1. Drawings
The drawings were received on January 8th 2024. These drawings are accepted.
2. Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on February 28th 2024.
3. Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on March 17th 2026;
Claims 1-14 are pending and examined below.
4. Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot. While the Examiner notes that the applicant is arguing the claim limitations recite " … the blower section being upstream of a transport roller pair that is downstream of the branch section… “. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made for Claims 1, 13 and 14 over Sakagami (Patent No. US20190382227A1) in view of Kodama (Patent No. US20180015738A1), Muir (Patent No. US8936243B1) and Yamano (Patent No. US20230348220A1).
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakagami (Patent No. US20190382227A1) in view of Kodama (Patent No. US20180015738A1) Muir (Patent No. US8936243B1) and Yamano (Patent No. US20230348220A1).
Regarding claim 1 Sakagami teaches a medium (P) transport device (1) comprising; (See Sakagami paragraph 0068; “…a paper sheet transport path in the recording device 1…”); a first path configured to transport a medium; (See Sakagami paragraph 0071; “The recording device 1 includes five paper sheet transport paths such as a recording transport path R1…”);
a branch (path switching) section at which the first path branches into the second path and the
third path; (See Sakagami paragraph 0085; “A flap as a path switching member that performs the transport path switching is provided at the connection unit of each transport path. Then, a path along which the paper sheet P advances is set by the flap…”);
wherein when a medium that is transported first is defined as a first medium and a medium that is transported subsequently to the first medium is defined as a second medium, in a case where the blower section switches a transport destination between the first medium and the second medium, the blower section starts the switching operation for the second medium while the first medium is passing through the branch section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0092; “as shown in FIG. 4, the second blowing unit 52 is disposed between the discharge roller pair 25 and the discharge tray 4 in the vertical direction and blows air, from upstream toward downstream in the discharge direction D, to the other surface P1 of the paper sheet P2 to be discharged to the discharge tray 4 in the air blowing direction F2. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 3, the second blowing unit 52a, the second blowing unit 52b, and the second blowing unit 52c blow air in the air blowing direction F2a, the air blowing direction F2b, and the air blowing direction F2c respectively.”).
Sakagami does not teach But Kodama teaches, a second path arranged downstream of the first path and configured to transport a medium for discharging following recording; a third path arranged downstream of the first path and configured to transport a medium; (See Kodama paragraph 0079; “The discharging path 150 branches into a first discharging path 151, a second discharging path 152, and the third discharging path 153 at a position on the downstream side of a position at which the branch path 160 branches off from the discharging path 150. That is, after being transported along a common discharging path (upstream side discharging path) 154 which constitutes an upstream side portion of the discharging path 150, the paper sheet M on which recording is finished is guided by a guiding mechanism (switch guiding unit) 180 to any one of the first to third discharging paths 151, 152, and 153 which constitute the downstream side portion of the discharging path 150. The guiding mechanism 180 is provided at a downstream end of the common discharging path 154.”).
Both Sakagami and Kodama are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Kadama multiple paths for transporting the medium. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by multiple paths for transporting the medium to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Sakagami does not teach But Muir teaches, and a blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation for switching a transport destination of the medium transported on the first path to either the second path or the third path, and configured to transport the medium to either the second path or the third path; (See Muir column 14, line 3-33; “FIG. 17 illustrates another embodiment of a sheet-diverter system 201 in which a media sheet 210 is guided into either an upper media path 220 or a lower media path 225. In this case, a second roller assembly 261, including a second upper air source 286 and a second upper media-guiding roller 280, is provided facing the second side 16 of the media sheet 210. The upper media-guiding roller 280 has one or more grooves 284 formed into its external surface 283, and rotates around a roller axis 281 in a rotation direction 282. The rotation direction 282 is opposite to the rotation direction 82 of the first media-guiding roller 80. The controller 295 controls which media path that the media sheet 210 by selectively activating the corresponding air source 86, 286. As in FIG. 16B, the lower air source 86 can be activated to divert the media sheet 210 into the lower media path 225. However, to divert the media sheet 210 into the upper media path 220, the upper air source 286 is activated to provide an airflow 290 into the groove 284 in the upper media-guiding roller 280, and a motor (not shown) is activated to drive the media-guiding roller 280 in the rotation direction 282. The flow of air through the constriction 292 produces a Bernoulli force F which pulls the second side 16 of the media sheet 210 up into contact with the exterior surface 283 of the media-guiding roller 280, entraining the media sheet 210 around the media-guiding roller 280. This causes the leading edge 212 of the media sheet 210 to be diverted upward, bending the media sheet 210 and directing the media sheet 210 into the upper media path 220. In some embodiments, the motors driving both media-guiding rollers 80, 280 are activated continuously, even when the media sheet 210 is to be directed into the other media path.”).
