Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10344439 B2 hereinafter Steffen in view of US 11235934 B2 hereinafter Kataria.
Regarding claim 1, Steffen teaches a compactor comprising:
a plate; (A vibratory plate for soil compaction machine. Abstract)
a frame coupled to the plate; (The upper mass 2 includes a bearing frame 11 that is connected to a bearer plate 12. Column 3 lines 49-50)
an exciter assembly (An electric motor 7 together with the associated imbalance mass or masses 8 forms a so-called exciter or imbalance exciter. Column 4 lines 40-43) coupled to the plate (The vibration exciter device 6 is situated on the soil contact plate 4 and is connected fixedly thereto. Column 5 lines 15-17) and including an exciter shaft, an exciter pulley on the exciter shaft, and an eccentric weight on the exciter shaft; (The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-47)
a motor coupled to the frame (The vibration exciter device has at least one electric motor that drives a rotatably mounted imbalance mass in rotational fashion, and that can be driven by the electrical energy of the at least one energy storage element. Due to its use of electrical energy as drive force, such a vibratory plate does not produce noxious exhaust gases. In addition, the motor that provides the drive force for the imbalance mass is situated on the lower mass, so that no mechanical or hydraulic energy has to be transmitted from the upper mass to the lower mass. Column 1 line 61 – Column 2 line 3) and having an output shaft and a drive pully on the output shaft; (Fig. 2, The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-48)
Steffen does not teach a belt wrapped around the exciter pulley and the drive pulley at a maximum tension value for transferring torque from the drive pulley to the exciter pulley, causing it to rotate; and
a sensing circuit configured to detect if the tension in the belt is below the minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches a belt wrapped around the exciter pulley and the drive pulley at a maximum tension value for transferring torque from the drive pulley to the exciter pulley, causing it to rotate; and (FIG. 3A depicts the overall layout of the belt drive illustrating the driver pulley, driven pulley, and belt. A belt 300 is mounted on the driver pulley 305 and driven pulley 310 which are fixed respectively to a motor shaft 311 and a load shaft 312 using locking screws 315. Column 4 lines 41-45)
a sensing circuit configured to detect if the tension in the belt is below the minimum tension value. (A method and apparatus for monitoring tension and detecting slip of industrial belts while in running condition on belt drive system by using ultrasonic transducers. The sensing part involves two ultrasonic transducers which are installed on an assembly which is placed within a constrained space between the tension side and slack side of belt. Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. The processing circuit involves microcontroller with Wi-Fi module to send alert messages. Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor disclosed by Steffen to include the belt drive system and sensing circuit of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the system of Steffen to monitor the slip between the belt and the drive system in order to maximize power transmission efficiency suggested by Kataria in column 2 lines 60-63.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the method according to claim 1.
Steffen does not teach where the system further comprises an indicator configured to alert an operator if the tension in the belt is below the minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the system further comprises an indicator configured to alert an operator if the tension in the belt is below the minimum tension value. (Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include the alerting of an operator if the tension in the belt is below the minimum tension value of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the compactor to alert users when reduced tension or a slip is detected thus increasing the efficiency of the compactor as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the compactor according to claim 2. Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes:
a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft,
an exciter sensor configured to detect rotational speed of the exciter shaft, and
an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the exciter sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes:
a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft, (FIG. 4C shows the process flow for measurement of slip of the belt on the drive system. The transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driver pulley 305 of the belt. Time period 340 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from driver pulley 305 is computed by microcontroller and Wi-Fi Module 215. Similarly, again the transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driven pulley 310. Time period 350 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from the driven pulley 310 is calculated. Unit 215 computes the revolutions per minute (rpm) of drive and driven pulleys using the measured time periods 340 and 350. The rotational speeds of the driver and driven pulleys are computed by a program in unit 215. Column 5 line 65 – column 6 line 12)
an exciter sensor configured to detect rotational speed of the exciter shaft, and (FIG. 4C shows the process flow for measurement of slip of the belt on the drive system. The transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driver pulley 305 of the belt. Time period 340 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from driver pulley 305 is computed by microcontroller and Wi-Fi Module 215. Similarly, again the transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driven pulley 310. Time period 350 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from the driven pulley 310 is calculated. Unit 215 computes the revolutions per minute (rpm) of drive and driven pulleys using the measured time periods 340 and 350. The rotational speeds of the driver and driven pulleys are computed by a program in unit 215. Column 5 line 65 – column 6 line 12)
an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the exciter sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value. (Unit 215 computes the revolutions per minute (rpm) of drive and driven pulleys using the measured time periods 340 and 350. The rotational speeds of the driver and driven pulleys are computed by a program in unit 215. If the rotational speeds of driver and driven pulleys 305 and 310 are equal to the theoretical speeds computed as inversely proportional to pulley diameters, then there is no alert, but if there is a difference in these values, slip is detected and warning message is generated. Column 6 lines 7-16)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include wherein the sensing circuit includes a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft, an exciter sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the exciter shaft, and an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the exciter sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the compactor to determine when a tension drop or slip occurs which would increase the reliability and efficiency of the system as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the compactor according to claim 2.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft,
a current sensor configured to detect an electrical current drawn by the motor, and
an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the current sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value.
Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft, (FIG. 4C shows the process flow for measurement of slip of the belt on the drive system. The transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driver pulley 305 of the belt. Time period 340 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from driver pulley 305 is computed by microcontroller and Wi-Fi Module 215. Similarly, again the transducers are rotated to send and receive signal from driven pulley 310. Time period 350 which is determined by the two consecutive blank signals reflected from the driven pulley 310 is calculated. Unit 215 computes the revolutions per minute (rpm) of drive and driven pulleys using the measured time periods 340 and 350. The rotational speeds of the driver and driven pulleys are computed by a program in unit 215. Column 5 line 65 – column 6 line 12)
a current sensor configured to detect an electrical current drawn by the motor, and (FIG. 3F shows the various signals used for tension and slip monitoring. Transmitted signal 325 for belt tension monitoring with specified peak voltage and frequency is converted to sound waves by the transmitting transducer 105. The reflected sound signal from belt is received at receiving transducer and converted to electrical signal 330. Peak to peak voltage of received wave 330 is measured using the electronic circuit in FIG. 2B. Column 5 lines 23-30)
an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the current sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value. (The amplitude of signal 330 is compared with threshold value stored in the microcontroller and if the received amplitude is lesser than the threshold, an alert message for tension out of range is sent using microcontroller and Wi-Fi Module 215 (FIG. 2). Column 5 lines 30-34)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include wherein the sensing circuit includes a motor sensor configured to detect a rotational speed of the motor output shaft, a current sensor configured to detect an electrical current drawn by the motor, and an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the motor sensor and the current sensor and configured to determine, based on the output, if the tension in the belt is less than the minimum tension value. of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the compactor to determine when a tension drop or slip occurs which would increase the reliability and efficiency of the system as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the compactor according to claim 2.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit is configured to directly measure a characteristic of the belt to detect if the belt tension is below the minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit is configured to directly measure a characteristic of the belt to detect if the belt tension is below the minimum tension value. (The sensing part involves two ultrasonic transducers which are installed on an assembly which is placed within a constrained space between the tension side and slack side of belt. Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include where the sensing circuit is configured to directly measure a characteristic of the belt to detect if the belt tension is below the minimum tension value of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the compactor to determine when a tension drop or slip occurs which would increase the reliability and efficiency of the system as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the compactor according to claim 5.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit is configured to measure vibration of the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit is configured to measure vibration of the belt. (Monitoring of tension by measuring natural frequency of vibration of the belts in different arrangements. Column 1 lines 47-48)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include the sensing circuit being configured to measure vibration of the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the compactor to determine when the vibration of the belt falls below a threshold and a slip or tension drop has occurred as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the compactor according to claim 6.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes a non-contact sensor configured to measure vibration of the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes a non-contact sensor configured to measure vibration of the belt. (According to a preferred embodiment of the invention, it provides sensing the tension of belt by non-contact method while the same apparatus can be used to monitor the belt tension as well as slip. Column 2 lines 14-17)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the compactor of Steffen to include the non-contact sensor configured to measure vibration of the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow the compactor system to monitor both the tension and slip simultaneously while the belt is moving without the need to stop the system to take measurements as suggested by Kataria in the brief summary of the invention.
