DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5-7, the units used are confusing. Surface roughness is generally measured in µm, not Rz/µm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-4 and 8-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0061319) in view of Jung (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0064731).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 16 and 22, Kim discloses a silicon thin film anode comprising a collector, an anode active material layer formed on the collector, and one or more interface stabilizing layers formed between a metallic component layer (collector, a metallic buffer layer on the collector, or the anode active material layer) and a silicon component layer (silicon thin film inside the anode active material layer) by an annealing process (Paragraphs 0041, 0044). As to claims 2-4, 19, 20, Kim teaches that the stabilizing layer can be a metal silicide, wherein the metal is that of the collector or buffer layer, and can be copper, nickel, iron, etc. (Paragraphs 0042-0044, 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the annealing process would bind the particles and materials in the areas surrounding the portions that are annealed, as recited in claims 1, 15 and 19 of the present invention. Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kim states that the annealing process is performed at a temperature of 200-900 °C (Paragraph 0059). As to claims 11-14, 16, 17, Kim discloses that the anode can comprise alternating layers of silicon and a second metal, such as titanium, nickel, copper, etc., and that an annealing process forms a metal silicide stabilizing layer between the different layers of the anode (Paragraphs 0044, 0047 and 0058). Regarding claims 21-23, Kim teaches that the anode active material can comprise a single silicon layer or alternating layers of silicon and other metals (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the amount of silicon in the active material can be between 70 and 99% by weight because Kim teaches that the silicon can consist of half of the active material when mixed with another metal or close to 100% when used alone.
Kim fails to disclose that the anode active material layer comprises a composite material that comprises 0 to 95% by weight of a carbon phase and 0 to 99 wt% of the electrochemically active material particles that are distributed within the matrix phase, that the precursor is dried prior to annealing, and that the median particle size of the silicon particles is 0.5 to 20 µm.
Jung discloses an anode active material for a secondary battery comprising: a carbon silicon composite comprising a silicon carbon polymer carbonized matrix dispersed in a first carbon body, wherein the carbon of the matrix and the first carbon body can both be made from hard carbon (Paragraphs 0027, 0039, 0056), as recited in claims 1 and 18 of the present invention. Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches that after depositing the carbon-silicon composite on a current collector, it is dried (Paragraph 0095). As to claims 24-25, Jung teaches that the silicon particles can have a D50 of 2 to 180 nm (Paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention to have formed a hard carbon matrix around the silicon particles of Kim because Jung teaches that the carbon matrix prevents the volume change of the silicon particles, which then improves the cycle properties of the battery. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the active material layer precursor of Kim could be dried prior to annealing because Jung teaches that this is a common step in forming an electrode layer so that this sets appropriately. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the median particle size of the silicon particles could be less than 50 µm because Jung teaches that a smaller particle size improves dispersibility. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the size could be adjusted in a close range depending on a size of the carbon phases and desired density of the material, and could fall in the range of 0.5 and 20 µm.
6. Claims 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication 2009/0061319) in view of Iwama (U.S. Patent Publication 2010/0233534).
The teachings of Kim have been discussed in paragraph 5 above.
Kim fails to disclose that the current collector has a surface roughness from 3 microns to 25 microns.
Iwama discloses an anode for a secondary battery comprising a current collector having a surface roughness Rz of 2.5 to 8.5 microns, and a silicon active material on the current collector (Paragraphs 0037, 0039, 0061), as recited in claims 5-7 of the present invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention to have used a current collector having a surface roughness between 3 and 25 microns in the anode of Kim because Iwama teaches that a higher surface roughness allows for the expanding and contracting of the silicon material and improves cycle characteristics of the battery.
Double Patenting
8. Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11355748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11355748 teaches a method of forming an electrode, the method comprising: providing a current collector comprising one or more layers of metal; providing a precursor comprising from greater than 0% to about 99% by weight of electrochemically active material; and heating the precursor and the current collector to form a composite material and at least one phase between the composite material and the current collector; wherein the at least one phase is configured to adhere the composite material to the current collector, and wherein the at least one phase comprises a compound of the metal and the electrochemically active material, wherein the active material comprises silicon particles, and wherein the heating comprises forming a metal silicide phase that binds the silicon particles together and/or the silicon particles to one of more types of carbon phases (claims 1, 20, 21).
Conclusion
BRITTANY L. RAYMOND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1722
/BRITTANY L RAYMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722