DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or § 103
Claims 1 – 12 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Borla (US 5,198,625).
With respect to claim 1, Borla teaches a muffler (Fig.1) comprising a shell (Fig.1, Item 10) defining a shell cavity, the shell having a shell longitudinal axis, a shell first end, and a shell second end opposite and spaced apart along the shell longitudinal axis from the shell first end (Fig.1, Item 10), wherein the shell first end and the shell second end each define a shell opening extending to the shell cavity; and a tube assembly (Fig.1, Item 24) disposed within the shell cavity, the tube assembly including three or more nested tubes (Figs.1 and 4, Items 21, 23, 25, 27, 29 and 31), each of the three or more nested tubes having a tube longitudinal axis parallel to the shell longitudinal axis (Fig.3), a tube first end, and a tube second end opposite and spaced apart along the tube longitudinal axis from the tube first end (Fig.3), wherein each of the three or more nested tubes defines a plurality of perforations (Figs.1 and 3, Items 28), wherein the three or more nested tubes are circularly arranged around the shell longitudinal axis (Fig.4) such that portions of sides of the three or more nested tubes form an open portion (Fig.4, Item 33) extending along the shell longitudinal axis, the open portion located at a center of the tube assembly.
Or in the alternative, Borla fails to particularly disclose wherein the open portion located at a center of the tube assembly.
The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to eliminate the Borla central tube in order to provide an open portion located at a center of the tube assembly because it would tune the muffler to attenuate sound at a predetermined frequency range while providing a desired airflow profile as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application without departing from the scope and spirit of the Borla invention. Furthermore, it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karison, 136.USPQ 184.
With respect to claim 2, Borla teaches wherein the tube assembly further includes a first collar (Fig.1, Item 20) and a second collar (Fig.1, Item 22) each defining a collar longitudinal axis, a collar first end, and a collar second end opposite and spaced apart along the collar longitudinal axis from the collar first end, wherein the collar first end defines a collar opening extending to the collar second end, wherein the tube first end of each of the three or more nested tubes are disposed within the collar second end of the first collar, and the tube second end of each of the three or more nested tubes are disposed within the collar second end of the second collar (Figs.1 and 3, Items 20 and 22).
With respect to claim 3, Borla teaches wherein the collar opening of the collar first end has a first cross-sectional area as viewed in a plane perpendicular to the collar longitudinal axis, and the collar opening of the collar second end has a second cross-sectional area as viewed in a plane perpendicular to the collar longitudinal axis, wherein the second cross-sectional area is greater than the first cross-sectional area (Figs.1 and 3, Items 20 and 22).
With respect to claim 4, Borla teaches wherein the collar first end has a cylindrical shape (Fig.3, Item 37).
With respect to claim 5, Borla teaches wherein the collar opening of the collar second end of the first collar and the second collar defines three or more lobes (Fig.5, Item 22) having an arcuate cross-section as viewed in a place perpendicular to the collar longitudinal axis, wherein each of the three or more nested tubes is disposed within a different one of the three or more lobes (Fig.3, Item 22).
With respect to claim 6, Borla teaches wherein the three or more lobes each have a radius of curvature corresponding to a radius of curvature of one of the three or more nested tubes (Figs.4 and 5).
With respect to claim 7, Borla teaches further including a first end cap (Fig.1, Item 12) and a second end cap (Fig.1, Item 14), wherein each of the first end cap and the second end cap defines an end cap opening, wherein the first end cap is disposed within the shell opening of the shell first end, and the second end cap is disposed within the shell opening of the shell second end (Figs.1 and 3).
With respect to claim 8, Borla teaches wherein the collar first end (Fig.3, Item 35) of the first collar is disposed within the end cap (Fig.3, Item 12) opening of the first end cap, and the first collar end (Fig.3, Item 41) of the second collar is disposed within the end cap opening of the second end cap (Fig.3, Item 14).
With respect to claim 9, Borla teaches wherein the end cap opening defines a flange extending axially relative to the shell longitudinal axis (Fig.3).
With respect to claim 10, Borla teaches wherein the flange of the end cap opening is configured to be couplable to one of an inlet duct or an outlet duct of an exhaust system (Fig.3, Items 16 and 18).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Borla teaches wherein the three or more nested tubes comprises five or more nested tubes; and wherein the five or more nested tubes comprises six or more nested tubes (Fig.4. Items 21, 23, 25, 27, 29 and 31).
With respect to claims 17 – 20, Borla teaches, further comprising a sound attenuating material (Figs.1 and 3, Item 26) disposed within the shell cavity between the three or more nested tubes (Figs.1 and 3, Item 24) and the shell (Figs.1 and 3, Item 10), wherein the sound attenuating material comprises steel wool, fiberglass or ceramic fiber (Col.3, Lines 59 – 60).
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borla (US 5,198,625).
With respect to claims 13 – 15, Borla teaches the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fails to particularly disclose wherein each of the three or more nested tubes has an outer surface, wherein the plurality of perforations are located on a portion of the outer surface covering 5% to 80% of each of the three or more nested tubes; wherein the portion of the outer surface covers 20% to 40% of each of the three or more nested tubes; or wherein each of the three or more nested tubes has an outer surface, wherein the plurality of perforations are located substantially completely around of each of the three or more nested tubes.
The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the nested tubes with a predetermined number/amount/percentage of perforations because it would help control the fluid-flow through the tubes into the sound attenuating material, in this manner tuning the muffler to provide a desired acoustic and fluid-flow performance as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 16, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to provide the shell having an oval cross-sectional shape as viewed in a plane perpendicular to the shell longitudinal axis because it could provide a compact/space-saving and/or aerodynamic configuration without departing from the scope and spirit of the Borla invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examine still considers that the patent to Borla teaches the limitations described in the claims as discussed above.
The Examiner considers that any person with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the Borla central tube creates an “open portion located at a center of the tube assembly” since, by definition, a tube is a hollow/open element that will permit the free flow of gases through it.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
January 16, 2026