DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, line 2, what are the metes-and-bounds of the term “roasting”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimura et al. (JP 2005-026089 A; hereinafter “Arimura”; listed in the IDS filed 28 November 2024; using Applicant’s submitted English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Arimura teaches a method for treating a secondary battery containing metallic lithium in a negative electrode, the method comprising:
bringing water vapor into contact with a battery cell (vapor phase containing water vapor, see [0012]).
Arimura is silent to specifically teaching wherein the water vapor is at 40° C to 175° C. However, Arimura teaches in order to further promote the hydrolysis reaction of converting lithium hydroxide and/or a transition metal hydroxide from being produced form the lithium-transition metal containing composite oxide, it is also effective to supply H2O under a heated condition (see [0012]). Therefore, Arimura recognizes that the temperature of the water vapor coming into contact with the materials is a result effective variable, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the heated condition through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 2, Arimura is silent to wherein a relative humidity of gas that contacts the battery cell in bringing the water vapor into contact with the battery cell is 40% or more. However, Arimura recognizes that a temperature of the water vapor is a result effective variable (see claim 1 rejection above) and also that the concentration of water vapor in the atmosphere is a result effective variable as it can be appropriately adjusted in accordance with the state of the hydrolysis reaction (see [0047]). Therefore, as both the concentration and temperature of the water vapor is a result effective variable, the relative humidity, which is just a mathematical expression of the two result effective variables, must itself also be a result effective variable, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the heated condition through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 3, Arimura is silent to wherein bringing the water vapor at 40° C. to 175° C. into contact with the battery cell comprises bringing the water vapor at 40° C. to 70° C. into contact with the battery cell. However, Arimura teaches in order to further promote the hydrolysis reaction of converting lithium hydroxide and/or a transition metal hydroxide from being produced form the lithium-transition metal containing composite oxide, it is also effective to supply H2O under a heated condition (see [0012]). Therefore, Arimura recognizes that the temperature of the water vapor coming into contact with the materials is a result effective variable, and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the heated condition through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 4, Arimura teaches after bringing the water vapor into contact with the battery cell, dissolving, in water, a battery cell constituent material containing the metallic lithium deactivated and recovering the battery cell constituent material (see [0047]-[0049]).
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ido et al. (US 2015/0303445; hereinafter “Ido”).
Regarding claim 1, Ido teaches a method for treating a secondary battery containing metallic lithium in a negative electrode, the method comprising:
bringing water vapor into contact with a battery cell (see [0066] – Ido teaches that the secondary battery 1 can operate at a temperature 70°C or lower based on accessible toy components defined in the Japanese domestic standards. Therefore, since the toy would be operated in all different weather conditions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the secondary battery 1 would come into contact with water vapor in the air at 70°C or lower).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, Ido teaches wherein bringing the water vapor at 40° C. to 175° C. into contact with the battery cell comprises bringing the water vapor at 40° C. to 70° C. into contact with the battery cell (see [0066] – 70°C or lower). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Ido teaches not comprising roasting the battery cell (see [0066] – Ido teaches that the secondary battery 1 can operate at a temperature 70°C or lower based on accessible toy components defined in the Japanese domestic standards. Since these temperatures are meant to ensure safe operation, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that these temperatures ensure that the secondary batter 1 does not roast).
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 29 May 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735