DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 21 recites “wherein the first integrated circuitry is configured to transmit the first image data in the compressed form while transmitting the second image data in the uncompressed form via the single frame” while claim 1 recites “first integrated circuitry configured to: transmit the first image data in a compressed form; and transmit the second image data in an uncompressed form via the single frame” on lines 2 and 7-8. Claim 21 effectively states the same subject matter as the aforementioned portion of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovsiannikov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121724, hereinafter “Ovsiannikov”) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0013143, hereinafter “Park”); further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0040212, hereinafter “Kim”).
Claim 1:
Ovsiannikov discloses a system comprising:
first integrated circuitry configured to:
obtain first image data from a first camera (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28);
obtain second image data from a second camera (§ 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication);
combine one or more frames of the second image data into a single frame (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique);
transmit the first image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28. The output of the front-facing camera 18 is transmitted in order to be combined); and
transmit the second image data in an uncompressed form via the single frame (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique) via an image data transfer protocol connection (§ 0023, Lines 3-5; Video images output from the biometric camera 28 are received by the iris recognition component 30); and
second integrated circuitry configured to:
receive the first image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28. The output of the front-facing camera 18 is received in order to be combined);
use the first image data for display on an electronic display coupled to the second integrated circuitry (§ 0079, Lines 7-10; The image from the front-facing camera 18 may provide information regarding the position of the face with respect to the field of view imaged by the biometric camera 28);
receive the second image data via the single frame (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique) via the image data transfer protocol connection (§ 0023, Lines 3-5; Video images output from the biometric camera 28 are received by the iris recognition component 30); and
perform user authentication using the second image data (§ 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication).
Ovsiannikov does not appear to disclose:
compress the first image data;
the first image data is transmitted in a compressed form;
the first image data is received in the compressed form; and
decrypt the first image data.
Park discloses compressing image data, transmitting the image data in a compressed form, and receiving the image data in the compressed form (§ 0041, Lines 7-15; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis, and outputs the frame image data according to the characteristics and size of the touch screen unit 160. The image processor 150, having a video codec, may compress frame image data displayed on the touch screen unit 160 using a set coding scheme and decompresses compressed frame image data into its original frame image data using a set decoding scheme).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov’s image data by compressing it, as taught by Park, in order to reduce transmission bandwidth required.
Kim discloses decrypting image data (§ 0119, Lines 1-2; The locking apparatus includes means for decrypting the encrypted iris template) (§ 0125, Lines 1-2 and 4-5; An iris image obtained using the camera attached to the terminal is encrypted. The transmitted iris template is decrypted).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov and Park’s first image data by encrypting and decrypting it, as taught by Kim, in order to enhance security (Kim, §§ 0012-0013).
Claim 3:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the second image data corresponds to biometric data (Ovsiannikov, § 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication).
Claim 4:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the biometric data comprises iris identification data, continuity data, anti-spoofing data, or any combination thereof (Ovsiannikov, § 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication).
Claim 5:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the first image data comprises gaze tracking data (Ovsiannikov, § 0084, Lines 1-4; The front-facing camera 18 may confirm the presence and determine the position of the user’s head and eyes during iris scan to assist recognition in case of problems with head positioning, such that the system can guide the user to position his/her head properly (and also showing the user a target to look at on the display)).
Claim 6:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the first integrated circuitry is configured to combine the one or more frames of the second image data into the single frame via a compositor (Ovsiannikov, § 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique).
Claim 7:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim discloses the system as recited in claim 1.
Ovsiannikov in view of Park does not appear to disclose wherein each of the one or more frames of the second image data is encrypted to include a security signature.
Kim discloses encrypting image data to include a security signature (§ 0039; An encryptor inserts a token or key into an iris image or performs encryption or signature on information about an iris image) (§ 0125, Lines 1-2; An iris image obtained using the camera attached to the terminal is encrypted).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov and Park’s second image data by encrypting it, as taught by Kim, in order to enhance security (Kim, §§ 0012-0013).
Claim 8:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses the second integrated circuitry configured to decrypt the security signature (Kim, § 0119, Lines 1-2; The locking apparatus includes means for decrypting the encrypted iris template) (Kim, § 0125, Lines 4-5; The transmitted iris template is decrypted) and perform authentication based on the second image data (Ovsiannikov, § 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication).