Both Sakagami and Muir are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Muir blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by adding blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Sakagami does not teach But Yamano teaches, the blower section being upstream of a transport roller pair that is downstream of the branch section; (See Yamano paragraph 0095; “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the air blowing port 71b of the present embodiment is arranged further upstream than the first roller pair 61 arranged upstream of the switching guide 65, that is, upstream of a downstream end position of the first roller pair 61. According to this configuration, not only the guide member and the sheets but also the first roller pair 61 can be cooled by the air from the first fan 71.”).
Both Sakagami and Yamano are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Yamano blower section being upstream. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by adding blower section being upstream to perform a switching operation to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches further comprising: a flap member configured to be displaced to a first position at which the medium is transported to the second path and a second position at which the medium is transported to the third path, wherein the flap member is displaced in accordance with a transport destination of the medium when a basis weight of the medium is larger than a threshold; (See Sakagami paragraph 0085; “A flap as a path switching member that performs the transport path switching is provided at the connection unit of each transport path. Then, a path along which the paper sheet P advances is set by the flap…”).
Regarding claim 3 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches wherein the blower section includes a first blower section configured to blow air to a first surface of the medium and a second blower section configured to blow air to a second surface of the medium opposite from the first surface; (See Sakagami paragraph 0024; “…air is blown, from upstream toward downstream in the discharge direction, to one surface of the recording medium by the first blowing unit from above in the vertical direction, and air is blown, from upstream toward downstream in the discharge direction, to the other surface of the recording medium by the second blowing unit from below in the vertical direction…”).
Regarding claim 5 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches wherein the second path is a path that transports the medium to a first discharge section that discharges the medium with a first surface facing downward and the third path is a path that transports the medium to a second discharge section that discharges the medium with the first surface facing upward; (See Sakagami paragraph 0068-0070; “a paper sheet transport path in the recording device 1 … includes three paper sheet feeding paths such as a feeding path (refer to cassette feeding trajectory S1) …the recording device 1 has two paper sheet discharge methods such as a face-up discharge (refer to face-up discharge trajectory T1) of discharging with the recording surface on which the latest recording was performed facing up and a face-down discharge (refer to face-down discharge trajectory T2) … the recording device 1 includes a face-up paper sheet discharge tray 7 that receives the paper sheet P discharged face up as shown in FIG. 2…”).
Regarding claim 6 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches further comprising: a recording section configured to perform recording on the medium, wherein the second path is a path that transports the medium to a discharge section that discharges the medium recorded by the recording section and the third path is a path that returns the medium recorded by the recording section to upstream of the recording section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0069 and 0071; “…the recording device 1 has two paper sheet discharge methods such as a face-up discharge (refer to face-up discharge trajectory T1) of discharging with the recording surface on which the latest recording was performed facing up and a face-down discharge (refer to face-down discharge trajectory T2) of discharging with the recording surface on which the latest recording was performed facing down… The recording device 1 includes five paper sheet transport paths such as a recording transport path R1, a switchback path R2, a reversing path R3, a face-down discharge path R4, and a face-up discharge path R5.”).
