Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2024 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 10, “the angle” should be changed to ‘an angle’.
In claim 10, line 13, “the angle” should be changed to ‘an angle’.
In claim 19, line 14, “the angle” should be changed to ‘an angle’.
For rejection purposes, the word “the angle” is replaced to ‘an angle’ and is used in the rejection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIMBO (US 2017/0338900 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SHIMBO teaches a computer-implemented method ([0016]) comprising:
receiving a data stream comprising a plurality of sets of wave samples over a defined period of time ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive N signals from antenna elements and output digital signals after A/D conversion, [0088] discloses that reception signals corresponding to a predetermined period T seconds are used),
wherein receiving the data stream comprises receiving a transmitted signal at a receiver device from a transmitter device ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive reception signals received via antenna elements), and wherein the receiver device comprises an antenna array ([0015] discloses a receiver apparatus including an array antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements);
adjusting a beam shape at the receiver device a number of times while the transmitted signal is being received during the defined period of time using the antenna array ([0039] discloses that the array processing unit performs array processing for directing a null point of the array antenna in arbitrary directions, [0091] discloses that the direction of the null point is changed sequentially),
wherein adjusting the beam shape a number of times produces a modulated plurality of wave samples based on different beam shapes ([0039] discloses generating an array process signal based on signals received from the antenna elements, [0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions); and
determining an angle of arrival of the transmitted signal based at least in part on the modulated plurality of wave samples ([0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions, [0039] discloses generating an array-processed signal from signals received by antenna elements, [0008] estimating arrival angles of incoming waves based on results of beamforming having different main-lobe directions).
Regarding claim 2, SHIMBO teaches wherein the defined period of time comprises a duration of a single communication symbol ([0043] discloses an OFDM transmission method in which signals are transmitted per symbol, [0045] discloses that the delay profile estimation unit outputs the delay profile for each symbol, thereby indicating processing performed on a per-symbol time interval).
Regarding claim 3, SHIMBO teaches wherein the communication symbol comprises an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol ([0043] discloses an OFDM transmission method in which a plurality of orthogonal subcarriers are multiplexed and transmitted per symbol, thereby indicating that the communication symbols is an OFDM symbol).
Regarding claim 4, SHIMBO teaches wherein the computer-implemented method ([0016]) further comprises a post-processing technique, wherein the post-processing technique comprises estimation and inversion of at least one of gains and delays corresponding to each beam pattern ([0008] discloses calculating delay profiles from results of respective beamforming and estimating delay times of incoming waves based on the delay profiles).
Regarding claim 5, SHIMBO teaches wherein the at least one of gains and delays are correlated with the beam pattern used in beam switching to calculate the angle of arrival ([0008] discloses separating incoming waves using a plurality of beamforming having different main-lobe directions and estimating the arrival angle based on the electric power difference between the beamforming).
Regarding claim 9, SHIMBO teaches wherein the transmitted signal is received at the receiver device from a plurality of signal paths, and the computer-implemented method further comprises determining a plurality of angles of arrival corresponding to the plurality of signal paths ([0008] discloses that incoming waves having different arrival angles are separated using beamforming having different main-lobe directions that arrival angles of the incoming waves are estimated, [0091] scanning different directions by sequentially changing the null point of the array antenna, [0039] generating array-processed signals corresponding to the received signals).
Regarding claim 10, SHIMBO teaches a computer program product (FIG. 18 the receiver apparatus 1) comprising one or more computer readable storage media (FIG. 18 memory 91), and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media ([0115] memory device for storing a program as software), the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform operations ([0115] The program stored in the memory 91 are a program that is executable in a computer including the processor 92, and can cause the computer to execute the process) comprising:
receiving a data stream comprising a plurality of sets of wave samples over a defined period of time ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive N signals from antenna elements and output digital signals after A/D conversion, [0088] discloses that reception signals corresponding to a predetermined period T seconds are used), wherein receiving the data stream comprises receiving a transmitted signal at a receiver device from a transmitter device ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive reception signals received via antenna elements), and wherein the receiver device comprises an antenna array ([0015] discloses a receiver apparatus including an array antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements);
adjusting a beam shape at the receiver device a number of times while the transmitted signal is being received during the defined period of time using the antenna array ([0039] discloses that the array processing unit performs array processing for directing a null point of the array antenna in arbitrary directions, [0091] discloses that the direction of the null point is changed sequentially),
wherein adjusting the beam shape a number of times produces a modulated plurality of wave samples based on different beam shapes ([0039] discloses generating an array process signal based on signals received from the antenna elements, [0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions); and
determining an angle of arrival of the transmitted signal based at least in part on the modulated plurality of wave samples ([0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions, [0039] discloses generating an array-processed signal from signals received by antenna elements, [0008] estimating arrival angles of incoming waves based on results of beamforming having different main-lobe directions).
