DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 10/09/2026 (“Amendment”). Claims 1-7 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-7. Claims 8-10 remain withdrawn.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the preamble should be corrected to describe more than a method for “constructing” a prediction model, since the claim now also recites applying the model.
Further regarding claim 1, there should not be an “and” before the training step, since it is not the last method step, and there should not be an “and” before the wherein clause, since it is the only wherein clause.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation of “adjacdent” should instead read --adjacent--.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of “are maintained” should instead read --maintained--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The terms “bad” and “obviously inconsistent with an experimental design” in claim 5 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what makes lead data “bad” or what makes something “obviously inconsistent,” including with an undefined experimental design.
Claim 6 is rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claims 1-7 are directed to a “method,” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One: Claim 1 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of a mathematical concept, substantially as follows:
preprocessing the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, to obtain before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, wherein the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features are P300 amplitude features; and training the iNPH prediction model based on the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features; and applying the trained iNPH prediction model to predict whether a tester is an iNPH patient, comprising the same preprocessing steps, and inputting the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features for the tester into the trained iNPH prediction model to obtain a prediction result indicating whether the tester is an iNPH patient.
The preprocessing, training, and applying/inputting steps involve the mathematical concepts of signal processing, model training, and model use. These steps correspond to “[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem [that] can serve the same purpose as a formula.” See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Prong Two: Claim 1 does not include additional elements that integrate the mathematical concept into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is “directed to” the mathematical concept. The additional elements merely:
add insignificant extra-solution activity (the pre-solution activity of: performing visual Oddball paradigm experiments before and after LTT), and
describe field-of-use (one of the target populations being iNPH patients).
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and nothing is done with the trained model. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., an inventive concept) for the same reasons as described above.
Dependent Claims
The dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons: they merely
further describe the abstract idea (e.g. pre-processing and averaging (claims 5 and 6), etc.),
further describe the pre-solution activity (or the structure used for such activity) (e.g. presenting images (claims 2 and 3), using configured EEG caps (claims 2 and 4), etc.), and
introduce post-solution activity (e.g. generic presentation of data (claim 7), etc.).
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way (e.g. the result of applying the trained model remains in a processing “black box,” i.e., in the abstract realm). They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves another technology or technical field, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (“AAPA”) in view of non-patent publication de la Calzada, M. D., et al. "Cognitive event-related brain potentials (P300) in patients with normal pressure hydrocephalus. Results of a prospective study." Neurología (English Edition) 25.1 (2010): 32-39 (“de la Calzada”) and US Patent Application Publication 2020/0237247 (“Glik”).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA teaches [a] method for [diagnosing idiopathic Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus (iNPH)] (¶ 0002 of the specification as filed), wherein the method comprises: performing … experiments on a target population prior to a Lumbar Tap Test (LTT) to obtain before LTT … data for the target population (¶ 0003 of the specification as filed, describing MMSE and MoCA assessments); performing the … experiments on the target population after the LTT to obtain after LTT … data for the target population (¶ 0003 of the specification as filed); … and wherein the target population is an iNPH patient (¶¶s 0002 and 0003).
AAPA does not appear to explicitly teach the method being for constructing an iNPH prediction model based on a visual Oddball paradigm, which includes performing visual Oddball paradigm experiments pre- and post-LTT, the experiments including standard stimulation and target stimulation EEG signal data.
de la Calzada teaches performing a visual Oddball paradigm experiment that includes standard (distracting) and target (target/oddball) stimulation EEG signal data, specifically based on the P300 wave as observed via EEG (page 34, first paragraph of the “Neurophysiologic evaluation” section – also see page 33, the “Introduction” section).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an Oddball paradigm experiment in AAPA as in de la Calzada, as the simple substitution of one known neurophysiologic evaluation method (e.g. MMSE or MoCA as in AAPA) for another (that of de la Calzada) with predictable results (de la Calzada: Abstract, evaluating effects of surgery on cognitive function, as also contemplated by AAPA).
AAPA-de la Calzada does not appear to explicitly teach preprocessing the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, to obtain before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, wherein the before LTT standard simulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features are P300 amplitude features (although de la Calzada does specifically mention P300); and training the iNPH prediction model based on the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, and applying the trained iNPH prediction model to predict whether a tester is an iNPH patient, based on the same steps already outlined above, including inputting the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features for the tester into the trained iNPH prediction model to obtain a prediction result indicating whether the tester is an iNPH patient.
