DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5-7, the phase “second pillar portion” should be “second pillar
Claim 8, line 4, the phase “plan view” into “a plan view”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitations, “a movable device comprising: a first movable part; a driver to rotate the first movable part; a second movable part facing the first movable part; and a coupler coupling the first movable part and the second movable part to each other, the coupler including: a first pillar extending from the first movable part in a first direction opposite to the first direction and bonded to the first pillar; and a second pillar extending from the second movable part in a second direction toward the first movable part” are considered to be indefinite. The claim limitations “the coupler including: a first pillar extending from the first movable part in a first direction opposite to the first direction and bonded to the first pillar; and a second pillar extending from the second movable part in a second direction toward the first movable part” appear to contradict the disclosure. Figure 8, for example, disclose “the coupler including: a first pillar (124) extending from the first movable part (3) in a first direction; and a second pillar (122) extending from the second movable part (101) in a second direction opposite to the first direction, toward the first movable part, and bonded to the first pillar”. Therefore, it is indefinite.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the above limitation as - - “a movable device comprising: a first movable part; a driver to rotate the first movable part; a second movable part facing the first movable part; and a coupler coupling the first movable part and the second movable part to each other, the coupler including: a first pillar extending from the first movable part in a first direction opposite to the first direction, toward the first movable part, and bonded to the first pillar” - -.
Also, dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajiyama US 2022/0091410.
1. Kajiyama discloses a movable device, in at least figs.1-21 and 24-26 and para.86 and 87, comprising:
a first movable part (3, or center portion of 4 or 3);
a driver (13) to rotate the first movable part (see figs.20, 21 and 24-26);
a second movable part (5) facing the first movable part; and
a coupler (15 and 45 or 17 and 47) coupling the first movable part and the second movable part to each other, the coupler including:
a first pillar (15 or 17) extending from the first movable part in a first direction (see figs. 19 and 24); and
a second pillar (45 or 47 or the pillar with cross shaped of 47) extending from the second movable part in a second direction opposite to the first direction (see figs.19 and 24), toward the first movable part, and bonded to the first pillar (see figs.19 and 24).
3. Kajiyama discloses the first pillar has a first surface (15a or 17a) facing the second movable part, the second pillar has a second surface (45a or 47a) facing the first surface, and the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar are bonded to each other (para.72 and 85 and see figs.19 and 24).
6. Kajiyama discloses the second movable part includes a protrusion (edge portion of 47) in a periphery of the second pillar (the pillar with cross shaped of 47), and wherein the protrusion has a thickness in the second direction equal to or less than a thickness of the second pillar in the second direction (see fig.26).
7. Kajiyama discloses the protrusion (edge portion of 47) and the second pillar (the pillar with cross shaped of 47) are coupled to each other (see fig.26).
8. Kajiyama discloses the second movable part includes a reflector (41 or 43), and two or more of the first movable part, the driver, or the reflector overlap each other in a plan view (see figs.1,19 and 24).
9. Kajiyama discloses each of the first movable part and the second movable part includes an optical element (insulating film or semiconductor layer, see fig.19).
10. Kajiyama discloses further comprising: a support (11a) to support the driver, wherein the second movable part (the second movable part includes a protrusion (edge portion of 47)) protrudes toward the first movable part more than the support (see figs. 24-26).
11. Kajiyama discloses a method of manufacturing a movable device, in at least figs.24-26 and 10-19 and para.86 and 87, the method comprising:
forming a reflector (41), a first pillar (the pillar with cross shaped of 47), and a protrusion (edge portion of 47) in a first wafer (see figs.14-17);
forming a drive unit (13), a movable part (3, or center portion of 4 or 3), and a second pillar (17) in a second wafer (see figs.10-13); and
bonding the first pillar and the second pillar to each other (see figs.19 and 24-26).
15. Kajiyama discloses a projection apparatus comprising an optical scanning system (para.1 and 2) including the movable device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama US 2022/0091410 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor US 2003/0202234.
2. Kajiyama discloses the first pillar and the second pillar are bonded to each other (para.72 and 85).
Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the first pillar and the second pillar are bonded to each other with an adhesive.
Taylor discloses a movable device, in at least figs.12-14, the first pillar and the second pillar are bonded to each other with an adhesive (para.66) for the purpose of bonding two pillars to each other (para.66).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first pillar (304) and the second pillar (308) are bonded to each other with an adhesive as taught by Taylor in the movable device of Kajiyama for the purpose of bonding two pillars to each other.
4 and 5. Kajiyama discloses the first pillar has a first surface (15a or 17a), the second pillar has a second surface (45a or 47a) facing the first movable part (see figs.19 and 24).
Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have different shapes and different areas.
Taylor discloses a movable device, in at least figs.12-14, the first surface of the first pillar (304) and the second surface of the second pillar (308) have different shapes and different areas for the purpose of bonding two pillars to each other (para.61 and 66).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have different shapes and different areas as taught by Taylor in the movable device of Kajiyama for the purpose of bonding two pillars to each other.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama US 2022/0091410 as applied to claim 1 above.
