DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the sidewall” in Line 4 of the Claim. It is not clear whether “the sidewall” is referencing “a first sidewall”, “a second sidewall” or “a third sidewall” rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes “the sidewall” is being interpreted as “ the first, second or third sidewall”.
Claims 8-14 are rejected because they depend on rejected Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lavoie et al. 2022/0127087.
In Re Claim 1, Lavoie et al. teach a quick-attach hopper device comprising: a hopper body (12) comprised of an interior space formed by a sidewall and a bottom wall; (Fig. 1) a quick-attach plate (23, Fig. 7a-8b) positioned on an exterior surface of the sidewall; and a fork pocket (52) comprised of an opening (52, Paragraph 65).
In Re Claim 2, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the body is comprised of a stiffening angle (3 stiffening angles on shown on side in Fig. 1).
In Re Claim 3, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the body is comprised of a curved lip (lip around edge of body, Fig. 1).
In Re Claim 4, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the bottom wall (angled wall shown in Fig. 1) is angled.
In Re Claim 5, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the bottom wall forms an angle between 0 and 180 degrees. (Fig. 1, 7a, 7b show that angle is between 0 and 180 degrees)
In Re Claim 7, as best understood, Lavoie et al. teach quick-attach hopper device comprising: a hopper body (12) comprised of an interior space formed by a first sidewall, a second sidewall, a third sidewall, and a bottom wall; (Fig. 1) a quick-attach plate (23, Fig. 7a-8b) positioned on an exterior surface of the sidewall; and a fork pocket (52) comprised of an opening (52, Paragraph 65).
In Re Claim 9, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the body is comprised of a stiffening angle (3 stiffening angles on shown on side in Fig. 1).
In Re Claim 10, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the body is comprised of a curved lip (lip around edge of body, Fig. 1).
In Re Claim 11, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the bottom wall (angled wall shown in Fig. 1) is angled.
In Re Claim 12, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the bottom wall forms an angle between 0 and 180 degrees. (Fig. 1, 7a, 7b show that angle is between 0 and 180 degrees)
In Re Claim 15, Lavoie et al. teach a method of using a quick-attach hopper device (10), the method comprising the following steps: providing a quick-attach hopper device comprised of a hopper body (12) comprised of an interior space formed by a first side wall, a second side wall, and a bottom wall, (Fig. 1) a fork pocket (52), and a quick-attach plate (23); filling the interior space with a material; (Paragraph 60, Material is received in the receptacle) attaching the quick-attach hopper device to a piece of machinery; (Paragraph 91) and manipulating the quick-attach hopper device via the piece of machinery such that the hopper body is tilted and the material is dumped. (Fig. 9 and 10)
In Re Claim 18, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the piece of machinery is comprised of a forklift (18, fig. 9).
In Re Claim 19, Lavoie et al. teach wherein the forklift attaches to a forklift pocket (52, Paragraph 65) of the quick-attach hopper device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie et al. and in view of Bonilla et al. 2024/0025598.
In Re Claims 6, 14 and 20, Lavoie et al. teach the device of Claims 1, 7 and 15 as discussed above.
Lavoie et al. do not teach wherein the hopper body is comprised of a safety label.
However, Bonilla et al. teach a body (Fig. 1) that is comprised of a safety label (See Paragraph 30, Label for dangerous material);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to add a safety label in the device of Lavoie et al. as taught by Bonilla et al. with a reasonable expectation for success in order to identify material being handled allow proper personal protection equipment to be used if needed.
Claims 8, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie et al. and in view of Drexelius et al. 2006/0073004.
In Re Claims 8, 13, 16 and 17, Lavoie et al. teach the device of Claims 7 and 15 as discussed above.
Lavoie et al. do not teach wherein the exterior surface is comprised of a gusset.
However, Drexelius et al. teach wherein the exterior surface is comprised of a gusset; (3 gussets shown at the top of 12, Fig. 1) and wherein the quick-attach plate receives a skid-steer (30); and wherein the skid steer attaches to a quick-attach plate (horizontal plate shown welded to 14a and 14b, Fig. 3) of the quick-attach hopper device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to add a gusset to the device of Lavoie et al. as taught by Drexelius et al. with a reasonable expectation for success in order to make a stronger container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mendez, Genter et al. and Haven et al. teach a quick attach hopper device comprising fork pockets for a forklift and the hopper device it tiltable to dump contents.
GLENN F. MYERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/GLENN F MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3652