Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2014176503 A) in view of FOR1 (KR 100437106 B1)
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki discloses: A dust separation device, comprising:
an air inlet (36);
a dust collection chamber (52) to collect dust in air flowing in from the air inlet;
a rotating body (37 and 41) rotatable inside the dust collection chamber (See Para [0045] “The rotation support portion 41 supports the first filtration filter portion 37 and the isolation portion 38 so as to be rotatable about the center line C of the container body 35 as the rotation axis.”), and including a blocking member (38) formed to block the dust from the air flowing in from the air inlet (38 is a separation unit);
a sealing member (81) configured to seal at least a portion of a gap portion formed to prevent dust from entering the gap portion (See Para [0051] “a seal section 81 is provided in the adjacent part between the lid wall 42 and the first filtration filter section 37 to prevent air from flowing from the separation chamber 51 side into the inner space of the first filtration filter section 37.”), the sealing member including a brush in contact with at least one of the rotating body and the fixing body (See Para [0053] “The sealing portion 81 includes a sealing surface 82 provided on the non-rotating portion, and brush bristles 83 provided on the first filtration filter portion 37 and in contact with the sealing surface 82 .”).
But does not explicitly disclose
a motor to rotate the rotating body;
a fixing body arranged to be spaced apart from the rotating body, and supporting the motor; and
the gap portion formed between the rotating body and the fixing body
Although Suzuki does disclose that that the rotation of the rotating body is generated via the air flow from the cleaner (See Para [0049] “The first filtration filter section 37 and the isolation section 38 are rotatably supported by the rotation support section 41, and therefore rotate when subjected to the air flow swirling in the separation chamber 51, that is, the swirling flow F.”)
However, FOR1 discloses a similar rotating cleaner body utilizing
a motor (52a) to rotate the rotating body (See Para [62] “As shown, the grill rotation means (50) of the present embodiment is configured and operates in the same manner as the previously described case, except that it uses a motor (52A) that rotates when the vacuum cleaner is used instead of the turbine fan described above as a driving source.”);
a fixing body (12b) arranged to be spaced apart from the rotating body, and supporting the motor (See Figures 3 and 6, showing the fixing body supporting the motor and separate from rotating body 60);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning body of Suzuki to incorporate a motor and fixing body to support said motor into the wall 42 of Suzuki, as FOR1 discloses that a motor (52a) is a known equivalent in the art for providing rotation for a rotating body in a debris separator (See Para [62] cited above) than allowing the airflow to provide the rotating force (52 of FOR1 is an air turbine utilizing the airflow of the cleaner to provide rotational force, See Para [50] “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the grill rotation means (50) comprises a rotating member (51) that rotatably supports the grill (30) relative to the cyclone body (10) and rotates together with the grill (30), a turbine fan (52) as a driving source that provides power to drive the rotating member (51) to rotate, and a power transmission means (53) that transmits the power of the turbine fan (52) to the rotating member (51).”). See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Examiner also notes that modifying Suzuki in view of FOR1 would result in the gap portion being between the rotating body (37 and 41) and the fixing member (12b of FOR1 incorporated into the wall 42 of Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the sealing member is configured to seal a gap inlet through which air flows into the gap portion. (See Para [0051] “Therefore, the seal portion 81 prevents air from passing through the minute gap between the first filtration filter portion 37 and the cover wall 42 or prevents dust from entering, thereby ensuring reliable rotation of the first filtration filter portion 37.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition wherein the blocking member (38) is along an outer circumference of the rotating body (See Fig. 2), and the rotating body further includes a rotating case (53) supporting the blocking member (See Para [0089] “Furthermore, in the electric vacuum cleaner 1 according to this embodiment, the isolation section 38 rotates together with the first filtration filter section 37, so that the dust in the dust collection chamber 52 can be stirred not only by the swirling flow F but also by the isolation section 38, thereby homogenizing the distribution density of dust in the dust collection chamber 52, eliminating uneven distribution of dust, and allowing more dust to accumulate.”).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the rotating case (53) includes a rotating wall (The wall underneath 39 is a rotating wall) disposed between the blocking member and the fixing body (See Figure 2 of Suzuki), and the sealing member is configured to seal the gap formed between the rotating wall and the fixing body (Sealing body 81 prevents debris from entering between 53 and the fixing body).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses
wherein the fixing body (12b of FOR1 part of wall 42 of Suzuki) includes a guide portion (82) configured to guide the rotation of the rotating body (82 forms a rotation track between it and shaft wall 71),
the rotating body (37 and 41) includes a slide portion (top portion of 53) configured to rotate along the guide portion (rotating body rotates in the track provided by guide portion), and
the gap portion is formed between the guide portion and the slide portion (See Figure 1 showing gap portion between 82 and top of 53).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses wherein the guide portion and the slide portion are formed in a ring shape, and the sealing member is formed in a ring shape along the guide portion and the slide portion (See Para [0093] “Furthermore, since the vacuum cleaner 1 according to this embodiment is provided with brush bristles 83, 83A that extend radially in the normal direction of the first filtration filter section 37, productivity of the sealing sections 81, 81A can be increased by forming a sheet-like material with the implanted brush bristles 83, 83A into a strip shape and rolling the long sides into a circular shape.” Further, Fig. 2 is a cross-sectional view of a circular/cylindrical/ring shaped body).
