DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Application filed January 8, 2024, in which Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “an adhesive layer” in line 6, which appears to be an error and should read “the adhesive layer” as it appears to refer to the previously claimed adhesive layer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambrosini (US 7,219,383) in view of Chaney (US 2019/0008232).
Regarding Claim 1, Ambrosini discloses a cleat for adhesion to a footwear outsole comprising: a body (22) formed from a flexible material having a hardness (as seen in Fig.2 & 3 the flat plate of 22 follows the curvature of the shoe outsole and therefore is flexible, inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant), the body comprising a base (flat plate of 22) having a flat surface for receiving an adhesive layer (28; Col.7, lines 1-17) and a plurality of protrusions (i.e. cleats; Abstract) extending from the base configured to engage environmental surfaces (as seen in Fig.2 & 3); and, an adhesive layer in communication with the flat surface of the body base; wherein the adhesive layer is configured to adhere the body to a footwear outsole to provide traction generated by the plurality of protrusions to the footwear (as seen in Fig.2 & 3; Col.7, lines 1-17). Ambrosini does not disclose the flexible material having a hardness between 40 and 100 Shore A. However, Chaney teaches a body (6) for adhesion to a footwear outsole (Abstract), the body formed of flexible material having a hardness between 40 and 100 Shore A (para.57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the flexible material of Ambrosini to have a hardness between 40 and 100 Shore A, as taught by Chaney, in order to provide a durable base with the desired level of cushioning and support to a user’s foot.
Regarding Claim 2, Ambrosini discloses a cleat of claim 1, where the protrusions (i.e. cleats) of the body have a thickness greater than then thickness of the base (flat plate of 22) of the body (See annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 3, Ambrosini and Chaney disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ambrosini does not disclose wherein the base of the body has a thickness between 0.030 and 0.10 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the base of Ambrosini with a thickness between 0.030 and 0.10 inches, in order to provide the optimum level of flexibility to the base for ease of walking. Further, the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 4, Ambrosini and Chaney disclose the invention substantially as claimed above. Ambrosini does not disclose wherein the plurality of protrusions of the body have a thickness between 0.050 and 0.15 inches. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the plurality of protrusions of Ambrosini with a thickness between 0.050 and 0.15 inches, in order to provide the optimum level of traction to a user. Further, the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732