DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0186531 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 September 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 17 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 September 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 17 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 17 September 206. These drawings are acceptable.
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the drawings.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Objections
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the current collector has two opposite surfaces in a thickness direction." Claim 1, which claim 3 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a porous layer disposed on a surface of the current collector." It is unclear if one of "two opposite surfaces" recited in claim 3 is further limiting or referencing "a surface" recited in claim 1.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the conductive agent is selected from … Ketjen® black." Ketjen® black is a trademark/trade name. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the conductive agent and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3, 10, 14–16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2014/0306665 A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of Tamura et al. (JP 2007-250510 A, hereinafter Tamura).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Kim discloses a positive electrode plate (100A) for a secondary battery (1000, [0080]), characterized by comprising:
a current collector (10, [0066]) and
a porous layer (40) disposed on a surface of the current collector (10) and containing a porous carbon material (FIG. 4A, [0067]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer (20) disposed on the porous layer (40, [0066]),
wherein the porous layer (40) is between the current collector (10) and the positive electrode active substance layer (20, [0067]),
the positive electrode active substance layer (20) contacts the porous layer (40, [0066]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
wherein at least a portion of the pores are through holes extending from the surface of the side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided, through the positive electrode active substance layer.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]); wherein at least a portion of the pores (1c) are through holes (1c) extending from the surface of the side on which the positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided, through the positive electrode active substance layer (1a, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Kim and Tamura are analogous because they are directed to positive electrode plates for a secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Kim with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Tamura discloses the pores extend through the entire thickness of the positive electrode active substance layer (1a, [0039]); and Kim discloses the positive electrode active substance layer (20) contacts the porous layer (40, [0066]). Based on the modification of Kim by Tamura, the combination suggest wherein at least a portion of the pores are through holes extending from the surface of the side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided, through the positive electrode active substance layer, to the porous layer.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein the porous carbon material is selected from at least one of hard carbon, biomass carbon, activated carbon, carbon fiber, and carbon aerogel (see carbon fibers, [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein the current collector (10a) has two opposite surfaces in a thickness direction (FIG. 6, [0081]);
the porous layer (40) comprises two porous layers (40) respectively disposed on the two opposite surfaces of the current collector (10a, [0081]); and
the positive electrode active substance layer (20) comprises two positive electrode active substance layers (20) respectively disposed on the two porous layers (40, [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein under a condition that a thickness of the positive electrode active substance layer (20) is set to 100 parts by thickness, a thickness of the porous layer (30) accounts for 2.5 to 200 parts by thickness (FIG. 4 A, [0051]).
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose a range of 1 to 50 parts by thickness, Kim does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate:
wherein the porous layer (30) further comprises a binder (FIG. 4A, [0048[);
the binder is selected from the group consisting of polyvinylidene fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene, a vinylidene fluoride-tetrafluoroethylene-propylene terpolymer, a vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene-tetrafluoroethylene terpolymer, a tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, a fluorine-containing acrylic resin, and any combinations thereof (see binder, [0045]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate:
wherein the porous layer (30) further comprises a conductive agent (see externally added materials, [0048]);
the conductive agent is selected from the group consisting of superconducting carbon, acetylene black, carbon black, Ketjen® black, carbon dots, carbon nanotubes, graphene, carbon nanofiber, and any combinations thereof (see conductor, [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses a secondary battery (1000), comprising a positive electrode plate (100A), wherein the positive electrode plate (100A) for a secondary battery (1000, [0080]) comprising:
a current collector (10, [0066]) and
a porous layer (40) disposed on a surface of the current collector (10) and containing a porous carbon material (FIG. 4A, [0067]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer (20) disposed on the porous layer (40, [0066]),
wherein the porous layer (40) is between the current collector (10) and the positive electrode active substance layer (20, [0067]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Kim with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a secondary battery (1000), comprising a positive electrode plate (100A), wherein the positive electrode plate (100A) for a secondary battery (1000, [0080]) comprising:
a current collector (10, [0066]) and
a porous layer (40) disposed on a surface of the current collector (10) and containing a porous carbon material (FIG. 4A, [0067]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer (20) disposed on the porous layer (40, [0066]),
wherein the porous layer (40) is between the current collector (10) and the positive electrode active substance layer (20, [0067]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Kim with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Claim 15 recite the limitation "the manufacturing method according to claim 12." Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 See MPEP §§ 2113 and 2114. The instant application discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 12 produces a pore structure (e.g., [0079]). The limitation "the manufacturing method according to claim 12" defines the pore structure of secondary battery. Therefore, claim 15 may be unpatentable even though the secondary battery is made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al. (WO 2020/248188 A1; see US PG-Publication equivalent for citations, US 2022/0238854 A1; hereinafter Ho) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ho discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery, characterized by comprising:
a current collector (see aluminum current collector, [0128]) and
a porous layer disposed on a surface of the current collector and containing a porous carbon material (see conductive layer, [0128]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer disposed on the porous layer (see cathode, [0122]),
wherein the porous layer is between the current collector and the positive electrode active substance layer (see conductive layer, [0128]).
