DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “a lighting unit, an optical system, a multichannel camera” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a linking word “ configured to” coupled with functional language respectively recited after each of the aforementioned claim limitations, without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: see figure 7 and corresponding text. If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruka et al (WO 2018/008512) in view of Drillman et al (US 2024/0355083).
As to claim 1, Haruka et al teaches an optical metrology device comprising:
a lighting unit( a plurality of light sources 38 )configured to simultaneously illuminate first illumination light at a first angle of incidence having a difference more than a critical angle from a measurement angle (see paragraph [0073] and figures 2, 3),
and second illumination light(dark-field illuminator 36) having a wavelength, different from a wavelength of the first illumination light (bright-field illuminator 35), at a second angle of incidence having a difference equal to or less than the critical angle from the measurement angle, onto a surface of a substrate ( (see paragraph [0156]: a wavelength selection filter);
an optical system configured to collect reflected light from the surface of the substrate (see paragraphs [0071], [0080] and figure 1);according to the first illumination light and the second illumination light (the optical path between the sample and the imaging device 32, through which reflected light from the surface,
illuminated by the bright-field illuminator 35, is directed to the imaging device 32) (see paragraphs [0071], [0153] and light transmitted from the bright-field illuminator 35, reflected at the surface of the sample, and relayed through the bright-field collection path (see paragraphs [0071], [0153] and figure 1),and a multichannel camera imaging device 32 (see paragraph [0070] and figure
1), configured to generate an original image (see paragraph [0121]); and inspecting a defect image on the observation image to detect the defect 40 (see paragraph [0121]).
While Haruka et al. meets a number of the limitations of the claimed invention, as pointed out more fully above, Haruka et al. fails to specifically teach “ in which a dark field image and a bright field image of the surface of the substrate are integrated, based on the reflected light collected by the optical system.”
Specifically, Drillman et al. teaches a dark-field imaging setup configured and operable to provide a dark-field image of a contour region indicative of location of defects along an edge portion(paragraph[0040]). Drillman et al. teaches the bright-field illumination and back-light apex illumination, the bright-field illumination propagating towards the apex contour region of the edge of the semiconductor structure along a bright-field illumination path, and the back-light apex illumination propagating towards the apex contour region along at least one of back-light apex illumination paths being inclined with respect to a rotation axis of the semiconductor structure and forming grazing angles with, respectively, at least one of top and bottom surface regions of the edge(paragraph[0073]).Drillman et al clearly teaches at least one the apex illumination setup, edge top plane illumination setup or edge bottom plane illumination setup comprises a second back-light illumination unit being positioned in a substantially opposite side to the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit respectively with respect to the semiconductor structure. The second back-light illumination unit is configured and operable to generate an illumination radiation and to illuminate a contour outline of the contour region of the semiconductor structure and the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit respectively such that at least one of the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit is configured and operable to collect reflected (visible) light from the contour region of the semiconductor structure respectively to thereby obtain a reflective image being indicative of profile of the edge portion of the semiconductor structure ( paragraph [0085][0089-0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate both images based on the reflected light in order to decide if to continue the inspection process and/or the manufacturing process and the data obtained in the inspection of the E&B can be integrated with top or bottom side inspection results to present a more complete picture of the wafer condition ( paragraph [0004-005]). Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant.
As to claim 2, Haruka et al teaches the optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the first illumination light is red light, and the second illumination light comprises green light and blue light, and the multichannel camera comprises red pixels, green pixels, and blue pixels, and is configured to generate the dark field image having a scattered light component according to the first illumination light using the red pixels, and to generate the bright field image having a direct-reflected light component according to the second illumination light using the green pixels and the blue pixels (Paragraph [0113]).
As to claim 3, Haruka et al teaches an optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the wavelength of the first illumination light is 620 nm to 630 nm, and the wavelength of the second illumination light is 580 nm or less (when observing in the darkfield using illumination light of light (visible light) with wavelengths other than the range of 450 nm or less or more than 1000 nm, if the illumination light reaches the wiring pattern layer, if the pattern pitch of the wiring pattern layer is at the wavelength level of the light, diffraction will occur and the shade pattern will incident into the imaging device (camera). However, by using non-visible light, the diffraction illumination light can be attenuated so that it reaches the wiring pattern layer, and the diffracted light itself can be attenuated, paragraph [0161]).