Regarding claim 8, Steffen teaches an outdoor power equipment comprising:
a drive assembly; (The vibration exciter device has at least one electric motor that drives a rotatably mounted imbalance mass in rotational fashion, and that can be driven by the electrical energy of the at least one energy storage element. Due to its use of electrical energy as drive force, such a vibratory plate does not produce noxious exhaust gases. In addition, the motor that provides the drive force for the imbalance mass is situated on the lower mass, so that no mechanical or hydraulic energy has to be transmitted from the upper mass to the lower mass. Column 1 line 61 – Column 2 line 3 Fig. 2, The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-48)
a working assembly; (An electric motor 7 together with the associated imbalance mass or masses 8 forms a so-called exciter or imbalance exciter. Column 4 lines 40-43 The vibration exciter device 6 is situated on the soil contact plate 4 and is connected fixedly thereto. Column 5 lines 15-17 The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-47)
Steffen does not teach a belt operatively coupled to the drive assembly and to the working assembly, the belt configured to transfer torque from the drive assembly to the working assembly; and
a sensing circuit configured to detect if an amount of tension in the belt is below a minimum tension value,
wherein the sensing circuit indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt.
However, Kataria teaches a belt operatively coupled to the drive assembly and to the working assembly, the belt configured to transfer torque from the drive assembly to the working assembly; and (FIG. 3A depicts the overall layout of the belt drive illustrating the driver pulley, driven pulley, and belt. A belt 300 is mounted on the driver pulley 305 and driven pulley 310 which are fixed respectively to a motor shaft 311 and a load shaft 312 using locking screws 315. Column 4 lines 41-45)
a sensing circuit configured to detect if an amount of tension in the belt is below a minimum tension value, (A method and apparatus for monitoring tension and detecting slip of industrial belts while in running condition on belt drive system by using ultrasonic transducers. The sensing part involves two ultrasonic transducers which are installed on an assembly which is placed within a constrained space between the tension side and slack side of belt. Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. The processing circuit involves microcontroller with Wi-Fi module to send alert messages. Abstract)
wherein the sensing circuit indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt. (A method and apparatus for monitoring tension and detecting slip of industrial belts while in running condition on belt drive system by using ultrasonic transducers. The sensing part involves two ultrasonic transducers which are installed on an assembly which is placed within a constrained space between the tension side and slack side of belt. Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. The processing circuit involves microcontroller with Wi-Fi module to send alert messages. Abstract. Examiner notes that the use of ultrasonic transducers is an indirect measurement / determination of tension)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the belt drive system and sensing circuit of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the system of Steffen to monitor the slip between the belt and the drive system in order to maximize power transmission efficiency suggested by Kataria in column 2 lines 60-63.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 8.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes a load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes a load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly. (In FIG. 1, transmitting transducer 105 and receiving transducer 110 are mounted preferably at an angle of 45 degrees relative to a mounting plate 100, both being mounted on the mounting plate. Those skilled in the art may appreciate that several other angles can be used to enable incidence and reflection of ultrasonic waves for capture of the wave signal. Housing 115 is mounted on the machine or other device in which a belt's tension is to be measured, at a suitable location. Additionally, arm 120 can move linearly inside the housing using a slot 125, and can also be rotated at any angle up to a range of 180 degrees around a pivot 130, to enable the transducer pair to reach close to either the driver pulley 305 or driven pulley 310 (FIG. 3A). Column 3 lines 33-45. Examiner notes that Kataria teaches that the transducers 105 and 110 can be mounted proximate to either the driver pully or the driven pully which teaches a transducer configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly. Examiner additionally notes that paragraph [0055] of applicant’s disclosure states that “The belt sensing circuit 300c may include one or both of the motor load cell 404 and the exciter assembly load cell 408 to indirectly measure loads that correlate to an amount of tension within the belt 162c.” However, a load cell directly measures force/strain and therefore does not perform “indirect determination” of tension as recited in claim 8. Essentially, the claimed limitation in claim 8 expressly requires that the sensing circuitry indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt. As such, the examiner interprets the indirect requirement to exclude direct load cell management and instead require the use of indirect forms of measurement such as vibration based or ultrasonic sensors which measure operational characteristics correlated with belt force.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the load detecting sensor to detect load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to detect the load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly as suggested by Kataria in column 3 lines 33-45