Regarding claim 7 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches further comprising: a recording section configured to perform recording on the medium; a determination section configured to determine a recording state of the medium recorded by the recording section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0073; “The control unit 9 that performs various types of control acquires recording data to be recorded, generated by a printer driver operating on an external computer (not shown) or a printer driver included in the control unit 9. Then, based on the recording data, the control unit 9 controls an ink jet recording head (hereinafter referred to as “recording head”) 8…”); a first tray to which the medium determined as normal recording by the determination section is discharged; and a second tray to which the medium determined as abnormal recording by the determination section is discharged, wherein the second path is a path that transports the medium to the first tray and the third path is a path that transports the medium to the second tray; (See Sakagami paragraph 0068; “…The recording device 1 includes three paper sheet feeding paths such as a feeding path (refer to cassette feeding trajectory S1) from the paper sheet cassette 10A, feeding paths (refer to additional cassette feeding trajectory S2) from the paper sheet cassettes 10B and 10C (not shown in FIG. 2), and a feeding path (refer to manual feeding path S3) from the manual tray 41 stacked with the paper sheet P.”)
Regarding claim 8 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches further comprising: a recording section configured to perform recording on the medium; (See Sakagami paragraph 0060; “…the recording is performed on the recording medium…”);wherein the blower section changes a blowing amount in accordance with a recording condition of the recording section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0037; “…it is possible to suppress unnecessary air blowing after the recording medium is removed from the discharge tray or when the predetermined time has elapsed after the recording medium was last discharged from the discharge unit, and deformation of the recording medium hardly occurs.”).
Regarding claim 12 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami also teaches further comprising: a fourth path that is connected to the first path, the second path, and the third path at the branch section and that is a straight path with respect to the first path, wherein the blower section does not blow air when a transport destination of the medium is set to the fourth path; (See Sakagami paragraph 0072; “…the recording device 1 includes a flap (path switching member) 33 driven by a driving source (not shown) and switches between a state denoted by a solid line and a state denoted by a flap 33-1 of an imaginary line in FIG. 2. When the flap 33 is in a state denoted by the solid line in FIG. 2, the paper sheet P is guided to the face-down discharge path R4 and is discharged face down as shown by the face-down discharge trajectory T2. The downstream end of the face-down discharge path R4 is composed of a discharge mechanism unit 36. It should be noted that a plurality of driven rollers (spurs) are provided in the region J1 in FIG. 2. When the flap 33 is in a state of the imaginary line in FIG. 2, the paper sheet P is guided to the race-up discharge path R5 and discharged face up as shown by the face-up discharge trajectory T1.”).
Regarding claim 13 Sakagami teaches a liquid ejection device comprising: an ejection section configured to eject liquid on a medium; (See Sakagami paragraph 0081; “The recording head 8 of the present embodiment is a recording head (so-called line head) provided so that a nozzle that ejects the ink covers the entire area in the paper sheet width direction, and is composed of the recording head that is configured to record on the entire paper sheet width without moving in the paper sheet width direction. However, the recording head is not limited to a line head as long as the recording head records by ejecting a liquid such as ink onto a recording medium.”); a first path configured to transport the medium on which liquid is ejected by the ejection section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0080; “The recording transport path R1 as the first transport path passes below the recording head 8 as a recording unit that records by ejecting ink which is a liquid onto a paper sheet P and that extends upstream and downstream thereof….”);
wherein when a medium that is transported first is defined as a first medium and a medium that is transported subsequently to the first medium is defined as a second medium, in a case where the blower section switches a transport destination between the first medium and the second medium, the blower section starts the switching operation for the second medium while the first medium is passing through the branch section; (See Sakagami paragraph 0092; “as shown in FIG. 4, the second blowing unit 52 is disposed between the discharge roller pair 25 and the discharge tray 4 in the vertical direction and blows air, from upstream toward downstream in the discharge direction D, to the other surface P1 of the paper sheet P2 to be discharged to the discharge tray 4 in the air blowing direction F2. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 3, the second blowing unit 52a, the second blowing unit 52b, and the second blowing unit 52c blow air in the air blowing direction F2a, the air blowing direction F2b, and the air blowing direction F2c respectively.”).
