DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 06/03/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in view of Yang (“HOLODECK: Language Guided Generation of 3D Embodied AI Environments”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2025/0022278 A1) in view of Cai (US 2024/0177329 A1) and in further view of Yang (“HOLODECK: Language Guided Generation of 3D Embodied AI Environments”)
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 14, Li discloses a depth system/method, comprising:
one or more processors; (figure 2: processor 210)
a memory communicably coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (figure 2: memory 214)
[claim 9: A non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (paragraph 82)]
acquire an image depicting surrounding objects present in an environment; (figure 3, step 302; paragraph 46: At step 302, the data processing system can obtain an image. For example, an autonomous vehicle may be driving along a roadway while on a route to a destination. The autonomous vehicle may use one or more cameras or other sensors to capture images of a surrounding environment around the autonomous vehicle.)
select a salient object (unknown objects on the road such as tumbleweeds are “salient” for driving) from the surrounding objects; (paragraphs 48-51, 62-65 and figures 5-7: Li uses panoptic segmentation and masks to identify objects on the roadway. It classifies pixels into road, objects and background, determines which objects are surrounded by road surface pixels, and extracts 2D bounding boxes for those objects.)
determine characteristics of the salient object according to a language model. (paragraphs 45, 47-48, 60-61: Li uses language learning models with text prompts (e.g., “tumbleweed”) for zero-shot object detection. The models take the image and prompts as input and identify instances of objects, which yields characteristics like object class and location (segmentation mask, bounding box).)
Li estimates 3D bounding boxes for unknown objects using LIDAR (paragraphs 56-59, 73-74) but this is not a learned depth model; therefore, Li fails to specifically disclose dimensions of the salient object to use as the scaling factor, wherein determining characteristics of the salient object according to a language model, including at least physical dimensions of the salient object to use as a scaling factor, wherein determining the characteristics includes generating a textual query to the language model requesting the physical dimensions of the salient objects based on a semantic classification of the salient object, wherein the salient object is a standardized object having pre-defined physical dimensions accessible by the language model, and adapting a depth model according to the characteristics.
In related art, Cai discloses a scaling factor (paragraphs 5-8 and 34-37: Cai teaches scaling the predicted depth map using depth values and also describes that monocular depth is scale-ambiguous and corrects up to a multiplication factor and provides post-hoc scaling that yields scale-correct depth prediction values) and adapting a depth model (self-supervised monocular depth network) according to the characteristics. (paragraphs 137-143, 147-152: Cai discloses a depth model (self-supervised monocular depth network) whose predicted depth map is scaled using additional information. It computes a predicted depth map, obtains sparse metric depth values from a camera tracker and computes a scaling factor and multiplies the predicted depth map to obtain a sale-correct depth map. Cai also proposes regional scaling where different scalars are applied to different regions or objects based on detected regions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the depth model and scaling of Cai into Li’s system to obtain accurate metric depth for the same salient unknown objects Li identifies on the roadway. The combined system would acquire an image, select a salient (unknown) object, determine characteristics of that object using a language model, and adapt a depth model (its depth map output) according to those object characteristics.
Furthermore, in related art, Yang discloses determining characteristics of the salient object according to a language model, including at least physical dimensions of the salient object to use as a scaling factor, wherein determining the characteristics includes generating a textual query to the language model requesting the physical dimensions of the salient objects based on a semantic classification of the salient object, wherein the salient object is a standardized object having pre-defined physical dimensions accessible by the language model. (Yang teaches generating LLM textual queries requesting object information in the format “category | description | size | quantity | children objects,” with example LLM outputs such as “coffee table | large round wood | (100, 100, 45)” and “cat tower | multi-level | (60, 60, 180),” thereby determining physical dimensions based on the object’s semantic classification. Yang further teaches that HOLODECK constructs retrieval queries using LLM-proposed descriptions and dimensions, e.g., “multi-level cat tower, 60 × 60 × 180 (cm),” and uses Objaverse assets annotated with textual descriptions and scale, which supports the “standardized object having pre-defined physical dimensions accessible by the language model” language, see figure 1 and associated text, also see section 3 HOLODECK.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yang into the teachings of Li and Cai to effectively generate 3D environments to match a user-supplied prompt fully automatedly.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 15, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the instructions to adapt the depth model include the instructions to train the depth model by using the characteristics to derive a scaling factor as a loss value that is part of a loss function, and wherein the depth model performs monocular depth estimation and is trained according to self-supervised structure-from-motion (SfM) training. (Cai: paragraphs 34 and 68-70 and 90-97: Cai discloses a self-supervised monocular depth model trained via structure-to-motion equation)
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 16, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the instructions to adapt the depth model include instructions to use the characteristics to define a scaling factor for adapting depth values generated by the depth model during inference. (Cai: paragraphs 137-143: Cai discloses computing a scaling factor during inference to adapt the predicted depth map: a scale factor is computed from representative values of sparse depth and predicted depth, and then used to scale the predicted depth map. Cai also discloses regional scaling: dividing the frame into a grid or into object, foreground and background regions and computing different scale factors for different regions or objects. The regions or objects are chosen based on object detection or segmentation outputs.)
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 17, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the instructions to select the salient object include instructions to :i) identify the surrounding objects according to a semantic model, and ii) segment the salient object from the surrounding objects according to whether a class of the surrounding objects is one of a group of salient classifications. (Li: paragraphs 48-50 and 62-63: Li discloses identifying surrounding objects according to a semantic model: it uses panoptic segmentation and class labels such as roadway, tumbleweed, etc. Pixels are class-labeled, and instances are enumerated. Li then selects unknown objects on the roadway by determining which object instances are surrounded by roadway pixels and are of certain classes and extracts 2D bounding boxes only for those.)
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the instructions to determine the characteristics of the salient object include instructions to provide a representation of the salient object from the image to the language model that uses information about the salient object to determine the characteristics indicating at least a size of the salient object (paragraphs 45, 47-48, 60-61: Li uses language learning models with text prompts (e.g., “tumbleweed”) for zero-shot object detection. The models take the image and prompts as input and identify instances of objects, which yields characteristics like object class and location (segmentation mask, bounding box). Li also discloses deriving 2D bounding boxes (paragraphs 50-51) and 3D bounding boxes using LiDAR and ground-plane estimation (paragraphs 58-59). Cai discloses generating metric depth maps and using them to obtain metric-correct spatial information about objects in the scene. Cai’s depth map allows extracting that object’s metric size from the depth plus image coordinates. (paragraphs 32-37).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the language model is one of a large language model (LLM) and a visual language model (VLM), and wherein the depth model performs monocular depth estimation on monocular images to generate depth data for the environment. (Cai: paragraphs 32-37, 60, 90-97 and 146-149: Cai discloses a monocular depth model (a self-supervised monocular depth network) that processes single camera images to generate a predicted depth map for the image)
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein providing the depth model, including integrating the depth model in a perception pipeline of an autonomous vehicle to facilitate control of the autonomous vehicle. (Cai: paragraphs 44 and 137-143: teaches a depth system that process images to produce scale-correct depth maps)
Regarding claim 8, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein the depth system is embedded within a vehicle to perceive depth in the environment. (Cai: paragraphs 32-37: Cai discloses the depth system can be implemented in devices including vehicles and autonomous driving systems)
Regarding claim 18, Li, as modified by Cai and Yang, discloses the claimed invention wherein determining the characteristics of the salient object includes providing a representation of the salient object from the image to the language model that uses information about the salient object to determine the characteristics indicating at least a size the physical dimensions of the salient object. (Yang: see figure 1 and associated text, also see section 3 HOLODECK.)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665