DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24 and 28-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0179427 (herein Ringold) in view of US 2012/0168103 (herein White).
As to claims 21, 30-34, Ringold discloses a process for making a creping adhesive (see paragraph 11-14 and examples) and a creping adhesive thereof comprising:
Reacting a crosslinker and a prepolymer composing polyamidoamine backbones crosslinked by primary crosslinking moieties. Specifically, see paragraph 14 and examples describing that polyamidoamine is crosslinked in a first (primary) reaction and then a second (secondary, or a third) crosslinking reaction is performed, thus reading on a primary crosslinking moiety and a secondary crosslinking moiety. The primary crosslinking moieties are derived from a functionally symmetric crosslinker ()primary) and the second crosslinking is from epihalohydrin (paragraph 56) or a (second) functionally symmetric crosslinker (paragraph 14 describing wherein the second and third step form a functionally symmetric crosslinker) to produce a crosslinked resin. The reaction is in the presence of a solvent such as water (see paragraph 116 and examples). The primary and secondary are in the presence of solvent and/or other materials. See examples.
Ringold is silent on a modified polyvinyl alcohol.
White discloses similar creping adhesive and processes of making them. See abstract, paragraph 13 and examples. White discloses the polyaminoamide crosslinked resin and modified polyvinyl alcohol, wherein the modified polyvinyl alcohol are carboxylated and/or sulfonated. See paragraph 13-14. The presence of the modified polyvinyl alcohol improves adhesive strength, enhances drying efficiency as well as improved crepe quality. See paragraph 13 and examples. Further teaching that polyvinyl alcohol helps rewetting the adhesive for superior adhesion. See paragraph 5.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the process and creping adhesive of Ringold with modified carboxylated or sulfonated polyvinyl alcohol as suggested by White because one would want to improve adhesive strength, drying efficiency, crepe quality, and rewettability. See paragraph 5 and 13 of White.
As to claim 22, White discloses that the carboxylated polyvinyl alcohol is prepared from acrylic acid (and hydrolyzed polyvinyl acetate to yield vinyl alcohol units, see paragraphs 55-56). The hydrolysis is 80 to 95% (claim 15 of White) and the carboxylate content is 1 to 20 mol% (claim 9 of White). Acrylic acid reads on claim unit c, which is present in 1 to 20 mol%. Since the hydrolysis is 80 to 95 (mol) %, the vinyl acetate content (claimed unit b) is 20 to 5 mol%. Thus, the remainder (vinyl alcohol reading on unit a) is 60 to 97%, which reads on the claimed range. Note that all ranges of White have values within the claimed range. Thus, the claimed structure, while not explicitly drawn, is implicitly disclosed since each monomer unit is specifically mentioned as well as the ranges.
As to claim 28-35, as discussed above, Ringold discloses that the solvent is water (paragraph 116) and the crosslinker is epihalohydrin (paragraph 56). The crosslinker is methylenebisacrylamide (MBA, reading on structure VII, wherein R5=R6=hydrogen and 4=CH2, wherein t is 1). See paragraph 45 and examples. The examples also show that the primary crosslinker may be MBA and/or the secondary (see tables 5-6).
As to claim 29 and 36, as discussed above, Ringold discloses that the solvent is water (paragraph 116). The crosslinker is methylenebisacrylamide (MBA, reading on structure VII, wherein R5=R6=hydrogen and 4=CH2, wherein t is 1) as well as other polymers that read on the other structures such as diglycidyl poly ethylene glycol. See paragraph 45 and examples. The examples also show that the primary crosslinker may be MBA and/or the secondary (see tables 5-6).
As to claims 38-39, Ringold a creping adhesive (see paragraph 11-14 and examples) thereof comprising:
Reacting a crosslinker and a prepolymer composing polyamidoamine backbones crosslinked by primary crosslinking moieties. Specifically, see paragraph 14 and examples describing that polyamidoamine is crosslinked in a first (primary) reaction and then a second (secondary, or a third) crosslinking reaction is performed, thus reading on a primary crosslinking moiety and a secondary crosslinking moiety. The primary crosslinking moieties are derived from a functionally symmetric crosslinker ()primary) and the second crosslinking is from epihalohydrin (paragraph 56) or a (second) functionally symmetric crosslinker (paragraph 14 describing wherein the second and third step form a functionally symmetric crosslinker) to produce a crosslinked resin. The reaction is in the presence of a solvent such as water (see paragraph 116 and examples). The primary and secondary are in the presence of solvent and/or other materials. See examples.
Ringold is silent on a modified polyvinyl alcohol.
White discloses similar creping adhesive and processes of making them. See abstract, paragraph 13 and examples. White discloses the polyaminoamide crosslinked resin and modified polyvinyl alcohol, wherein the modified polyvinyl alcohol are carboxylated and/or sulfonated. See paragraph 13-14. The presence of the modified polyvinyl alcohol improves adhesive strength, enhances drying efficiency as well as improved crepe quality. See paragraph 13 and examples. Further teaching that polyvinyl alcohol helps rewetting the adhesive for superior adhesion. See paragraph 5. White discloses examples wherein the polyvinyl alcohol is present in e.g. 12.5 wt% and the polyamidoamide crosslinked resin is present in 87.5 wt% (see examples) and generally discloses (in claims 2-6 of White) amounts that overlap or fall within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the process and creping adhesive of Ringold with modified carboxylated or sulfonated polyvinyl alcohol as suggested by White because one would want to improve adhesive strength, drying efficiency, crepe quality, and rewettability. See paragraph 5 and 13 of White.
As to claims 24, 37 and 40, White discloses the sulfonated polyvinyl alcohol is prepared from acrylamidopropanesulfonic acid (see paragraph 6, and hydrolyzed polyvinyl acetate to yield vinyl alcohol units, see paragraphs 55-56). The hydrolysis is 80 to 95% (claim 15 of White) and the sulfonate content is 1 to 20 mol% (claim 12 of White). Acrylamidopropanesulfonic acid reads on claim unit c, which is present in 1 to 20 mol%. Since the hydrolysis is 80 to 95 (mol) %, the vinyl acetate content (claimed unit b) is 20 to 5 mol%. Thus, the remainder (vinyl alcohol reading on unit a) is 60 to 97%, which reads on the claimed range. Note that all ranges of White have values within the claimed range. Thus, the claimed structure, while not explicitly drawn, is implicitly disclosed since each monomer unit is specifically mentioned as well as the ranges. It is also noted that Acrylamidopropanesulfonic has three isomers and it is ambiguous which one White refers to, however one of which reads on the claimed structure.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-28, 30-35 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,982,055. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claims 21, 23, 25-27 and 30, patented claim 1 discloses a creping adhesive that is a product that has primary crosslinking moieties and propanediyl moieties (secondary crosslinker residues formed from epihalohydrin). The solvent and modified polyvinyl alcohol are claimed. Since the primary crosslinking moieties are formed first by definition, the secondary crosslinker residues formed from epihalohydrin must be crosslinked in their presence by definition and thereby read on the claim.
As to claim 22, see patented claim 3.
As to claim 24, see patented claim 5.
As to claim 28, see patented claim 10.
As to claim 31-35, patented claim 1 discloses a creping adhesive that is a product that has primary crosslinking moieties and propanediyl moieties (secondary crosslinker residues formed from epihalohydrin). The solvent and modified polyvinyl alcohol are claimed.
As to claim 37, see patented claim 5.
As to claims 38-39, see patented claim 2.
As to claim 40, see patented claim 5.
Conclusion
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764