DETAILED ACTION
(1)
(2)
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 16, 18 and 19 and cancelled claims 4, 6, 15 and 17. No new matter is entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12, 14, 16 and 18-20 are pending before the Office for review.
(3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450), which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement, in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2) and Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a solar cell (100) comprising a thin-film solar cell (120) and a bottom cell (110) stacked in a first direction, wherein the bottom cell includes a transparent conductive layer (114), a first doped conductive layer (112-2), an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (112-1), a substrate (111) and a second doped conductive layer (113-2) that are stacked in the first direction. Figure 2 and Paragraphs 52, 56, 64, 74-80, 169 and 170. The transparent conductive layer is between the thin-film solar cell and the first doped conductive layer. Figure 2. The first doped conductive layer includes a doped amorphous silicon layer. Paragraphs 74-80.
Kim further teaches the surface of the substrate facing the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer has a plurality of textured structures, a surface of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the substrate, a surface of the first doped conductive layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer, and a surface of the transparent conductive layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the first doped conductive layer. Figure 2.
Kim is silent as to whether the one or more electrodes are in ohmic contact with the second doped conductive layer.
However, Haase, which deals with multi-junction solar cells, teaches the rear electrode of such a multi-junction solar cell is formed either as a continuous layer or a segmented electrode and provides an ohmic contact to the solar cell. Page 5, Lines 6-10.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of Kim with Haase is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both Kim and Haase disclose multi-junction solar cells comprising a back electrode, wherein the back electrode is a metal electrode that is either continuous or patterned/segmented. Haase explicitly teaches forming the back electrode in ohmic contact with the solar cells. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize this same technique to form the back electrode taught by Kim because Haase teaches this is an effective rear electrode arrangement of a multi-junction solar cell, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
Modified Kim further teaches each of the substrate and the first doped conductive layer include first doped ions and the second doped conductive layer includes second doped ions, wherein the first doped ions are P-type and the second doped ions are N-type or the first doped ions are N-type and the second doped ions are P-type. Paragraphs 74-80.
Modified Kim teaches the second conductive layer has a rear electrode in ohmic contact therewith, wherein the rear electrode may be patterned, such as into a segmented arrangement. Kim, Figure 2 and Paragraphs 85 and 86 and Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-10.
Modified Kim is silent as to whether the second conductive layer upon which the rear electrode is formed has first and second doped regions with the first doped regions having a greater doping concentration than the second doped region and the electrodes being in ohmic contact with the first doped regions.
However, Jin, which deals with solar cells, a doped layer having first and second doped regions, wherein the first region is in contact with the electrode and has a higher doping concentration than the second doped region to obtain a lower resistance. Figure 3 and Paragraphs 35 and 91.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the regions of the second doped conductive layer that are in contact with the segmented rear electrode with a higher doping concentration than other regions of the second doped conductive layer because Jin teaches doing so obtains a lower resistance.
Furthermore, in the combination of Kim, Haase and Jin, as explained above, the second doped conductive layer has first and second doped regions, the first region having a higher dopant concentration than the second region, wherein the one or more electrodes are in ohmic contact with the first doped regions, and the segmented electrode pattern leads to an interleaved doping region arrangement. Kim, Paragraphs 85 and 86; Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-11; and Jin, Figure 3 and Paragraphs 35 and 91.
With respect to claim 7, modified Kim teaches surfaces of the first doped regions facing towards the one or more electrodes are textured surfaces. Figure 2.
With respect to claim 8, modified Kim teaches the first doped region is determined based on the electrode location to obtain higher built-in potential, which in turn can result in stronger tunneling effects at the electrode, meaning one or more orthographic projections of the one or more electrodes on a surface of the second doped conductive layer facing towards the one or more electrodes are located within one or more respective first doped regions of the first doped regions. Kim, Paragraphs 85 and 86; Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-11; and Jin, Figure 3 and Paragraphs 35 and 91.
