DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane et al (US Patent No. 5418679) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20180052432).
Regarding claim 1, Crane discloses a remote subunit (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+), comprising: a first power input port (H/20) configured to receive a first power signal (H) from a remote power source (35); a second power input port (N/20) configured to receive a second power signal (N) from the remote power source (35) asynchronous with the first power signal (H); a switch (34) selectively coupling the first power input port (H/20) and the second power input port (N/20) to a primary load (P); a voltage regulator (18) coupled to the first power input port (H/20) and the second power input port (N/20) and configured (i.e., master-slave scheme) to draw a current (i.¢., power) from the first power input port (H/20) before (i.e., master-39 1° ; slave-22 2"¢) the second power signal arrives (N); and a timer gating circuit (24, 26, 28) coupled to the voltage regulator (18) and the switch (34), the timer gating circuit (24, 26, 28) configured to: responsive to a count (i.e., counting time in seconds) exceeding a threshold (i.e., SWCON line is High, subsequently 38 is outputting the final improved signal [dotted line-48]), causing the switch (34) to close (i.e., ON) such that the first power input port (H/20) and the second power input port (N/20) supply the first and second power signals (H, N) to the primary load (P).
Crane does not explicitly disclose wherein the input power ports are electrically isolated from each other.
Kim discloses an electronic device and method for operating the same (i.e., 500; see for example fig. 6, para. [ 0070]- [0090]); wherein the input power ports (i.e., PW1, PW2; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]) are electrically isolated from each other (i.e., PW1 has its own terminal 511 and PW2 has its own terminal 512; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the second input port in Crane, as taught by Kim, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards accommodating multiple power lines and selecting/regulating one feed to the load.
Regarding claim 2, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the first power input port (H/20) comprises a low-power input port (PWREN).
Regarding claim 3, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the timer gating circuit (24, 26, 28) comprises a timer (26).
Regarding claim 4, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the timer (26) is configured to compare (COMERR) a capacitor voltage (i.e., voltage across 43) to a reference voltage (i.e., grounded node 45/47).
Regarding claim 5, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the timer gating circuit (24, 26, 28) comprises a comparator (i.e., CKT 41 comparing COMERR & PWREN).
Regarding claim 6, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the threshold (i.e., SWCON line is High, subsequently 38 is outputting the final improved signal [dotted line- 48]) is between two and ten seconds (i.e., communications are lost for more than four seconds).
Regarding claim 7, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the voltage regulator (18) comprises a twelve-volt voltage regulator (i.e., implicit as seen in fig. 2 as Vcc is an input to the control circuits as its voltage range from three to twelve volts).
Regarding claim 8, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); further comprising a diode bridge (24) coupled to the first power input port (H/20), wherein the diode bridge (24) is configured to rectify the first power signal (H).
Regarding claim 9, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein the switch comprises (34) an initial amplifying transistor (38) to boost a signal (i.e., o/p of 26 when SWCON line is High, subsequently 38 is outputting the final improved signal [dotted line-48]) from the timer gating circuit (24, 26, 28).
Regarding claim 11, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); a method (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+) of controlling a remote subunit (P) in a power distribution network (i.e., circuits beyond 35), the method comprising: receiving a first power signal (H) at a first power input port (H/20) at a first time (i.e., communication time);drawing a current (i.e., power) through a voltage regulator (18) from the first power input port (H/20); responsive to receiving the first power signal (H), starting a timer (26); and subsequent to receiving the first power signal (H), receiving a second power signal (N) at a second power input port (N/20); and on expiration of the timer (i.e., communications are lost for more than four seconds), coupling the first power input port (H/20) and the second power input port (N/20) to a primary load (P).
Kim furthermore discloses (i.e., 500; see for example fig. 6, para. [ 0070]- [0090]); wherein the input power ports (i.e., PW1, PW2; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]) are electrically isolated from each other (i.e., PW1 has its own terminal 511 and PW2 has its own terminal 512; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein drawing the current (i.e., power) through the voltage regulator (18) comprises drawing the current (i.e., power) through a voltage regulator (i.e., 18 is a master-slave scheme).
Regarding claim 13, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein starting the timer (26) comprises starting a count of two to ten seconds (i.e., communications are lost for more than four seconds).
Regarding claim 14, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); wherein coupling the first power input port (H/20) and the second power input port (N/20) comprises closing (i.e., ON) a switch (34) using a signal (i.e., o/p of 26 when SWCON line is High, subsequently 38 is outputting the final improved signal [dotted line-48]) from the timer (26).
Regarding claim 15, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+); further comprising amplifying the signal (i.e., o/p of 26 when SWCON line is High, subsequently 38 is outputting the final improved signal [dotted line-48]) from the timer (26).
Claims 10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crane et al (US Patent No. 5418679) in view of Kim et al (US Publication No. 20180052432) and further in view of Caird et al (US Patent No. 5237511).
Regarding claim 10, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+).
Neither Crane nor Kim explicitly discloses wherein the primary load comprises a radio access network node.
Caird discloses an improved distribution automation remote terminal unit (230, fig. 2, Col. 10 lines 25+); wherein the primary load (i.e., 230; see for example fig. 2, Col. 10 lines 25+) comprises a radio access network node (i.e., 80; see for example fig. 2, Col. 10 lines 25+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the radio access node scheme in Crane, as taught by Caird, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards enhancing communication and control capabilities in a larger scale such as power grids.
Regarding claim 16, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Crane as modified by Caird have been discussed above as well.
Crane discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+).
