DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deixler et al (US 20230048423 A1) in view of Mai et al (EP-3872520 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Deixler et al discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100) for use in an environment comprising at least two Wi-Fi sensing modules (several Wi-Fi enabled gateways are used per floor and each of them is backhauling the data from a subset of the Zigbee lights to the cloud and large amounts of RF-based sensing data are backhauled to the cloud, e.g. for advanced machine learning and analytics; paragraph 0089, 0100), the Wi-Fi sensing module comprising: a first radio communication module configured to operate under a Wi-Fi communication protocol to transmit and receive Wi-Fi sensing data between the Wi-Fi sensing module and an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods; the radio frequency signal is used for presence and/or location detection; RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipment luminaires; paragraph 0059, 0100); a second radio communication (the processor 25 is further configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods; paragraph 0059; step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the second protocol is Zigbee ; paragraph 0202); and one or more processor configured to: execute Wi-Fi sensing software for processing Wi-Fi sensing data that conforms to the Wi-Fi communication protocol, for the purpose of detecting presence and/or motion in an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (RF-based presence detection is also referred to as RF-based sensing; RF-based localization (or location detection) is also referred to as RF-based asset tracking (the asset may be an object, animal or person, for example); RF-based asset tracking may be used if a target/asset needs to be detected and/or located that carries or incorporates a dedicated transmitter or receiver; the asset being tracked may receive or transmit BLE beacons, for example; RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data (e.g. number of retries until a message is successfully delivered) changes on the wireless links between different nodes of a network ; paragraph 0059-0060); and execute wireless communication software for processing communication data (using a computer program running on one or more processors) that conforms to the second radio communication protocol, for the purpose of establishing a communication link for exchanging communication data with one or more second Wi-Fi sensing module in the environment (the device itself will remember the Zigbee channel and other relevant network characteristics such as PAN, EPID, network key, network update id, short address, Trust Center address and Trust Center link key ; so, after changing role, it can be part of the network again, and start to function in its new role; it will re-join the network using the stored network parameters and credentials; furthermore, the Zigbee router devices send their link status, therefore each Zigbee device joins the network by establishing a Zigbee link; paragraph 0138, 0244 for details).
However, Deixler et al, does not specifically disclose the features of a second radio communication module distinct from the first radio communication module and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol.
On the other hand, Mai et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of a second radio communication module (wireless connection (e.g. association, authentication) between the Type 1 device and another wireless device may be established (e.g. using a signal handshake); the Type 1 device may send a first handshake signal (e.g. sounding frame, probe signal, request-to-send RTS) to the another device) distinct from the first radio communication module (the Type 1 device and Type 2 device may support module of the Type 1 device, an integrated circuit of the Type 1 device) and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol (the wireless transmitter (Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device (module of the Type 1 device) to transmit and receive communication data between the Wi-Fi sensing module (Wi-Fi sensing module, type 2 WiFi module) and the environment (Type 1 device, Type 2 device, a link between them, the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an identification (ID) such as UUID) paragraph 0044-0045), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the Type 1/Type 2/another device may obtain/store/retrieve/ access/preprocess/condition/process/analyze/monitor/apply the TSCI, where the Type 1 and Type 2 devices may communicate network traffic in another channel (e.g. Ethernet, HDMI, USB, Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi, LTE, other network, the wireless multipath channel) paragraph 0048; furthermore, a device may function as Type 1 device (transmitter) and/or Type 2 device (receiver) temporarily, sporadically, continuously, repeatedly, simultaneously, concurrently, and/or contemporaneously; there may be multiple wireless nodes each being Type 1 (TX) and/or Type 2 (RX) device; a TSCI may be obtained between every two nodes when they exchange/communicate wireless signals; in addition, the another device may reply by sending a second handshake signal (a command, or a clear-to-send CTS) to the Type 1 device, triggering the Type 1 device to transmit the signal (series of probe signals) in the broadcasting manner to multiple Type 2 devices without establishing connection with any Type 2 device; the second handshake signals may be a response or an acknowledge (ACK) to the first handshake signal; the second handshake signal may contain a data with information of the venue, and/or the Type 1 device; paragraph 0055-0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was made to apply the technique of Mai to the communication system of Deixler in order to provide a method implemented by a wireless monitoring system for improving the efficiency of device computation , power management, and environmental channel traffic management.