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses
wherein the guide portion (82) includes a guide groove (space between 81 and 53) formed to accommodate at least a portion of the slide portion,
the slide portion (top portion of 53) is configured to rotate along the guide groove, and
the sealing member (81) is in the guide groove (See Fig. 2).
But does not explicitly disclose the guide groove is concave.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the guide groove to be a concave shape as doing so would be a simple change in shape, which has been held to be obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed piece is significant. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the sealing member (81) further includes a base supporting the brush (See surface brush hairs 83 sit on as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the base is located on the fixing body.
However, Suzuki discloses in Para [0053] “In addition, the positional relationship between the sealing surface 82 and the brush bristles 83 may be reversed; that is, the sealing section 81 may have a sealing surface 82 provided on either the first filtration filter section 37 or the non-rotating section, and brush bristles 83 provided on the other of the first filtration filter section 37 or the non-rotating section and in contact with the sealing surface 82.”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the location of the brush base to be located on the fixing body (82 extends from 42, which the fixing body is a part of) as doing so is suggested via Para [0053] of Suzuki and would be a matter of rearrangement of parts, which has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice, See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the blocking member (38) includes a grille (57) in which a plurality of holes are formed (See Fig. 2).
However, FOR1 discloses a similar blocking member 30 which is a grill in which a plurality of holes are formed (See Para [26] “This grill (30) has a grill body (31) and a plurality of channels (32) arranged on the outer surface of the grill body (31) to communicate with the air exhaust pipe (12).”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the blocking member to include a grill as doing so would prevent dust and debris separated from flowing back through the discharge pipe as advantageously suggested in Para [26] of FOR1 “The above grill (30) is installed at the inlet of the air discharge pipe (12) inside the cyclone body (10) and prevents dust and dirt separated from the swirling air current from flowing back through the air discharge pipe (12).”
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 wherein the brush is arranged in a direction parallel to a rotation axis direction of the rotating body (See Figure 2 of Suzuki, the base the brushes are placed on extends downward in a direction parallel to a rotation axis of direction of the rotating body).
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses further comprising a filter (45) disposed on a downstream side of the blocking member on an air flow path through which the air flows from the air inlet (See Figure 2 showing the filter disposed downstream of the blocking member and air inlet and before air outlet 85).
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12, and in addition discloses wherein the filter is mounted to the fixing body (See Figure 2 of Suzuki, 45 sits on wall 42 which the fixing body is a part of as modified in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Suzuki discloses
A cleaner (1), comprising:
a main body (2) including an intake port (19), an exhaust port (See Para [0032] “The electric blower 8 exhausts the air sucked from the dust separating and collecting device 7 to the outside of the vacuum cleaner body 2.”), and a suction motor (8);
and a dust separation device (7) provided on the main body, the dust separation device including:
an air inlet (36);
a dust collection chamber (52) to collect dust in air flowing in from the air inlet;
a rotating body (37 and 41) rotatable inside the dust collection chamber (See Para [0045] “The rotation support portion 41 supports the first filtration filter portion 37 and the isolation portion 38 so as to be rotatable about the center line C of the container body 35 as the rotation axis.”), and including a blocking member (38) formed to block the dust from the air flowing in from the air inlet (38 is a separation unit), and including a blocking member (38) formed to block the dust from the air flowing in from the air inlet (38 is a separation unit)
a sealing member configured to seal at least a portion of a gap portion formed between the rotating body and the fixing body to prevent dust from entering the gap portion, the sealing member including a brush in contact with at least one of the rotating body and the fixing body.
