DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application has Provisional 63/478,807 filed on January 6, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 17, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the panel” in lines 6-7 should read “swing out panel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the panel” in line 5 should read “swing out panel”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 11, 14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakoduk et al. (US 2009/0134755) in view of Grossman (US 4,389,748).
In regards to claim 1, Lakoduk et al. teaches an enclosure (100) for electrical components (enclosure 100 for electronic components, paragraph [0104]), the enclosure (100) comprising: an enclosure body (100, figure 8) that defines an interior volume (area inside of the walls 101, 102) and a door opening (extruded opening created by flanges (122), paragraph [0106]); a swing out panel (128) to support electrical components within the interior volume (see figure 11); and an internal hinge (120/130) secured within the interior volume (see figure 11); the internal hinge (129, 130) rotatably supporting the swing out panel (128) for movement between an installed orientation, in which the swing out panel (128) is fully within the interior volume (see figure 11), and a swung out orientation (see figure 11), in which the panel extends at least partly outside of the interior volume (see figure 11), and the hinge (129, 130) including a support body including a support portion rigidly secured to a wall of the enclosure (hingedly mounted via hinges 129, 130 to side channels or mounting channels within the enclosure 100. Hinges 129, 130 can be structured similar to hinges 112-115, paragraph [0133]).
Lakoduk et al. does not teach a pivot body including an extension portion and a connection portion that are connected by a bend, the extension portion pivotally connected to the support body, and the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel, the pivot body of the internal hinge, in the installed orientation, contacting one or more of the support body or the wall so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular to the wall or substantially parallel with the door opening.
Grossman teaches a pivot body (74; see the figure below) including an extension portion (86,88) and a connection portion (76; see the figure below) that are connected by a bend (see the figure below), the extension portion (86, 88) pivotally connected to the support body (24), and the connection portion (76) extending from the bend to support the swing out panel (16), the pivot body (a pin 106 is passed through the openings 108 of the curls 104) of the hinge (18, figure 19), in the installed orientation (figure 19), contacting one or more of the support body or the wall (12) so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular (figure 19) to the wall (12) or substantially parallel with the door opening (see figure 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the cabinet of Lakoduk et al. a pivot body including an extension portion and a connection portion that are connected by a bend, the extension portion pivotally connected to the support body, and the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel, the pivot body of the internal hinge, in the installed orientation, contacting one or more of the support body or the wall so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular to the wall or substantially parallel with the door opening as taught by Grossman since Grossman teaches this hinge assembly is particularly useful in cabinets positioned closely together or in recessed door cabinets where there is a small amount of room for the door to open and where it is desirable to open the door beyond 90°as on cabinets, vehicles, safes and the like (abstract).
In regards to claim 2, Lakoduk et al. in combination with Grossman teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein, in the installed orientation, the bend (see the bend in figure 6, above in Grossman) contacts the one or more of the support body (4) or the wall (12) to stop rotation of the pivot body (88) in an inward direction, relative to the door opening (figure 6).
In regards to claim 5, Lakoduk et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, further comprising: a door (106) secured to the enclosure body (100) with an external hinge (112, 113), to be pivotally movable relative to the door opening (122); wherein the external hinge (112, 113) is outside of the interior volume and the support body (the body of the hinge) of the internal hinge is secured to the enclosure (100) via the external hinge (hingedly mounted via hinges 129, 130 to side channels or mounting channels within the enclosure 100. Hinges 129, 130 can be structured similar to hinges 112-115, paragraph [0133]).
In regards to claim 6, Lakoduk et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 5, wherein the wall (122) of the enclosure (100) is sandwiched between the internal hinge (129, 130) and the external hinge (112, 113).
In regards to claim 7, Lakoduk et al. in combination with Grossman teaches the enclosure of claim 1, wherein the bend (see figure 6, above) defines an angle between the extension portion and the connection portion.