Regarding claim 2, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the one or more processor is configured to execute the Wi-Fi sensing software to generate intermediate sensing data, and to transmit the intermediate data via the second radio communication module for processing by a central device (perform RF-based sensing; a Wi-Fi radio with (multiple) directional antennas, and other RF characteristics are suitable as well, the hue lamp in the luminaire may be suited for RF-based sensing; the processor 25 is configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods ; paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 3, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the first radio communication module comprises the one or more processor; the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and/or receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods ; paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 4, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the second radio communication module is configured to process communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol, for the purpose of configuring a Wi-Fi channel under which the first radio communication module operates (step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; receive or transmit BLE beacons ; paragraph 0202, 0228).
Regarding claim 5, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the second radio communication module is configured to process communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol, for the purpose of configuring a beaconing rate of Wi-Fi sensing data transmitted by the first radio communication module (RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data); furthermore, the beacon receiver nodes collect the BLE beacons and determine the RSSI of the signals (beaconing rate) received from BLE tags mounted on assets; paragraph 0225, 0234).
Regarding claim 6, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), installed in a plug socket or switch (the device is operated by a battery-operated wall switch, a legacy wall switch, an occupancy sensor, a motion sensor, a vacancy sensor, a window blind controller, a sensor bundle and/or a mains-powered wireless- switch; paragraph 0016-0017).
Regarding claim 7, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the second protocol is selected from a Thread, Zigbee, Cellular, LoraWAN, BACnet, Dali, KNX, Sigfox, or Z-wave radio communication protocol (the transceiver 3 may use one or more communication technologies to communicate with the light devices, e.g. Zigbee, Thread and/or Bluetooth, and/or one or more wired or wireless communication technologies to communicate with a wireless LAN/Internet access point e.g. Ethernet or Wi-Fi ; paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 8, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing system (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100) for detecting presence and/or motion in an environment comprising: a plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules (several Wi-Fi enabled gateways are used per floor and each of them is backhauling the data from a subset of the Zigbee lights to the cloud and large amounts of RF-based sensing data are backhauled to the cloud, e.g. for advanced machine learning and analytics; paragraph 0089, 0100), each Wi-Fi sensing module comprising: a first radio communication module configured to operate under a Wi-Fi communication protocol to transmit and receive Wi-Fl sensing data between the Wi-Fl sensing module and an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods; the radio frequency signal is used for presence and/or location detection; RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipment luminaires; paragraph 0059, 0100) ; a second radio (the processor 25 is further configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods; paragraph 0059; step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the second protocol is Zigbee ; paragraph 0202); and one or more processor configured to: execute Wi-Fi sensing software for processing Wi-Fi sensing data that conforms to the Wi-Fi communication protocol, for the purpose of detecting presence and/or motion in an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (RF-based presence detection is also referred to as RF-based sensing; RF-based localization (or location detection) is also referred to as RF-based asset tracking (the asset may be an object, animal or person, for example); RF-based asset tracking may be used if a target/asset needs to be detected and/or located that carries or incorporates a dedicated transmitter or receiver; the asset being tracked may receive or transmit BLE beacons, for example; RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data (e.g. number of retries until a message is successfully delivered) changes on the wireless links between different nodes of a network ; paragraph 0059-0060); and execute wireless communication software for processing communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol, for the purpose of establishing a communication link for exchanging communication data with one or more second Wi-Fi sensing module in the environment; each Wi-Fi sensing device having an established communication link for transmitting and receiving communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol with at least one other Wi-Fi sensing module (the device itself will remember the Zigbee channel and other relevant network characteristics such as PAN, EPID, network key, network update id, short address, Trust Center address and Trust Center link key ; so, after changing role, it can be part of the network again, and start to function in its new role; it will re-join the network using the stored network parameters and credentials; furthermore, the Zigbee router devices send their link status, therefore each Zigbee device joins the network by establishing a Zigbee link; paragraph 0138, 0244 for details).
However, Deixler et al, does not specifically disclose the features of a second radio communication module distinct from the first radio communication module and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol.