Glik teaches preprocessing EEG data before running it through a classifier (¶ 0399, filtering). Glik teaches training a classification/prediction model to make decisions on EEG microstates (¶ 0263). Thus, after training, the model is applied to make classifications/predictions.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to preprocess the EEG data of the combination as in Glik, thereby obtaining the event-related P300 features, for the purpose of making classification easier by e.g. reducing noise and otherwise unnecessary data (Glik: ¶¶s 0399, 0400, 0403, 0407, etc.). It would have been obvious to train an iNPH prediction model based on the P300 features observed from the Oddball paradigm experiments of the combination, and then to apply the trained model, as in Glik, for the purpose of being able to make automatic classification decisions (Glik: ¶ 0263) and track changes over time (as already contemplated – Glik: ¶ 0263; AAPA: ¶ 0002).
Regarding claim 7, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik further teaches wherein: a presentation of the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features of the target population comprises: a standard stimulus event-related potential feature before LTT; a target stimulus event-related potential feature before LTT; a standard stimulus event-related potential feature after LTT; and a target stimulus event-related potential features after LTT, wherein the presentation of the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features of the target population is configured to reflect an improvement in a cognitive function of iNPH patients without reaching a minimum cognitive function level of a healthy population (de la Calzada: Fig. 2. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to present the characteristics, as in de la Calzada, for the purpose of showing change over time and being able to graphically evaluate efficacy of treatment); and wherein the iNPH prediction model is obtained based on the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, comprises obtaining the iNPH prediction model based on a change in characteristics of the standard stimulus event-related potential feature before LTT, the target stimulus event-related potential feature before LTT, the standard stimulus event-related potential feature after LTT, and the target stimulus event-related potential feature after LTT (as noted above with respect to e.g. Glik and AAPA).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik in view of US Patent Application Publication 2018/0228419 (“Farzan”).
Regarding claim 2, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik further teaches wherein the performing the visual Oddball paradigm experiments on the target population comprises: configuring EEG [sensors] for the target population (de la Calzada: “Introduction” section, describing EEG); presenting a number of images to the target population at predetermined time intervals, wherein stimuli with a high probability of image occurrence are defined as standard stimuli and stimuli with a low probability of image occurrence are defined as target stimuli in the visual Oddball paradigm experiments, and asking the target population to silently memorize a number of times that the target stimuli appeared; and presenting the number of images to the target population, while obtaining the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data of the target population through the EEG [sensors] (de la Calzada: “Neurophysiologic evaluation” section), but does not appear to explicitly teach the use of an EEG cap.
Farzan teaches the use of an EEG cap to obtain EEG data (¶ 0079).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cap for the EEG measurements of the combination, as in Farzan, for the purpose of making it easier to locate and wear the electrodes (Farzan: ¶ 0079).
Regarding claim 3, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan teaches all the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan further teaches wherein the presenting the number of images to the target population at the predetermined time interval comprises: presenting a plurality of rounds of image stimuli to the target population, each round of image stimuli comprising a first patterned image stimulus and a second patterned image stimulus, wherein a probability of a first patterned image appearing is 80% and the first patterned image stimulus is a standard stimulus, the probability of a second patterned image appearing is 20% and the second patterned image stimulus is a target stimulus, and wherein there is a predetermined resting time between adjacent two rounds of image stimuli; and presenting the first patterned image or the second patterned image to the target population each time in accordance with a predetermined maintenance duration, wherein there is a predetermined time interval between adjacdent two patterned image stimuli (de la Calzada: “Neurophysiologic evaluation” section). Although de la Calzada does not explicitly teach an 80/20 split, the split is a known results-effective variable because it can be changed as desired based on different stimuli and desired responses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an 80/20 split instead of an 82/18 split, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation is not inventive. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0040148 (“Fillit”).
Regarding claim 4, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan further teaches wherein the configuring the EEG caps for the target population comprises: equipping the target population with the EEG caps, … with … electrodes placed with reference to an international 10-20 system (Farzan: ¶ 0072), wherein a number of channels is [64] (Farzan: ¶ 0073); and setting parameters of the EEG caps to a sampling rate of [10 kHz] and a band-pass filtering of [0.05 to 1 kHz] (Farzan: ¶ 0073), wherein an acquisition process is performed with a top of a head of the target population as a reference, with a forehead grounded (Farzan: ¶ 0073) and an impedance between a scalp and the … electrodes are maintained at less than 10 KΩ (Farzan: ¶ 0073), but does not appear to explicitly teach the caps using Ag/AgCl electrodes to form 32 channels, and setting parameters including a sampling rate of 1,000 Hz and filtering of 0.1 to 200 Hz.
