DETAILED ACTION
This office action sis response to an application filed on 01/08/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (hereinafter, ”WANG” WO2023249383) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter, “Park”; 20200252847).
In response to claims 1, 17 and 20,
WANG teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at an enhanced distributed unit (eDU), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the eDU to (paragraph 206, node is equated to an EDU, controller is equated to a processor, memory is equated to a memory, this paragraph teaches the claimed limitation):
transmit, to a first network node, a first configuration relating to a first cell (fig. 7(a), step 701, paragraph 143, second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, paragraph 154, sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell);
receive, from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), the second configuration including information relating to the first cell (fig.9, UE is equated to a user equipment, steps 902 and 903, paragraph 184, third node is equated to a second network node, paragraphs 184 and 194, a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE),paragraph 194, target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell);
communicate with the UE in accordance with the second configuration (fig. 9, step 904, paragraph 199, sending a tenth message with configuration information explicitly teaches this limitation);
WANG does not teach explicitly about receiving, from the first network node, a cell characteristic relating to a second cell; and transmitting, to the UE, a third configuration, wherein the third configuration is based at least in part on at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration.
Park in view of WANG teaches receive, from the first network node, a cell characteristic relating to a second cell (paragraph 413,master access node is equated to a first node, secondary access node is equated to a eDU, second cell is equated to a second cell, using a list of sets of identifier of serving cell is interpreted as using multiple cells or using a second cell, second configuration parameter with a second cell identifier is read as using a cell characteristic relating to a second cell, determining child relation using a backhaul link based in cell ID explicitly teaches receive, from the first network node, a cell characteristic relating to a second cell); and
transmit, to the UE, a third configuration, wherein the third configuration is based at least in part on at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration (paragraph 413,third configuration is equated to a third configuration, paragraph 419, supporting V2X or D2D service explicitly teaches using a UE, paragraphs 419-420 and 422, using an intermediate access node via a backhaul link for sharing load as described in paragraphs 419-420 and using a second access node (with second access configuration parameter) is interpreted as transmitting to a UE a third configuration).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG to receive, from the first network node, a cell characteristic relating to a second cell and to transmit, to the UE, a third configuration, wherein the third configuration is based at least in part on at least one of the first configuration or the second configuration as taught by Park because it would allow reducing traffic load for enhanced radio transmission by sharing load among multiple nodes within a cell.
In response to claim 5,
WANG teaches wherein the second configuration includes information associated with establishing a connection between the UE and the cell (fig. 9, step 904, paragraph 199, sending a tenth message with a user equipment configuration teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 6,
WANG does not teach explicitly about claim 6.
Park in view of wang teaches wherein the second configuration includes information associated with measuring or accessing the second cell (paragraph 413,second configuration parameter with a second cell identifier is read as using the second configuration includes information associated with accessing the second cell).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG to second configuration includes information associated with establishing a connection between the UE and the cell as taught by Park because it would allow reducing traffic load for enhanced radio transmission by sharing load among multiple nodes within a cell.
In response to claim 7,
WANG teaches wherein the information includes at least one of: a mobility configuration, a measurement gap configuration, an adaptive measurement configuration, or admission control information (paragraph 203, a second configuration is equated to a information, handover request is equated to a mobility configuration, using a second configuration message with a handover request is interpreted as the information includes a mobility configuration).
In response to claim 15,
WANG wherein the first cell and the second cell are a same cell (paragraph 194, target cell is equated to the first cell, paragraph 200, associate cell is equated to a second cell, paragraph 199-200, receiving a tenth message with “condition 1” or identity information of an associate cell is interpreted as the first cell and the second cell are a same cell).
In response to claim 16,
WANG does not teach explicitly about claim 16.
Park in view of WANG teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the eDU to communicate with the UE, are configured to cause the eDU to serve the UE (paragraph 223, processor is equated to a processor, secondary access node is equated to a eDU, paragraphs 419-420 and 422, using an intermediate access node via a backhaul link for sharing load as described in paragraphs 419-420 and using a second access node (with second access configuration parameter) is interpreted as transmitting to a UE a third configuration).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG to use one or more processors, to cause the eDU to communicate with the UE, are configured to cause the eDU to serve the UE as taught by Park because it would allow reducing traffic load for enhanced radio transmission by sharing load among multiple nodes within a cell.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (a) as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (hereinafter, ”WANG” WO2023249383) in view of Park et al. (hereinafter, “Park”; 20200252847) and in further view of Akkarakaran et al.(hereinafter, “Akkarakaran”; 20230027099).
In response to claim 2 and 18,
WANG and Park don’t teaches claims 2 and 18,
Akkarakaran in view of WANG and Park teaches wherein the second network node comprises a service associated with connection management and mobility management of the UE (paragraph 100 teaches using a UE, paragraph 104,using multiple IAB node is read as using a second network node, IAB node with AMF function explicitly teach this limitation).
It would have been obvious within the scope of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG and Park to second network node comprises a service associated with connection management and mobility management of the UE as taught by Akkarakaran because it would provide an integrated sitelink communication network with a backhaul link.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 8-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claim 3, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the first network node comprises a service associated with topology related functionality for a geographical area associated with the eDU or the first cell.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 4, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the eDU to: receive, from the first network node, an indication to activate or deactivate the first cell; and activate or deactivating the first cell in accordance with the indication.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 8, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the second network node is a first second network node, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the eDU to receive a fourth configuration from a second network node, the fourth configuration relating to another UE and the first cell.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 9-10 are objected because these claims depend on claim 8.
As for dependent claim 11, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the cell characteristic includes at least one of: a cell load parameter, a cell resource usage parameter, a cell activity parameter, a cell activation status, or an interference measurement value.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 12, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the cell characteristic is derived using at least one of: a measurement by the eDU, a measurement by the UE, or a measurement by another eDU.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 13, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the one or more processors, to cause the eDU to receive the cell characteristic, are configured to cause the eDU to receive the cell characteristic in association with a request for the cell characteristic.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 14, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the third configuration includes at least one of: a medium access control layer indication, a physical layer indication, a mobility switch command, an indication relating to a measurement gap, or a random access response.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
As for dependent claim 19, this claim is objected because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the first network node comprises a service associated with topology related functionality for a geographical area associated with the eDU or the first cell and the eDU comprises a service associated with at least lower layer functionalities.”
The closets prior art in the record WANG et al.’s (WO2023249383) teaching paragraph 143 about using a second node is equated to a first network node, a first transmission message is equated to a first configuration, his teaching in paragraph 154 about sending the first message with an indication relating to a target cell is interpreted as the first configuration relating to a first cell, his teaching in paragraphs 184 and 194 about using a first message in step 903 is equated to a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), receiving a third message by the second node in step 902 and sending a first message at step 903 (by the second node) based on the information received on step 902 described in paragraphs 185-193 and 195-198 is interpreted as receiving form the from a second network node, a second configuration for a user equipment (UE), his teaching in paragraph 194 about using a target cell is equated to the first cell, sending the first message for the configuration of a UE in the target cell explicitly teaches the second configuration including information relating to the first cell, but he does not teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2023058007……………….paragraph 66.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466