DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/08/2024, 7/14/2025, 12/01/2025, 4/30/2026, & 5/29/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2021/0007393).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung discloses a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (i.e. aerosol generating device/apparatus 100), comprising:
a power supply (i.e. battery 150);
a coil (i.e. transmission coil of detector 160) configured to generate an eddy current to a susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) configured to heat an aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) using power supplied from the power supply;
a current conversion circuit (i.e. adapter) connected between the coil and the power supply and configured to convert a direct current supplied from the power supply into a pulsating current or an alternating current;
an induction heating circuit (i.e. heating unit 130) to which the pulsating current or the alternating current converted by the current conversion circuit is supplied and which includes the coil;
a first detection circuit (i.e. detector 160 detects current characteristic values which can include the eddy current induced in the coil) configured to detect information corresponding to an induced current (i.e. eddy current) generated in the coil;
a second detection circuit (i.e. detector 160 detects current characteristic values which can include an impedance value) configured to detect an impedance of the induction heating circuit; and
a controller (i.e. controller 140) configured to control supply of power from the power supply to the coil based on an output of the first detection circuit and an output of the second detection circuit (Fig. 1-5, 17-19, 23; Abstract; Paragraphs 0080-0097, 0106-0113, 0140-0147, 0279, 0348). Detector 160 may be two or more detectors such as detectors 262 & 264.
Regarding Claim 2, Jung discloses that the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to
start heating control of supplying power for heating the aerosol source from the power supply to the coil based on the output of the first detection circuit, and
control the power supplied from the power supply to the coil in the heating control based on the output of the second detection circuit (Abstract; Paragraphs 0005, 0007, 0014, 0018, 0025, 0032-0033, 0063-0065, 0069, 0084, 0106-0113, 0151, 0277-0285, 0288, 0350).
Regarding Claim 3, Jung discloses an opening (i.e. outer hole 222 & insertion hole 212) into which an aerosol generating article (i.e. cigarette 500) including the aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) and the susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) can be inserted and which is at least partially surrounded by the coil (i.e. transmission coil & detection coil of detector 160 or detectors 262/264), wherein
the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to
execute heating control of supplying power for heating the aerosol source from the power supply to the coil,
control the power supplied from the power supply to the coil in the heating control based on an output of the second detection circuit, and
detect removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening after completion of the heating control based on an output of the first detection circuit (Fig. 1-4, 18; Paragraphs 0073, 0084-0090, 0249, 0253-0255, 0290-0298).
Regarding Claim 4, Jung discloses that the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to stop detection of information by the first detection circuit during the execution of the heating control (Fig. 12, 22; Paragraphs 0094, 0139, 0151, 0214-0216, 0289-0298, 0350).
Regarding Claim 5, Jung discloses an opening (i.e. outer hole 222 & insertion hole 212) into which an aerosol generating article (i.e. cigarette 500) including the aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) and the susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) is configured to be inserted and which is at least partially surrounded by the coil (i.e. transmission coil & detection coil of detector 160 or detectors 262/264), wherein the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to
detect insertion of the aerosol generating article into the opening based on the output of the first detection circuit, and
detect removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening based on the output of the second detection circuit (Fig. 1-4, 18; Paragraphs 0073, 0084-0090, 0249, 0253-0255, 0290-0298).
Regarding Claim 6, Jung discloses that the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to start heating control of supplying power for heating the aerosol generating article from the power supply to the coil when the insertion of the aerosol generating article into the opening is detected (Fig. 12, 22; Paragraphs 0094, 0139, 0151, 0214-0216, 0289-0298, 0350).
Regarding Claim 7, Jung discloses that the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) is configured to stop the heating control when the removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening is detected during execution of the heating control (Fig. 12, 22; Paragraphs 0094, 0139, 0151, 0214-0216, 0289-0298, 0350).
Regarding Claim 8, Jung discloses that the controller (i.e. controller 140/240) does not execute the heating control again unless the removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening is detected after completion of the heating control (Fig. 12, 22; Paragraphs 0094, 0139, 0151, 0214-0216, 0289-0298, 0350).
Regarding Claim 9, Jung discloses that the second detection circuit includes a voltage detection circuit configured to detect an output voltage of the power supply and a current detection circuit configured to detect a current flowing between the power supply and the current conversion circuit (Abstract; Paragraph 0063, 0090-0095, 0140, 0352, 0359).