Sakagami does not teach But Kodama teaches, a second path arranged downstream of the first path and configured to transport a medium for discharging following recording by the ejection section; a third path arranged downstream of the first path and configured to transport a medium; (See Kodama paragraph 0079; “The discharging path 150 branches into a first discharging path 151, a second discharging path 152, and the third discharging path 153 at a position on the downstream side of a position at which the branch path 160 branches off from the discharging path 150. That is, after being transported along a common discharging path (upstream side discharging path) 154 which constitutes an upstream side portion of the discharging path 150, the paper sheet M on which recording is finished is guided by a guiding mechanism (switch guiding unit) 180 to any one of the first to third discharging paths 151, 152, and 153 which constitute the downstream side portion of the discharging path 150. The guiding mechanism 180 is provided at a downstream end of the common discharging path 154.”);
a branch section at which the first path branches into the second path and the third path; (See Kodama paragraph 0074; “In the third supply path 143, in the case of duplex printing in which images are recorded on both surfaces of the paper sheet M, the paper sheet M with one surface on which recording has been performed by the recording unit 110 is transported to the recording unit 110 again. That is, the branch path 160 which branches off from the discharging path 150 is provided on the downstream side of the recording unit 110 in the transportation direction. That is, when duplex printing is performed, the paper sheet M is transported to the branch path 160 with the branch mechanism 147 being operated, the branch mechanism 147 being provided in the middle of the discharging path 150. In addition, in the branch path 160, a pair of branch path rollers 161 which can be rotated forwards and backwards is provided on the downstream side of the branch mechanism 147.”).
Both Sakagami and Kodama are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Kadama multiple paths for transporting the medium. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by multiple paths for transporting the medium to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Sakagami does not teach But Muir teaches, and a blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation for switching a transport destination of the medium transported on the first path to either the second path or the third path, and to transport the medium to either the second path or the third path; (See Muir column 14, line 3-33; “FIG. 17 illustrates another embodiment of a sheet-diverter system 201 in which a media sheet 210 is guided into either an upper media path 220 or a lower media path 225. In this case, a second roller assembly 261, including a second upper air source 286 and a second upper media-guiding roller 280, is provided facing the second side 16 of the media sheet 210. The upper media-guiding roller 280 has one or more grooves 284 formed into its external surface 283, and rotates around a roller axis 281 in a rotation direction 282. The rotation direction 282 is opposite to the rotation direction 82 of the first media-guiding roller 80. The controller 295 controls which media path that the media sheet 210 by selectively activating the corresponding air source 86, 286. As in FIG. 16B, the lower air source 86 can be activated to divert the media sheet 210 into the lower media path 225. However, to divert the media sheet 210 into the upper media path 220, the upper air source 286 is activated to provide an airflow 290 into the groove 284 in the upper media-guiding roller 280, and a motor (not shown) is activated to drive the media-guiding roller 280 in the rotation direction 282. The flow of air through the constriction 292 produces a Bernoulli force F which pulls the second side 16 of the media sheet 210 up into contact with the exterior surface 283 of the media-guiding roller 280, entraining the media sheet 210 around the media-guiding roller 280. This causes the leading edge 212 of the media sheet 210 to be diverted upward, bending the media sheet 210 and directing the media sheet 210 into the upper media path 220. In some embodiments, the motors driving both media-guiding rollers 80, 280 are activated continuously, even when the media sheet 210 is to be directed into the other media path.”).
Both Sakagami and Muir are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Muir blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by adding blower section configured to blow air to perform a switching operation to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Sakagami does not teach But Yamano teaches, the blower section being upstream of a transport roller pair that is downstream of the branch section; (See Yamano paragraph 0095; “As illustrated in FIG. 7, the air blowing port 71b of the present embodiment is arranged further upstream than the first roller pair 61 arranged upstream of the switching guide 65, that is, upstream of a downstream end position of the first roller pair 61. According to this configuration, not only the guide member and the sheets but also the first roller pair 61 can be cooled by the air from the first fan 71.”).
Both Sakagami and Yamano are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Yamano blower section being upstream. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by adding blower section being upstream to perform a switching operation to maintain smooth transportation and correct posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
With respect to the independent claim 14, please see rejection above with respect to
claim 13 which is commensurate in scope to claim 14 except for a post-process device connected to a liquid ejection device, the post-process device comprising: an introduction section configured to introduce a medium on which liquid is ejected by an ejection section included in the liquid ejection device; (See Sakagami paragraph 0023; “a recording device includes a recording head that records by ejecting a liquid onto a recording medium, a discharge unit that discharges the recording medium recorded by the recording head, a discharge tray that receives, from a lower side in the vertical direction…”).
