DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 18-23, 26-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woolsey (Patent No.: US 7042737 B1).
Regarding claim 1, 26, 27, 29, 31-35, Woolsey teaches An apparatus comprising: a first grid structure that comprises an array of receptors (reference numeral 116 in Figure 2), wherein the array of receptors comprises rows and columns of receptors, the rows and columns extend along directions that are parallel to a first plane, each receptor comprises walls that define an opening for receiving an optical module (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2); and a connection mechanism (reference numeral 106 in Figure 3; reference numeral 110, 132 in Figure 4) configured to mechanically connect the first grid structure to a first printed circuit board or substrate (reference numeral 104, 108 in Figure 4), wherein the first printed circuit board or substrate comprises a first main surface (e.g. the front facing surface as illustrated in Figure 4), the connection mechanism is configured to connect the first grid structure to the first printed circuit board or substrate in a way such that the first plane is substantially parallel to the first main surface (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3 and Figure 4) to cause the walls of the receptors of the first grid structure to be oriented relative to the first printed circuit board or substrate to enable the optical modules (e.g. “GBIC and SFP modules” as in column 3 lines 22-54) to be inserted through the openings defined by the walls of the receptors (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3) and be electrically coupled to the first printed circuit board or substrate through electrical contacts on the optical modules that are directly coupled to corresponding electrical contacts on the first printed circuit board or substrate (e.g. via reference numerals 112, 124, 126 in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 2, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the connection mechanism is configured to connect the first grid structure to the first printed circuit board or substrate to enable the optical modules to be electrically coupled to at least one of (i) electrical contacts on the first main surface of the first printed circuit board or substrate (e.g. via reference numerals 112, 124, 126 in Figure 8), or (ii) electrical contacts of a first module mounted on the first circuit board or substrate (reference numerals 112, 124, 126 in Figure 8; e.g. “provides interconnection” as in column 2 lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 3, 23, 28, 30, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the walls of each receptor (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3) define an opening configured to allow a pluggable module that includes the optical module to be inserted through the opening to enable the \optical module to be electrically coupled to at least one of (i) the electrical contacts on the first main surface of the first printed circuit board or substrate, or (ii) the electrical contacts of the first module mounted on the first circuit board or substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 3, comprising at least one pluggable module (e.g. “GBIC and SFP modules” as in column 3 lines 22-54), wherein the pluggable module comprises: the optical module (e.g. “SFP modules” as in column 3 lines 22-54), at least one first optical connector (e.g. “2 GHz SFP ports” as in column 3 lines 22-54), a first fiber optic cable (e.g. “fibre optic cable” as in column 3 lines 22-54) that is optically coupled between the optical module and the first optical connector, and a fiber guide (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3) that is configured to provide mechanical support for the optical module and the first optical connector.
Regarding claim 5, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 4 wherein the walls of each receptor are substantially perpendicular to the first plane (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 4 the optical module is configured to receive optical signals from the first optical connector, generate electrical signals based on the received optical signals, and transmit the electrical signals to the data processor (e.g. “translators or converters” as in column 3 lines 22-54).
Regarding claim 7, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 4 the optical module comprises an optical power supply (inherent in the “GBIC and SFP modules” as in column 3 lines 22-54).
Regarding claim 8, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein each receptor comprises a metal cage (e.g. “enclosure formed of one or more sheets of a suitable conductive material such as steel, aluminum, a conductive composite material, or the like.” as in column 3 lines 22-54) for receiving and retaining the corresponding optical module.
Regarding claim 9, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the connection mechanism comprises at least one screw (e.g. “thumbscrew” as in column 4 lines 16-37).
Regarding claim 18, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first grid structure (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3) is configured to exert a first force that pushes electrical contacts of the first optical module in a first direction toward at least one of (i) corresponding electrical contacts on the first main surface of the first printed circuit board or substrate, or (ii) corresponding electrical contacts of a first module mounted on the first main surface of the first printed circuit board or substrate.
Regarding claim 19, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first grid structure (reference numeral 106, 116 in Figure 3, reference numeral 114 in Figure 7) is configured to function as at least one of a heat spreader or a heat sink that dissipates heat generated by the optical modules.
Regarding claim 20, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first grid structure comprises at least 2 rows and 2 columns of receptors (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 21, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the first grid structure comprises at least 4 rows and 4 columns of receptors (reference numeral 116 in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 22, Woolsey teaches The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the receptors of the first grid structure have dimensions configured to receive and hold small form-factor pluggable optical modules (e.g. “SFP modules” as in column 3 lines 22-54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner maintains Woolsey meets Applicant’s claimed “electrical contacts on the optical modules that are directly to coupled and in physical contact with corresponding electrical contacts on the first printed circuit board or substrate” by virtue of the exact feature noted by Applicant, namely Woolsey’s circuit board 112. Examiner maintains the electrical contacts of Woolsey’s circuit board 112 provide a direct physical straight-line connection between the electrical contacts of optical module inserted into port 116 and the electrical terminals of the PCB 104.
Examiner further maintains Woolsey’s element 116 is clearly defines an opening for receiving an optical module and Woolsey explicitly discloses as much by virtue of SFP modules which include translators or converters for changing the port to copper or optical Fibre Channel for the external cable connection. Woolsey further clearly discloses that the openings are formed in a two-dimensional grid array as illustrated in Figure 2.
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635