On the other hand, Mai et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of a second radio communication module (wireless connection (e.g. association, authentication) between the Type 1 device and another wireless device may be established (e.g. using a signal handshake); the Type 1 device may send a first handshake signal (e.g. sounding frame, probe signal, request-to-send RTS) to the another device) distinct from the first radio communication module (the Type 1 device and Type 2 device may support module of the Type 1 device, an integrated circuit of the Type 1 device) and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol (the wireless transmitter (Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device (module of the Type 1 device) to transmit and receive communication data between the Wi-Fi sensing module (Wi-Fi sensing module, type 2 WiFi module) and the environment (Type 1 device, Type 2 device, a link between them, the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an identification (ID) such as UUID) paragraph 0044-0045), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the Type 1/Type 2/another device may obtain/store/retrieve/ access/preprocess/condition/process/analyze/monitor/apply the TSCI, where the Type 1 and Type 2 devices may communicate network traffic in another channel (e.g. Ethernet, HDMI, USB, Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi, LTE, other network, the wireless multipath channel) paragraph 0048; furthermore, a device may function as Type 1 device (transmitter) and/or Type 2 device (receiver) temporarily, sporadically, continuously, repeatedly, simultaneously, concurrently, and/or contemporaneously; there may be multiple wireless nodes each being Type 1 (TX) and/or Type 2 (RX) device; a TSCI may be obtained between every two nodes when they exchange/communicate wireless signals; in addition, the another device may reply by sending a second handshake signal (a command, or a clear-to-send CTS) to the Type 1 device, triggering the Type 1 device to transmit the signal (series of probe signals) in the broadcasting manner to multiple Type 2 devices without establishing connection with any Type 2 device; the second handshake signals may be a response or an acknowledge (ACK) to the first handshake signal; the second handshake signal may contain a data with information of the venue, and/or the Type 1 device; paragraph 0055-0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was made to apply the technique of Mai to the communication system of Deixler in order to provide a method implemented by a wireless monitoring system for improving the efficiency of device computation, power management, and environmental channel traffic management.
Regarding claim 9, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the plurality of Wi-Fi sensing devices are physically located in one of a plurality of zones in the environment, each zone comprising at least one Wi-Fi sensing device; wherein a communication link under the second radio protocol is established between each Wi-Fi sensing device in each zone (receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202); and wherein at least one Wi-Fi sensing device in each zone has an established communication link under the second communication protocol with at least one Wi-Fi sensing device in another zone of the plurality of zones (the lights are on and the user presses the wall switch to dim or switch off the lights or if another source of background lighting is already switched on in the room or if the light is switched automatically based on motion sensors/time schedules from the system without the end-user pressing a wall switch button and expecting instant response; paragraph 0144).
Regarding claim 10, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the system comprises a hub device in communication with a service, the service accessible via a network; wherein at least one Wi-Fi sensing device of the plurality is communicatively coupled with the hub device (selection of those lamps which fulfill a critical role in the network communication path between two sub-areas of a building or building floor or to the controller ; paragraph 0144-0145).
Regarding claim 11, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the at least one Wi-Fi sensing device of the plurality is communicatively coupled with the hub device via a wired connection operating under an ethernet protocol (one or more wired or wireless communication technologies to communicate with a wireless LAN/Internet access point e.g. Ethernet or Wi-Fi ; paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 12, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the at least one Wi-Fi sensing device communicatively coupled with the hub device is communicatively coupled by a radio communication protocol selected from: a Wi-Fi communication protocol, 3G, 4G, 5G, Z-wave, Zigbee, LoraWAN, BACnet, Dali, KNX, Sigfox or a SubGHz radio protocol (the transceiver 3 may use one or more communication technologies to communicate with the light devices, e.g. Zigbee, Thread and/or Bluetooth, and/or one or more wired or wireless communication technologies to communicate with a wireless LAN/Internet access point e.g. Ethernet or Wi-Fi ; paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 13, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the service comprises a cloud service accessible to the hub device via the internet (wireless communication technologies to communicate with a wireless LAN/Internet access point e.g. Ethernet or Wi-Fi ; paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 14, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the system is a local system wherein none of the plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules is configured for external communications externally of the environment (the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods; the radio frequency signal is used for presence and/or location detection; RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipment luminaires; paragraph 0059, 0100).
Regarding claim 15, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), further comprising an accessory device having an established communication link with at least one of the Wi-Fi sensing devices under the second radio protocol, the accessory device configured to implement an accessory function responsive to an instruction received at the accessory device as communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol (the processor 25 is configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods; paragraph 0059).
