Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 9-10, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made for claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan Beigi et al (US 20240107525 A1), hereinafter referred as Khan in view of Takahashi et al (US 2026/0197830), hereinafter referred as Takahashi. Please note, Interview effort for compact prosecution was attempted by contacting Applicant’s representative several times including voicemails, however no response was received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan Beigi et al (US 20240107525 A1), hereinafter referred as Khan in view of Takahashi et al (US 2026/0197830), hereinafter referred as Takahashi.
Regarding Claim 1, Khan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Khan, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment)
one or more memories; (Khan, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0030] non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) and
one or more processors (Khan, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0031] processor 118), coupled to the one or more memories (Khan, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0030] non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132), configured to cause the UE to (Khan, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment):
receive a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan, paragraph [0003] WTRU receives SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
receive a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted) and
While Khan, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514)). Khan discloses in 0113-0125 of how the UE determines which CG UL occasions are valid in SBFD symbols. Khan also mentions in paragraphs 0139, 0158, 0166 and 0170 that the UE may skip, drop or fallback when a CG resource is not valid. Khan further discloses in 0119, 0145 that the UE may transmit UCI such as HARQ-ACK and CSI as part of normal operation. However, Khan fails to explicitly disclose transmit uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by the UE in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions. Takahashi in the same field of endeavor teaches in paragraph 0015, 0099-0102, 0106, 0230, 0237, 0243 of UE reporting via UCI which CG UL occasions were unused. Takahashi further teaches in paragraph 0295-0302 of reporting can distinguish valid/invalid occasions. Thus, Takahashi not only teaches but provides multiple explicit mechanisms and field definitions for the UE to report via CG-UCI, which configured grant UL occasions were used including for valid (non-overlapping, SBFD-allowed) occasions. This directly fill the gap/deficiency identified in Khan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the SBFD-aware configured grant resource mapping and validation techniques of Khan with the UCI-based reporting of unused CG UL occasions taught by Takahashi. The motivation is to enable the network to accurately determine which configured grant uplink transmission occasions were actually used by the UE, thereby improving resource utilization, reducing unnecessary blind decoding, and enhancing scheduling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink symbol configured with an uplink sub-band. (Khan, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols. Further it discloses SBFD UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 3, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 4, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Regarding Claim 5, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a duplex type of an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion matching a duplex type of the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514), paragraph [0039] discloses duplex type (i.e. full duplex, and half-duplex respectively))
Regarding Claim 6, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) associated with the SBFD symbol being SBFD-specific. (Khan, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0005], [0075] and various other passages disclose frequency domain resource allocation as Fig. 5, paragraphs [0138], [0180], [0201], [0221], and Fig. 6, paragraphs [0229]-[0232])
Regarding Claim 7, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on the UE being configured to perform rate matching or puncturing of one or more resource blocks of the CG uplink transmission occasion that are outside an uplink sub-band of the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, Fig. 5, paragraph [0227] explicitly discloses rate-matched or punctured, paragraph [0090] discloses resource blocks (RBs), paragraph [0124] discloses partly/totally outside the subbands, paragraphs [0139], [0191] outside the uplink (UL) subband, Fig. 6, RBs outside DL/UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 8, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on the UE not being configured to drop the CG uplink transmission occasion responsive to a frequency resource of the CG uplink transmission occasion being outside an uplink sub-band of the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraph [0124] discloses partly/totally outside the subbands, paragraphs [0139], [0191] outside the uplink (UL) subband, Fig. 6, RBs outside DL/UL subbands, paragraph [0139] WTRU may and/or may be allowed to drop PUCCH transmission, paragraphs [0176], [0178], [0188]-[0189], [0194], [0196], [0199]-[0200]-[0201], [0203], [0208]-[0209], [0213] drop performing the UL transmission, [0217]-[0218], [0220]-[0221], [0223], [0227]-[0228] disclose drop/drop UL transmission)
Regarding Claim 9, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission)
Regarding Claim 10, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions and non-SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0004], [0114], [0150] disclose SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD PRIs, paragraph [0075] non-SBFD UL-only, [0142] non-SBFD Tx/Rx occasions, [0228] non-SBFD slot)
Regarding Claim 11, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is common to SBFD and non-SBFD, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions and non-SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0004], [0114], [0150] disclose SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD PRIs, paragraph [0075] non-SBFD UL-only, [0142] non-SBFD Tx/Rx occasions, [0228] non-SBFD slot, Figs. 2, 5, and 6 are related to SBFD, paragraph [0004] SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD which is common to SBFD and non-SBFD)
Regarding Claim 12, Khan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: (Khan, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node)
one or more memories; (Khan, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node, it is well understood in the art that a network node (gNB) has one or more memories) and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to: (Khan, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node, it is well understood in the art that a network node (gNB) has one or more processors and memories)
transmit a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan, network node (gNB) SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
transmit a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan, network node or gNB transmits CG configuration, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted).