With respect to claim 11, modified Kim teaches the thin-film solar cell includes a perovskite solar cell. Paragraph 88.
(4)
Claims 3, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450) in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2) and Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777), as applied to claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 above, and further in view of Mishima et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0081189).
With respect to claims 3, 9 and 10, modified Kim teaches the tandem solar cell comprising the requisite texturing, but is silent as to whether the heights of the plurality of textured structures of the surface of the substrate facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer in the first direction range from 50 nm to 1 micron, if the thickness of the first doped conductive layer is between 5 to 30 nm and a thickness of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer is between 1 nm to 10 nm.
However, Mishima teaches a similarly structured tandem solar cell, wherein the heights of the plurality of textured structures of the surface of the substrate (42) facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer in the first direction are 0.5 microns, which is within the claimed range. Figure 1 and Paragraph 34. Mishima teaches the thickness of the first doped conductive layer (41) is between 3 to 30 nm. Figure 1 and Paragraph 31. Mishima teaches the thickness of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (45) in the first direction is between 2 to 15 nm. Paragraph 30. As per the MPEP, "where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists." MPEP 2144.05(I) (internal citation omitted).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of modified Kim with Mishima is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both modified Kim and Mishima are directed toward perovskite/silicon tandem solar cells. Mishima teaches specific dimensions for the textured surface of the substrate facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer, the thickness of the first doped conductive layer and the thickness of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dimensions taught by Mishima in modified Kim’s tandem solar cell because Mishima teaches them to be effective for a similarly structured device, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(5)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450) in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2) and Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777), as applied to claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 above, and further in view of Fogel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0048122).
With respect to claim 5, modified Kim teaches the first doped conductive layer includes first doped ions that are either P-type or N-type, but is silent as to the dopant concentration.
However, Fogel, which deals with solar cells, teaches a dopant concentration of P-type or N-type conductive silicon layer in a solar cell typically ranges from 1x1015 atoms/cm3 to 1x1021 atoms/cm3. Paragraph 34.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of modified Kim with Fogel is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both modified Kim and Fogel teach solar cell devices comprising P-type or N-type conductivity layers having doping ions therein. Fogel teaches a doping concentration of 1x1015 atoms/cm3 to 1x1021 atoms/cm3 is an effective dopant level for such a layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a doping concentration in the range taught by Fogel because Fogel teaches this to be an effective ion doping amount, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(6)
Claims 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450) in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2) and Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777), as applied to claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 above, and further in view of Bjork et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0323993).
With respect to claim 12, modified Kim teaches a solar cell (100) comprising a thin-film solar cell (120) and a bottom cell (110) stacked in a first direction, wherein the bottom cell includes a transparent conductive layer (114), a first doped conductive layer (112-2), an intrinsic amorphous silicon layer (112-1), a substrate (111) and a second doped conductive layer (113-2) that are stacked in the first direction. Figure 2 and Paragraphs 52, 56, 64, 74-80, 169 and 170. The transparent conductive layer is between the thin-film solar cell and the first doped conductive layer. Figure 2. The first doped conductive layer includes a doped amorphous silicon layer. Paragraphs 74-80.
Kim further teaches the surface of the substrate facing the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer has a plurality of textured structures, a surface of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the substrate, a surface of the first doped conductive layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer, and a surface of the transparent conductive layer away from the substrate has a plurality of textured structures respectively corresponding to the plurality of textured structures on the surface of the first doped conductive layer. Figure 2.
Modified Kim further teaches one or more electrodes (52) are formed on a side of the second doped conductive layer away from the substrate in ohmic contact with the second doped conductive layer. Kim, Figure 2 and Paragraphs 85 and 86 and Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-10.
Modified Kim teaches each of the substrate and the first doped conductive layer include first doped ions and the second doped conductive layer includes second doped ions, wherein the first doped ions are P-type and the second doped ions are N-type or the first doped ions are N-type and the second doped ions are P-type. Paragraphs 74-80.
