DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the preliminary amended claims filed 09/30/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2015/0256947).
Regarding claim 34, Kim et al. disclose a multiuse device (100), comprising: a housing (Fig. 1); and an operating system ([0043]) supported by the housing, wherein the multiuse device is configured to enable the housing to be supported by a human body at a first body part, and the multiuse device is configured to interact with another device (110) that is interfaceable with the human body.
Regarding claim 35, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device includes a first body support apparatus ([0043]) configured to support the housing at a first type of body part; and the housing is configured to enable the housing to be supported at a second type of body part without the first body support apparatus ([0043-0045]).
Regarding claim 36, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device includes a first body interface, ([0043]) wherein the housing is releasable supported by the first body interface; the another device is a hearing prosthesis (110); and the housing is configured to be used as an off the ear (OTE) sound processor of the hearing prosthesis without the first body interface ([0043-0045]).
Regarding claim 37, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device (200) is configured to provide backup functionality and/or supplemental functionality to the another device (202) as claimed (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 38, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device (200) is configured to communicate with the another device (202/204/206) utilizing at least inductance communication (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 39, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to communicate with the another device utilizing at least non-inductance communication ([0068]).
Regarding claim 40, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to automatically provide different functionality depending on what part of the body is supporting the multiuse device ([0043, 0167-0174]).
Regarding claim 41, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the another device is a medical device ([0007, 0049]).
Regarding claim 42, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to enable the housing to also be supported by the human body at a second body part separate from the first body part ([0043-0047]).
Regarding claim 43, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to automatically provide different functionality depending on where the multiuse device is located ([0043-0047, 0167-0174]).
Regarding claim 44, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: a first functionality of the different functionalities is that of a remote microphone functionality, wherein the multiuse device is configured to communicate a signal indicative of a captured sound captured by the body worn device to the another device ([0167-0174]).
Regarding claim 45, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is a consumer electronics device ([0043-0047]).
Regarding claim 46, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is a body wearable device ([0043]).
Regarding claim 47, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: a first functionality of the different functionalities is that of a remote mini-microphone functionality, wherein the multiuse device is configured to communicate a signal indicative of a captured sound captured by the body worn device to the another device ([0167-0174]).
Regarding claim 48, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to wirelessly access the internet ([0068]).
Regarding claim 49, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: at least one of the multiuse device or the another device is a smart phone ([0043]).
Regarding claim 50, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the first body part is a different type of body part from the second body part (0043-0047]).
Regarding claim 51, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the another device is a hearing prosthesis ([0049]).
Regarding claim 52, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device includes a first body interface, wherein the housing is releasable supported by the first body interface ([0043]); and the another device is a hearing prosthesis ([0049]).
Regarding claim 53, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the multiuse device is configured to provide different functionality depending on a state of support of the multiuse device ([0167-0174]).
Regarding claim 54, Kim et al. further disclose the multiuse device, wherein: the state of the multiuse device is supported by the human body ([0043]).
Method claims 26-33 are similar to claims 34-54 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691