4 and 5. Kajiyama discloses the first pillar has a first surface (15a or 17a), the second pillar has a second surface (45a or 47a) facing the first movable part (see figs.19 and 24), and the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have same shapes and same areas (see figs.19 and 24).
Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have different shapes and different areas. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have different shapes and different areas, since applicant has not disclosed that the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have different shapes and different areas solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the first surface of the first pillar and the second surface of the second pillar have same shapes and same areas for the purpose of bonding two pillars to each other to support the first movable part.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama US 2022/0091410 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marauska US 2023/0244076.
9. Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose each of the first movable part and the second movable part includes an optical element.
Marauska discloses a moveable device, in at least fig.17, an optical element (140 and 240) can be formed on both top and bottom surfaces of a movable mirror platform for the purpose of providing a measure of the current position/tilt angle of the mirror subregion (para.190).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical element can be formed on both top and bottom surfaces of a movable mirror platform as taught by Marauska in the movable device of Kajiyama in order to have each of the first movable part and the second movable part includes an optical element for the purpose of providing a measure of the current position/tilt angle of the mirror subregion.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama US 2022/0091410 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xue CN 111580265A (see document of 18407485_2026-02-10_CN_111580265_A_M.pdf).
12. Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose further comprising multiple couplers including the coupler.
Xue discloses a moveable device, in at least figs.3 and 4, further comprising multiple couplers including the coupler (see figs.3 and 4) for the purpose of providing better support and protection (page 10, 7th paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising multiple couplers including the coupler as taught by Xue in the movable device of Kajiyama for the purpose of providing better support and protection.
Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to multiple couplers including the coupler, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 13, 14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajiyama US 2022/0091410 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHINKAWA US 20190391394.
13. Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the drive unit has a meandering structure.
SHINKAWA discloses a movable device, in at least fig.17, the drive unit (120a or 120b) has a meandering structure (see fig.17 and para.177 and 178) for the purpose of driving the movable device (see fig.17 and para.177 and 178).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the drive unit has a meandering structure as taught by SHINKAWA in the movable device of Kajiyama for the purpose of driving the movable device.
14. Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the driver includes: a first driver to rotate the first movable part and the second movable part about a first axis; and a second driver to rotate the first movable part and the second movable part about a second axis intersecting with the first axis.
SHINKAWA discloses a movable device, in at least fig.17, the driver includes: a first driver (120a) to rotate the movable part (110) about a first axis (X); and a second driver (116a) to rotate the movable part about a second axis (Y) intersecting with the first axis for the purpose of driving the movable device (see fig.17 and para.177 and 178).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the driver includes: a first driver to rotate the movable part about a first axis; and a second driver to rotate the movable part about a second axis intersecting with the first axis as taught by SHINKAWA in the movable device of Kajiyama in order to have the driver includes: a first driver to rotate the first movable part and the second movable part about a first axis; and a second driver to rotate the first movable part and the second movable part about a second axis intersecting with the first axis for the purpose of driving the movable device.
16-19. Kajiyama discloses the movable device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the movable device used in a head-mounted display, a head-up display, a laser headlamp and an object recognition apparatus to recognize an object.
SHINKAWA discloses, a head-mounted display, a head-up display, a laser headlamp and an object recognition apparatus, in at least figs.5-6, 9-10, 12, 13, 17, a movable device (13) used in a head-mounted display (figs.12 and 13), a head-up display (see figs.5 and 6), a laser headlamp (fig.11) and an object recognition apparatus (figs.9 and 10) to recognize an object (figs.9 and 10) for the purpose of having each of a head-mounted display, a head-up display, a laser headlamp and an object recognition apparatus include a movable device (para.2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the movable device used in a head-mounted display, a head-up display, a laser headlamp and an object recognition apparatus to recognize an object as taught by SHINKAWA in the head-mounted display, the head-up display, the laser headlamp and the object recognition apparatus of Kajiyama for the purpose of having each of a head-mounted display, a head-up display, a laser headlamp and an object recognition apparatus includes a movable device.
20. Kajiyama discloses the movable device according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Kajiyama does not explicitly disclose the movable device used in at least one of: a head-up display; a laser headlamp; and an object recognition apparatus to recognize an object of a mobile object.
SHINKAWA discloses a mobile object, in at least figs.5-6, 9-10, 12, 13, 17, a movable device (13) used in at least one of: a head-up display (see figs.5 and 6); a laser headlamp (fig.11); and an object recognition apparatus to recognize an object (figs.9 and 10) of a mobile object (para.113 and figs.5,6,9-11) for the purpose of having a mobile object include a movable device (para.2 and 113).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the movable device used in at least one of: a head-up display; a laser headlamp; and an object recognition apparatus to recognize an object of a mobile object as taught by SHINKAWA in the mobile object of Kajiyama for the purpose of having a mobile object include a movable device.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871