Applicant’s response to the last Office Action dated 01/27/2026, as well as arguments and amendments to claims, filed 04/27/2026 have been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the references cited by Examiner do not teach, disclose, or suggest at least one feature of claim 1. Specifically, Applicant argues that the combination of Karpman and Chen does not teach, “reward fine tuning of the text encoder using prompts and pre-defined denoising schedule”. Applicant argues that Chen teaches fine tuning through reinforcement learning rather than the claimed differentiable technique. Furthermore, Applicant argues that the text encoder of Chen is fixed during training of the diffusion model. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited disclosure of Chen Section 3.1 in Applicant’s remarks is simply during the training phase of the diffusion model. In Section “A.1. Reinforcement Learning Formulations” Chen discloses; “We first give the formulations of each term for the PPO algorithm in diffusion models. According to the DDPM paper [17], the t step denoising can be formulated as: … where … and βt is a predefined variance schedule.” Examiner interprets this as a pre-defined denoising schedule. It is inherent that the fine tuning of the reward is based on this denoising schedule due to the many iterations with reinforcement learning. Regarding the argument directed to reinforcement learning, Chen Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output. Then the objective of RL is to maximize the expected reward” Examiner interprets the claimed reward fine tuning to be taught by the disclosure of Chen. Figure 3 and the caption of Chen discloses the reward fine tuning of the text encoder. Addressing the argument that Chen does not teach “reward fine-tuning based on the text prompts and pre-defined denoising schedule”, Chen Introduction discloses, “We utilize the DDPO (denoising diffusion policy optimization) [2] algorithm to update the text encoder, which is based on PPO (proximal policy optimization [39]) in the iterative denoising process.” Chen also discloses, in Section 3.2, “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output.” The reward function is based on image-text alignment, which is inherently based on text prompts. Therefore, the combination of references Karpman in view of Chen teaches “reward fine-tuning based on the text prompts and pre-defined denoising schedule” as required by the claims. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karpman et al. (US 11995803 B1), in view of Chen et al. ("Enhancing Diffusion Models with Text-Encoder Reinforcement Learning") .
Regarding claim 1, Karpman teaches a “generative text-to-image neural network comprising a pre-trained text encoder and a pre-trained diffusion model” (Karpman, Abstract and Column 5, lines 25-28 discloses; “The base image diffusion model 120 can therefore: receive one or more text embeddings from the set of pre-trained text encoders”), “with the method comprising: processing text prompts using the pre-trained text encoder to obtain embedded text prompts” (Karpman, Column 5 line 67 and column 6 line 1 discloses; “execute the set of pre-trained text encoders 118 on the text prompt to generate one or more embedding representations”); “generating images responsive to the embedded text prompts using the pretrained diffusion model” (Karpman, Column 2, lines 60-63 discloses; “Text encoders 118 interpret a text query and generate an embedding of the text query. Base image diffusion models 120 generate a base image (e.g., an initial, low-resolution image) from the embedding”). Karpman does not teach reward scores and updating the text encoder responsive to the reward scores. Since Karpman does not explicitly disclose these limitations, Examiner relies on the teachings of Chen, in an analogous field of endeavor. Specifically, Chen discloses “iteratively determining reward scores for the images to convergence with the pre-trained diffusion model fixed” (Chen, Introduction Para. 3 discloses; “In this paper, we introduce TexForce, an innovative method that applies reinforcement learning combined with low-rank adaptation to enhance the text encoder using task-specific rewards. We utilize the DDPO (denoising diffusion policy optimization) [2] algorithm to update the text encoder, which is based on PPO (proximal policy optimization [39]) in the iterative denoising process”);
“by performing reward fine-tuning based on the text prompts and a pre-defined denoising schedule” (Chen, Introduction discloses; “We utilize the DDPO (denoising diffusion policy optimization) [2] algorithm to update the text encoder, which is based on PPO (proximal policy optimization [39]) in the iterative denoising process.” and Chen, Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output.” The reward function is based on image-text alignment, which is inherently based on text prompts.) “and updating the weights of the pre-trained text encoder responsive to the iteratively determined reward scores” (Chen, Abstract and Introduction Para. 3 discloses; “In this paper, we introduce TexForce, an innovative method that applies reinforcement learning combined with low-rank adaptation to enhance the text encoder using task-specific rewards”) “determined by performing reward fine-tuning based on the text prompts and a pre- defined denoising schedule” (Chen, Introduction discloses; “We utilize the DDPO (denoising diffusion policy optimization) [2] algorithm to update the text encoder, which is based on PPO (proximal policy optimization [39]) in the iterative denoising process.” and Chen, Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output.” The reward function is based on image-text alignment, which is inherently based on text prompts.)
