DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan Beigi et al., (Pub. No.: US 2024/0107525 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Khan Beigi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment)
one or more memories; (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0030] non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) and
one or more processors (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0031] processor 118), coupled to the one or more memories (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1B, paragraph [0030] non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132), configured to cause the UE to (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment):
receive a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0003] WTRU receives SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
receive a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan Beigi, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted) and
transmit uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by the UE in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, being valid based at least in part on the CG uplink transmission occasion being in an SBFD symbol of the one or more SBFD symbols. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514))
Regarding Claim 2, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink symbol configured with an uplink sub-band. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols. Further it discloses SBFD UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 3, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 4, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Regarding Claim 5, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a duplex type of an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion matching a duplex type of the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514), paragraph [0039] discloses duplex type (i.e. full duplex, and half-duplex respectively))
Regarding Claim 6, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) associated with the SBFD symbol being SBFD-specific. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0005], [0075] and various other passages disclose frequency domain resource allocation as Fig. 5, paragraphs [0138], [0180], [0201], [0221], and Fig. 6, paragraphs [0229]-[0232])
Regarding Claim 7, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on the UE being configured to perform rate matching or puncturing of one or more resource blocks of the CG uplink transmission occasion that are outside an uplink sub-band of the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, Fig. 5, paragraph [0227] explicitly discloses rate-matched or punctured, paragraph [0090] discloses resource blocks (RBs), paragraph [0124] discloses partly/totally outside the subbands, paragraphs [0139], [0191] outside the uplink (UL) subband, Fig. 6, RBs outside DL/UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 8, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on the UE not being configured to drop the CG uplink transmission occasion responsive to a frequency resource of the CG uplink transmission occasion being outside an uplink sub-band of the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraph [0124] discloses partly/totally outside the subbands, paragraphs [0139], [0191] outside the uplink (UL) subband, Fig. 6, RBs outside DL/UL subbands, paragraph [0139] WTRU may and/or may be allowed to drop PUCCH transmission, paragraphs [0176], [0178], [0188]-[0189], [0194], [0196], [0199]-[0200]-[0201], [0203], [0208]-[0209], [0213] drop performing the UL transmission, [0217]-[0218], [0220]-[0221], [0223], [0227]-[0228] disclose drop/drop UL transmission)
Regarding Claim 9, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission)
Regarding Claim 10, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions and non-SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0004], [0114], [0150] disclose SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD PRIs, paragraph [0075] non-SBFD UL-only, [0142] non-SBFD Tx/Rx occasions, [0228] non-SBFD slot)
Regarding Claim 11, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CG configuration is common to SBFD and non-SBFD, and wherein the UCI is dedicated for SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions and non-SBFD CG uplink transmission occasions. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0184] discloses uplink control information (UCI), paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0004], [0114], [0150] disclose SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD PRIs, paragraph [0075] non-SBFD UL-only, [0142] non-SBFD Tx/Rx occasions, [0228] non-SBFD slot, Figs. 2, 5, and 6 are related to SBFD, paragraph [0004] SBFD uplink transmissions based on an association with non-SBFD which is common to SBFD and non-SBFD)
Regarding Claim 12, Khan Beigi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node)
one or more memories; (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node, it is well understood in the art that a network node (gNB) has one or more memories) and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to: (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1D, paragraph [0058] RAN 113 includes gNBs 180a, 180b, and 180c, gNB is a network node, it is well understood in the art that a network node (gNB) has one or more processors and memories)
transmit a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan Beigi, network node (gNB) SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
transmit a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan Beigi, network node or gNB transmits CG configuration, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted) and
receive uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by a user equipment (UE) in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, being valid based at least in part on the CG transmission occasion being in an SBFD symbol of the one or more SBFD symbols. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514))
Regarding Claim 13, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink symbol configured with an uplink sub-band. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols. Further it discloses SBFD UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 14, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 15, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Regarding Claim 16, Khan Beigi discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the CG configuration is SBFD-specific, and wherein the CG uplink transmission occasion is valid based at least in part on a duplex type of an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion matching a duplex type of the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses configured with a “SBFD-specific”, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and various other passages explicitly disclose uplink transmission, paragraph [0139] explicitly discloses valid PUCCH resources, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514), paragraph [0039] discloses duplex type (i.e. full duplex, and half-duplex respectively))
Regarding Claim 17, Khan Beigi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Khan Beigi, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] communications system 100, paragraph [0017] WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and 102d, WTRU is a user equipment)
receiving a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols; (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0003] WTRU receives SBFD configuration which configures on or more SBFD symbols, paragraphs [0187], and [0199] disclose one or more SBFD symbols)
receiving a configured grant (CG) configuration that configures multiple CG uplink transmission occasions in a CG period; (Khan Beigi, paragraphs [0104], [0109] disclose configured grant and/or assignment, it also discloses periodicity of a configured grant, various passages disclose uplink transmissions including paragraph [0109] WTRU receives configured grant (CG) configuration, time instance, occasions, and time unis (i.e.) slots are being interchangeably used or interpreted) and
transmitting uplink control information (UCI) indicating whether one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, of the multiple CG uplink transmission occasions, are unused by the UE in accordance with a CG uplink transmission occasion, of the one or more CG uplink transmission occasions, being valid based at least in part on the CG uplink transmission occasion being in an SBFD symbol of the one or more SBFD symbols. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0109] discloses WTRU be configured with an uplink transmission and/or repetition in an UL-only time instance which is occasion, PUSCH occasions transmitted according to a grant such as a configured grant, paragraph [0109] also explicitly discloses uplink in a SBFD slot/symbol, paragraphs [0162]-[0163] disclose valid UL transmission timing/slot, Fig. 5, paragraph [0170] valid slot (i.e. K1 514))
Regarding Claim 18, Khan Beigi discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink symbol configured with an uplink sub-band. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols. Further it discloses SBFD UL subbands)
Regarding Claim 19, Khan Beigi discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the SBFD symbol is a downlink reference signal symbol configured with an uplink sub-band, and wherein an uplink transmission in the CG uplink transmission occasion is prioritized over a downlink reference signal reception in the SBFD symbol. (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0126] discloses uplink (UL) sub-bands, paragraph [0152] SBFD UL subbands 512, paragraph [0126] it also discloses downlink resource allocations in SBFD symbols, paragraph [0104] discloses priority)
Regarding Claim 20, Khan Beigi discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the downlink reference signal symbol is associated with a synchronization signal block (SSB), a tracking reference signal (TRS), or a positioning reference signal (PRS). (Khan Beigi, paragraph [0070] discloses downlink (DL), Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS), paragraph [0106] explicitly discloses DM-RS, paragraph [0126] discloses downlink resource allocation in SBFD symbols, phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS/TRS), paragraph [0070] discloses Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), paragraphs [0196], and [0203] disclose SSB, and TRS, paragraph [0070] discloses Positioning Reference Signal (PRS))
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472