Additionally, as explained above, modified Kim teaches the second doped conductive layer has first and second doped regions, the first region having a higher dopant concentration than the second region, wherein the one or more electrodes are in ohmic contact with the first doped regions, and the segmented electrode pattern leads to an interleaved doping region arrangement. Kim, Paragraphs 85 and 86; Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-11; and Jin, Figure 3 and Paragraph 35 and 91.
Modified Kim is silent as to whether the multijunction solar cell is disposed within a photovoltaic module meeting the requirements of the claimed invention.
However, Bjork, which deals with photovoltaic devices, teaches a tandem junction solar cell is formed into a module comprising serially-connected tandem solar cells in a string, wherein the solar cells are encapsulated with EVA to seal a top glass cover thereto. Figures 5 and 6 and Paragraphs 36, 45 and 60. Bjork teaches this forms a hermetically sealed package. Paragraph 47.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use modified Kim’s tandem solar cells to form a module, as taught by Bjork, because Bjork teaches doing so obtains a serially-interconnected string of tandem solar cells that are hermetically sealed.
With respect to claim 18, modified Kim teaches surfaces of the first doped regions facing towards the one or more electrodes are textured surfaces. Figure 2.
With respect to claim 19, modified Kim teaches the first doped region is determined based on the electrode location to obtain higher built-in potential, which in turn can result in stronger tunneling effects at the electrode, meaning one or more orthographic projections of the one or more electrodes on a surface of the second doped conductive layer facing towards the one or more electrodes are located within one or more respective first doped regions of the first doped regions. Kim, Paragraphs 85 and 86; Haase, Page 5, Lines 6-11; and Jin, Figure 3 and Paragraphs 35 and 91.
(7)
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450) in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2), Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777) and Bjork et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0323993) as applied to claims 12, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Mishima et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0081189).
With respect to claims 14 and 20, modified Kim teaches the tandem solar cell comprising the requisite texturing, but is silent as to whether the heights of the plurality of textured structures of the surface of the substrate facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer in the first direction range from 50 nm to 1 micron and the thickness of the first doped conductive layer is between 5 to 30 nm.
However, Mishima teaches a similarly structured tandem solar cell, wherein the heights of the plurality of textured structures of the surface of the substrate (42) facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer in the first direction are 0.5 microns, which is within the claimed range. Figure 1 and Paragraph 34. Mishima teaches the thickness of the first doped conductive layer (41) is between 3 to 30 nm. Figure 1 and Paragraph 31. As per the MPEP, "where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists." MPEP 2144.05(I) (internal citation omitted).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of modified Kim with Mishima is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both modified Kim and Mishima are directed toward perovskite/silicon tandem solar cells. Mishima teaches specific dimensions for the textured surface of the substrate facing towards the intrinsic amorphous silicon layer and the thickness of the first doped conductive layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dimensions taught by Mishima in modified Kim’s tandem solar cell because Mishima teaches them to be effective for a similarly structured device, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(8)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0175450) in view of Haase (WO 2012/173959 A2), Jin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0269777) and Bjork et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0323993) as applied to claims 12, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Fogel et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0048122).
With respect to claim 16, modified Kim teaches the first doped conductive layer includes first doped ions that are either P-type or N-type, but is silent as to the dopant concentration.
However, Fogel, which deals with solar cells, teaches a dopant concentration of P-type or N-type conductive silicon layer in a solar cell typically ranges from 1x1015 atoms/cm3 to 1x1021 atoms/cm3. Paragraph 34.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of modified Kim with Fogel is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. Both modified Kim and Fogel teach solar cell devices comprising P-type or N-type conductivity layers having doping ions therein. Fogel teaches a doping concentration of 1x1015 atoms/cm3 to 1x1021 atoms/cm3 is an effective dopant level for such a layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a doping concentration in the range taught by Fogel because Fogel teaches this to be an effective ion doping amount, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(9)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
(10)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759