terminal (along 10), wherein the mounting holes 20 and the clamping pieces 26 are formed as an integrated structure (shown in figure 1) (shown in figure 1) by means of stamping equipment (along 10, see column 3-4, lines 64-67 and 1-5) stamped onto the spacers 12.
As per claim 5, Lowery teaches a structure (shown in figure 1), for changing the inner diameter (of 10) of the circular terminal (along 10), wherein the connecting holes 17 are eccentrically opened on the spacers 12, and centers of the connecting holes 17 are not concentric with centers of the spacers 12 and the clamping mechanisms (along 26, see column 3, lines 1-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claim 4, The prior art does not disclose or suggest: for changing the inner diameter of the circular terminal, wherein the clamping pieces have Z-shaped sheet structures.
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831