Regarding claim 16, Deixler et al as modified discloses a Wi-Fi sensing module (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100), wherein the accessory device comprises one of:a security siren; a contact sensor; a vibration sensor; a humidity or temperature sensor; a leak detector; or a thermostat device configured to control a heating system of the environment (RF-based sensing is a detector for the presence of bio mass (i.e. body with lots of water); RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system ; a motion sensor, a vacancy sensor, a window blind controller, a sensor bundle and/or a mains-powered wireless- switch; paragraph 0016-0017).
Regarding claim 17, Deixler et al discloses a computer implemented method of configuring a Wi-Fi sensing system for monitoring a place (RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipped luminaires can track employees; paragraph 0100)
, the system comprising a plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules located in the place (several Wi-Fi enabled gateways are used per floor and each of them is backhauling the data from a subset of the Zigbee lights to the cloud and large amounts of RF-based sensing data are backhauled to the cloud, e.g. for advanced machine learning and analytics; paragraph 0089, 0100), each Wi-Fi sensing module comprising: a first radio communication module configured to operate under a Wi-Fi communication protocol to transmit and receive Wi-Fi sensing data between the Wi-Fi sensing module and an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods; the radio frequency signal is used for presence and/or location detection; RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipment luminaires; paragraph 0059, 0100); a second radio (the processor 25 is further configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods; paragraph 0059; step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the second protocol is Zigbee ; paragraph 0202); and one or more processor configured to: execute Wi-Fi sensing software for processing Wi-Fi sensing data that conforms to the Wi-Fi communication protocol, for the purpose of detecting presence and/or motion in an environment in which the Wi-Fi sensing module is located (RF-based presence detection is also referred to as RF-based sensing; RF-based localization (or location detection) is also referred to as RF-based asset tracking (the asset may be an object, animal or person, for example); RF-based asset tracking may be used if a target/asset needs to be detected and/or located that carries or incorporates a dedicated transmitter or receiver; the asset being tracked may receive or transmit BLE beacons, for example; RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data (e.g. number of retries until a message is successfully delivered) changes on the wireless links between different nodes of a network ; paragraph 0059-0060) ; and execute wireless communication software for processing communication data that conforms to the second radio communication protocol, for the purpose of establishing a communication link for exchanging communication data with one or more second Wi-Fi sensing module in the environment; the method comprising ; commissioning a Wi-Fi sensing network in the place by: transmitting a Wi-Fi signal from a first Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality; detecting disturbed Wi-Fi signals at a second Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality, determining from the disturbed wireless signals a characteristic of a first physical configuration of the Wi-Fi sensing modules, providing to a user, via a user interface of a commissioning device associated with the user (classify the luminaires with respect to their RF characteristics e.g. RF-based sensing characteristics ; the sensing characteristics of the luminaire may be determined by analyzing the shape and the materials or by looking them up in a database ; paragraph 0075-0076, 0102), feedback based on the characteristic of the first physical configuration (feedback based on the characteristic command), detecting that a second physical configuration has been implemented in response to the feedback (select devices with a mounting orientation which results in suitable RF characteristics, e.g. RF beam shapes, with respect to a target area; react to the dimming command (and hence provide visual feedback to the user that the press of the wall switch button is being processed) ; a Wi-Fi radio with (multiple) directional antennas, and other RF characteristics are suitable as well, the hue lamp in the luminaire may be suited for RF-based sensing; paragraph 0103, 0231-0232), and determining a characteristic of a second physical configuration (the sensing characteristics of the luminaire may be determined by analyzing the shape and the materials or by looking them up in a database ; paragraph 0075-0076); and commissioning a communication network under the second radio communication protocol between the plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules in the place by: receiving, via a commissioning device, network credentials for a network operating under the second communication protocol (RF-based presence detection is also referred to as RF-based sensing; RF-based localization (or location detection) is also referred to as RF-based asset tracking (the asset may be an object, animal or person, for example); RF-based asset tracking may be used if a target/asset needs to be detected and/or located that carries or incorporates a dedicated transmitter or receiver; the asset being tracked may receive or transmit BLE beacons, for example; RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data (e.g. number of retries until a message is successfully delivered) changes on the wireless links between different nodes of a network ; paragraph 0059-0060, establishing a communication link between the commissioning device and each Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality, and sharing the network credentials with each Wi-Fi sensing module (the device itself will remember the Zigbee channel and other relevant network characteristics such as PAN, EPID, network key, network update id, short address, Trust Center address and Trust Center link key ; so, after changing role, it can be part of the network again, and start to function in its new role; it will re-join the network using the stored network parameters and credentials; furthermore, the Zigbee router devices send their link status, therefore each Zigbee device joins the network by establishing a Zigbee link; paragraph 0138, 0244 for details).