Regarding Claim 14, Jung discloses a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (i.e. aerosol generating device/apparatus 100), comprising:
a power supply (i.e. battery 150);
a coil (i.e. transmission coil of detector 160) configured to generate an eddy current to a susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) configured to heat an aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) using power supplied from the power supply;
a current conversion circuit (i.e. adapter) connected between the coil and the power supply and configured to convert a direct current supplied from the power supply into a pulsating current or an alternating current;
a first detection circuit (i.e. detector 160) configured to detect information related to an aerosol generating article including the aerosol source (i.e. insertion of cigarette 500) and the susceptor (i.e. eddy current);
a second detection circuit (i.e. detector 160 detects current characteristic values which can include an impedance value) configured to detect information related to the aerosol generating article and different from the first detection circuit; and
a controller (i.e. controller 140), wherein
the controller is configured to:
start heating control of supplying power for heating the aerosol source from the power supply to the coil based on an output of the first detection circuit; and
control the power supplied from the power supply to the coil in the heating control based on an output of the second detection circuit (Fig. 1-5, 17-19, 23; Abstract; Paragraphs 0080-0097, 0106-0113, 0140-0147, 0151, 0158, 0279, 0348). Detector 160 may be two or more detectors such as detectors 262 & 264.
Regarding Claim 15, Jung discloses a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (i.e. aerosol generating device/apparatus 100), comprising:
a power supply (i.e. battery 150);
a coil (i.e. transmission coil of detector 160) configured to generate an eddy current to a susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) configured to heat an aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) using power supplied from the power supply;
an opening (i.e. outer hole 222 & insertion hole 212) into which an aerosol generating article (i.e. cigarette 500) including the aerosol source and the susceptor is configured to be inserted and which is at least partially surrounded by the coil;
a current conversion circuit (i.e. adapter) connected between the coil and the power supply and configured to convert a direct current supplied from the power supply into a pulsating current or an alternating current;
a first detection circuit (i.e. detector 160) configured to detect information (i.e. insertion of cigarette 500) related to the aerosol generating article;
a second detection circuit (i.e. detector 160 detects current characteristic values which can include an impedance value, current, voltage, etc.) configured to detect information related to the aerosol generating article and different from the first detection circuit, and
a controller (i.e. controller 140), wherein
the controller is configured to:
execute heating control of supplying power for heating the aerosol source from the power supply to the coil;
control the power supplied from the power supply to the coil in the heating control based on an output of the second detection circuit; and
detect removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening after completion of the heating control based on an output of the first detection circuit (Fig. 1-5, 17-19, 23; Paragraphs 0073, 0080-0090, 0106-0113, 0140-0147, 0151, 0158, 0249, 0253-0255, 0290-0298). Detector 160 may be two or more detectors such as detectors 262 & 264.
Regarding Claim 16, Jung discloses a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (i.e. aerosol generating device/apparatus 100), comprising:
a power supply (i.e. battery 150);
a coil (i.e. transmission coil of detector 160) configured to generate an eddy current to a susceptor (i.e. electromagnetic inductor 580) configured to heat an aerosol source (i.e. aerosol generating material which is a liquid composition which is heated to generate aerosol) using power supplied from the power supply;
an opening (i.e. outer hole 222 & insertion hole 212) into which an aerosol generating article (i.e. cigarette 500) including the aerosol source and the susceptor is configured to be inserted and which is at least partially surrounded by the coil;
a current conversion circuit (i.e. adapter) connected between the coil and the power supply and configured to convert a direct current supplied from the power supply into a pulsating current or an alternating current;
a first detection circuit (i.e. detector 160) configured to detect information (i.e. insertion of cigarette 500) related to the aerosol generating article;
a second detection circuit (i.e. detector 160 detects current characteristic values which can include an impedance value, current, voltage, etc.) configured to detect information related to the aerosol generating article and different from the first detection circuit; and a controller, wherein
the controller is configured to:
detect insertion of the aerosol generating article into the opening based on an output of the first detection circuit; and
detect removal of the aerosol generating article from the opening based on an output of the second detection circuit (Fig. 1-5, 17-19, 23; Paragraphs 0073, 0080-0090, 0106-0113, 0140-0147, 0151, 0158, 0249, 0253-0255, 0290-0298). Detector 160 may be two or more detectors such as detectors 262 & 264.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2021/0007393) in view of Butin et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2022/0369714).
Regarding Claim 10, Jung does not explicitly disclose a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil is connected; and
a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit includes:
a first resistor having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a second resistor having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the ground;
a switch device having one end connected to the other end of the first resistor and the other end connected to the other end of the second resistor;
a first detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the first resistor; and
a second detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the second resistor.
Butin teaches a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil is connected; and
a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit (i.e. current measurement device 140 w/ switch 130) includes:
a first resistor (i.e. current measurement device 140 may comprise a resistance) having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a second resistor having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the ground;
a switch device (i.e. switch 130) having one end connected to the other end of the first resistor and the other end connected to the other end of the second resistor;
a first detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the first resistor; and
a second detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the second resistor (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0016-0018, 0043, 0128-0129, 0134, 0228, 0313, 0315-0324).
Butin teaches that it is well known in the art of aerosol-generating devices or vaporizers to use resistors with switches as part of detection circuits which detect at least one property of the inductive heating arrangement such as voltage. Jung discloses a detection circuit for detecting a magnitude of a voltage, but is silent on the specific components of the circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use to use resistors with switches as part of the detection circuits of Jung, as taught by Butin, in order to reliably measure the voltage induced in the coil.
