DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21-25, 27-38 and 40-42 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment on 02/12/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 01/08/2024 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-25, 28, 31, 33, 34, 36, 37, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sentosa (US 20170294090) in view of Abir (US 20030126252).
21, 31, 34. Sentosa teaches:
A method comprising: – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (Exemplary embodiments of the methods/systems have been disclosed in an illustrative style.)
receiving, by a device, data generated by at least one sensor, – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The image and additional data may be transmitted to a central hub.)
the at least one sensor being disposed in a location being monitored, and – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (Monitoring an area using a monitoring system, such as the system 100 of FIG. 1, is shown. In block 1302, an image sensor of one or more camera or central hub may detect image data.)
the data indicative of at least one event; – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub 108 or the cloud server 110 may analyze the image data to determine if the image data satisfies a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition may correspond to detection of movement, detection of an object having a shape similar to a person, or the like.)
generating, by the device, a message comprising the data; – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The hub processor 714 may analyze data (image data, touch data, or any other data detected by sensors of any of the cameras 102) to determine if any predetermined conditions have been met. The hub processor 714 may further receive data from each of the cameras 102 and may transmit the data to the cloud server 110. The central hub may transmit the analysis of the data to the cloud server. A message such as “motion has been detected within your kitchen” or “the camera in your living room has been moved.”)
transmitting, by the device, the message to the server through the connection. – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The hub processor 714 may further receive data from each of the cameras 102 and may transmit the data to the cloud server 110. The central hub may transmit the analysis of the data to the cloud server. A message such as “motion has been detected within your kitchen” or “the camera in your living room has been moved.”)
Sentosa does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the device, a uniform resource locator that is representative of a group of connections to a server; initiating, by the device, a new connection to exchange the data with the server, the new connection being initiated by using the uniform resource locator.
However, Abir teaches:
receiving, by the device, a uniform resource locator that is representative of a group of connections to a server; – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (Load-balancing program 380 uses and maintains address file database 360 in order to recognize URLs entered into internet file access device 390 and to find the IP addresses of corresponding server computers. Column A is a listing of the server identification portions of URLs: urlA, urlB, and urlC. Corresponding to each of these URLs in column B is at least two IP addresses. The IP addresses of server computers corresponding to urlA, for example, can be ipaddressA1 that identifies server computer A 130, ipaddressA2 that identifies server computer A 131, ipaddressA3 that identifies server computer A 132, and ipaddressA4 that identifies yet another server computer A 133 that can be connected to network 150.)
initiating, by the device, a new connection to exchange the data with the server, – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (In step 510 a user inputs a URL, for example urlA shown in FIG. 4, into internet file access device 390 or browser via input device 350 in client computer 100. Client computers 100 and 110 are computing devices capable of processing data and communicating with remotely located computers over network 150.)
the new connection being initiated by using the uniform resource locator; and – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (In step 510 a user inputs a URL, for example urlA shown in FIG. 4, into internet file access device 390 or browser via input device 350 in client computer 100. In step 560 load-balancing program 380 appends the IP address to the file identification portion of the URL to form the address, and returns the newly formed address to browser for transmission to the appropriate server computer. For example, if the next selected IP address is ipaddressA3, the browser will receive the IP address for server computer A 132 and send the request to that server.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sentosa with Abir to include receiving, by the device, a uniform resource locator that is representative of a group of connections to a server; initiating, by the device, a new connection to exchange the data with the server, the new connection being initiated by using the uniform resource locator, as taught by Abir, in paragraphs [0002]-[0028], to provide an efficient solution to the load balancing problem associated with too many users attempting to access a web site, identified by one IP address, at a given time.
23, 33, 36. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Sentosa teaches:
wherein the message is an ingress message and the method further comprises: – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub may transmit the analysis of the data to the cloud server.)
receiving, via the new connection, an egress message from the server; and – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub may receive a notification from the cloud indicating that the update is available.)
parsing the egress message. – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub may receive the hub software update. Upon receiving the hub software update, the hub processor of the central hub may cause the software update to be installed.)
24. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Sentosa teaches:
wherein receiving the data comprises receiving the data from a camera incorporated within the device. – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub 108 may further include one or more of a hub image sensor 700, a night vision sensor 702, a sensor 704, a speaker 706, a microphone 708, a local power source 710, a power port 712, and a removable memory port 718. The hub processor 714 may further receive data from each of the cameras 102 and may transmit the data to the cloud server 110.)
25, 37. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Sentosa teaches:
wherein receiving the data comprises receiving the data from a camera distinct from the device. – in paragraphs [0004]-[0094] (The central hub 108 may be electrically connected to each of the cameras 102 and may receive the image data from each of the cameras 102.)
28. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Abir teaches:
wherein the new connection is established between the device and the server. – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (In step 560 load-balancing program 380 appends the IP address to the file identification portion of the URL to form the address, and returns the newly formed address to browser for transmission to the appropriate server computer. For example, if the next selected IP address is ipaddressA3, the browser will receive the IP address for server computer A 132 and send the request to that server.)
