DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 7 are amended due to Applicant's amendment dated 12/03/2025.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. WO-2020138874-A1 as set forth in the previous Office Action is overcome due to the applicant's amendment. The rejection is withdrawn.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection are made in view of newly cited Hatakeyama et al. US-20150236274-A1 and Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the Applicants' arguments on pages 24-31 of the reply dated 12/03/2025 with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, they have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument -- Applicant argues on page 31 that the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
Examiner's response -- The claims did not previously require the amended limitations of wherein the (C6-C30)aryl in the definition of Ar2 is deuterium-substituted or unsubstituted and wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are different from each other and the amended limitations are met in the new grounds of rejection below over newly cited Hatakeyama et al. US-20150236274-A1 and Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 2, it is suggested that "the substituted aryl(ene)" be replaced with "the substituted aryl, the substituted arylene" and "the substituted heteroaryl(ene)" be replaced with "the substituted heteroaryl, the substituted heteroarylene" for ease of reading; and
claim 7 appears to lack a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation Ar2 represents… a deuterium-substituted or unsubstituted (C6-C30)aryl…", and the claim also recites "wherein the (C6-C30)aryl is selected from the group consisting of phenyl, biphenyl….or azulenyl;" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For example, can a compound where Ar2 is an unsubstituted phenanthrene group read on the claims since it is an unsubstituted C14 aryl, or not, since it is not included in the specific list?
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as requiring that the (C6-C30)aryl is selected from the specific list.
Claims 2-11 are rejection as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear what the D1-# nomenclature represents. Does this mean that some or all of the hydrogens are substituted with deuterium?
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that D1-x represents that 1 to x hydrogens are replaced with deuterium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. US-20150236274-A1 (hereinafter "Hatakeyama") in view of Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1 (hereinafter "Herron").
It is noted that Herron et al. US-20170025609-A1 was cited on the IDS of 01/10/2024.
Regarding claims 1-11, Hatakeyama teaches an organic EL element comprising a light emitting layer between a pair of electrodes and a hole injection layer and/or a hole transport layer disposed between the positive electrode and the light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a polycyclic aromatic compound of a general formula (1) (¶ [0037], ¶ [0039], ¶ [0104], ¶ [0107]) as the dopant material (¶ [0119]). Hatakeyama teaches examples of the polycyclic aromatic compound of a general formula (1) in paragraph [0078] that read on the claimed formulae including compound (1-401)
(page 37), which meets the claimed formulae 2 and 2-1 and corresponds to the first compound in claim 8.
Hatakeyama does not specifically disclose a device comprising a first compound of the claimed formula (1). However, Hatakeyama teaches that, regarding the material that forms the hole injection layer and the hole transport layer, any compound can be selected for use among the compounds that have been conventionally used as charge transporting materials for holes, p-type semiconductors, and known compounds that are used in hole injection layers and hole transport layers of organic electroluminescent elements and specific examples thereof include triarylamine derivatives (¶ [0114]).
Herron teaches a triarylamine derivative having Formula 1 (¶ [0009]) useful as hole transport materials (¶ [0243] and ¶ [0258]) and teaches that devices including the derivative has greater efficiency and longer lifetime (¶ [0255]-[0256]). Herron teaches specific examples of the triarylamine derivative of Formula 1 in paragraph [0238] that read on the claimed formulae including Compound 1
(page 7), which is a compound that meets claimed formulae 1 and 1-1 and corresponds to the claimed compound C-1 of claim 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hatakeyama by forming the hole transport layer in the device of Hatakeyama comprising the Compound 1 of Herron, based on the teaching of Herron. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain a device having has greater efficiency and longer lifetime, as taught by Herron.
The modified device meets claims 1-11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US-20230002420-A1, which is cited on the IDS of 01/10/2024, teaches an organic light emitting device (¶ [0006]) comprising a light emitting layer comprising a compound of a Chemical Formula 1
(¶ [0008] and [0010]) and a first organic material layer comprising a compound of a Chemical Formula 2
(¶ [0009] and [0017]), which is provided between the anode and the light emitting layer (¶ [0007]); and
Cha et al. WO-2021010656-A1, which is cited on the IDS of 01/10/2024, teaches an organic light emitting element comprising a light-emitting layer provided between a first electrode and a second electrode and a first organic material layer provided between the first electrode and the light emitting layer, wherein the first organic material layer includes a compound represented by chemical formula 1
, and the light emitting layer includes a compound represented by chemical formula 2
(Abstract, ¶ [16], ¶ [24]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786