DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-2, 11-13, 17-18, 20 are amended and field on 9/3/2026.
Claim 21 is newly added and claim 3 cancelled.
the amendment to claims overcome the 112 rejection in the action mailed on 5/7/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10, 12-16, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhang et al. (US. 20060084938A1) ("Zhang ") in view of Anderson et al. (US. 20180141982A1) ("Anderson ").
Re Claim 1, Zhang discloses a device (Figs. 1-33) for directing dissipation of a therapeutic agent (¶0063) after injection (abstract, ¶00063, ¶0114), the device comprising two electrodes (110 a-b, or 112a-b, ¶0098, Fig. 1, Fig. 10a-b) spaced apart from one another on a flexible substrate (Fig. 1, Fig 10b, gap such as 114, between the electrodes and ¶0114, on a patch 100, Fig. 1, ¶0112) so that a directional electric field can be generated between the two electrodes (¶0123), the flexible substrate configured for placement against the skin of a subject (¶0079, ¶0112) comprising: a through gap (114, Fig. 1, Fig. 10b) positioned between the two electrodes sized for permitting passage of an injection device (Fig. 1, needle, ¶0112, ¶0113); or a tearaway portion positioned between the two electrodes configured to tear away to form the through gap sized for permitting passage of an injection device, but it fails to disclose that the therapeutic agent is a native botulinum toxin (BoNT).
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify therapeutic agent of Zhang so that the therapeutic agent is a native botulinum toxin (BoNT) as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
Re Claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the flexible substrate is shaped for placement above an eye of the subject and so that the through gap is positioned to permit intramuscular injection of said native BoNT at the subject's forehead ( it is capable to be placed over the eyes as skin ¶0087).
Re Claim 5, Zhang embodiment of Fig. 1/10a fails to disclose wherein a first of the two electrodes is encircled by a second of the two electrodes.
However, Zhang in the embodiment of Fig. 2 discloses electrodes (Fig. 4) and a first of the two electrodes (120) is encircled by a second of the two electrodes (210)..
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of embodiment of Fig. 1 of Zhang so that a first of the two electrodes is encircled by a second of the two electrodes as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 2 of Zhang for the purpose of using an injection needle as an electrode (Zhang, ¶0100-¶0101).
Re Claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the two electrodes are substantially parallel to one another (Fig. 10b).
Re Claim 7, Zhang discloses further comprising a power supply that supplies opposing charges to the two electrodes to power the directional electric field (¶0123).
Re Claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the power supply is battery powered (¶0119 such as capacitance) and attached to a same flexible substrate as the two electrodes (¶0119).
Re Claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the power supply is configured for mounting to the subject's face or head (¶0121).
Re Claim 10, Zhang discloses comprising electrode connectors that differ in shape between the two electrodes ( electric connector that connect the electrodes, Fig. 10a).
Re Claim 12, Zhang discloses a method of directing dissipation of a therapeutic agent in a subject, the method comprising: applying the device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) against the skin of the subject (¶0079, ¶0112), injecting the therapeutic agent through the through gap (Fig. 1), and applying opposing charges to the two electrodes (Fig. 1. ¶0123, abstract), thereby creating a directional electric field between the two electrodes (Fig. 1. ¶0123, abstract) and approximately parallel to the skin so that the polarity encourages dissipation towards one of the two electrodes and away from another (Fig. 1, ¶0088), but it fails to disclose that the therapeutic agent is a native botulinum toxin (BoNT) so that the step of injecting is injection native BoNT.
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify therapeutic agent of Zhang so that the therapeutic agent is a native botulinum toxin (BoNT) so that the step of injecting is injection native BoNT as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
Re Claim 13, Zhang discloses using a drug (¶0063), but it fails to disclose wherein said native Botulinum is selected from group consisting of BoNT/A, BoNT/E, and BoNT/B.
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify charged agent of Zhang so that said native Botulinum is selected from group consisting of BoNT/A, BoNT/E, and BoNT/B as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
Re Claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the opposing charges are pulsed (¶0123).