While Khan, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514)). Khan discloses in 0113-0125 of how the UE determines which CG UL occasions are valid in SBFD symbols. Khan also mentions in paragraphs 0139, 0158, 0166 and 0170 that the UE may skip, drop or fallback when a CG resource is not valid. Khan further discloses in 0119, 0145 that the UE may transmit UCI such as HARQ-ACK and CSI as part of normal operation. However, Khan fails to explicitly disclose receive uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by the UE in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions. Takahashi in the same field of endeavor teaches in paragraph 0015, 0099-0102, 0106, 0230, 0237, 0243 of UE reporting via UCI which CG UL occasions were unused. Takahashi further teaches in paragraph 0295-0302 of reporting can distinguish valid/invalid occasions. Thus, Takahashi not only teaches but provides multiple explicit mechanisms and field definitions for the UE to report via CG-UCI, which configured grant UL occasions were used including for valid (non-overlapping, SBFD-allowed) occasions. This directly fill the gap/deficiency identified in Khan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the SBFD-aware configured grant resource mapping and validation techniques of Khan with the UCI-based reporting of unused CG UL occasions taught by Takahashi. The motivation is to enable the network to accurately determine which configured grant uplink transmission occasions were actually used by the UE, thereby improving resource utilization, reducing unnecessary blind decoding, and enhancing scheduling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 13, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink symbol configured with an uplink sub-band. (Khan, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols. Further it discloses SBFD UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 14, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 15, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Regarding Claim 16, Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a duplex type of an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion matching a duplex type of the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514), paragraph [0039] discloses duplex type (i.e. full duplex, and half-duplex respectively))
Regarding Claim 17, Khan discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Khan, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment)
receiving a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan, paragraph [0003] WTRU receives SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
receiving a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted). While Khan, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514)). Khan discloses in 0113-0125 of how the UE determines which CG UL occasions are valid in SBFD symbols. Khan also mentions in paragraphs 0139, 0158, 0166 and 0170 that the UE may skip, drop or fallback when a CG resource is not valid. Khan further discloses in 0119, 0145 that the UE may transmit UCI such as HARQ-ACK and CSI as part of normal operation. However, Khan fails to explicitly disclose transmit uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by the UE in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions. Takahashi in the same field of endeavor teaches in paragraph 0015, 0099-0102, 0106, 0230, 0237, 0243 of UE reporting via UCI which CG UL occasions were unused. Takahashi further teaches in paragraph 0295-0302 of reporting can distinguish valid/invalid occasions. Thus, Takahashi not only teaches but provides multiple explicit mechanisms and field definitions for the UE to report via CG-UCI, which configured grant UL occasions were used including for valid (non-overlapping, SBFD-allowed) occasions. This directly fill the gap/deficiency identified in Khan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the SBFD-aware configured grant resource mapping and validation techniques of Khan with the UCI-based reporting of unused CG UL occasions taught by Takahashi. The motivation is to enable the network to accurately determine which configured grant uplink transmission occasions were actually used by the UE, thereby improving resource utilization, reducing unnecessary blind decoding, and enhancing scheduling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 19, Khan discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 20, Khan discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477