Claim 9:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the single frame comprises metadata, grid data, matting data, a gap, red, green, or blue (RGB) pixel arrangement data, or any combination thereof, associated with the second image data (Ovsiannikov, § 0051, Lines 2-7; The biometric camera system 24 may perform additional functions including proximity sensing, night vision, 3D time-of-flight sensing, eye position and gaze tracking, and providing a structured light for 3D sensing).
Claim 10:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim discloses the system as recited in claim 1.
Ovsiannikov in view of Park does not appear to disclose wherein the second camera is configured to operate in a security mode that causes the second camera to output a secure frame of the second image data comprising a security signature.
Kim discloses wherein the second camera is configured to operate in a security mode that causes the second camera to output a secure frame of the second image data comprising a security signature (§ 0039; An encryptor inserts a token or key into an iris image in response to a request from the locking apparatus or performs encryption or signature on information about an iris image) (§ 0125, Lines 1-2; An iris image obtained using the camera attached to the terminal is encrypted).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov and Park’s second camera by encrypting the images captured, as taught by Kim, in order to enhance security (Kim, §§ 0012-0013).
Claim 11:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim further discloses wherein the second image data is associated with one or both eyes (Ovsiannikov, § 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovsiannikov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121724, hereinafter “Ovsiannikov”) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0013143, hereinafter “Park”); further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0040212, hereinafter “Kim”); further in view of Sacchetto et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0275905, hereinafter “Sacchetto”).
Claim 2:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim discloses the system as recited in claim 1.
Ovsiannikov in view of Park and further in view of Kim does not appear to disclose wherein the image data transfer protocol connection comprises a Low Power DisplayPort (LPDP) connection.
Sacchetto discloses data received is provided to the display interface, for example, a low-power display port (LPDP) interface (§ 0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov, Park, and Kim’s image data transfer protocol connection to be a LPDP interface, as taught by Park, in order to reap the benefits of the LPDP standard.
Claim(s) 12-15, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovsiannikov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121724, hereinafter “Ovsiannikov”) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0013143, hereinafter “Park”).
Claim 12:
Ovsiannikov discloses first integrated circuitry comprising:
a first camera configured to capture first image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28);
a second camera configured to capture second image data (§ 0021, Lines 1-4; The mobile device 10 is provided with a biometric camera system 24 that is used to capture images of the human iris for user identification and authentication);
a first image data transfer interface configured to receive the first image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28) and transmit a second portion of the first image data to a compositor (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique); and
a second image data transfer interface configured to receive the second image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28) and transmit a second portion of the second image data to the compositor (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique).
Ovsiannikov does not appear to disclose:
transmit the first portion of the first image data to streaming encoding or decoding circuitry;
transmit the first portion of the second image data to the streaming encoding or decoding circuitry.
Park discloses transmitting image data to streaming encoding or decoding circuitry (§ 0041, Lines 7-13; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis, and outputs the frame image data according to the characteristics and size of the touch screen unit 160. The image processor 150, having a video codec, may compress frame image data displayed on the touch screen unit 160 using a set coding scheme).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov’s image data by compressing it, as taught by Park, in order to reduce transmission bandwidth required.
Claim 13:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the streaming encoding or decoding circuitry is configured to compress the first portion of the first image data and the first portion of the second image data (Park, § 0041, Lines 7-13; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis, and outputs the frame image data according to the characteristics and size of the touch screen unit 160. The image processor 150, having a video codec, may compress frame image data displayed on the touch screen unit 160 using a set coding scheme).
Claim 14:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the streaming encoding or decoding circuitry is configured to transmit the compressed first portion of the first image data and the compressed first portion of the second image data to second integrated circuitry (Park, § 0041, Lines 7-9; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis and outputs the frame image data).
Claim 15:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the compositor is configured to arrange one or more frames of the second portion of the first image data and one or more frames of the second portion of the second image data in a single frame (Ovsiannikov, § 0049, Lines 11-13; The combining step may use a super-resolution technique or could instead do a simple signal averaging to reduce noise).
