DETAILED ACTION
In light of the new grounds of rejection set forth below, the following action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2016/0122600).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7, and 10, Moon et al. teaches an adhesive film (paragraph [0003]) formed from an adhesive composition including a monomer mixture including a hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate and a comonomer; and organic particles, the organic particles having an average particle diameter of about 10 nm to about 400 nm (See Abstract), wherein an amount of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate is about 5 wt % to about 40 wt % and about 60 wt % to about 95 wt % of a comonomer (paragraph [0015]). The hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate may be a C.sub.1 to C.sub.20 alkyl group-containing (meth)acrylic acid ester having at least one hydroxyl group, a C.sub.5 to C.sub.20 cycloalkyl group-containing (meth)acrylic acid ester having at least one hydroxyl group, or a C.sub.6 to C.sub.20 aryl group-containing (meth)acrylic acid ester having at least one hydroxyl group (paragraph [0059]). The comonomer may include one or more of an alkyl (meth)acrylate monomer, an ethylene oxide-containing monomer, a propylene oxide-containing monomer, an amine group-containing monomer, an amide group-containing monomer, an alkoxy group-containing monomer, a phosphoric acid group-containing monomer, a sulfonic acid group-containing monomer, a phenyl group-containing monomer, or a silane group-containing monomer and may have a glass transition temperature of about −150° C. to about 0° C (paragraph [0014]). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
While Moon et al. discloses a carboxyl group-containing monomer, it is not required in the monomer mixture (paragraph [0078]).
Given that Moon et al. teaches adhesive film comprising materials and structure including amounts of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate and comonomer as presently claimed, the adhesive film would necessarily have a cohesive energy and a difference in cohesive energy as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 3, 4, and 5, Moon et al. teaches wherein the organic particles have a core-shell structure, the core may include one or more of, for example, polymethyl acrylate, polyethyl acrylate, polypropyl acrylate, polybutyl acrylate, polyisopropyl acrylate, polyhexyl acrylate, polyhexyl methacrylate, polyethylhexyl acrylate, or polyethylhexyl methacrylate and the shell may include one or more of, for example, polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), polyethyl methacrylate, polypropyl methacrylate, polybutyl methacrylate, polyisopropyl methacrylate, polyisobutyl methacrylate, and polycyclohexyl methacrylate (paragraphs [0087], [0090], and [0092]).
Regarding claim 6, given that Moon et al. teaches adhesive film comprising structure and materials, including (meth)acrylic copolymer containing hydroxyl group and nanoparticles have a core-shell structure, including a shell of poly(methyl methacrylate), identical to that presently claimed, it is clear that the nanoparticles are intrinsically chemically coupled to the matrix as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 8, Moon et al. teaches the organic particles may be present in an amount of about 0.1 parts by weight to about 15 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the monomer mixture (paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Moon et al. teaches the adhesive composition may further include a silane coupling agent (paragraph [0113]), an initiator and a crosslinking agent (paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, given that Moon et al. teaches adhesive film comprising materials and structure including nanoparticles and amount of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate as presently claimed, the adhesive film would necessarily have an adhesive strength as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, given that Moon et al. teaches adhesive film comprising materials and structure including nanoparticles and amount of hydroxyl group-containing (meth)acrylate as presently claimed, the adhesive film would necessarily have a haze as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary. Further, Moon et al. teaches wherein the adhesive film may have a thickness of about 100 μm and a haze of about 5% or less (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 16, Moon et al. teaches a display member, including an optical film; and the adhesive layer formed on one or both surfaces of the optical film (paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Moon et al. teaches wherein the adhesive film may be used with touch panels (paragraph [0143]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787