DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the arguments regarding claim 1 on pages 6 -7, Applicant appears to argue that the limitation “obtaining, using the at least one hardware processor, data at multiple heights by at least one unmanned aerial vehicle” requires the UAV to fly at multiple heights to obtain data.
However, this claim limitation has a scope that is broader than the Applicant’s interpretation.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation encompasses of obtaining data associated with multiple heights (or depths) of the subsurface structure by a UAV. Under this interpretation, Zhdanov clearly teaches the UAV is configured to obtain data at multiple heights/depths of the subsurface structure (see paragraph [0092] and Figs. 11A-11H). For instance, Fig. 11A and Fig. 11B depict the log resistivity of a subsurface structure at depths of 50 meters and 100 meters, respectively, obtained by the UAV.
In response to the arguments regarding claim 4 on pages 7-8, Zhdanov clearly teaches that the modeling system continuously receives real-time images from the UAV to learn and build the 3D subsurface model based on each iteration of the process. Specifically, the iterative loop comprising steps 54-63 teaches “an image-based machine learning model” used to generate the final 3D model at step 64 (See Fig. 9 and paragraph [0055]).
In response to the arguments regarding claim 5 on page 8, Hoang in the combination teaches a system and method for locating a karst or hazard by using machine learning and the detection of high resistivity areas within a subsurface structure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that resistivity is a physics-based property. In other words, Hoang’s system evaluates the subsurface model (e.g., Zhdanov’s 3D model) using resistivity-based machine learning (Fig. 11) to identify a karst or hazard in the subsurface structure.
Accordingly, the rejection is sustained in view of the reasons provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhdanov (Pub. No.: US 2013/0018585 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhdanov teaches a computer-implemented method that enables detection and mitigation of drilling hazards (abstract, system and method for real time subsurface imaging using EM data from moving platforms), comprising:
determining, using at least one hardware processor (Fig. 7 – Fig. 8, processor 47, para [0050]), time-domain electromagnetic parameters (Fig. 1 – Fig. 6, abstract, “At least one desired property, such as conductivity, dielectric permittivity and/or induced polarization parameters, may be derived from the volume image, providing a reconstruction or classification of the physical properties of the geological structures and/or man-made objects.”. The processor determines the elevation and location of the moving platform (e.g., UAV 21) for collecting the real-time electromagnetic data that represents various properties of the subsurface);
obtaining, using the at least one hardware processor, data at multiple heights by at least one unmanned aerial vehicle equipped with at least one receiver as a time-domain electromagnetic transmitter emits electromagnetic radiation based on the time-domain electromagnetic parameters (Fig. 1 – Fig. 6, Figs. 11A-11H and para [0045], “Another embodiment of a real time volume imaging system is illustrated in FIG. 4. A real time volume imaging system 20 is remotely located from a moving platform that may be an unattended aerial system (UAS) 21 that may include EM sources 22 and/or EM sensors 23 attached to the UAS. The UAS may move at some elevation along a survey line L(t) 24 above the surface of an examined medium 25 and the EM data is transmitted in real time from the UAS 21 to the real time volume imaging system 20 (FIG. 4).” and para [0092], “FIGS. 11A-11H illustrate a synthetic example of real time volume imaging for a frequency-domain helicopter EM system of inductive sources and receivers. The original 3D earth model consists of two bodies. One of the bodies is of 50 m cubic dimension and 10 ohm-m resistivity, and is buried 50 m from the surface. The other body is of 100 m cubic dimension and 1 ohm-m resistivity, and is buried 100 m from the surface. Temporal volume images at depths of 50 m and 100 m are shown for different time moments in an EM survey corresponding to the completion of five, six, seven and eight EM survey lines. Note that the volume image evolves during the real time imaging of the EM data.”. The UAV comprises of an EM source system and sensor system configured to transmit and to obtain EM data of the medium 6 at various subsurface elevations (e.g., 50m and 100m depth).); and
fusing, using the at least one hardware processor, the obtained data to generate a subsurface model (Fig. 9, step 64, and Figs. 11A-11H, para [0050], “An embodiment of a processor 47 is illustrated in FIG. 8. It will be appreciated that the processor 47 may be implemented in the real time volume imaging systems previously described in FIGS. 1 to 8. The processor 47 may include, for example, a data and code memory 50 for storing EM data received in real time from the data acquisition system 45 via the communications system 46, real time volume imaging computer software and real time volume images, a central processing unit 51 for executing the real time volume imaging computer software on the real time EM data to generate real time volume images, a graphical user interface (GUI) 52 for displaying the real time volume images, and a communications system 53 for real time system interoperability.”. The processor generates a real time model of the subsurface based on a sequence of EM data.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, comprising converting the obtained data into images that show changes in components of magnetic fields (Figs. 11A-11H, the model includes images that show changes of the size and the resistivity of the medium at various elevations.