Lakoduk et al. in combination with Grossmandoes not explicitly teach an angle between the extension portion and the connection portion of between about 40 degrees and about 50 degrees.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have made an angle between the extension portion and the connection portion of between about 40 degrees and about 50 degrees, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
In regards to claim 11, Lakoduk et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 1, further comprising: a retainer clip (233) secured at a free end of the swing out panel (128); wherein the retainer clip (185) includes an extension portion (187) that extends away from the panel (128) and a clip portion (186) supported by the extension portion (187), the clip portion (186) engaging the enclosure body (100) to secure the swing out panel (128) in the installed orientation (The swing panel 128 can be locked by latching mechanism 233, shown in FIG. 32B. The latching mechanism 185 can include a rotatable latch 186 with a notch 187 including a padlock ring 188 to engage a padlock (not shown); paragraph [0133]).
In regards to claim 14, Lakoduk et al. teaches an enclosure (100) for electrical components (enclosure 100 for electronic components, paragraph [0104]), the enclosure (100) comprising: an enclosure body (100, figure 8) that defines an interior volume (area inside of the walls 101, 102) and a door opening (extruded opening created by flanges (122), paragraph [0106]); a swing out panel (128) to support electrical components within the interior volume (see figure 11); and an internal hinge (120/130) secured within the interior volume (see figure 11); an internal hinge (129, 130) for support of a swing out panel (128) of an enclosure (100); the internal hinge (120/130) including: a support body (its body in figure 11) including a support portion rigidly secured to a wall of the enclosure (100, figure 11).
Lakoduk et al. does not teach a support-body extension portion extending from the support portion; and a pivot body including a pivot-body extension portion pivotally supported by the support-body extension portion, and a connection portion that is connected to the pivot-body extension portion by a bend, the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel; the pivot body being pivotable relative to the support body between: an installed orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion extends within the interior volume in an installed direction, and the connection portion supports the swing out panel within the interior volume; and a swung out orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion extends through the door opening in a swung out direction that is rotated by an angle of more than 180 degrees relative to the installed direction, and the connection portion supports the swing out panel outside the interior volume.
Grossman teaches a support-body extension portion (74) extending from the support portion (24); and a pivot body (see the figure below) including a pivot-body extension portion (88, 108) pivotally supported by the support-body extension portion (74), and a connection portion (76; see the figure below) that is connected to the pivot-body extension portion by a bend (see the “bend” in the figure below), the connection portion (76) extending from the bend (see below) to support the swing out panel (16); the pivot body (see the figure below) being pivotable relative to the support body (12) between: an installed orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion (74) extends within the interior volume (see figure 20, inside of side panel (14’)) in an installed direction (see figure 20), and the connection portion (76) supports the swing out panel (16) within the interior volume (see figure 20, inside of side panel (14’)); and a swung out orientation (see figure 19), in which the pivot-body extension portion extends through the door opening in a swung out direction (see figure 19) that is rotated by an angle of more than 180 degrees (see figure 19) relative to the installed direction, and the connection portion (76) supports the swing out panel (16) outside the interior volume (see figure 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the cabinet of Lakoduk et al. a pivot body including an extension portion and a connection portion that are connected by a bend, the extension portion pivotally connected to the support body, and the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel, the pivot body of the internal hinge, in the installed orientation, contacting one or more of the support body or the wall so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular to the wall or substantially parallel with the door opening as taught by Grossman since Grossman teaches this hinge assembly is particularly useful in cabinets positioned closely together or in recessed door cabinets where there is a small amount of room for the door to open and where it is desirable to open the door beyond 90°as on cabinets, vehicles, safes and the like (abstract).
In regards to claim 17, Lakoduk et al. teaches the enclosure of claim 14, wherein in the installed orientation, the installed direction of the pivot-body extension portion extends from the support-body extension portion inwardly into the interior volume and toward the wall of the enclosure (figure 6).