Ho does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Ho and Tamura are analogous because they are directed to positive electrode plates for a secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Ho with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ho discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein the positive electrode active substance layer contains lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide (see cathode active material, [0079]); and
the porous carbon material is hard carbon, activated carbon, or carbon aerogel (see activated carbon, [0128]).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2016/0126557 A1, hereinafter Kataoka) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka discloses a positive electrode plate (110) for a secondary battery (FIG. 2, [0030]), characterized by comprising:
a current collector (102, [0032]) and
a porous layer (103) disposed on a surface of the current collector (102) and containing a porous carbon material (115, [0031]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer (105) disposed on the porous layer (103, [0030]),
wherein the porous layer (103) is between the current collector (102) and the positive electrode active substance layer (105, [0031]).
Kataoka does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Kataoka and Tamura are analogous because they are directed to positive electrode plates for a secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Kataoka with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kataoka discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein Dv50 of the porous carbon material (115) is 1 μm to100 μm (TABLE 1, [0097]).
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (US 2023/0207805 A1, hereinafter Yoshikawa) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a positive electrode plate (1) for a secondary battery (10, [0146]), characterized by comprising:
a current collector (14, [0034]) and
a porous layer (15) disposed on a surface of the current collector (14) and containing a porous carbon material (see carbon particles, [0088]), and
a positive electrode active substance layer (12) disposed on the porous layer (15, [0034]),
wherein the porous layer (15) is between the current collector (14) and the positive electrode active substance layer (12, [0034]).
Yoshikawa does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Yoshikawa and Tamura are analogous because they are directed to positive electrode plates for a secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Yoshikawa with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Regarding claim 19, modified Yoshikawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate:
wherein the current collector is an aluminum foil having a thickness of 8 μm to 40 μm (see thickness, [0084]).
Although Yoshikawa does not explicitly disclose a range of 5 μm to 20 μm, Yoshikawa does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (US 2016/0126557 A1) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakshaug et al. (US 2017/0170477 A1, hereinafter Sakshaug).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Kataoka discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein the porous carbon material comprises micropores, mesopores, and macropores,
wherein pore diameter of the micropores is 2 nm or below,
pore diameter of the mesopores is greater than 2 nm and less than 50 nm, and
pore diameter of the macropores is 50 nm or above;
characterized in that in the porous carbon material, a total pore volume of the micropores, mesopores, and macropores is 0.02 cm3/g or above, and
a summed-up pore volume of the micropores and mesopores accounts for 5%-85% with respect to the total pore volume.
Sakshaug discloses a porous carbon material comprises micropores, mesopores, and macropores (see porous carbon scaffold, [0530]), wherein pore diameter of the micropores is 2 nm or below (see micropores, [0530]), pore diameter of the mesopores is greater than 2 nm and less than 50 nm (see mesopores, [0530]), and pore diameter of the macropores is 50 nm or above (see macropores, [0530]); characterized in that in the porous carbon material, a total pore volume of the micropores, mesopores, and macropores is 0.02 cm3/g or above (see total pore volume, [0530]), and a summed-up pore volume of the micropores and mesopores accounts for 5%-85% with respect to the total pore volume (see pore structure, [0530]) to improve electrochemical performance (see composites, [0016]). Kataoka and Sakshaug are analogous because they are directed to secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the porous carbon material of modified Kataoka with the pore structure of Sakshaug in order to improve electrochemical performance.
Claims 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0306665 A1) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghimbeau (WO 2021/116455 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2023/0067245 A1; hereinafter Ghimbeau).
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 11, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein under a condition that a thickness of the positive electrode active substance layer (20) is set to 100 parts by thickness, a thickness of the porous layer (30) accounts for 2.5 to 200 parts by thickness (FIG. 4 A, [0051]).
Although Kim does not explicitly disclose a range of 1 to 50 parts by thickness, Kim does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a ratio of a specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under carbon dioxide atmosphere to a specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under nitrogen atmosphere is 2 or above; and
wherein the specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under carbon dioxide atmosphere is 2 m2/g or above, and
the specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under nitrogen atmosphere is 1 m2/g or below.