Regarding claim 13, SHIMBO teaches wherein the defined period of time comprises a duration of a single OFDM communication symbol ([0043] discloses an OFDM transmission method in which signals are transmitted per symbol, [0045] discloses that the delay profile estimation unit outputs the delay profile for each symbol, thereby indicating processing performed on a per-symbol time interval).
Regarding claim 14, SHIMBO teaches a post-processing technique, wherein the post-processing technique comprises estimation and inversion of at least one of gains and delays corresponding to each beam pattern ([0008] discloses calculating delay profiles from results of respective beamforming and estimating delay times of incoming waves based on the delay profiles).
Regarding claim 15, SHIMBO teaches wherein the at least one of gains and delays are correlated with a beam pattern used in beam switching to calculate the angle of arrival ([0008] discloses separating incoming waves using a plurality of beamforming having different main-lobe directions and estimating the arrival angle based on the electric power difference between the beamforming).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 11-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMBO, in view of Leabman (US 2022/0045554 A1).
Regarding claim 6, SHIMBO does not teach wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples.
In an analogous art, Leabman teaches wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound detection signals and analyzing phase and timing characteristics across multiple signals as wave samples, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as extracted weights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein the determining the angle of arrival of the transmitted signal ([2739] discloses receiving inbound object detection signals reflected from an object and analyzing their characteristics, including phase differences between signals, to determine spatial location data corresponding to an angular position of the object) further comprises:
applying the sequence of weights to an ideal waveform of the transmitted signal to create a modulated ideal waveform ([2738] discloses that a signal generator generates object detection signals including tone waves and chirp waveforms as transmitted signals, [2212] discloses controlling transmission timing and delaying transmission of waves across antennas based on receiver position as weighting); and
comparing the modulated ideal waveform to the plurality of sets of wave samples to determine the angle of arrival corresponding to each set of the plurality of sets of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound object detection signals reflected from objects and analyzing their characteristics and timing, including phase differences, [0262] discloses collecting sample data and adjusting transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein the determining the angle of arrival of the transmitted signal ([2739]) further comprises:
establishing a mapping between a plurality of sequences of weights and a plurality of angles of arrival corresponding to the plurality of sequences of weights ([2739] discloses that phase differences across multiple received signals correspond to different angular positions of an object as angles of arrival, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses applying weighted metrics to determine transmission conditions based on system parameters as associating sequences of weights with corresponding angular positions); and
comparing the sequence of weights extracted from the modulated plurality of wave samples against the mapping to determine the angle of arrival ([2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses comparing weighted metrics and scores to select an optimal transmission condition as comparison of sequence of weights, [2739] discloses determining spatial position based on analyzed signal characteristics as determining an angle of arrival).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein the stored program instructions are stored in a computer readable storage device (FIG. 1 memory 142) in a data processing system (FIG. 1 discloses that receiver 120 of electronic device 122a includes memory 142 coupled with processor 140), and wherein the stored program instructions are transferred over a network from a remote data processing system ([2046] discloses that system components download updates from a central processor over a network, [0608] further discloses transmitter reports device-related information to a system management server or a remote information service over the network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein the stored program instructions are stored in a computer readable storage device in a server data processing system ([0581] discloses that usage statistics are uploaded to a cloud-based server, [1860] further discloses one or more servers in a backend computing service that receive and process such data), and wherein the stored program instructions are downloaded in response to a request over a network to a remote data processing system for use in a computer readable storage device associated with the remote data processing system ([1960] discloses that a device instructs a host device to download drivers or software modules, [0853] discloses downloading additional information over a network upon establishing a connection, [1716] discloses downloading an application from a server or application store), further comprising:
program instructions to meter use of the program instructions associated with the request ([0581] discloses that a micro-controller records powering statistics including how often a device requests power, duration of power delivery, and amount of power delivered, and that such statistics are uploaded to a cloud-based server); and
program instructions to generate an invoice based on the metered use ([1860] discloses that a backend computing service generates an invoice based on the amount of energy consumed by a device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein the computer program product further comprises extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound detection signals and analyzing phase and timing characteristics across multiple signals as wave samples, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as extracted weights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein determining the angle of arrival of the transmitted signal ([2739] discloses receiving inbound object detection signals reflected from an object and analyzing their characteristics, including phase differences between signals, to determine spatial location data corresponding to an angular position of the object) further comprises:
