DETAILED ACTION
The following communication is in response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed November 26, 2025.
Claims 1-8 and 11-18 remain pending in the application. Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 11-18 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0190535 (Newly Cited, hereinafter “Hassan”) in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0087300 (Newly Cited, hereinafter “Seok”).
Hassan discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 1 and 11, a method for use in a station (STA), the method and the STA comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to an access point (AP) (see at least paragraph 71, a device transmits a request for a subcarrier assignment, which is received at an access point)
a receiver configured to receive, from the AP, a probe response frame including a second indication that the AP is operating using a first channel and a second channel, wherein the first channel and the second channel are non-contiguous channels, information identifying the first channel, and information identifying the second channel (see at least paragraphs 51, 52, 59-63, 67-71, 78-79, and 94-95, the device receives a beacon including subcarrier assignment, which includes non-contiguous subcarriers, as shown in Fig. 5B, where the subcarrier assignment includes a list of subcarriers in the assignment to the device, as shown in Figs. 3C and 3D, and the information elements may be inserted into a probe response message, where a channel and a subcarrier are described as spanning a frequency range and, therefore, according to the broadest reasonable interpretation, a subcarrier can be interpreted as a channel);
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive user data from the AP using the first channel and the second channel (see at least paragraph 79, the access point may communicate with the device using the assigned subcarriers).
Hassan also discloses that the access point receives a request for a subcarrier assignment in a probe message (see at least paragraph 71) but Hassan does not explicitly disclose the probe request frame including a first indication that the STA supports non-contiguous channel operation.
However, in an analogous art, Seok discloses or suggests a request frame including a first indication that the STA supports non-contiguous channel operation (see at least paragraphs 36, 46, STAs can report to the AP that they support C-DLS by setting a C-DLS capability bit to ‘1’, where C-DLS supports using an 80 MHz consisting of two channels non-contiguous to each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a non-contiguous channel capability indication, as taught by Seok, in the probe request message of Hassan in order to optimize the bandwidth usage by indicating the capability of non-contiguous channel capability.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Hassan discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports an 80 MHz channel bandwidth.
However, in an analogous art, Seok discloses or suggests transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports an 80 MHz channel bandwidth (see at least paragraphs 36, 46, STAs can report to the AP that they support C-DLS by setting a C-DLS capability bit to ‘1’, where C-DLS supports using an 80 MHz consisting of two channels non-contiguous to each other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a non-contiguous channel capability indication, as taught by Seok, in the probe request message of Hassan in order to optimize the bandwidth usage by indicating the capability of non-contiguous channel capability.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Hassan discloses all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except that each of the non-contiguous channels is formed from a group of contiguous channels.
However, in an analogous art, Seok discloses or suggests that each of the non-contiguous channels is formed from a group of contiguous channels (see at least paragraph 36, 80 MHz channel consisting of two channels non-contiguous to each other, where the 80 MHz channel consists of a first contiguous channel having a channel bandwidth of 40 MHz and a second contiguous channel having a channel bandwidth of 40 MHz).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a non-contiguous channel capability indication, as taught by Seok, in the probe request message of Hassan in order to optimize the bandwidth usage.
Claims 2, 4, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan in view of Seok, and further in view of U.S. Patent Number 9,137,341 (hereinafter “Bagchi”).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Hassan, as modified by Seok, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except the transmitter configured to transmit an indication of whether the STA supports a short guard interval (GI) for reception of frames, and an indication of whether the STA supports a power save mode.
However, Bagchi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests an indication of whether the STA supports a short guard interval (GI) for reception of frames, and an indication of whether the STA supports a power save mode (see at least Table 2, guard interval indicating short guard interval and power indicating power index to select transmit power setting, which indicates a power save mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the transmit parameters as taught by Bagchi in to the invention of Hassan, as modified by Seok, in order to improve the performance of data transmission.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Hassan, as modified by Seok, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except receiving power control information.
However, Bagchi, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests receiving power control information (see at least Table 2, power index to select transmit power setting).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the transmit parameters as taught by Bagchi in to the invention of Hassan, as modified by Seok, in order to improve the performance of data transmission.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan in view of Seok, and further in view of U.S. Patent Number 6,650,649 (hereinafter “Muhammad”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Hassan, as modified by Seok, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports frequency reuse.
However, Muhammad, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests frequency reuse capabilities for multiple frequency channels (see at least column 12 lines 14-19).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Muhammad in to the invention of Hassan, as modified by Seok, in order to optimize the usage of the frequency channels.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan in view of Seok, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0199968 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Hassan, as modified by Seok, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports multi-user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) beamforming.
However, Kim, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests STA support for multi-user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) beamforming (see at least paragraphs 117-120, MU-MIMO/OFDMA beamforming capabilities).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Hassan, as modified by Seok, in order to optimize the usage of the frequency channels.
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan in view of Seok, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0298742 (hereinafter “Ketchum”).
Regarding claims 8-10 and 18-20, Hassan, as modified by Seok, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the claimed invention except transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports link adaptation, where the first indication that the STA supports non-contiguous channel operation is included in an association request frame, wherein the second indication that the AP is operating using a first channel and a second channel, wherein the first channel and the second channel are non-contiguous channels, is included in an association response frame.
However, Ketchum, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, discloses or suggests transmitting an indication of whether the STA supports link adaptation (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 54, link adaption control field), where the first indication that the STA supports non-contiguous channel operation is included in an association request frame (see at least paragraph 63, association request), wherein the second indication that the AP is operating using a first channel and a second channel, wherein the first channel and the second channel are non-contiguous channels, is included in an association response frame (see at least paragraph 63, association response).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the transmit parameters as taught by Ketchum in to the invention of Hassan, as modified by Seok, in order to support high throughput data transmission.
Conclusion
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 03/09/2026