As to claim 4, Drillman et al teaches the optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the lighting unit comprises: a first lighting unit (The first illumination setup unit is configured and operable to generate illumination directed to a contour region of the semiconductor structure such that at least one of the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit is configured and operable to collect reflected (visible) light from the contour region of the semiconductor structure respectively to thereby provide a reflective image of the contour outline, paragraph [0090]) configured to use red LED illumination to generate red light, and a second lighting unit configured to apply a short pass filter to white LED illumination to generate green light and blue light . The second back-light illumination unit is configured and operable to generate an illumination radiation and to illuminate a contour outline of the contour region of the semiconductor structure and the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit respectively such that at least one of the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit is configured and operable to collect reflected (visible) light from the contour region of the semiconductor structure respectively to thereby obtain a reflective image being indicative of profile of the edge portion of the semiconductor structure, paragraph [0089], the imaging sensor unit may also include additional components, such as lenses, filters, optical elements and image processors, to improve the quality and accuracy of the images, paragraph [0137]).
As to claim 5, Drillman et al teaches the optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the reflected light comprises scattered light and direct-reflected light, and the critical angle is determined by an angle at which illuminance of the scattered light collected in a direction of the measurement angle is equal to illuminance of the direct-reflected light(the tangential back-light illumination path and the dark field illumination path are oriented along substantially perpendicular direction one with respect to the other, paragraph [0054])
As to claim 6, Drillman et al teaches the optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the critical angle is 4 degree (FIG. 4C, the plurality of dark field illumination paths may include dark field illumination paths DFIP and DFIP′ being incident on the contour region with angles of different angular ranges β2 and β1 (each of which may be higher than 90° degrees or may be 0≤β1, β2≤180° with respect to the detection path of the sensor unit 114. In this specific non-limiting example, the use of such multiple dark field illumination paths DFIP and DFIP′ provides that the sensor unit 114 detects scattering, by the defect D, of the illumination incident on the contour region with angle(s) of incidence in the angular range β2 and detects the illumination interacting with the defect and propagating along almost specular reflection paths.).
As to claim 7, Drillman et al teaches the optical metrology device of claim 1, wherein the second angle of incidence is equal to the measurement angle ( figure 4C-4E and paragraph [0153][0156][0158]).
As to claim 8, Haruka et al teaches the optical metrology device comprising: a lighting unit ( a plurality of light sources 38 ) configured to illuminate first illumination light and second illumination light (dark field illuminator and bright field illuminator 35,36) , having different wavelengths (when observing in the darkfield using illumination light of light (visible light) with wavelengths other than the range of 450 nm or less or more than 1000 nm, if the illumination light reaches the wiring pattern layer, if the pattern pitch of the wiring pattern layer is at the wavelength level of the light, diffraction will occur and the shade pattern will incident into the imaging device (camera). However, by using non-visible light, the diffraction illumination light can be attenuated so that it reaches the wiring pattern layer, and the diffracted light itself can be attenuated, paragraph [0161]), at different angles of incidence on a surface of a substrate moving along the transfer path ( paragraph [0104-0105]). While Haruka et al. meets a number of the limitations of the claimed invention, as pointed out more fully above, Haruka et al. fails to specifically teach “ a multichannel camera configured to generate an original image in which a dark field image based on scattered light according to the first illumination light and a bright field image based on direct-reflected light according to the second illumination light are integrated, wherein the optical metrology device on a transfer path of the substrate included in a substrate processing device.”