Karpman and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of generative text-to-image neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Karpman to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide a reward score for the images and updating the weights of the text encoder responsive to the reward scores. Doing so would improve the performance of diffusion models and enhancing the text-image alignment of the results (Chen, Abstract discloses; “In this paper, we demonstrate that by finetuning the text encoder through reinforcement learning, we can enhance the text-image alignment of the results, thereby improving the visual quality”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Karman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method “further comprising: iteratively determining reward scores for the images to convergence with the pre-trained text encoder with the updated weights fixed” (Chen, Figure 3 shows that the text encoder can be frozen with updated weights); “and updating weights of the pre-trained diffusion model responsive to the iteratively determined reward scores for the images to convergence with the pre-trained text encoder with the updated weights fixed” (Karpman, Column 9, Lines 28-33; “As described in more detail below, the system can therefore leverage the reward model 114 (e.g., preference scores generated by the reward model 114) to update, optimize, and/or fine-tune parameters of the text-to-image diffusion model”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Karpman and Chen references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 2 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 2 is met by Karpman and Chen.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network as claimed in claim 1, “wherein the iteratively determining reward scores comprises: assessing quality of the image using an aesthetics model” (Karpman, Column 18, Lines 24-30 discloses; “Thus, in addition to recruiting the reward model 114 during training and/or fine-tuning the reward model 114, the system can also leverage the reward model 114 rank and select images generated by the text-to-image diffusion model 112 in order to increase the aesthetic quality and/or text alignment of images that are ultimately output/served in response to image generation tasks”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network as claimed in claim 1, “further comprising: processing the images with a variational autoencoder decoder before iteratively determining the reward scores for the images” (Karpman, Column 15, Lines 5-6 discloses; “the multimodal encoder-decoder 126 operating as an image aware text encoder, and so on”, which is interpreted to encapsulate a variational autoencoder decoder).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network as claimed in claim 1, “wherein the iteratively determining reward scores for the images to convergence with the pre-trained diffusion model fixed comprises: maximizing quality scores predicted by one or more reward models” (Chen, Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output. Then the objective of RL is to maximize the expected reward”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Karpman and Chen references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 5 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 5 is met by Karpman and Chen.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network and reward model as claimed in claims 1 and 5, “wherein the one or more reward models comprises an image-based reward model” (Chen, Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Karpman and Chen references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 6 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 6 is met by Karpman and Chen.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network and reward model as claimed in claims 1, 5, and 6, “wherein the one or more reward models further comprises a text-image alignment-based reward model” (Chen, Section 3.2 discloses; “Let R be the reward function that evaluates the quality of the generated images, which could encapsulate various aspects, such as image-text alignment and image quality, and adherence to specific attributes desired in the output”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Karpman and Chen references presented in the rejection of claim 1, apply to claim 7 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 7 is met by Karpman and Chen.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network and reward model as claimed in claims 1 and 5, “wherein the iteratively determining reward scores for the images to convergence with the pre-trained diffusion model fixed further comprises: fixing the weights of the one or more reward models” (Chen, Section 4.6 discloses; “TexForce demonstrates remarkable adaptability to diverse tasks, as it does not require differentiable rewards”). The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining the Karpman and Chen references presented in the rejection of claims 1, apply to claim 8 and are incorporated herein by reference. Thus, the method recited in claim 8 is met by Karpman and Chen.