Fillit teaches an EEG cap that uses 32 channels/leads with Ag/AgCl electrodes, a sampling rate of 5 kHz, filtering at 0.1-1000 Hz, etc. (¶ 0035).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ag/AgCl electrodes in the combination as in Fillit, since they are known for the purpose (Fillit: ¶ 0035). Further, the number of electrodes and other details such as the sampling rate and filtering range are known results-effective variables because they can be changed as desired based on the depth of processing desired. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use e.g. 32 channels/leads instead of 64, a sampling rate of 1000 Hz, filtering of 0.1 to 200 Hz, etc. for the purpose of conserving resources where possible (i.e., no need to use the full capabilities of the cap of Farzan), and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation is not inventive. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan-Fillit in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0273907 (“Poltorak”).
Regarding claim 5, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan-Fillit teaches all the features with respect to claim 4, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan-Fillit further teaches wherein the preprocessing comprises: checking for bad lead data in the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data and filtering the bad lead data out; wherein the bad lead data comprises information that is obviously inconsistent with an experimental design (Farzan: ¶ 0076, removing 60 Hz noise or noise due to muscle movements, etc. - also see ¶ 0073, Glik: ¶ 0287, etc.), filtering the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data using a filter with a filter range of 0.5 to 30 Hz (Glik: ¶ 0399, obvious to modify to the claimed range based on the routine optimization explained above); downsampling the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data to 200 Hz (Farzan: ¶ 0076, obvious to modify to the claimed range for the purpose of conserving resources, and based on another routine optimization (the sampling rate is still a results-effective variable, as explained above)); defining a start moment of each image stimulation as a zero moment (Farzan: ¶ 0076); segmenting and intercepting the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data in accordance with a first predetermined time window (Farzan: ¶ 0076), but does not appear to explicitly teach baseline correcting the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data obtained from each image stimulation by using an EEG signal data segment of a second predetermined time window as a baseline.
Poltorak teaches baseline-correcting EEG data based on different time windows (¶ 0508).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to baseline-correct the data of the combination, as in Poltorak, for the purpose of taking pre-event baseline activity into consideration (Poltorak: ¶ 0508).
Regarding claim 6, AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan-Fillit-Poltorak teaches all the features with respect to claim 5, as outlined above. AAPA-de la Calzada-Glik-Farzan-Fillit-Poltorak further teaches
wherein the preprocessing of the before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, to obtain the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, comprises: averaging the preprocessed before LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, the preprocessed before LTT target stimulation EEG signal data, the preprocessed after LTT standard stimulation EEG signal data, and the preprocessed after LTT target stimulation EEG signal data of trials separately at each electrode, to obtain the before LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, the before LTT target stimulation event-related potential features, the after LTT standard stimulation event-related potential features, and the after LTT target stimulation event-related potential features (de la Calzada: first paragraph on page 35; Glik: ¶ 0405; Farzan: ¶ 0076; Poltorak: ¶¶s 0112).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/09/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that an information disclosure statement has been submitted, but the Office notes that one has not been found in the record.
In response to the attempt to clarify the meaning of the term “bad,” the Office notes that it is also unclear what is “obviously inconsistent with the experimental design.”
In response to the arguments and amendments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, they are not persuasive. Although claim 1 now recites application of the trained model to obtain a prediction result, the Office notes that nothing is done with the result. Instead, it remains in a processing “black box” and is part of the mathematical concept itself. Generating a “specific diagnostic prediction” is not necessarily a practical application since an improvement in an abstract idea is still an abstract idea. Applicant argues an improvement to the technology, but this must be provided by “additional elements.” Applicant suggests that these additional elements may be the experiment steps, but they are Applicant Admitted Prior Art and are merely extra-solution activity serving to gather data for the mathematical concept. The Office has not stated that they are “generic.” The degree of specificity of data-gathering steps also does not necessarily make the claim directed to a practical application. As for the pre-processing steps, they are part of the mathematical concept. Regarding step 2B, the analysis is unchanged because the Office has not claimed that any elements are well-understood, routine, or conventional.
In response to the arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, they are not persuasive. First, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second, de la Calzada does not teach away from studying P300 amplitude features. Instead, it suggests that they are relevant by evaluating both P300 latency and amplitude, not just latency. Further, the rejection itself does not rely on de la Calzada for amplitude specifically. A classification/prediction model as in Glik can be used to make decisions based on all relevant features. Glik teaches both creating a model and then using the created model. Applicant presents no rationale for why a model that can classify microstates cannot classify iNPH. ¶ 0263 of Glik explains that the classifier can be used to indicate a change in patient status in general.
Thus, all claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791