DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant's amendment of 06/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
The objections to claims 2 and 7 as set forth in the previous Office Action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The objections are withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the previous Office Action is overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The rejection is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. US-20150236274-A1 in view of Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1 as set forth in the previous Office Action is overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The rejection is withdrawn.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection are made in view of newly cited Koo et al. WO-2019088799-A1.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the applicant's arguments on pages 26-31 of the reply dated 06/18/2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, they have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument -- Applicant argues on pages 29-31 that the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are overcome due to the applicant's amendment. Specifically, that applicant argues that one having ordinary skill in the art would not have looked to the disclosure of Hatakeyama to arrive at the claimed second compound as amended or associated plurality of organic electroluminescent materials and additional disclosure of Herron does not cure the deficiency in Hatakeyama.
Examiner's response -- The claims did not previously require the amended limitations of wherein in formula 2 of the second compound, ring C represents a substituted or unsubstituted mono- or polycyclic (3- to 50- membered) alicyclic or aromatic ring, or the combination thereof, which contains at least one heteroatom selected from O and S and X1 and X2 are each NR, and the amended limitations are met in the new grounds of rejection below over newly cited Koo et al. WO-2019088799-A1.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, it is suggested that the comma directly after "R" on numbered page 4 be deleted for ease of reading.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koo et al. WO-2019088799-A1 (referred to hereinafter as "Koo-WO" and see machine translation referred to as "Koo-MT") in view of Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1 (hereinafter "Herron").
Regarding claims 1-11, Koo teaches organic light emitting device comprising at least one organic compound layer disposed between a first electrode and a second electrode (page 20 of 46, lines 22-24), wherein the organic material layer comprises a structure including a hole injecting layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and an electron injecting layer as (Koo-MT, page 28 of 46, lines 13-15), wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of a Formula 1 as a dopant material (Koo-MT, page 28 of 46, lines 26-28). Hatakeyama teaches examples of compound of a Formula 1 on pages 23-39 that read on the claimed formulae including compound
(Koo-WO, page 39), which meets the claimed formulae 2 and 2-1 and corresponds to the second compound in claim 8.
Koo does not specifically disclose a device comprising a first compound of the claimed formula (1). However, Koo teaches that examples of hole injection and/or hole transport materials include arylamine-based organic materials (Koo-MT, page 30 of 46, lines 18-21 and lines 24-26).
Herron teaches a triarylamine derivative having Formula 1 (¶ [0009]) useful as hole transport materials (¶ [0243] and ¶ [0258]) and teaches that devices including the derivative has greater efficiency and longer lifetime (¶ [0255]-[0256]). Herron teaches specific examples of the triarylamine derivative of Formula 1 in paragraph [0238] that read on the claimed formulae including Compound 1
(page 7), which is a compound that meets claimed formulae 1 and 1-1 and corresponds to the claimed compound C-1 of claim 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Koo by forming the hole transport layer in the device of Koo comprising the Compound 1 of Herron, based on the teaching of Herron. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device having has greater efficiency and longer lifetime, as taught by Herron.
The modified device meets claims 1-11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US-20230002420-A1, which is cited on the IDS of 01/10/2024, teaches an organic light emitting device (¶ [0006]) comprising a light emitting layer comprising a compound of a Chemical Formula 1
(¶ [0008] and [0010]) and a first organic material layer comprising a compound of a Chemical Formula 2
(¶ [0009] and [0017]), which is provided between the anode and the light emitting layer (¶ [0007]); and
Cha et al. WO-2021010656-A1, which is cited on the IDS of 01/10/2024, teaches an organic light emitting element comprising a light-emitting layer provided between a first electrode and a second electrode and a first organic material layer provided between the first electrode and the light emitting layer, wherein the first organic material layer includes a compound represented by chemical formula 1
, and the light emitting layer includes a compound represented by chemical formula 2
(Abstract, ¶ [16], ¶ [24]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786