However, Deixler et al, does not specifically disclose the features of a second radio communication module distinct from the first radio communication module and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol.
On the other hand, Mai et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of a second radio communication module (wireless connection (e.g. association, authentication) between the Type 1 device and another wireless device may be established (e.g. using a signal handshake); the Type 1 device may send a first handshake signal (e.g. sounding frame, probe signal, request-to-send RTS) to the another device) distinct from the first radio communication module (the Type 1 device and Type 2 device may support module of the Type 1 device, an integrated circuit of the Type 1 device) and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol (the wireless transmitter (Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device (module of the Type 1 device) to transmit and receive communication data between the Wi-Fi sensing module (Wi-Fi sensing module, type 2 WiFi module) and the environment (Type 1 device, Type 2 device, a link between them, the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an identification (ID) such as UUID) paragraph 0044-0045), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the Type 1/Type 2/another device may obtain/store/retrieve/ access/preprocess/condition/process/analyze/monitor/apply the TSCI, where the Type 1 and Type 2 devices may communicate network traffic in another channel (e.g. Ethernet, HDMI, USB, Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi, LTE, other network, the wireless multipath channel) paragraph 0048; furthermore, a device may function as Type 1 device (transmitter) and/or Type 2 device (receiver) temporarily, sporadically, continuously, repeatedly, simultaneously, concurrently, and/or contemporaneously; there may be multiple wireless nodes each being Type 1 (TX) and/or Type 2 (RX) device; a TSCI may be obtained between every two nodes when they exchange/communicate wireless signals; in addition, the another device may reply by sending a second handshake signal (a command, or a clear-to-send CTS) to the Type 1 device, triggering the Type 1 device to transmit the signal (series of probe signals) in the broadcasting manner to multiple Type 2 devices without establishing connection with any Type 2 device; the second handshake signals may be a response or an acknowledge (ACK) to the first handshake signal; the second handshake signal may contain a data with information of the venue, and/or the Type 1 device; paragraph 0055-0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was made to apply the technique of Mai to the communication system of Deixler in order to provide a method implemented by a wireless monitoring system for improving the efficiency of device computation , power management, and environmental channel traffic management.
Regarding claim 18, Deixler et al discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer-readable instructions which, when executed by one or more processor of a computing device causes the one or more processor to implement a method of configuring a Wi-Fi sensing system for monitoring a place, the system comprising a plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules located in the place (several Wi-Fi enabled gateways are used per floor and each of them is backhauling the data from a subset of the Zigbee lights to the cloud and large amounts of RF-based sensing data are backhauled to the cloud, e.g. for advanced machine learning and analytics; paragraph 0089, 0100), the method comprising: commissioning a Wi-Fi sensing network in the place by: transmitting a Wi-Fi signal from a first Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality, detecting disturbed Wi-Fi signals at a second Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality (the processor 25 is configured to use a first protocol to transmit and receive a radio frequency signal during a first part of each of a plurality of periods; the radio frequency signal is used for presence and/or location detection; RF-based sensing performed by a regular ceiling grid of Wi-Fi equipment luminaires; paragraph 0059, 0100), determining from the disturbed wireless signals a characteristic of a first physical configuration of the Wi-Fi sensing modules, providing to a user, via a user interface of a commissioning device associated with the user (step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the second protocol is Zigbee ; paragraph 0202); feedback based on the characteristic of the first physical configuration (feedback based on the characteristic command), detecting that a second physical configuration has been implemented in response to the feedback (select devices with a mounting orientation which results in suitable RF characteristics, e.g. RF beam shapes, with respect to a target area; react to the dimming command (and hence provide visual feedback to the user that the press of the wall switch button is being processed) ; a Wi-Fi radio with (multiple) directional antennas, and other RF characteristics are suitable as well, the hue lamp in the luminaire may be suited for RF-based sensing; paragraph 0103, 0231-0232), and determining (classify the luminaires with respect to their RF characteristics e.g. RF-based sensing characteristics ; the sensing characteristics of