Claims 4 and 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakagami (Patent No. US20190382227A1) in view of Kodama (Patent No. US20180015738A1), Muir (Patent No. US8936243B1), Yamano (Patent No. US20230348220A1) and Ueda (Patent No. US8167298B2).
Regarding claim 4 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 3, Sakagami does not teach but Ueda teaches, wherein the first blower section blows air to the medium by sucking air and the second blower section blows air to the medium by spraying air; (See Ueda column 6, line 4-15; “Suction device 64 is divided into two sucking ducts 64a and 64b in the conveyance direction (direction of arrow X) for sheet P. The sucking ducts 64a and 64b can be switched between an occasion to suck with only sucking duct 64a and an occasion to suck with both sucking ducts 64a and 64b. Details of these two sucking ducts 64a and 64b will be described in detail later. As shown in FIG. 2 and FIG. 5, side blowing section 40 that blows air against an upper portion of superposed sheets P in sheet tray 31 in the side direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction for sheet P, is arranged on each of both sides of sheet tray 31.”).
Both Sakagami and Ueda are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Ueda a blower that blows air to the medium by sucking air and by spraying air as it is shown on figure 3 of Ueda. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by installing a blower that blows air to the medium by sucking air and by spraying air to maintain correct transportation and posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami does not teach but Ueda teaches, wherein as the switching operation, the blower section changes a blowing amount blown to the medium; (See Ueda column 6-7, line 64-2; “Blowing section 50 is controlled in terms of driving, depending on types of sheet P. Namely, for occasions such as OHP film, tracing paper, coated paper having smooth surface, sheet with perforated lines or streaks and offset-printed sheet coated with sword powder, air is blown into a clearance between sheets so that separation is carried out surely.”).
Both Sakagami and Ueda are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Ueda the blower section changes a blowing amount blown to the medium. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by installing the blower section changes a blowing amount blown to the medium to maintain correct transportation and posture of the medium. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 10, Sakagami also teaches wherein as the switching operation, the blower section changes air blown to the medium from a first blowing amount at which a transport direction of the medium does not change to a second blowing amount at which a transport direction of the medium changes by an amount larger than the first blowing amount; (See Sakagami paragraph 0037 and 0048; “…it is possible to suppress unnecessary air blowing after the recording medium is removed from the discharge tray or when the predetermined time has elapsed after the recording medium was last discharged from the discharge unit, and deformation of the recording medium hardly occurs… the control unit in the recording device causes the first blowing unit and the fourth blowing unit to change the air blowing directions in accordance with the position of the side end portion of the recording medium in the state of being discharged to the discharge tray in the width direction that intersects with the discharge direction.”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakagami (Patent No. US20190382227A1) in view of Kodama (Patent No. US20180015738A1), Muir (Patent No. US8936243B1), Yamano (Patent No. US20230348220A1) and Auf Der Maur (Patent No. US20090195631A1).
Regarding claim 9 Sakagami in view of Kodama and Muir teaches the medium transport device according to claim 1, Sakagami does not teach but Auf Der Maur teaches, wherein the blower section blows air containing ions; (See Auf Der Maur paragraph 0020; “…The ion nozzle is provided for generating a planar air jet 38 which blows parallel to the conveyor direction F and which comprises charged particles (ions), with the planar air jet 38 propagating in a plane 40 which is determined by the ion nozzle 36 and which is oriented parallel to the shaft floor 26 and hence parallel to the stacked printed products 10. The ion nozzle 36 is situated below the bearing surface for the printed products 10 defined by the conveyor belts 30, and the air jet 38 blows into the stacking shaft 22 from over the shaft wall 24 facing the ion nozzle 36.”).
Both Sakagami and Auf Der Maur are in the same field of recording device. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sakagami medium transporting device with Auf Der Maur the blower section blows air containing ions. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sakagami by installing the blower section blows air containing ions. Further, finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666