DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 10, 11, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240233334 A1 to Xia et al (hereinafter ‘Xia’).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses a method for multi-modal data processing (Para [0005], wherein a multi-modal data retrieval method), comprising: acquiring data of original modality (Para [0028], wherein in step 101, target retrieval data is inputted into a first feature extraction network corresponding to a modality of the target retrieval data to acquire a data feature of the target retrieval data); and processing the data of the original modality by a target processing model to determine data of target modality corresponding to the data of the original modality (Para [0030] and [0031], wherein in step 103, retrieval is performed based on the target retrieval feature, the modality of the target retrieval data may be any modality, and to-be-retrieved data may also be any modality. The modality may include, for example, a text modality, an image modality, and a video modality, etc.); wherein the target processing model comprises a multi-modal pre-trained sub-model and a multi-modal feature correction sub-model (Para [0043], FIG. 3 shows a multi-modal retrieval network model including the first feature extraction network and the second feature extraction network.); a training process of the target processing model comprises training the multi-modal feature correction sub-model with parameters of the multi-modal pre-training sub-model fixed (Para [0042], wherein in step 203, a first loss value is determined based on a difference between the obtained retrieval features corresponding to the two or more pieces of first sample data having different modalities, and the first feature extraction networks and the second feature extraction networks corresponding to the modalities are adjusted, inherently as corrected, based on the first loss value.).
Regarding claim 9, Xia discloses wherein the data of original modality comprises any one of the following types of data: voice type, video type, text type, or image type (Para [0031], wherein the modality of the target retrieval data may be any modality, and to-be-retrieved data may also be any modality. The modality may include, for example, a text modality, an image modality, and a video modality, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Xia discloses wherein the multi-modal pre-trained sub-model comprises a Transformer model (Para [0065], wherein in one possible implementation, the second feature extraction network is a Transformer model network.).
Regarding claim 11, Xia discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; a storage device for storing one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors implement acts (Para [0076], wherein s shown in FIG. 9, the electronic device 900 may include a processing unit (for example, a central processing unit and a graphics processing unit) 901 that may perform various appropriate actions and processing based on programs stored in a read-only memory (ROM) 902 or programs loaded from a storage unit 908 into a random access memory (RAM) 903.) comprising: Please refer to the corresponding method claim 1 above for further teachings.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, please refer to the corresponding method claims 9 and 10 above for further teachings.
Regarding claim 20, Xia discloses a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer processor, are configured to perform acts (Para [0078], wherein the process described above with reference to the flow diagrams may be implemented as a computer software program. For example, the embodiments of the present disclosure include a computer program product. The computer program product includes a computer program carried on a non-transitory computer-readable medium.) comprising: Please refer to the corresponding method claim 1 above for further teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of US 11,023,523 B2 to Hauptmann et al (hereinafter ‘Hauptmann’).
Regarding claim 7, Xia does not specifically disclose wherein the target processing model is applied to at least one of the following tasks: a video-based text indexing task, a text-based video indexing task, a video-based text generation task, a text-based video generation task, or a video question answering task. Hauptmann discloses at least a video-based text indexing task (column 1, line 63 through column 2, line 2, wherein the system includes an indexing engine for automatically indexing data representing the audio-visual recording, with the data being indexed in association with the one or more adjusted weights for the one or more semantic features, respectively. . . . the semantic features comprise one or more of a visual feature, a textual feature, or an audio feature). Xia and Hauptmann are combinable because they both disclose image feature extraction. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the video based indexing of Hauptmann’s method with Xia’s in order for quick retrieval of an audio-visual recording 52 (column 6, lines 7-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8, 12-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art or the prior art of record specifically:
Xia and CN 114398505 A to Huang, does not disclose:
. . . . training the video feature correction branch and the text feature correction branch based on the data of the target modality and the label data corresponding to the sample data, of claims 2 and 12 combined with other features and elements of the claims;
Claims 3, 4, 8, 13, 14 and 18 depend from an allowable base claim and are thus allowable themselves;
Xia and CN 115238130 A to Wang et al, does not disclose:
. . . . wherein the multi-modal feature correction sub-model further comprises a cross-modal interaction branch; wherein an inter-modal shared parameter, which are acquired by the cross-modal interaction branch during a training process of the multi-modal feature correction sub-model, is used for alignment cross features for data of different modalities, of claims 5 and 15 combined with other features and elements of the claim;
Claims 6 and 16 depend from an allowable base claim and are thus allowable themselves.
Contact Information
/SHERVIN K NAKHJAVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672