the luminaire may be determined by analyzing the shape and the materials or by looking them up in a database ; paragraph 0075-0076, 0102 ; the processor 25 is further configured to obtain network messages transmitted wirelessly using a second protocol during a second part of each of the plurality of periods; paragraph 0059) between the plurality of Wi-Fi sensing modules in the place by: receiving, via a commissioning device (step 185 comprises receiving the network messages, e.g. lighting control messages, and wirelessly using the second protocol; paragraph 0202), network credentials for a network operating under the second communication protocol (RF-based presence detection is also referred to as RF-based sensing; RF-based localization (or location detection) is also referred to as RF-based asset tracking (the asset may be an object, animal or person, for example); RF-based asset tracking may be used if a target/asset needs to be detected and/or located that carries or incorporates a dedicated transmitter or receiver; the asset being tracked may receive or transmit BLE beacons, for example; RF-based sensing offers the possibility to detect motion or presence by analyzing the dynamic variation of diagnostic data and communication parameters of a wireless communication system, such as e.g. received signal strength or other network diagnostics data (e.g. number of retries until a message is successfully delivered) changes on the wireless links between different nodes of a network ; paragraph 0059-0060), establishing a communication link between the commissioning device and each Wi-Fi sensing module of the plurality, and sharing the network credentials with each Wi-Fi sensing module (the device itself will remember the Zigbee channel and other relevant network characteristics such as PAN, EPID, network key, network update id, short address, Trust Center address and Trust Center link key ; so, after changing role, it can be part of the network again, and start to function in its new role; it will re-join the network using the stored network parameters and credentials; furthermore, the Zigbee router devices send their link status, therefore each Zigbee device joins the network by establishing a Zigbee link; paragraph 0138, 0244 for details).
However, Deixler et al, does not specifically disclose the features of determining a characteristic of a second physical configuration; and commissioning a communication network under the second radio communication module
On the other hand, Mai et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of a second radio communication module (wireless connection (e.g. association, authentication) between the Type 1 device and another wireless device may be established (e.g. using a signal handshake); the Type 1 device may send a first handshake signal (e.g. sounding frame, probe signal, request-to-send RTS) to the another device) distinct from the first radio communication module (the Type 1 device and Type 2 device may support module of the Type 1 device, an integrated circuit of the Type 1 device) and configured to operate under a second radio communication protocol (the wireless transmitter (Type 1 device) and/or the wireless receiver (Type 2 device) may be embedded in a portable device (module of the Type 1 device) to transmit and receive communication data between the Wi-Fi sensing module (Wi-Fi sensing module, type 2 WiFi module) and the environment (Type 1 device, Type 2 device, a link between them, the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an the object, the characteristics, the STI, the monitoring of the motion, and the task may be associated with an identification (ID) such as UUID) paragraph 0044-0045), wherein the second radio communication protocol is not a Wi-Fi protocol (the Type 1/Type 2/another device may obtain/store/retrieve/ access/preprocess/condition/process/analyze/monitor/apply the TSCI, where the Type 1 and Type 2 devices may communicate network traffic in another channel (e.g. Ethernet, HDMI, USB, Bluetooth, BLE, Wi-Fi, LTE, other network, the wireless multipath channel) paragraph 0048; furthermore, a device may function as Type 1 device (transmitter) and/or Type 2 device (receiver) temporarily, sporadically, continuously, repeatedly, simultaneously, concurrently, and/or contemporaneously; there may be multiple wireless nodes each being Type 1 (TX) and/or Type 2 (RX) device; a TSCI may be obtained between every two nodes when they exchange/communicate wireless signals; in addition, the another device may reply by sending a second handshake signal (a command, or a clear-to-send CTS) to the Type 1 device, triggering the Type 1 device to transmit the signal (series of probe signals) in the broadcasting manner to multiple Type 2 devices without establishing connection with any Type 2 device; the second handshake signals may be a response or an acknowledge (ACK) to the first handshake signal; the second handshake signal may contain a data with information of the venue, and/or the Type 1 device; paragraph 0055-0064). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, was made to apply the technique of Mai to the communication system of Deixler in order to provide a method implemented by a wireless monitoring system for improving the efficiency of device computation , power management, and environmental channel traffic management.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641