Detailed Action
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
2. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
(1) The scope of claims 1 and 10 is vague. While the preamble of the claims calls for “a hair removal device”, however, there is no means of any sort cited in the main body of the clams for performing the function of removing hair.
(2) In claims 3 and 19, it appears the claimed stiffness range should be ranging from 0.05 N/mm and 5 N/mm rather than from 0.05 N/m and 5 N/mm. Note line 31 on page 12 of the specification.
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
2. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trotta et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,875,288, hereinafter “Trotta”).
Regarding clam 1, Trotta discloses a hair removal device (see Figs.4-5, note Fig.5 is a top view of Fig.4) comprising:
a base (51, see Fig.4 as annotated below);
a multi-angle deflector (42) coupled to the base (51);
an applicator head (24) coupled to the multi-angle deflector (42),
wherein the base (51), the multi-angle deflector (42), and the applicator head (24) are aligned along an alignment axis (A),
wherein, in a relaxed state, the multi-angle deflector (42) comprises at least one thickness (T) measured parallel to the alignment axis (A), and
wherein the at least one thickness (T) is reduced or maintained by a load applied to the multi-angle deflector (42) via the applicator head (24).
Regarding claim 2, Trotta’s multi-angle deflector (42) does not comprise any thickness that is increased by the load applied to the multi-angle deflector (42) via the applicator head (24).
Regarding claim 4, Trotta’s multi-angle deflector (42) comprises a deformable substrate (e.g., a foam member, see column 5, lines 27-30).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Trotta’s applicator head (24) comprises a hair removal surface (41).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Trotta’s hair removal surface (41) comprises enclosed non-linear cutting edges (e.g., concentric blade edges of inner blades 33 and outer blades 32 as seen in Fig.4).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Trotta’s enclosed non-linear cutting edges surround apertures within the hair removal surface (41).
Regarding claim 10, Trotta discloses a hair removal device (see Figs.4-5, note Fig.5 is a top view of Fig.4) comprising:
a base (51);
a multi-angle deflector (42) coupled to the base (51);
an applicator head (24) coupled to the multi-angle deflector (42),
wherein the base (51), the multi-angle deflector (41), and the applicator head (24) are aligned along an alignment axis (A, see the annotated Fig.4),
wherein, in a relaxed state, the multi-angle deflector (42) comprises a thickness (T) measured parallel to the alignment axis (A), and
wherein, when the multi-angle deflector (42) is under load or compressed, the thickness (T) of the multi-angle deflector (42) is modified by being decreased at any location, wherein the modified thickness of the multi-angle deflector (42) does not reach a zero value.
Regarding claim 12, Trotta’s multi-angle deflector (42) comprises one or more springs (e.g., “elastomeric spring” see column 5, lines 11-12).
3. Claims 1, 9-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0314471, hereinafter “Hashimoto”).
Regarding clam 1, Hashimoto discloses a hair removal device (100) comprising:
a base (10, see Fig.4 as annotated below);
a multi-angle deflector (52) coupled to the base (10);
an applicator head (20) coupled to the multi-angle deflector (52),
wherein the base (10), the multi-angle deflector (52), and the applicator head (20) are aligned along an alignment axis (A, see Fig.2 as annotated below),
wherein, in a relaxed state, the multi-angle deflector (52) comprises at least one thickness measured parallel to the alignment axis (A), and
wherein the at least one thickness is reduced or maintained by a load applied to the multi-angle deflector (52) via the applicator head (20).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Hashimoto’s angle deflector (52) provides a multidirectional deflection connection of the applicator head (20) relative to the base (10).
Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto discloses a hair removal device (100) comprising:
a base (10);
a multi-angle deflector (52) coupled to the base (10);
an applicator head (20) coupled to the multi-angle deflector (52),
wherein the base (10), the multi-angle deflector (52), and the applicator head (20) are aligned along an alignment axis (A, see the annotated Fig.4),
wherein, in a relaxed state, the multi-angle deflector (42) comprises a thickness measured parallel to the alignment axis (A), and
wherein, when the multi-angle deflector (52) is under load or compressed, the thickness of the multi-angle deflector (52) is modified by being decreased at any location, wherein the modified thickness of the multi-angle deflector (52) does not reach a zero value.
Regarding claim 11, Hashimoto’s modified thickness is capable of being increased at one or more locations of the multi-angle deflector (52) due to non-uniform forces applied to a hair removal surface of the applicator head (20) to compress the multi-angle deflector (52 in the form of a spring) resulting in a pivoting or see-sawing force at a side of the applicator head (20) opposite the side the forces are applied.
Regarding claim 12, Hashimoto’s multi-angle deflector (52) comprises one or more springs (see paragraph [0016], line 8).
Regarding claim 13, Hashimoto’s at or more springs (52) are selected from the group consisting of leaf springs, coil springs, torsion springs, and combinations thereof (see Fig.2).
Claim Rejection - 35 U.S.C. 103
2. Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trotta et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,875,288, hereinafter “Trotta”) in view of WO 98/36877 (cited in the 10/16/2025 IDS) .
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Trotta’s hair removal device as set forth shows all the claimed limitations except it is silent about the stiffness of the multi-angle deflector (42).
WO ‘877 teaches a spring stiffness of 0.1 to 0.2 N/mm (see page 6, lines 30-31) that is appropriate for a hair removal device.
Thus, to select an appropriate stiffness, such as in the range of 0.1 to 0.2 N/mm, for Trotta’s deflector (42) would have been obvious to one skilled in the art for its suitability in responding to shaving forces as taught by WO ‘877.
3. Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trotta et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,875,288, hereinafter “Trotta”) in view of Ackerman (U.S. Patent No. 2,614,321).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Trotta’s hair removal device as set forth shows all the claimed structure, and further the hair removal surface (41) is formed, in part, as a treatment sheet (e.g., a top member 24 as seen Fig.6) substantially as claimed except Trotta’s enclosed non-linear cutting edges (e.g., concentric blade edges of inner blades 33 and outer blades 32 as seen in Fig.4) are not “on” the treatment sheet (24) but is movable within apertures (25,26) of the treatment sheet (24, Fig.6).
Ackerman shows a hair removal device comprising a treatment sheet (2) having enclosed non-linear cutting edges (e.g., sharpened edges, see column 1, line 30) disposed thereon (see Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Trotta by forming non-linear cutting edges directly on the treatment element as one single piece to simplify manufacture process thus more cost effective as taught by Ackerman.
Prior Art Citations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 5,604,983 shows a treatment sheet (16, see Fig.6) having enclosed non-linear cutting edges (41, see Fig.9s) disposed on the treatment sheet (16).
U.S. Patent No. 6,584,690 is cited to show a resilient element in the form of a coil spring (381, see Fig.9A), a leaf spring (381’, see Fig.9C) or a compressible foam (481, see Fig.10A).
U.S. Patent No. 11,052,268 teaches resilient members can be in the form of a flexible web (156), a coil spring or a leaf spring (see column 8, lines 33-35).
U.S. Patent No. 11,867,247 shows a wave spring (2, see Fig.1).
Point of Contact
/HWEI-SIU C PAYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724