DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 12 December 2025.
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“lock biasing member configured to bias” in claims 1 and 17. Which is interpreted as “a lock biasing member 29 is interposed between the lock member 28 and the holder 24. A compression spring may be used for the lock biasing member 29. The lock biasing member 29 biases the lock member 28 against the holder 24 in a direction projecting to the feed direction.” (Specification ¶[0070]).
“removal preventing member configured to prevent” in claim 6. Which is interpreted as “the removal preventing member 24d, which restricts the range of movement of the lock member 28, is a shaft member as shown in FIG. 12. Instead, the removal preventing member may be configured to use a protrusion.” (Specification ¶[0091]). “The removal preventing member 24d may be replaced by a spring pin.” (¶[0092]). “A removal preventing member 24d provided on the guide portion 24c enters the recess 28c. In this example, a shaft member is used for the removal preventing member 24d. The removal preventing member 24d is supported in the thickness direction of the lock member 28. The removal preventing member 24d restricts the lock member 28 from being removed from the guide portion 24c.” (¶[0067]).
“a pusher biasing member configured to bias” in claim 12. Which is interpreted as “[t]he pusher biasing member 27 configured to bias the pusher 22 m the feed direction T of the driven member t is a coiled leaf spring as shown in FIG. 7. Alternatively, a compression spring or a tension spring may be used as a pusher biasing member.” (Specification ¶[0097])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 8-11 are disclosed as a second embodiment (Specification ¶[0113]), which is not disclosed as being usable with the first embodiment, claim 1, and/or would be capable of working with the first embodiment. Therefore, the combination of claim 1 with claims 8-11 are new matter because the combination of claims 1 and 8-11 were not previously disclosed in the originally filed specification and drawings.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, recites “plate-like”, which is indefinite because it is unclear what exactly a plate like member is, is it a plate or not. Further, is it shaped like a dinner plate that holds something or is it a flat plate shaped.
Claim 8, recites “the lock member is displaceable in the pusher in a direction different from the movement direction of the pusher”, which contradicts claim 1 wherein the lock member is displaceable parallel to a movement direction. Referring to the Applicant’s specification “[a]ccording to the first example, the lock member 28 is provided displaceable in the holder 24 of the pusher 22 in a direction parallel to the movement direction of the pusher 22. Thus, the lock member 28 may be compactly incorporated into the pusher 22.” ¶[0084]. Then later in the specification “the lock member is displaceable in the pusher in a direction different from the movement direction of the pusher.” ¶[0119]. “The magazine 70 is equipped with a lock member 80 shown in FIG. 16, which differs from that of the first example.” ¶[0113]. Which clearly states that these are two different embodiments that are not disclosed as being usable together, therefore it is unclear how the lock member is both movable parallel and not parallel, therefore indefinite. Examiner is unable to interpret this limitation.
Claims 9-11 are also rejected as being dependent from claim 8 and being of a different embodiment not disclosed being usable with the embodiment claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (US 7,182,236) in view of Zimmerman (US 2021/0299833).
Wen teaches:
Claim 1: A driving tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a driver (15-fig.1) configured to drive a driven member into a workpiece (2:32-44);
a contact arm (13-fig.2) pressed against the workpiece and configured to move with respect to a tool body (1-fig.1) for a driving operation of the driver (2:45-53);
a magazine (17-fig.1) configured to load the driven member (2:32-37);
a pusher (14-figs.1-2) moveable within the magazine configured to push and load the driven member into a driving channel of the driver (2:32-37);
a lock member (2-fig.2) that is integrated within the pusher and capable of being displaceable parallel to a movement direction of the pusher (see figs. 6 and 10 showing 10 integrated with the pusher 14 and displaceable parallel to the movement direction of the magazine; 3:4-8); and
a lock biasing member (3-fig.2) configured to bias the lock member in a direction projecting from the pusher (3:9-15), wherein
the lock member (2-fig.2) moves against a biasing pressure of the lock biasing member (3-fig.2) and is displaced to a retracted position when a distal end face (A-annotate fig.8) of the lock member is abutted from a side (A-annotate fig.8) against the contact arm (figs.4-8), when the driver is in a standby position and when one more than a predetermined number of driven members remains in the magazine (3:20-34),
the lock member (2-fig.2) enters a movement path (up arrow shown in fig.10) of the contact arm (13-fig.2) from the retracted position to restrict the movement of the contact arm when the number of driven members remaining in the magazine reaches the predetermined number (3:35-52).
Wen does not expressly teach a lift mechanism configured to return the driver in a direction opposite to a driving direction of the driven member.
However, Zimmerman teaches a lift mechanism (78-fig.3) configured to return the driver in a direction opposite to a driving direction of the driven member [¶0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Wen, by having the driving/lift mechanism, as taught by Zimmerman, as a well-known alternative driving mechanism for driving nails and returning the driver blade to stand-by in nail guns.
Wen as modified by Zimmerman further teaches:
Claim 2: The driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the driven member is configured to encounter a lateral side of an end in the driving direction of the driver in a stand-by position (Wen: 3:35-52; fig.5).
Claim 3: The driving tool according to claim 2, wherein the driven member (Wen: 5-fig.5; Zimmerman: ¶[0033]) is pushed and loaded by the pusher into the driving channel of the driver (Wen: 14-fig.5, 2:32-37) while the driver reaches a top dead center from the stand-by position (Zimmerman: ¶[0033],[0037]).
Claim 6: The driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the pusher has
a guide portion (Wen: 141-fig.2) movable to support the lock member (Wen: 3:4-8) and
a removal preventing member (Wen: B-annotated fig.2) configured to prevent the lock member from being removed from the guide portion (Wen: 3:4-8).