Claims 11-17 recite a system with elements corresponding to the steps recited in method claims 1-7, respectively. Therefore, the recited elements of these claims are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in their corresponding method claims. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Karpman and Chen references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to these claims. Finally, the combination of Karpman and Chen references discloses all of the elements claimed in claims 11-17. Finally, the combination of Karpman and Chen discloses a “pre-trained text encoder”, “a pre-trained diffusion model”, and “a reward model” (Karpman, Column 13, Lines 35-38 discloses; “ More specifically, for each text caption in the modified training corpus, the system can: execute a first pre-trained text encoder in the set of pre-trained text encoders 118”. Karpman, Column 15, Lines 36-39 discloses; “ the system 100 can execute a reinforcement learning algorithm to: input the text prompt to the (pre-trained) text-to-image diffusion model 112 to generate a first image”. Karpman Column 8, Lines 25-27 discloses; “A reward model 114 that is pre-trained on aggregated human assessments of quality and preferability for images created by the text-to-image diffusion model 112”.).
Claims 19 and 20 recite a computer-readable storage medium storing a program with instructions corresponding to the steps recited in Claims 1 and 2, respectively. Therefore, the recited programming instructions of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Karpman and Chen references, presented in rejection of Claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Karpman and Chen references disclose a computer readable storage medium (Karpman, Column 24, Lines 20-23 discloses; ” Instructions for performing such operations may be embodied in the memory 503, on one or more non-transitory computer readable media, or on some other storage device.”)
Claim 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karpman in view of Chen et al and in further view of Baldrati et al. (“Composed Image Retrieval using Contrastive Learning and Task-oriented CLIP-based Features”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network as claimed in claim 1, wherein the pre-trained text encoder comprises a contrastive language-image pre-training (CLIP) model. The combination of Karpman and Chen does not teach setting similarity of the CLIP model as always on and maintaining the weights of the CLIP model greater than zero. Since the combination of Karpman and Chen does not explicitly disclose these limitations, Examiner relies on the teachings of Baldrati, in an analogous field of endeavor. Specifically, Baldrati discloses, “setting similarity of the CLIP model as an always on constraint” (Baldrati, Section 3 discloses; “The goal is to retrieve target images that satisfy similarity constraints imposed by both the input components”) “while maintaining weights of the CLIP model greater than zero” (Baldrati Section 4.1 discloses; “we employed AdamW optimizer [38] with a learning rate of 2𝑒 − 6 and a weight decay coefficient of 1𝑒 − 2.” Examiner interprets the weight decay to be equivalent to the weights of the CLIP model).
Karpman, Chen, and Baldrati are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of generative text-to-image neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Karpman and Chen used to reject claim 1 to incorporate the teachings of Baldrati and include setting similarity of the CLIP model as an always on constraint and maintaining weights of the CLIP model greater than zero (Baldrati Section 4.1). Doing so would allow the device to calculate the similarity between the text and images allowing the device to adjust the weights accordingly.
Claim 18 recites a system with elements corresponding to the steps recited in Claim 9. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps in its corresponding method claim. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Karpman, Chen, and Baldrati references, presented in rejection of Claim 9, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Karpman, Chen, and Baldrati references disclose all of the elements claimed in claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karpman in view of Chen et al , in further view of Baldrati et al., and in still further view of Zbinden (“Implementing and Experimenting with Diffusion Models for Text-to-Image Generation”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Karpman in view of Chen in further view of Baldrati teaches the method for tuning a text-to-image neural network and CLIP settings as claimed in claims 1 and 9, where the setting the similarity of the CLIP model as an always on constraint while maintaining the weights of the CLIP model greater than zero. The combination of Karpman, Chen, and Baldrati does not teach maximizing cosine similarity between the textual and image embeddings. Since the combination of Karpman, Chen, and Baldrati does not explicitly disclose this limitation, Examiner relies on the teachings of Zbinden, in an analogous field of endeavor. Specifically, Zbinden discloses, “maximizing cosine similarity between textual embedding by the pre-trained text encoder and image embeddings by the pre-trained diffusion model” (Zbinden, page 21 Para. 2 discloses; “The two encoders are jointly trained in a contrastive way, by maximizing the cosine similarity between two embeddings”).
Karpman, Chen, Baldrati, and Zbinden are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the same field of generative text-to-image neural networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Karpman and Chen used to reject claim 1 and the teachings of Baldrati used to reject claim 9 to incorporate the teachings of Zbinden and set the CLIP encoder to maximize cosine similarity (Zbinden, page 21 Para. 2 discloses; “The two encoders are jointly trained in a contrastive way, by maximizing the cosine similarity between two embeddings”). Doing so would allow the device to create images that are more similar to the text embeddings.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M OAKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/Siamak Harandi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662