Re Claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the device is positioned at a muscle selected from the group consisting of the galbellar area, the procerus muscle, the corrugator muscle, the frontalis muscle, the occipitalis muscle, and the trapezius muscle (any muscle, ¶0060).
Re Claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein the device is positioned on the subject's face (any location in the skin include the facial skin, ¶0060).
Re Claim 20, Zhang discloses a method (Figs. 1-33) for directing dissipation of a therapeutic agent (abstract, ¶00063, ¶0114), the method comprising: a) subcutaneously or intramuscularly administering the therapeutic agent into a subject (using needle 120 as in Fig. 1, needle, ¶0112, ¶0113), b) placing two electrodes against the subject's skin, the two electrodes configured to receive opposing charges to generate a directional electric field approximately parallel to the skin and at the administered therapeutic agent (110 a-b, or 112a-b, ¶0098, Fig. 1, Fig. 10a-b, ¶0123 ); and c) applying a positive charge to one of the two electrodes and a negative charge to another of the two electrodes to produce the directional electric field, thereby electrically directing dissipation of the administered therapeutic agent towards one of the two electrodes and away from the oppositely charged electrode (Fig. 1, needle, ¶0112, ¶0123, the electric filed applied to the electrode, and agent will move toward an opposite charged electrode ¶0153), but it fails to specifically disclose that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH..
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid) comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH (¶0040)
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify therapeutic agent of Zhang so that s the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
Re Claim 21, Zhang discloses wherein the electric field is pulsed (¶0015, ¶0123).
Claim(s) 4, 11, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Anderson and further in view of Mclachlan et al. (WO2021062109) (“Mclachlan”).
Re Claim 4, Zhang fails to disclose wherein the flexible substrate comprises a tether that tethers the two electrodes together.
However, Mclachlan discloses electrodes (Fig. 1-6b) and wherein the flexible substrate comprises a tether (40) that tethers the two electrodes together (Fig. 4, ¶0048).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Zhang so that the flexible substrate comprises a tether that tethers the two electrodes together as taught by Mclachlan for the purpose of using an electrode or a portion of electrode as needed in the procedure (Mclachlan, ¶0042).
Re Claim 11, Zhang discloses a device ( Figs. 1-33) for directing dissipation of a therapeutic agent after injection ( the device is configured to directed the therapeutic agent , abstract, ¶00063, ¶0114), the device comprising two electrodes (110 a-b, or 112a-b, ¶0098, Fig. 1, Fig. 10a-b, Fig. 1, Fig 10b, gap such as 114, between the electrodes and ¶0114, on a patch 100, Fig. 1, ¶0112) and further discloses that a through gap (114, Fig.1) sized to permit passage of an injection device (120), the substrate comprising an adhesive backing configured for positioning the two electrodes against the skin of a subject (¶0112) for the generation of a directional electric field (¶0123), but it is silent with regards that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT and two electrodes is spaced apart from one another on a perforated substrate is configured to tear away to separate the two electrodes from one another, thereby forming a through gap and the substrate comprising an adhesive backing.
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the agent of Zhang so that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
However, Mclachlan discloses electrodes (Fig. 1-6b) and wherein two electrodes (1, 2 Fig. 4) is spaced apart from one another on a perforated substrate (40, ¶0048) is configured to tear away to separate the two electrodes from one another (¶0048), thereby forming a through gap (¶0048)and the substrate comprising an adhesive backing (¶0039).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Zhang two electrodes is spaced apart from one another on a perforated substrate is configured to tear away to separate the two electrodes from one another, thereby forming a through gap and the substrate comprising an adhesive backing as taught by Mclachlan for the purpose of using an electrode or a portion of electrode as needed in the procedure (Mclachlan, ¶0042).