Claim 7: The driving tool according to claim 6, wherein the lock member is a plate-like (Wen: C-annotated fig.2) member including:
a support portion (Wen:22-fig.2) located within the guide portion (Wen: 141-fig.2), and
an engaging portion (Wen: D-annotated fig.2) located outside the guide portion and bent against the support portion extending along a plane across the guide portion (Wen: see annotated fig.2).
Claim 12: The driving tool according to claim 1 further comprising: a pusher biasing member (Wen: 18-fig.2) configured to bias the pusher toward the driving channel (Wen: 2:64-2:3).
Claim 13: The driving tool according to claim 12, wherein a force of the lock biasing member (Wen: 3-fig.2) is weaker than a biasing force of the pusher biasing member (Wen: 3:4-15).
Claim 14: The driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the pusher includes a holder (Wen: 4-fig.7) in which the lock member (Wen: 2-fig.2) is displaceable and a pusher piece (Wen: 14-fig.7) that is rotatably provided (Wen: see fig.4 showing 14 is not tightly placed within the guide track therefore capable of minute rotation when the nails are pushed) on the holder and is in contact with the driven member (Wen: 2:34-3:3).
Claim 15: The driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the driven member is loaded in the driving direction as the driven member comes closer to the driving channel (Wen: 2:64-2:3; figs. 4-7).
Claim 16: The driving tool according to claim 1, wherein the driver (Zimmerman: 26-fig.2) has a coupled piston (Zimmerman: 22-fig.2), and wherein a movement of the coupled piston generates gas pressure that causes the driver to perform a driving operation (Zimmerman: ¶[0033],[0037]).
Wen teaches:
Claim 17: A driving tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a driver (15-fig.1) configured to drive a driven member into a workpiece (2:32-44);
a driving nose (at least 11,12-fig.1) allocated at a lower part of a tool body (1-fig.1), wherein the driving nose includes
a driver guide (111-fig.1) coupled to a lower part of the tool body (see fig.1 showing 111 at the lower part of the tool body 1), and
a contact arm (13-fig.2) pressed against the workpiece and configured to move with respect to the tool body (1-fig.1) for performing a driving operation of the driver (2:45-53);
a magazine (17-fig.1) coupled to a rear side of the driver guide (see fig.1 showing 17 coupled to 11 on a rear side) and configured to load the driven member (2:32-37);
a pusher (14-fig.1) configured to push the driven member toward a driving channel of the driver, wherein the pusher includes a holder (4-fig.7), a lock member (2-fig.2), and a pusher piece (14-fig.7); and
the lock member (2-fig.2) that is integrated within the pusher and capable of being displaceable parallel to a movement direction of the pusher (2:45-53; and
a lock biasing member (3-fig.2) configured to bias the lock member in a direction projecting from the pusher (3:9-15), wherein
the lock member (2-fig.2) moves against a biasing pressure of the lock biasing member (3-fig.2) and is displaced to a retracted position when a distal end face (A- annotate fig.8) of the lock member is abutted from a side (A-annotate fig.8) against the contact arm (figs.4-8), when the driver is in a standby position and when one more than a predetermined number of driven members remains in the magazine (3:20-34),
the lock member (2-fig.2) encounters a movement path (up arrow shown in fig.10) of the contact arm (13-fig.2) from the retracted position to restrict the movement of the contact arm when the number of driven members remaining in the magazine reaches the predetermined number (3:35-52).
Wendoes not teach expressly teach a driver configured to drive a driven member into a workpiece, wherein the driver has a plurality of engaging portions, and the driver is coupled to a piston; lift mechanism sequentially engageable with the plurality of engaging portions for returning the driver in a direction opposite to a driving direction of the driven member.
However, Zimmerman teaches a driver (10-fig.2) configured to drive a driven member into a workpiece (¶[0037]), wherein the driver has a plurality of engaging portions (¶[0036]-[0037]), and the driver is coupled to a piston (22-fig.2; ¶[0033]); lift mechanism sequentially engageable with the plurality of engaging portions for returning the driver in a direction opposite to a driving direction of the driven member (¶[0036]-[0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Wen, by having the driving/lift mechanism, as taught by Zimmerman, as a well-known alternative driving mechanism for driving nails and returning the driver blade to stand-by in nail guns.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen (US 7,182,236) in view of Zimmerman (US 2021/0299833), further in view of Yu (US 8,104,658).
Wen as modified by Zimmerman further teaches:
Claim 18: The driving tool according to claim 17.
Wen as modified by Zimmerman does not expressly teach a pusher comprises a pusher claw supported by the holder via a support shaft, wherein the holder has an upper guide edge allocated on an upper surface of the holder and a lower guide edge allocated on a lower surface of the holder.
However, Yu teaches a pusher (21-fig.1) comprises a pusher claw (22-fig.1) supported by the holder via a support shaft (D-annotated fig.1), wherein the holder has an upper guide edge (E-annotated fig.1) allocated on an upper surface of the holder and a lower guide edge (F-annotated fig.1) allocated on a lower surface of the holder (3:20-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the tool of Wen and Zimmerman, by adding a pusher claw, as taught by Yu, to assist in moving the strip of nails to the driving channel, thus decreasing the chance of incorrect feeding or misfire.
Wen as modified by Zimmerman and Yu further teaches:
Claim 19: The driving tool of claim 18, wherein the magazine (Yu: 2-fig.1) comprises an upper guide rail (Yu: G-annotated fig.1) configured to hold the upper guide edge, and a lower guider rail (Yu: H-annotated fig.1) configured to hold the lower guide edge (Yu: 3:20-45).
Claim 20: The driving tool according to claim 17, wherein the pusher piece is biased by a torsion spring (Yu: 73-fig.1) having a first end engageable with an upper surface of the pusher piece and a second end engageable with the holder (Yu: 4:1-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731