DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 21, 25-33, 39, 42-45 are pending in the application with claims 21, 39 amended, claims 1-20, 22-24, 34-38, 40, 41 cancelled.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 25-33, 39, 42-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,864,735 (hereinafter ‘735). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-11 of ‘735 teach all of the claimed limitations of Claims 21, 25-33, 39 and 42-45 of the present application with non-patentably distinct differences in claim terminology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 25-33, 39 and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahney et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0078038, hereinafter Sahney) in view of Adams (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0010464).
In regard to claim 21, Sahney discloses a continuous flow endoscope (100, Fig. 6), comprising:
an elongated tubular member (118) having a longitudinal axis and defining a lumen in an interior of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6);
a first tube (142) disposed within the lumen of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6), the first tube defining a first channel having a first cross-sectional area substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the first channel fluidly coupled to an inflow fluid port (146, Par. 38,41) for inflow of fluid through the first channel (Fig. 6);
a second tube (144) disposed within the lumen of the elongated tubular member outside the first tube (Fig. 6), the second tube defining a second channel configured to receive an instrument having a circular cross-section (the channel is capable of receiving an instrument having a circular cross-section), the second channel fluidly isolated from the first channel (Fig. 6) and fluidly coupled to an outflow fluid port (148, Par. 38,41) for outflow of fluid through the second channel (Fig. 6), the second channel defining a second cross-sectional area substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6); and
an optics device (124, Figs. 2A,6 disposed in a third channel of the lumen of the elongated tubular member not occupied by the first channel or the second channel (Fig. 6).
Sahney does not expressly teach wherein the second cross-sectional area of the second channel is different from the first cross-sectional area of the first channel, and wherein, with the instrument received within the second channel, a portion of the second channel protrudes from the instrument on one side of the instrument to define an unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel, the unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel substantially similar to the first cross- sectional area of the first channel such that an available cross-sectional area of the second channel for fluid outflow is substantially similar to an available cross-sectional area of the first channel for fluid inflow.
Adams teaches an analogous hysteroscope having a working channel (206) and an insert (1402) comprising first and second channels for fluid delivery separated by a wall (1404). The first and second channels can have the same cross-sectional shape or different cross-sectional shape as illustrated in Figs. 15C, 15D and 15E (Par. 94).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first and second channels of Sahney to have different cross-sectional shapes, such as the cross-sectional shapes illustrated in Fig. 15D, as taught by Adams since Adams teaches it’s well known in the art to modify the channels within a hysteroscope to have the same or different cross-sections. There being no unexpected results in modifying the first and second channels of Sahney to have different cross-sectional shapes as taught by Adams.
Sahney and Adams teach of surgical instruments being capable of insertion within the second channel / outflow channel and since the surgical instrument is not a positively recited element of the claim, a surgical instrument having a size to allow the unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel to substantially match the first cross-sectional area of the first channel would be capable of insertion within the second channel / outflow channel.
In regard to claim 25, Sahney teaches wherein the second channel is further configured to operate without the instrument inserted through the second channel (the second channel is capable of operating without an instrument inserted therein).
In regard to claim 26, Sahney teaches wherein the interior of the elongated tubular member is configured to maintain continuous fluid inflow and fluid outflow therethrough (the device is capable of performing continuous fluid flow, Par. 38).
In regard to claim 27, Sahney teaches wherein the second channel is defined by an inner elongated tubular member, the inner elongated tubular member being removable from the interior of the elongated tubular member (flow device (140) is removably inserted within the tubular member, Par. 41, wherein tubular elements (142,144) of the flow control device can be separate elements enabling them to be individually removed, Par. 38).
In regard to claim 28, Sahney teaches wherein the optics device is configured to be removably received in the third channel of the interior of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 29, Adams teaches wherein a shape of the second cross-sectional area is different from a shape of the first cross-sectional area (Figs. 15C,15D).
In regard to claim 30, Sahney teaches wherein the instrument is configured to be removably received in the second channel (Fig. 2A illustrates a instrument received within the second channel).
In regard to claim 31, Sahney teaches wherein the instrument substantially fills the second cross-sectional area in at least one cross-sectional dimension of the second channel when the instrument is inserted through the second channel (an instrument is capable of being inserted within the second channel in the claimed fashion).