Re Claim 17, the modified Zhang discloses method of directing dissipation of a charged active agent in a subject, the method comprising: providing the device of claim 11 (see the rejection of claim 11), and Zhang further discloses, applying the device against the skin of the subject (Fig. 1, ¶0112), injecting a therapeutic agent through the through gap (¶0099), and applying opposing charges to the two electrodes (¶0123), thereby creating a directional electric field between the two electrodes (¶0123) and approximately parallel to the skin so that the polarity encourages dissipation towards one of the two electrodes and away from another.(¶0123, Fig. 10b), but it fails to disclose that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT and tearing the perforation to separate the two electrodes from one another.
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify charged agent of Zhang so that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
However, Mclachlan discloses electrodes (Fig. 1-6b) and wherein two electrodes (1, 2 Fig. 4) tearing the perforation to separate the two electrodes from one another (¶0048).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Zhang so that the method include the step of tearing the perforation to separate the two electrodes from one another.as taught by Mclachlan for the purpose of using an electrode or a portion of electrode as needed in the procedure (Mclachlan, ¶0042).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Anderson and further in view of Mulvihill et al. (US. 20160303360A1) ("Mulvihill ").
Re Claim 18, Zhang discloses a method (Figs. 1-33) for directing dissipation of a therapeutic agent (abstract, ¶00063, ¶0114), the method comprising: a) placing two electrodes against a subject's skin (110 a-b, or 112a-b, ¶0098, Fig. 1, Fig. 10a-b ), the two electrodes configured to receive opposing charges to generate a directional electric field between the two electrodes (¶0123), and approximately parallel to the skin (Fig. 1, Fig. 10b); b) subcutaneously or intramuscularly administering the therapeutic agent between the two electrodes (using needle 120 as in Fig. 1, needle, ¶0112, ¶0113), and c) applying a positive charge to one of the two electrodes and a negative charge to another of the two electrodes to produce the directional electric field, thereby electrically directing dissipation of the administered therapeutic agent towards one of the two electrodes and away from another of the two electrodes (Fig. 1, needle, ¶0112, ¶0123, the electric filed applied to the electrode, and agent will move toward an opposite charged electrode ¶0153), but it fails to specifically disclose that the charged active agent comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH.
However, Anderson discloses a therapeutic agent, Clostridium toxin, with a specified isoelectric point (¶0007, ¶0054, Fig .2, Table 1, ¶0007), and that the agent can be Clostridium toxin with any type such as BONT/A, BoNT/E, BoNT/B (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0148-¶0149), a native botulinum toxin (¶0007, ¶0054, ¶0151, the native Clostridium toxin or its derivative as wherein the native element is combined with one or more amino acid), a recombinant botulinum toxin (T0164), a recombinant BoNT/A (¶0249), a recombinant BoNT/E (¶0115), a recombinant BoNT/B (¶0108).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify charged agent of Zhang so that the therapeutic agent is a native BoNT as taught by Anderson for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and avoiding side effect (Anderson, ¶0009).
However, Mulvihill discloses a method for directing the therapeutic agent (abstract, Fig. 5a-11, ¶0007, ¶0073) and the therapeutic agent comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH (¶0007, ¶0073).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify therapeutic agent of Zhang so that the charged active agent comprising a net negative or net positive charge at physiological pH as taught by Mulvihill for the purpose of using a desired agent for treating desired disease and for optimizing the spread of neurotoxin and achieving desirable effect (Mulvihill, ¶0007).
Re Claim 19, Zhang discloses wherein the two electrodes are placed 1-5 cm apart from one another (¶0030, the distance between left edge of left electrode and right edge of the right electrode can be 1-2 cm).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument in page 7-9that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The applicant argues that Anderson has a modified BONT this is not persuasive in ¶0007 of Anderson discloses that native BoNT (BoNT/A) can be used as therapeutic for skin so the agent is modified to BoNT/A see also claim 13.
The applicant argues on page 9-10 that cited reference are not combinable. This is found not persuasive as the device is closed in Zhang and with regards to the agent can be replaced with the one Anderson .Also, wherein Mulvihill is used to further define the structure of the electrode to have a gap which is capable to be used for injection the agent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/CHELSEA E STINSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783