DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 starts with a period.
In claim 8, a comma is missing between “ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer” and “polystyrenes,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fortman (US 2019/0194423).
Fortman discloses the following:
Example 2-D of Fortman anticipates instant claims 1-3, 5 and 7-12.
As to claim 6, Fortman discloses that elastomers can also be stabilized using the same stabilizer composition (p. 4).
Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigemoto (US 5,100,941).
Shigemoto discloses a stabilized polyolefin resin composition comprising the following:
a polyolefin resin, specifically listed to include homopolymers of ethylene and propylene (col. 3, ll. 6-12);
an alkyl disulfide represented by the formula R1-S-S-R2, where R1 and R2 are linear or branched alkyl groups with 10 or more carbon atoms, preferably 12-18 carbon atoms, specifically listed to include lauryl myristyl disulfide, lauryl palmityl disulfide, lauryl stearyl disulfide, palmityl stearyl disulfide and myristyl palmityl disulfide; and
a triazine compound, exemplified as tris(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxybenzyl) isocyanurate, which is a known hindered phenol antioxidant.
Shigemoto discloses that the polyolefin composition is resistant to heat aging for a long period of time without discoloring (col. 1, ll. 5-11).
Shigemoto anticipates instant claims 1-3, 5, 7-8 and 10-12.
As to claim 4, Shigemoto does not discloses that the alkyl disulfides can be used singly or in combination. This suggests using 100% of the claimed asymmetrical dialkyl disulfides, as a mixture is not required.
As to claim 9, Shigemoto discloses the alkyl disulfide as present in an amount of 0.01-5 phr of the polyolefin resin (claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigemoto (US 5,100,941), as applied above to claims 1-5 and 7-12, and further in view of Giles (US 3,531,483).
Shigemoto anticipates instant claims 1-5 and 7-12, as described above and applied herein as such, as Shigemoto discloses a stabilized polyolefin resin composition comprising an alkyl disulfide, where the alkyl groups have 10 or more carbon atoms and can be different, in combination with a triazine compound.
Shigemoto does not disclose the polyolefins to include elastomers, as claimed in instant claim 6; however, Shigemoto does teach the polyolefins to include copolymers of two of the described alpha-olefins, and ethylene propylene rubber is well known in the art.
Gilles teaches that 4-hydroxybenzyl isocyanurates, which are the triazine compounds of Shigemoto, in combination with organic sulfides (col. 4, ll. 66-73), can be used synergistically to stabilize organic materials which includes homopolymers of ethylene and propylene, as well as rubbers (col. 3, ll. 43-73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used an ethylene propylene copolymer or ethylene propylene rubber or other rubbers/elastomers as the polyolefin or organic material for stabilization in the teachings of Shigemoto, as Gilles teaches that rubbers can be stabilized with a combination of 4-hydroxybenzyl isocyanurates (triazines) and organic disulfides.
Shigemoto in view of Gilles is prima facie obvious over instant claim 6.
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 3,305,521).
Taylor teaches stabilized synthetic rubbers comprising a stabilizer of the formula shown below:
Taylor specifically lists octyloxythiocarbonyl 2-nitrophenyl disulfide as a suitable stabilizer, as well as ethoxythiocarbonyl naphthyl disulfide (col. 2, ll. 1-16). Choosing octyloxythiocarbonyl naphthyl disulfide as the stabilizer is prima facie obvious.
Taylor is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1 and 6.
As to claim 4, Taylor does not require a mixture of stabilizers; therefore, choosing 100% of the suggested octyloxythiocarbonyl naphthyl disulfide is prima facie obvious.
As to claim 9, Taylor teaches the stabilizer as being present in an amount of 0.2-3 phr by weight of rubber (col. 2, ll. 62-72).
Conclusion
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766