DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 05/11/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1,3-5,7-8,10,13,15,17,19-20 are amended.
Claims 2,6,9,14,18 are cancelled.
Claims 21-25 are added.
Claims 1,3-5,7-8,10-13,15-17,19-25 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,8,13,17,25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friedrich to (US 20050231329 A1)
Regarding claims 1,13 Friedrich teaches determining, by the terminal device, a target uplink channel for transmitting a back scattering signal([0051] The data communication between a base station and a transponder defines a channel, which is designated below as the forward link VL (or downlink). Conversely, the data communication from the transponder back to the base station designates a channel, which is generally designated as a return link RL (or uplink). In addition to the data communication in the return link RL, in backscattering-based transponders, data communication also occurs between transponder and base station in which a transmitted signal is scattered back to the sender with use of a backscatter cross section of the antenna of the receiver) determining, by the terminal device, the target uplink channel for transmitting the back scattering signal according to at least one of: a downlink signaling sent by a network device; ([0013] discloses The communication module causes the mmWave antenna array to transmit an mmWave signal that is swept across a range of frequencies. The communication module receives any back-scattered signals in the swept range of frequencies via the mmWave antenna array)
Regarding claims 8,17 Friedrich teaches determining, by the network device, a target uplink channel for receiving a back scattering signal, ([0051] The data communication between a base station and a transponder defines a channel, which is designated below as the forward link VL (or downlink). Conversely, the data communication from the transponder back to the base station designates a channel, which is generally designated as a return link RL (or uplink). In addition to the data communication in the return link RL, in backscattering-based transponders, data communication also occurs between transponder and base station in which a transmitted signal is scattered back to the sender with use of a backscatter cross section of the antenna of the receiver) determine base on at least one of a frequency location of the target downlink channel; ([0013] discloses The communication module causes the mmWave antenna array to transmit an mmWave signal that is swept across a range of frequencies. The communication module receives any back-scattered signals in the swept range of frequencies via the mmWave antenna array).
Regarding claim 25, Friedrich teaches transmitting, by the terminal device, the back scattering signal on the target uplink channel([0013] discloses The communication module causes the mmWave antenna array to transmit an mmWave signal that is swept across a range of frequencies. The communication module receives any back-scattered signals in the swept range of frequencies via the mmWave antenna array).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,7,10,15,19,21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich to (US 20050231329 A1) in view of MONELL to (WO0232011A1) further in view of MANOLAKOS to (WO 2022060576 A1)
Regarding claims 3,7,10,15,19,21,22 Friedrich does not explicitly teach wherein the target downlink channel is the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal wherein the target downlink channel being the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal comprises that a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is the same as a center frequency point of the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal
However, MONELL teaches wherein the target downlink channel is the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal, (page 18, lines 19-25 discloses the second mobile station MS2 tunes to the target downlink radio frequency carrier F2 and synchronizes according to steps 1-2 described previously, with the target timeslot TS21 on the target downlink radio frequency F2) wherein the target downlink channel being the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal comprises that(page 18, lines 19-25 discloses the second mobile station MS2 tunes to the target downlink radio frequency carrier F2 and synchronizes according to steps 1-2 described previously, with the target timeslot TS21 on the target downlink radio frequency F2), but does not discloses a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is the same as a center frequency point of the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal
However, MANOLAKOS teaches a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is the same as a center frequency point of the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal( [0088]discloses DL PRS Point A parameter defines a frequency of a reference resource block (and the lowest subcarrier of the resource block), with DL PRS resources belonging to the same DL PRS resource set having the same Point A and all DL PRS resource sets belonging to the same frequency layer having the same Point A. A frequency layer also has the same DL PRS bandwidth, the same start PRB (and center frequency), and the same value of comb size (i.e., a frequency of PRS resource elements per symbol such that for comb-N, every N- resource element is a PRS resource element))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Friedrich include wherein the target downlink channel is the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal wherein the target downlink channel being the same as the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal comprises that a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is the same as a center frequency point of the downlink channel corresponding to the first downlink signal, as suggested by MONELL and MANOLAKOs. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrich to (US 20050231329 A1) in view of MANOLAKOS to (WO 2022060576 A1)
Regarding claims 4, Friedrich does not explicitly teach wherein a location of the target downlink channel is predefined, wherein the location of the target downlink channel being predefined comprises that: a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is predefined; or wherein the target downlink channel is a channel where a center frequency point of the operating frequency band for the terminal device is located
However, MANOLAKOS teaches wherein a location of the target downlink channel is predefined, wherein the location of the target downlink channel being predefined comprises that: a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is predefined; or wherein the target downlink channel is a channel where a center frequency point of the operating frequency band for the terminal device is located ( [0088]discloses DL PRS Point A parameter defines a frequency of a reference resource block (and the lowest subcarrier of the resource block), with DL PRS resources belonging to the same DL PRS resource set having the same Point A and all DL PRS resource sets belonging to the same frequency layer having the same Point A. A frequency layer also has the same DL PRS bandwidth, the same start PRB (and center frequency), and the same value of comb size (i.e., a frequency of PRS resource elements per symbol such that for comb-N, every N- resource element is a PRS resource element))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Friedrich include wherein a location of the target downlink channel is predefined, wherein the location of the target downlink channel being predefined comprises that: a center frequency point of the target downlink channel is predefined; or wherein the target downlink channel is a channel where a center frequency point of the operating frequency band for the terminal device is located, as suggested by MANOLAKOS. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,11,12,16,20,23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461