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, comprising processing the obtained data using image-based real-time drilling hazard detection via an image-based machine learning model to generate the subsurface model (Fig. 9, and para [0055], “The aforementioned 3D inversion process is iterated until terminated by at least one operator determined termination condition such as the error decreasing below the preset threshold 59. Once the 3D inversion process is terminated, an interim 3D electrical conductivity model 62 is generated for the given time moment t.sub.n. The interim 3D electrical conductivity model 62 is the real time volume image. If the survey is not complete 63, the aforementioned process is iterated for the next time moment t.sub.n-1 until the survey is completed. If the survey is complete, the interim 3D electrical conductivity model 62 is the final 3D electrical conductivity model 64.”. The system continuously receives and learns the subsurface based on each iteration of the process.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, comprising emitting transient electromagnetic pulses into the subsurface without galvanic contact (para [0074], “Airborne EM systems may include but not be limited to moving sources and/or moving sensors mounted on unattended aerial systems (UAS), fixed-wing aircraft with towed bird systems, fixed-wing aircraft with wing tip systems, fixed-wing aircraft with pod mounted systems, helicopter systems, audio-frequency magnetic (AFMAG) systems, VLF systems, MT systems, and IP systems.”. The EM data is obtained wireless via EM wave without galvanic contact).
Regarding claim 7, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, comprising moving the time-domain electromagnetic transmitter during data capture to enable adaptable data acquisition (Fig. 4, the UAV moves along line 24 to obtain data).
Regarding claim 8, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 10, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 11, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 13, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 14, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 7. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 15, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 17, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 18, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 20, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 6. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhdanov (Pub. No.: US 2013/0018585 A1) in view of Hoang (Pub. No.: US 2021/0018646 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, comprising: updating the subsurface model in real-time using data obtained in real-time (Fig. 9, the system continuously updates the model in a loop from steps 54-63).
Zhdanov fails to teach predicting drilling hazards in real time based on the updated subsurface model.
However, in the same field of subsurface detection, Hoang teaches a drilling obstacle detection system that identifies drilling hazards (e.g., karst) based on the subsurface mapping data. See Fig. 7, para [0077], “Accordingly, as can be appreciated in FIG. 7, in one implementation, a seismic data log 700 is provided along one of the seismic shot lines. A proposed well 702 is projected over the seismic data log 700. The seismic data log 700 illustrates an inverted ground roll data for shear wave velocity, which is generally low in the unconsolidated/reworked rock layer between 10 and 25 feet of depth. Within a few hundred feet from the proposed well 702, there is a velocity anomaly 704 where low velocity (˜3000 ft/s) is surrounded by higher velocity (˜4500 ft/s). The velocity anomaly 704 is identified as a subsurface air-filled karst feature, and flagged as a potential drilling hazard for further evaluation by resistivity data, discussed below with respect to FIGS. 8, 9A, and 9B.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhdanov’s system to further identify potential hazards from the subsurface model to improve drilling safety.
Regarding claim 5, Zhdanov teaches the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the subsurface model comprises of resistivity data (Figs. 11A-11H) but fails to expressly teach evaluating the subsurface model using physics-based machine learning to confirm at least one drilling hazard in an environment.
However, in the same field of subsurface detection, Hoang teaches a drilling obstacle detection system that identifies drilling hazards (e.g., karst) based on the resistivity of the subsurface. See Fig. 11 and abstract “A system and method of detecting subsurface karst features includes receiving surface mapping data. A potential surface pad location can be identified in view of the surface mapping data. A resistivity survey for the potential surface pad location can be designed. The resistivity survey can include at least one long line extending through a surface hole for each of one or more wellbores in the potential surface pad location, and a short line extending through the surface hole of one of the one or more wellbores, each short line intersecting the long line substantially at the surface hole of one of the one or more wellbores. High resistivity areas exceeding approximately 150 Ohm per meter can be identified as sub surface karst features within the resistivity survey.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhdanov’s system to further identify potential hazards from the resistivity data of the subsurface to improve safety.
Regarding claim 9, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 12, recites a system comprises of a computer readable storage medium that is configured to perform the method of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 16, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 19, recites a system that is configured to perform the method of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685