Claim 17:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the first portion of the first image data (Ovsiannikov, § 0084, Lines 1-4; The front-facing camera 18 may confirm the presence and determine the position of the user’s head and eyes during iris scan to assist recognition in case of problems with head positioning, such that the system can guide the user to position his/her head properly (and also showing the user a target to look at on the display)) and the first portion of the second image data comprise gaze tracking data (Ovsiannikov, § 0051; The biometric camera system 24 performs additional functions in addition to iris scanning including gaze tracking), and wherein the second portion of the first image data and the second portion of the second image data comprise continuity data (Ovsiannikov, § 0079, Lines 1-7; Since the biometric camera 28 may have a relatively narrow field of view, it may not always capture the image of the entire user face, but only an image of one eye. To decide which eye this is—left or right—the output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28).
Claim 19:
Ovsiannikov discloses a system comprising:
first integrated circuitry (§ 0018; Processor 14) configured to:
receive image data (§ 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28);
obtain biometric data from the image data (See citation above. Data to determine which of the eyes of being imaged by the biometric camera 28 corresponds to biometric data);
transmit the image data (See citation above. The output of the front-facing camera 18 is transmitted in order to be combined); and
transmit the biometric data in an uncompressed form via a single frame (§ 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique) (§ 0023, Lines 3-5; Video images output from the biometric camera 28 are received by the iris recognition component 30).
Ovsiannikov does not appear to disclose the image data is transmitted via streaming encoding or decoding circuitry in a compressed form.
Park discloses the image data is transmitted via streaming encoding or decoding circuitry in a compressed form (§ 0041, Lines 7-13; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis, and outputs the frame image data according to the characteristics and size of the touch screen unit 160. The image processor 150, having a video codec, may compress frame image data displayed on the touch screen unit 160 using a set coding scheme).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov’s image data by compressing it, as taught by Park, in order to reduce transmission bandwidth required.
Claim 20:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the single frame comprises two or more frames of the biometric data (Ovsiannikov, § 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique).
Claim 21:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park further discloses wherein the first integrated circuitry is configured to transmit the first image data (Ovsiannikov, § 0079, Lines 5-7; The output of the front-facing camera 18 may be combined to determine which of the eyes is being imaged by the biometric camera 28. The output of the front-facing camera 18 is transmitted in order to be combined) in the compressed form (Park, § 0041, Lines 7-15; The image processor 150 processes the image signals output from the camera module 140 on a frame-by-frame basis, and outputs the frame image data according to the characteristics and size of the touch screen unit 160. The image processor 150, having a video codec, may compress frame image data displayed on the touch screen unit 160 using a set coding scheme and decompresses compressed frame image data into its original frame image data using a set decoding scheme) while transmitting the second image data in the uncompressed form via the single frame (Ovsiannikov, § 0049, Lines 4-7 and 11-13; The image quality may be improved by using known super-resolution techniques to capture several images of the iris and process them to achieve a sharper picture. The combining step may use a super-resolution technique).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovsiannikov et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0121724, hereinafter “Ovsiannikov”) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0013143, hereinafter “Park”); further in view of Sacchetto et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0275905, hereinafter “Sacchetto”).
Claim 16:
Ovsiannikov in view of Park discloses the circuitry as recited in claims 12 and 15.
Ovsiannikov in view of Park does not appear to disclose wherein the compositor is configured to transmit the single frame to second integrated circuitry via a Low Power DisplayPort (LPDP) connection.
Sacchetto discloses data received is provided to the display interface, for example, a low-power display port (LPDP) interface (§ 0065).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ovsiannikov and Park’s compositor by transmitting the single frame via a LPDP interface, as taught by Park, in order to reap the benefits of the LPDP standard.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that (1) while Park discloses compressing frame data, there is no disclosure of transmission of compressed and uncompressed image data and (2) there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Ovsiannikov and Park because there is no teaching in either of the cited references to use both compressed image data and uncompressed image data. The same argument is made with respect to claims 2, 12, and 16 on page 9. The examiner disagrees. Regarding (1), Ovsiannikov’s image data is not compressed using Park’s set coding scheme and is thus in “uncompressed form”. Regarding (2), as stated in the rejection of claim 1, Ovsiannikov’s image data is compressed, as taught by Park, in order to reduce transmission bandwidth required. The modification of Ovsiannikov with Park produces the predictable benefit of reduced transmission bandwidth required. This response applies with equal force to the arguments raised with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455