In regards to claim 18, Lakoduk et al. teaches a method of supporting electrical components (100) in an enclosure that defines an interior volume (see figure 11), the method comprising: pivoting a swing out panel (128) on an internal hinge (129/130), through a door opening (122) defined by an enclosure body of the enclosure (sidewalls (102), between an installed orientation (fixed orientation), in which the swing out panel (128) is fully within the interior volume (see figure 11), and a swung out orientation (open, figure 11), in which the swing out panel (128) extends at least partly outside of the interior volume (see figure 11), the swing out panel (128) being rotatably supported by an internal hinge (129/130) secured within the interior volume (see figure 11).
Lakoduk et al. does not teach a pivot body including an extension portion and a connection portion that are connected by a bend, the extension portion pivotally connected to the support body, and the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel, the pivot body of the internal hinge, in the installed orientation, contacting one or more of the support body or the wall so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular to the wall or substantially parallel with the door opening.
Grossman teaches a pivot body (74; see the figure below) including an extension portion (86,88) and a connection portion (76; see the figure below) that are connected by a bend (see the figure below), the extension portion (86, 88) pivotally connected to the support body (24), and the connection portion (76) extending from the bend to support the swing out panel (16), the pivot body (a pin 106 is passed through the openings 108 of the curls 104) of the hinge (18, figure 19), in the installed orientation (figure 19), contacting one or more of the support body or the wall (12) so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular (figure 19) to the wall (12) or substantially parallel with the door opening (see figure 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the cabinet of Lakoduk et al. a pivot body including an extension portion and a connection portion that are connected by a bend, the extension portion pivotally connected to the support body, and the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel, the pivot body of the internal hinge, in the installed orientation, contacting one or more of the support body or the wall so that the connection portion extends one or more of substantially perpendicular to the wall or substantially parallel with the door opening as taught by Grossman since Grossman teaches this hinge assembly is particularly useful in cabinets positioned closely together or in recessed door cabinets where there is a small amount of room for the door to open and where it is desirable to open the door beyond 90°as on cabinets, vehicles, safes and the like (abstract).
In regards to claim 19, Lakoduk et al. teaches the method of claim 18.
Lakoduk et al. does not teach a support-body extension portion extending from the support portion; and a pivot body including a pivot-body extension portion pivotally supported by the support-body extension portion, and a connection portion that is connected to the pivot-body extension portion by a bend, the connection portion extending from the bend to support the swing out panel; the pivot body being pivotable relative to the support body between: an installed orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion extends within the interior volume in an installed direction, and the connection portion supports the swing out panel within the interior volume; and a swung out orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion extends through the door opening in a swung out direction that is rotated by an angle of more than 180 degrees relative to the installed direction, and the connection portion supports the swing out panel outside the interior volume.
Grossman teaches a support-body extension portion (74) extending from the support portion (24); and a pivot body (see the figure below) including a pivot-body extension portion (88, 108) pivotally supported by the support-body extension portion (74), and a connection portion (76; see the figure below) that is connected to the pivot-body extension portion by a bend (see the “bend” in the figure below), the connection portion (76) extending from the bend (see below) to support the swing out panel (16); the pivot body (see the figure below) being pivotable relative to the support body (12) between: an installed orientation, in which the pivot-body extension portion (74) extends within the interior volume (see figure 20, inside of side panel (14’)) in an installed direction (see figure 20), and the connection portion (76) supports the swing out panel (16) within the interior volume (see figure 20, inside of side panel (14’)); and a swung out orientation (see figure 19), in which the pivot-body extension portion extends through the door opening in a swung out direction (see figure 19) that is rotated by an angle of more than 180 degrees (see figure 19) relative to the installed direction, and the connection portion (76) supports the swing out panel (16) outside the interior volume (see figure 19).
In regards to claim 20, Lakoduk et al. teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: releasing the swing out panel (128) from the installed orientation by disengaging from the enclosure body a clip portion of a retainer clip that is secured at a free end of the swing out panel (The swing panel 128 can be locked by latching mechanism 233, shown in FIG. 32B. The latching mechanism 185 can include a rotatable latch 186 with a notch 187 including a padlock ring 188 to engage a padlock (not shown); paragraph [0133]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 4, 8-10, 12-13, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attachment of the USPTO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848