Regarding Claim 11, Jung does not explicitly disclose a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil is connected; and
a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit includes:
a switch device having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a resistor having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the other end of the switch device; and
a bidirectional current sense amplifier connected to both ends of the resistor and configured to detect a current flowing through the resistor and a direction thereof.
Butin teaches a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil is connected; and
a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit (i.e. current measurement device 140 w/ switch 130) includes:
a switch device (i.e. switch 130) having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a resistor (i.e. current measurement device 140 may comprise a resistance and a shunt amplifier) having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the other end of the switch device; and
a bidirectional current sense amplifier (i.e. shunt amplifier) connected to both ends of the resistor and configured to detect a current (i.e. IDC) flowing through the resistor and a direction thereof (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0043, 0134, 0313, 0315-0322).
Butin teaches that it is well known in the art of aerosol-generating devices or vaporizers to use a shunt amplifier, otherwise known as a current sense amplifier, and a resistor with a switch as a detection circuit. Jung discloses a detection circuit for detecting a current, but is silent on the specific components of the circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a bidirectional current sense amplifier, a resistor, and a switch device as components of the first detection circuit of Jung, as taught by Butin, in order to reliably measure the current induced in the coil.
Regarding Claim 13, Jung discloses a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil (i.e. transmission coil & detection coil of detector 160 or detectors 262/264) is connected;
a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected; and
an inverter (i.e. adapter) configured to convert a direct current supplied from the power supply (i.e. battery 150) into an alternating current and including a positive-side output terminal and a negative-side output terminal (Paragraphs 0093-0095, 0107).
Jung does not explicitly disclose that the first detection circuit includes:
a first resistor configured to connect the positive-side connector and the positive-side output terminal;
a second resistor configured to connect the negative-side connector and the negative-side output terminal;
a first detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the first resistor; and
a second detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the second resistor
Butin teaches that the first detection circuit (i.e. current measurement device 140 w/ switch 130) includes:
a first resistor (i.e. current measurement device 140 may comprise a resistance) having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a second resistor having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the ground;
a switch device (i.e. switch 130) having one end connected to the other end of the first resistor and the other end connected to the other end of the second resistor;
a first detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the first resistor; and
a second detector configured to detect a voltage applied to both ends of the second resistor (Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0016-0018, 0043, 0128-0129, 0134, 0228, 0313, 0315-0324).
Butin teaches that it is well known in the art of aerosol-generating devices or vaporizers to use resistors as part of detection circuits which detect at least one property of the inductive heating arrangement such as voltage. Jung discloses a detection circuit for detecting a magnitude of a voltage, but is silent on the specific components of the circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use to use resistors as part of the detection circuits of Jung, as taught by Butin, in order to reliably measure the voltage induced in the coil.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2021/0007393) in view of Sur (US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0253287).
Regarding Claim 12, Jung does not explicitly disclose a negative power supply generating circuit configured to generate a negative voltage based on the power supplied from the power supply;
a positive-side connector to which one end of the coil is connected; and a negative-side connector to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit includes:
a switch device having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a resistor having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the other end of the switch device; and
an operational amplifier having one of an inverting input terminal and a non-inverting input terminal connected to one end of the resistor, the other of the inverting input terminal and the non-inverting input terminal connected to the other end of the resistor, and the negative voltage supplied to a negative power supply terminal.
Sur teaches a negative power supply generating circuit (i.e. inverter 710) configured to generate a negative voltage (i.e. complementary negative voltage) based on the power supplied from the power supply (i.e. power source 704);
a positive-side connector (i.e. one of second terminals 718) to which one end of the coil (i.e. heating element 716 which may be an inductive coil) is connected; and a negative-side connector (i.e. another one of second terminals 718) to which the other end of the coil is connected, wherein
the first detection circuit includes:
a switch device having one end connected to the positive-side connector;
a resistor (i.e. resistor R1) having one end connected to the negative-side connector and the other end connected to the other end of the switch device; and
an operational amplifier (i.e. operational amplifier of non-inverting amplifier circuit 712) having one of an inverting input terminal (i.e. inverting input (-) of the operational amplifier) and a non-inverting input (i.e. non-inverting input (+) of the operational amplifier) terminal connected to one end of the resistor, the other of the inverting input terminal and the non-inverting input terminal connected to the other end of the resistor, and the negative voltage supplied to a negative power supply terminal (Fig. 7-9; Abstract; Paragraphs 0113-0127).
Sur teaches that it is well known in the art of aerosol-generating devices or vaporizers to use an operational amplifier and a resistor with a switch along with an inverter as a detection circuit and as part of a control component of a power supply. Jung discloses power supply and control circuit but is silent on the specific components of the circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a negative power supply generating circuit such as an inverter with an operational amplifier and a resistor as components of the power supply and control circuit of Jung, as taught by Sur, in order to reliably control and provide power in the aerosol-generating device.
Relevant Cited Art
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However, it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847