DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daikoku et al (US 2011/0244738).
As to claim 1, Daikoku et al discloses a marine drive comprising:
a supporting frame (generally at 62, i.e. outer casing of batteries 62a,62b),
an electric motor 11 configured to power a propulsor 35 for generating a thrust force in water,
an electrical power unit 62a,62b for the electric motor, the electrical power unit being coupled to the supporting frame, wherein operation of the electrical power unit generates heat that is transferred to the supporting frame, and
a cowling 68 that encloses the electrical power unit and covers a first portion of the
supporting frame, wherein a second portion of the supporting frame that is different than the first portion of the supporting frame is exposed to atmosphere outside the cowling, and further wherein the supporting frame and cowling are configured so that the second portion of the supporting frame functions as a heat exchanger that transfers the heat from the electrical power unit to atmosphere.
As to claim 2, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the marine drive is an outboard motor 100.
As to claim 6, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the electrical power unit comprises an inverter (see para [0073]).
As to claim 7, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the supporting frame is a monolithic component (generally at 62, i.e. outer casing of batteries 62a,62b, each casing being monolithic).
As to claim 8, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the supporting frame comprises a body defining the first portion and the second portion (generally at 62, i.e. outer casing of batteries 62a,62b, each casing being monolithic and having first and second portions).
As to claim 9, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the body extends around a perimeter of the electrical power unit (the casing/body extends around the perimeter of the battery/electrical power unit 62a,62b).
As to claim 10, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the body comprises a top wall, a bottom wall, a front wall, and a rear wall, and further wherein the second portion is located along the rear wall. (the casing/body extends around the perimeter of the battery/electrical power unit 62a,62b and has top wall, bottom wall, front wall, and rear wall).
As to claim 15, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the electrical power unit 62a,62b is adjacent to an interior surface of the second portion of the supporting frame (generally at 62, i.e. outer casing of batteries 62a,62b).
As to claim 18, Daikoku et al discloses wherein the electrical power unit 62a,62b comprises a power entry module 65 configured to control a frequency of power supplied to the electric motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11-14, 16,17, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art of record, such as Daikoku et al, fails to show or suggest the marine drive wherein the supporting frame comprises a body, a support leg configured to support a propulsor housing for the propulsor, and a steering arm for steering of the marine drive relative to a marine vessel.
As to claim 11, the prior art of record, such as Daikoku et al, fails to show or suggest the marine drive wherein the supporting frame comprises a spine located along the rear wall.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record, such as Daikoku et al, fails to show or suggest further comprising a rib on an opposite, exterior surface of the second portion of the supporting frame, the rib being configured to promote heat transfer.
As to claim 19, the prior art of record, such as Daikoku et al, fails to show or suggest wherein the cowling comprises a top cowl and wherein the supporting frame comprises a spine located along a rear of the top cowl.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678