a sealing member (81) configured to seal at least a portion of a gap portion formed to prevent dust from entering the gap portion (See Para [0051] “a seal section 81 is provided in the adjacent part between the lid wall 42 and the first filtration filter section 37 to prevent air from flowing from the separation chamber 51 side into the inner space of the first filtration filter section 37.”), the sealing member including a brush in contact with at least one of the rotating body and the fixing body (See Para [0053] “The sealing portion 81 includes a sealing surface 82 provided on the non-rotating portion, and brush bristles 83 provided on the first filtration filter portion 37 and in contact with the sealing surface 82 .”).
But does not explicitly disclose
a motor to rotate the rotating body;
a fixing body arranged to be spaced apart from the rotating body, and supporting the motor; and
the gap portion formed between the rotating body and the fixing body
Although Suzuki does disclose that that the rotation of the rotating body is generated via the air flow from the cleaner (See Para [0049] “The first filtration filter section 37 and the isolation section 38 are rotatably supported by the rotation support section 41, and therefore rotate when subjected to the air flow swirling in the separation chamber 51, that is, the swirling flow F.”)
However, FOR1 discloses a similar rotating cleaner body utilizing
a motor (52a) to rotate the rotating body (See Para [62] “As shown, the grill rotation means (50) of the present embodiment is configured and operates in the same manner as the previously described case, except that it uses a motor (52A) that rotates when the vacuum cleaner is used instead of the turbine fan described above as a driving source.”);
a fixing body (12b) arranged to be spaced apart from the rotating body, and supporting the motor (See Figures 3 and 6, showing the fixing body supporting the motor and separate from rotating body 60);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaning body of Suzuki to incorporate a motor and fixing body to support said motor into the wall 42 of Suzuki, as FOR1 discloses that a motor (52a) is a known equivalent in the art for providing rotation for a rotating body in a debris separator (See Para [62] cited above) than allowing the airflow to provide the rotating force (52 of FOR1 is an air turbine utilizing the airflow of the cleaner to provide rotational force, See Para [50] “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the grill rotation means (50) comprises a rotating member (51) that rotatably supports the grill (30) relative to the cyclone body (10) and rotates together with the grill (30), a turbine fan (52) as a driving source that provides power to drive the rotating member (51) to rotate, and a power transmission means (53) that transmits the power of the turbine fan (52) to the rotating member (51).”). See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Examiner also notes that modifying Suzuki in view of FOR1 would result in the gap portion being between the rotating body (37 and 41) and the fixing member (12b of FOR1 incorporated into the wall 42 of Suzuki).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2014176503 A) in view of FOR1 (KR 100437106 B1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Genn (US 20170079493 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the brush includes a carbon fiber material.
However, Genn discloses a cleaner with a brush (14) comprised of bristles made of multiple materials (See Para [0029] “The brushbar 14 comprises bristles 16, 17 that are arranged in strips which extend about the brushbar 14. The bristles 16, 17 project radially outwardly from the brushbar 14 and comprise a first strip of Nylon bristles 16 and a second strip of carbon fibre bristles 17.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to choose carbon fiber as a material for the brush as carbon fiber is a known material to form bristles from, as taught by Genn in Para [0029] as cited above.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (JP 2014176503 A) in view of FOR1 (KR 100437106 B1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Smith (US 20130091655 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the dust collection chamber includes a scattering preventing rib formed to prevent dust collected in the dust collection chamber from scattering.
However, Nam discloses a similar dust separation device wherein the dust collection chamber (502) including a scattering preventing rib (521) formed to prevent dust collected in the dust collection chamber from scattering (See Para [0067] “The body cover 520 may include a rib 521 for preventing the dust in the first dust storage part 502 from being rotated by cyclonic flow. The rib 521 may extend upward from the body cover 520.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the dust collection chamber to include a rib as advantageously described by Nam in Para [0067] as cited above as doing so would prevent dust and debris from being rotated by the flow of air in the chamber.
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723