applying the sequence of weights to an ideal waveform of the transmitted signal to create a modulated ideal waveform ([2738] discloses that a signal generator generates object detection signals including tone waves and chirp waveforms as transmitted signals, [2212] discloses controlling transmission timing and delaying transmission of waves across antennas based on receiver position as weighting); and
comparing the modulated ideal waveform to the plurality of sets of wave samples to determine the angle of arrival corresponding to each set of the plurality of sets of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound object detection signals reflected from objects and analyzing their characteristics and timing, including phase differences, [0262] discloses collecting sample data and adjusting transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein determining the angle of arrival of the transmitted signal ([2739]) further comprises:
establishing a mapping between a plurality of sequences of weights and a plurality of angles of arrival corresponding to the plurality of sequences of weights ([2739] discloses that phase differences across multiple received signals correspond to different angular positions of an object as angles of arrival, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses applying weighted metrics to determine transmission conditions based on system parameters as associating sequences of weights with corresponding angular positions); and
comparing the sequence of weights extracted from the modulated plurality of wave samples against the mapping to determine the angle of arrival ([2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses comparing weighted metrics and scores to select an optimal transmission condition as comparison of sequence of weights, [2739] discloses determining spatial position based on analyzed signal characteristics as determining an angle of arrival).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 19, SHIMBO teaches a computer system (FIG. 18) comprising a processor (FIG. 18 processor 92) and one or more computer readable storage media (FIG. 18 memory 91), and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media ([0115] memory device for storing a program as software), the program instructions executable by the processor to cause the processor to perform operations ([0115] The program stored in the memory 91 are a program that is executable in a computer including the processor 92, and can cause the computer to execute the process) comprising:
receiving a data stream comprising a plurality of sets of wave samples over a defined period of time ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive N signals from antenna elements and output digital signals after A/D conversion, [0088] discloses that reception signals corresponding to a predetermined period T seconds are used), wherein the receiving the data stream comprises receiving a transmitted signal at a receiver device from a transmitter device ([0038] discloses that radio receiver units receive reception signals received via antenna elements), and wherein the receiver device comprises an antenna array ([0015] discloses a receiver apparatus including an array antenna comprising a plurality of antenna elements);
adjusting a beam shape at the receiver device a number of times while the transmitted signal is being received during the defined period of time using the antenna array ([0039] discloses that the array processing unit performs array processing for directing a null point of the array antenna in arbitrary directions, [0091] discloses that the direction of the null point is changed sequentially),
wherein adjusting the beam shape a number of times produces a modulated plurality of wave samples based on different beam shapes ([0039] discloses generating an array process signal based on signals received from the antenna elements, [0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions);
determining an angle of arrival of the transmitted signal based at least in part on the sequence of weights extracted from the modulated plurality of wave samples ([0091] discloses sequentially changing the direction of the null point of the array antenna to obtain signals corresponding to different beam directions, [0039] discloses generating an array-processed signal from signals received by antenna elements, [0008] estimating arrival angles of incoming waves based on results of beamforming having different main-lobe directions).
However, SHIMBO does not teach extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples.
In an analogous art, Leabman teaches extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound detection signals and analyzing phase and timing characteristics across multiple signals as wave samples, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as extracted weights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of SHIMBO and Leabman, specifically Leabman teaches wherein determining the angle of arrival ([2739]) further comprises:
extracting a sequence of weights from the modulated plurality of wave samples ([2739] discloses receiving inbound detection signals and analyzing phase and timing characteristics across multiple signals as wave samples, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as extracted weights);
establishing a mapping between a plurality of sequences of weights and a plurality of angles of arrival corresponding to the plurality of sequences of weights ([2739] discloses that phase differences across multiple received signals correspond to different angular positions of an object as angles of arrival, [2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses applying weighted metrics to determine transmission conditions based on system parameters as associating sequences of weights with corresponding angular positions); and
comparing the sequence of weights extracted from the modulated plurality of wave samples against the mapping to determine the angle of arrival ([2688] discloses weighting factors associated with system data as sequences of weights, [2700] discloses comparing weighted metrics and scores to select an optimal transmission condition as comparison of sequence of weights, [2739] discloses determining spatial position based on analyzed signal characteristics as determining an angle of arrival).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify signals as taught by Leabman within the parameter of SHIMBO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to enhance the charging efficiency of the device and the spatial 3-dimensional pocket of energy formation to improve the user experience (Leabman [0820]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0372725 A1 (HONGO) discloses a method of realizing an interference wave suppression technique.
US 2024/0267098 A1 (KALIMUTHU RAMESHWARAN et al.) discloses systems and methods for meta-surface-based beamforming.
US 2026/0019225 A1 (Ling et al.) discloses a communication method and a communication apparatus, to improve accuracy of multipath angle estimation.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413