Ghimbeau discloses an electrode plate characterized in that a ratio of a specific surface area of the electrode plate under carbon dioxide atmosphere to a specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under nitrogen atmosphere is 2 or above ([0011], [0012]; TABLE 1, [0105]); and characterized in that the specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under carbon dioxide atmosphere is 2 m2/g or above ([0011], [0012]; TABLE 1, [0105]), and the specific surface area of the positive electrode plate under nitrogen atmosphere is 1 m2/g or below ([0011], [0012]; TABLE 1, [0105]) to improve the capacity characteristics of the secondary battery ([0004], [0017]). Kim and Ghimbeau are analogous because they are directed to secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of modified Kim with the specific surface areas of Ghimbeau in order to improve the capacity characteristics of the secondary battery.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata (US 2013/0209889 A1) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A) and Song et al. (CN 103545523 A, hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 12, Takahata discloses a manufacturing method of a positive electrode plate (12) for a secondary battery (10, [0054]), the manufacturing method comprising:
forming, on a surface of at least one side of a current collector (122) of the secondary battery (10), a porous layer (123) comprising a porous carbon material (51, [0067]);
after forming the porous layer (123) and before applying a positive electrode slurry on the porous layer (123, [0068]), exposing the porous layer to a carbon dioxide atmosphere such that carbon dioxide is adsorbed in the porous carbon material (51, [0067]);
applying the positive electrode slurry on the porous layer (123, [0068]); and
drying the positive electrode slurry to form a positive electrode active substance layer (124) on the porous layer (123, [0068]).
Takahata does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the positive electrode plate has pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided,
a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm,
wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10.
Tamura discloses a positive electrode plate (1) has pores (1c) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (1a) is provided (FIG. 1, [0039]), a pore diameter of the pores exhibits a maximum circumferential diameter distribution of 1 μm to 50 μm (TABLE 2, [0039]), wherein a pore depth of the pores is set to H, an inter-pore distance of the pores is set to L, and a thickness of the positive electrode plate set to T, wherein H/T ≥ 1/10 and L/T ≤ 10 (TABLE 2, [0039]) to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents (TABLE 2, [0047]). Tamura discloses Examples 3 to 5, which have H, T, L, and H/T, and L/T as detailed below.
H (μm)
T (μm)
L (μm)
H/T
L/T
Example 3
140
170
480
0.82
2.8
Example 4
140
170
180
0.82
1.1
Example 5
140
170
80
0.82
0.5
Takahata and Tamura are analogous because they are directed to positive electrode plates for a secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the positive electrode plate of Takahata with the pores of Tamura in order to improve charge and discharge characteristics at large currents.
Modified Takahata does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, during the drying, the carbon dioxide adsorbed in the porous carbon material is desorbed and passes through the positive electrode active substance layer to form pores in a surface of a side on which the positive electrode active substance layer is provided.
Song discloses a manufacturing method of a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery comprising drying an electrode slurry to form an electrode active substance layer, carbon dioxide adsorbed in the porous carbon material is desorbed and passes through the electrode active substance layer to form pores in a surface of a side on which the electrode active substance layer is provided (see microporous structure, [0011]) to improve capacity and charge-discharge characteristics (see pores, [0011]). Takahata and Song are analogous because they are directed to secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the porous carbon material of modified Takahata by the carbon dioxide desorption of Song in order to improve capacity and charge-discharge characteristics.
Regarding claim 13, modified Takahata discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a manufacturing method of a positive electrode plate for a secondary battery:
wherein the porous layer (123) is formed by a slurry comprising the porous carbon material (51), acetylene black (52) as a conductive agent (see AB, [0067]), polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder (see PVDF, [0067]), and N-methylpyrrolidone as a solvent (see NMP, [0067]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2014/0306665 A1) in view of Tamura (JP 2007-250510 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (WO 2020/258810 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0102698 A1; hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a positive electrode plate:
wherein the current collector is a composite current collector comprising: a polymer material matrix; and a metal layer formed on at least one surface of the polymer material matrix.
Li discloses a composite current collector (10) comprising a polymer material matrix (101); and a metal layer (102) formed on at least one surface of the polymer material matrix (101, [0122]) to improve energy density of the secondary battery (see composite current collector, [0013]). Kim and Li are analogous because they are directed to secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the current collector of modified Kim with the composite current collector of Li in order to improve energy density of the secondary battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 2021/0050599 A1) discloses a positive electrode plate having pores (210) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (206) is provided (FIG. 2A, [0071]).
Nakagawa (US 2020/0099087 A1) discloses a positive electrode plate having pores (131) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (13) is provided (FIG. 4, [0283]).
Akikusa (US 2017/0263933 A1) discloses a positive electrode plate (2A) having pores (7A) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (6A) is provided (FIG. 3A, [0130]).
Ozaki (US 2013/0236782 A1) discloses a positive electrode plate (10) having pores (33) in a surface of a side on which a positive electrode active substance layer (12) is provided (FIG. 1, [0026]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725