In regard to claim 32, Adams teaches further comprising a plurality of illumination fibers disposed in the free space of the lumen of the elongated tubular member and at least partially surrounding the optics device (Fig. 3B shows illumination fibers (312) surrounding the visualization element (207)).
In regard to claim 33, Adams teaches wherein the plurality of illumination fibers and the optics device fully occupy the free space of the lumen of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 3B shows illumination fibers (312) surrounding the visualization element (207)).
In regard to claim 39, Adams discloses a continuous flow endoscope (100, Fig. 6), comprising:
an elongated tubular member (118) extending along a longitudinal axis, the elongated tubular member defining a lumen in an interior of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6);
a proximal body (146,148) disposed at a proximal end of the elongated tubular member an inflow port and an outflow port coupled to the proximal body and disposed in communication with the lumen of the elongated tubular member to enable continuous inflow and outflow of fluid to and from a surgical site via the lumen of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6);
a first tube (142) disposed within the lumen of the elongated tubular member, the first tube defining a first channel having a first cross-sectional area substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6);
a second tube (144) disposed within the lumen of the elongated tubular member outside the first tube (Fig. 6), the second tube defining a second channel configured to receive an instrument having a circular cross-section inserted through the proximal body (the channel is capable of receiving an instrument having a circular cross-section) and the elongated tubular member and into the surgical site (Fig. 6), the second channel fluidly isolated from the first channel (Fig. 6), the second channel defining a second cross-sectional area substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6); and
an optics device (124, Figs. 2A,6) disposed in a third channel defined within the lumen of the elongated tubular member not occupied by the first channel or the second channel (Fig. 6),
wherein the first channel is coupled to one of the inflow port for the inflow of the fluid or the outflow port for the outflow of the fluid (Par. 38, connected via inflow port (46)), wherein the second channel is coupled to another of the inflow port for the inflow of the fluid or the outflow port for the outflow of the fluid (Par. 38, connected via outflow port (48)), and wherein the first and second channels are fluidly isolated from one another within the lumen of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 6).
Sahney does not expressly teach wherein the second cross-sectional area of the second channel is different from the first cross-sectional area of the first channel; wherein, with the instrument received within the second channel, a portion of the second channel protrudes from the instrument on one side of the instrument to define an unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel, the unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel substantially similar to the first cross-sectional area of the first channel.
Adams teaches an analogous hysteroscope having a working channel (206) and an insert (1402) comprising first and second channels for fluid delivery separated by a wall (1404). The first and second channels can have the same cross-sectional shape or different cross-sectional shape as illustrated in Figs. 15C, 15D and 15E (Par. 94).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first and second channels of Sahney to have different cross-sectional shapes, such as the cross-sectional shapes illustrated in Fig. 15D, as taught by Adams since Adams teaches it’s well known in the art to modify the channels within a hysteroscope to have the same or different cross-sections. There being no unexpected results in modifying the first and second channels of Sahney to have different cross-sectional shapes as taught by Adams.
Sahney and Adams teach of surgical instruments being capable of insertion within the second channel / outflow channel and since the surgical instrument is not a positively recited element of the claim, a surgical instrument having a size to allow the unoccupied cross-sectional area of the second channel to substantially match the first cross-sectional area of the first channel would be capable of insertion within the second channel / outflow channel.
In regard to claim 42, Adams teaches wherein a shape of the second cross-sectional area is different from a shape of the first cross-sectional area (Figs. 15C, 15D).
In regard to claim 43, Adams teaches wherein the instrument substantially fills the second cross-sectional area in at least one cross-sectional dimension of the second channel when the instrument is inserted through the second channel (an instrument is capable of being inserted within the second channel in the claimed fashion).
In regard to claim 44, Adams teaches further comprising a plurality of illumination fibers disposed in the free space of the lumen of the elongated tubular member and at least partially surrounding the optics device (Fig. 3B shows illumination fibers (312) surrounding the visualization element (207)).
In regard to claim 45, Adams teaches wherein the plurality of illumination fibers and the optics device fully occupy the free space of the lumen of the elongated tubular member (Fig. 3B shows illumination fibers (312) surrounding the visualization element (207)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 25-33, 39, 42-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner Notes
In order to advance prosecution and overcome the prior art rejections, the examiner suggests positively reciting the instrument in order to provide more patentable weight to the limitations regarding the unoccupied cross-sectional area being substantially similar to the first cross-sectional area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 May 2, 2026