40. The one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 34, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Abir teaches:
wherein: to initiate the connection comprises to transmit the URL to the server; and – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (In step 510 a user inputs a URL, for example urlA shown in FIG. 4, into internet file access device 390 or browser via input device 350 in client computer 100. In step 520 internet file access device 390 forwards the entered urlA to load-balancing program 380, which reads the URL. Load-balancing program 380 queries IP address file database 360 in step 530 to determine whether IP addresses are listed that correspond to the server identification portion of urlA.)
the sequences of instructions further comprise instructions to establish the connection with the server. – in paragraphs [0022]-[0051] (In step 560 load-balancing program 380 appends the IP address to the file identification portion of the URL to form the address, and returns the newly formed address to browser for transmission to the appropriate server computer. For example, if the next selected IP address is ipaddressA3, the browser will receive the IP address for server computer A 132 and send the request to that server.)
Claim(s) 22, 27, 32, 35, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sentosa (US 20170294090) in view of Abir (US 20030126252), and further in view of Sechrist (US 20120262576).
22, 32, 35. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Sentosa and Abir does not explicitly teach:
wherein initiating the new connection comprises initiating a TCP socket.
However, Sechrist teaches:
wherein initiating the new connection comprises initiating a TCP socket. – in paragraphs [0009]-[0089] (server 215 may be implemented using part http and tcp-based socket message queue (MQ) protocol.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sentosa and Abir with Sechrist to include wherein initiating the new connection comprises initiating a TCP socket, as taught by Sechrist, in paragraphs [0003]-[0029], to fulfill a need for a secured and managed environment to allow users or viewers to access networked video sources to share live content or information.
27, 41. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Sentosa and Abir does not explicitly teach:
wherein initiating the new connection comprises transmitting, by the device, a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) application programming interface (API) call to the server.
However, Sechrist teaches:
wherein initiating the new connection comprises transmitting, by the device, a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) application programming interface (API) call to the server. – in paragraphs [0009]-[0089] (Camera server 110 may include a backend API 112 for access using hypertext transfer protocols (http) coupled to a small event driven server 115.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sentosa and Abir with Sechrist to include wherein initiating the new connection comprises transmitting, by the device, a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) application programming interface (API) call to the server, as taught by Sechrist, in paragraphs [0003]-[0029], to fulfill a need for a secured and managed environment to allow users or viewers to access networked video sources to share live content or information.
Claim(s) 29, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sentosa (US 20170294090) in view of Abir (US 20030126252), and further in view of Gasca (US 20050198231).
29, 38. The method of claim 21, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Sentosa and Abir does not explicitly teach:
further comprising: applying a rule to determine performance of a computing environment; and in response to the rule indicating that the computing environment does not meet a priority, adding an additional server to the computing environment.
However, Gasca teaches
further comprising: applying a rule to determine performance of a computing environment; and – in paragraphs [0005]-[0067] (Assigning a priority may involve utilizing stored service level agreement information (in database 251). Checking customer entitlement (302) is a matter of knowing what kind of resources are promised in the Service Level Agreement (SLA). For example, stored customer information extracted from an SLA may say that the customer is entitled to the use of Z number of database servers. Block 311 represents checking an item in the queue, and getting the Service Level Agreement priority, or other stored customer information, for the customer who is making this provisioning request.)
in response to the rule indicating that the computing environment does not meet a priority, adding an additional server to the computing environment. – in paragraphs [0005]-[0067] (Decision 314 represents the question: is this provisioning request of the highest priority? For example, if priority is represented by a number from 1 to 10, with 1 being the highest priority, then this would true if this provisioning request has priority equal to 1. On the other hand, if this provisioning request is of the highest priority, then the "Yes" branch is taken to block 315. Block 315 represents servicing this provisioning request. A configuration component receives the provisioning request that has the highest priority, parses it, and acts on it (adding a web server to a load-balanced group of web servers, for example).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sentosa and Abir with Gasca to include further comprising: applying a rule to determine performance of a computing environment; and in response to the rule indicating that the computing environment does not meet a priority, adding an additional server to the computing environment, as taught by Gasca, in paragraphs [0002]-[0035], to allocate shared computing resources efficiently, taking into account pertinent information about the customers.
Claim(s) 30, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sentosa (US 20170294090) in view of Abir (US 20030126252), and further in view of Gasca (US 20050198231) and Mhatre (US 20160072713).
30, 42. Claims 30, 42 are substantially similar to claims 29, 38 except for the following limitations: – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Sentosa, Abir, and Gasca does not explicitly teach:
moving the new connection from the server to the new server.
However, Mhatre teaches
moving the new connection from the server to the new server. – in paragraphs [0015]-[0093] (Load balancer 201 causes live transport connections 216, 217 to be migrated from existing servers 210 to newly added servers 211, 212, as opposed to tearing down and re-establishing those connections.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sentosa, Abir, and Gasca with Mhatre to include moving the new connection from the server to the new server, as taught by Mhatre, in paragraphs [0001]-[0019], to migrate live transport connections between servers as servers are added to (or removed from) a network, to provide elastic capacity for server growth.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449