Kim further discloses (i.e., 500; see for example fig. 6, para. [ 0070]- [0090]); wherein the input power ports (i.e., PW1, PW2; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]) are electrically isolated from each other (i.e., PW1 has its own terminal 511 and PW2 has its own terminal 512; see for example fig. 6, para. [0075]).
Caird furthermore discloses (fig. 3, Col. 10 lines 25+), a distributed communication system (DCS) (i.e., plurality of DA/RTU, for example; see fig. 10, Col. 17 lines 12+), comprising: a power distribution network (PDN) (i.e., DA/RTU), comprising: a power source (30) comprising: a first power input port (210A) configured to receive power (i.e., via 30); a first power output port (302A); a first conductor (302) coupling the first power input port (210A) to the first power output port (302A); a first current sensor (60) associated with the first conductor (302) and configured to measure current on the first conductor (302); a first switch (300) associated with the first conductor (302); and a control circuit (311) configured to: receive information (i.e., inputs status via 12) from the first current sensor (60); and open the first switch (300) responsive to the information (i.e., inputs status via 12) indicating an overcurrent situation (i.e., controlled by 370) on the first conductor (302); a power conductor pair (322) coupled to the first power output port (302A); and a plurality of remote subunits (i.e., 200s, fig. 10, Col. 17 lines 12+), each remote subunit (200) comprising: a first remote subunit power input port (210/50) configured to receive a first power signal (1010a/50) from the power source (1000a); a second remote subunit power input port (210/60) configured to receive a second power signal (1010a/60) from the power source (1000a) asynchronous with the first power signal (1010a/50); a switch (NC) selectively coupling the first power input port (210/50) and the second remote subunit power input port (210/60) to a primary load (230, fig. 2, Col. 10 lines 25+); a voltage regulator (311, 370) coupled to the first power input port (210/50) and the second power input port (210/60) and configured to draw current (I) from the first power input port (210/50) before the second power signal (1010a/60) arrives; and a timer gating circuit coupled to the voltage regulator and the switch, the timer gating circuit (310) configured to: responsive to a count (i.e., zero-crossing-time) exceeding a threshold (i.e., error-flag event), cause the switch (NC) to close such that the first power input port (210/50) and the second power input port (210/60) supply the first and second power signals (1010a/50, 1010a/60) to the primary load (230); and a central unit (1040) configured to: distribute received one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) over one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) to one or more remote subunits (200s); and distribute received one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more remote subunits (200s) from one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) to one or more source communications outputs (14s); each remote subunit (200) among the plurality of remote subunits (200s) configured to: distribute the received one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) received from the one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.¢., such as 12, 14, etc.) to one or more client devices (i.e., user/load associated with each 200); and distribute the received one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more client devices (i.e., user/load associated with each 200) to the one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Crane as modified by Caird have been discussed above as well.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+).
Caird furthermore discloses the DCS (i.e., plurality of DA/RTU, for example; see fig. 10, Col. 17 lines 12+), wherein the central unit (1040) is configured to: distribute each of the received one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) over a distribution communications output (14s) among a plurality of distribution communications outputs (14s) to a downlink (i.e., downstream) communications link (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) among the one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.); and distribute each of the received one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from an uplink (i.e., upstream) communications link (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) among the one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) on a distribution communications input (1010) among a plurality of distribution communications inputs (1010s) to the one or more source communications outputs (14s).
Regarding claim 18, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Crane as modified by Caird have been discussed above as well.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+).
Caird furthermore discloses the DCS (i.e., plurality of DA/RTU, for example; see fig. 10, Col. 17 lines 12+), comprising a distributed antenna system (DAS) (i.e., implicit as seen in fig. 10 each DA/RTU communicates via radio [RF-Antenna]).
Regarding claim 19, Crane in view of Kim and the teachings of Crane as modified by Kim have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Crane as modified by Caird have been discussed above as well.
Crane further discloses (P, fig. 2, Col. 4 lines 15+).
Caird furthermore discloses (fig. 3, Col. 10 lines 25+), a distributed communication system (DCS) (i.e., plurality of DA/RTU, for example; see fig. 10, Col. 17 lines 12+), wherein: the one or more downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.¢., such as 12, 14, etc.) comprise one or more optical (392) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.); the one or more uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) comprise one or more optical (392) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.); the central unit (1040) further comprises: one or more electrical-to-optical (E-O) converters (350s) configured to convert received one or more electrical (342s) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) into one or more optical (392) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200); and one or more optical-to-electrical (O-E) converters (360s) configured to convert received one or more optical (392) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) into one or more electrical (342) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200); the central unit (1040) is further configured to: distribute the one or more optical (392) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more E-O converters (350s) over a plurality of optical (392) distribution communications outputs (14s) to the one or more optical (392) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.); and distribute the received one or more optical (392) uplink communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more optical (392) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.) on a plurality of optical (392) distribution communications inputs (12s) to the one or more O-E converters (360s); each remote unit (200) among the plurality of remote subunits (200s) further comprises: one or more O-E converters (360s) configured to convert the received one or more optical (392) downlink (downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) into one or more electrical downlink communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200); one or more E-O converters (350s) configured to convert received electrical (342) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) into one or more optical (392) uplink communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200); and each remote unit (200) among the plurality of remote subunits (200s) is configured to: distribute the one or more electrical (342) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more O-E converters to the one or more client devices (i.e., user/load associated with each 200); and distribute the one or more optical (392) uplink (i.e., upstream) communications signals (i.e., radio signals form each 200) from the one or more E-O convertors (350s) to the one or more optical (392) downlink (i.e., downstream) communications links (i.e., such as 12, 14, etc.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838