Specifically, Drillman et al. teaches a dark-field imaging setup configured and operable to provide a dark-field image of a contour region indicative of location of defects along an edge portion(paragraph[0040]). Drillman et al. teaches The tangential imaging setup comprises a tangential illumination unit and a tangential imaging sensor unit (e.g. camera(s)). The tangential illumination unit is configured and operable to provide back-light tangential illumination propagating along a tangential illumination path with respect to the contour outline of a contour region and substantially along a detection path of the tangential imaging sensor unit, which is configured and operable for collecting at least a part of said back-light tangential illumination propagating along said tangential illumination path and generating the tangential image of the contour outline. The dark-field imaging setup comprises a dark-field illumination unit configured for directing dark-field illumination towards said contour region along at least one dark-field illumination path being inclined with respect to said tangential illumination path, the dark-field imaging setup providing collection of scattering of a response of the contour region to the dark-field illumination, thereby enabling detection of a dark-field image indicative of location of defects along said profile of the edge of the semiconductor structure(paragraph [0044] wherein the bright-field illumination and back-light apex illumination, the bright-field illumination propagating towards the apex contour region of the edge of the semiconductor structure along a bright-field illumination path, and the back-light apex illumination propagating towards the apex contour region along at least one of back-light apex illumination paths being inclined with respect to a rotation axis of the semiconductor structure and forming grazing angles with, respectively, at least one of top and bottom surface regions of the edge(paragraph[0073]).Drillman et al clearly teaches at least one the apex illumination setup, edge top plane illumination setup or edge bottom plane illumination setup comprises a second back-light illumination unit being positioned in a substantially opposite side to the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit respectively with respect to the semiconductor structure. The second back-light illumination unit is configured and operable to generate an illumination radiation and to illuminate a contour outline of the contour region of the semiconductor structure and the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit respectively such that at least one of the apex imaging sensor unit, edge top plane imaging sensor unit, or edge bottom plane imaging sensor unit is configured and operable to collect reflected (visible) light from the contour region of the semiconductor structure respectively to thereby obtain a reflective image being indicative of profile of the edge portion of the semiconductor structure ( paragraph [0085][0089-0090]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the multichannel camera in order to decide if to continue the inspection process and/or the manufacturing process and the data obtained in the inspection of the E&B can be integrated with top or bottom side inspection results to present a more complete picture of the wafer condition ( paragraph [0004-005]). Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention by applicant.
As to claim 9, Drillman et al clearly teaches the optical metrology device of claim 8, wherein the multichannel camera includes a line scan camera, and the line scan camera is configured to photograph a fixed region facing the moving substrate a plurality of times, to acquire partial images of the surface of the substrate, and to perform a scan operation to reconstruct the partial images into a two-dimensional original image (The tangential imaging sensor unit 114 typically includes an imaging sensor, such as a charge-coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) sensor, which converts light into an electrical signal. The imaging sensor typically consists of an array (one- or two-dimensional array) of photosensitive elements, such as photodiodes or pixels. In some embodiments, the imaging sensor unit may include a camera, such as line camera, area camera. Time Delay Integration (TDI), paragraph [0136]).
As to claim 10, Drillman et al clearly teaches the optical metrology device of claim 9, wherein the fixed region extends in a direction perpendicular to a transfer direction of the substrate (the dark-field illumination path may for example be oriented substantially perpendicular to the detection path of the tangential imaging sensor unit, paragraph [0054][0054][0126][0132]).
As to claim 11, Drillman et al clearly teaches the optical metrology device of claim 10, wherein the first illumination light is red light, and the second illumination light comprises green light and blue light, and the line scan camera comprises red pixels, green pixels, and blue pixels, respectively arranged in a linear manner, wherein the red pixels generate the dark field image, and the green pixels and the blue pixels generate the bright field image (t should be noted that distinguishing between detection of the back light tangential illumination and the scattering and/or reflection of the dark field illumination can be implemented by using different wavelengths for the back light tangential illumination and dark field illumination, paragraph [0151]).
As to claim 12, optical metrology device of claim 8, wherein the optical metrology device is mounted on a surface or wall above an exit of the substrate processing device, from which the substrate is carried out to a transfer container of the substrate processing device( paragraph [0075]).
The limitation of claims 13-20 has been addressed above.
Contact Information
NANCY . BITAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/NANCY BITAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664