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 8.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes a load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the working assembly.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes a load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the working assembly. (In FIG. 1, transmitting transducer 105 and receiving transducer 110 are mounted preferably at an angle of 45 degrees relative to a mounting plate 100, both being mounted on the mounting plate. Those skilled in the art may appreciate that several other angles can be used to enable incidence and reflection of ultrasonic waves for capture of the wave signal. Housing 115 is mounted on the machine or other device in which a belt's tension is to be measured, at a suitable location. Additionally, arm 120 can move linearly inside the housing using a slot 125, and can also be rotated at any angle up to a range of 180 degrees around a pivot 130, to enable the transducer pair to reach close to either the driver pulley 305 or driven pulley 310 (FIG. 3A). Column 3 lines 33-45. Examiner notes that Kataria teaches that the transducers 105 and 110 can be mounted proximate to either the driver pully or the driven pully which teaches a transducer configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the working assembly. Examiner additionally notes that paragraph [0055] of applicant’s disclosure states that “The belt sensing circuit 300c may include one or both of the motor load cell 404 and the exciter assembly load cell 408 to indirectly measure loads that correlate to an amount of tension within the belt 162c.” However, a load cell directly measures force/strain and therefore does not perform “indirect determination” of tension as recited in claim 8. Essentially, the claimed limitation in claim 8 expressly requires that the sensing circuitry indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt. As such, the examiner interprets the indirect requirement to exclude direct load cell management and instead require the use of indirect forms of measurement such as vibration based or ultrasonic sensors which measure operational characteristics correlated with belt force.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include wherein the sensing circuit includes a sensor configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the working assembly of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to detect the load applied by the belt onto the working assembly as suggested by Kataria in column 3 lines 33-45
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 10.
Steffen does not teach wherein the load cell is a first load cell, and wherein the sensing circuit further includes a second load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the load cell is a first load cell, and wherein the sensing circuit further includes a second load cell configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly. (In FIG. 1, transmitting transducer 105 and receiving transducer 110 are mounted preferably at an angle of 45 degrees relative to a mounting plate 100, both being mounted on the mounting plate. Those skilled in the art may appreciate that several other angles can be used to enable incidence and reflection of ultrasonic waves for capture of the wave signal. Housing 115 is mounted on the machine or other device in which a belt's tension is to be measured, at a suitable location. Additionally, arm 120 can move linearly inside the housing using a slot 125, and can also be rotated at any angle up to a range of 180 degrees around a pivot 130, to enable the transducer pair to reach close to either the driver pulley 305 or driven pulley 310 (FIG. 3A). Column 3 lines 33-45. Examiner notes that Kataria teaches that the transducers 105 and 110 can be mounted proximate to either the driver pully or the driven pully which teaches a first and second transducer configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly. Examiner additionally notes that paragraph [0055] of applicant’s disclosure states that “The belt sensing circuit 300c may include one or both of the motor load cell 404 and the exciter assembly load cell 408 to indirectly measure loads that correlate to an amount of tension within the belt 162c.” However, a load cell directly measures force/strain and therefore does not perform “indirect determination” of tension as recited in claim 8. Essentially, the claimed limitation in claim 8 expressly requires that the sensing circuitry indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt. As such, the examiner interprets the indirect requirement to exclude direct load cell management and instead require the use of indirect forms of measurement such as vibration based or ultrasonic sensors which measure operational characteristics correlated with belt force)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include wherein the sensor is a first sensor and wherein the sensing circuit further includes a seconds sensor configured to detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to accurately detect a load applied by the belt onto the drive assembly by the use of two sensors as suggested by Kataria in column 3 lines 33-45.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 11.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the first and second load cells, and from the output, determines the amount of tension in the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the first and second load cells, and from the output, determines the amount of tension in the belt. (Unit 215 computes the revolutions per minute (rpm) of drive and driven pulleys using the measured time periods 340 and 350. The rotational speeds of the driver and driven pulleys are computed by a program in unit 215. If the rotational speeds of driver and driven pulleys 305 and 310 are equal to the theoretical speeds computed as inversely proportional to pulley diameters, then there is no alert, but if there is a difference in these values, slip is detected and warning message is generated. Column 6 lines 7-16 Examiner additionally notes that paragraph [0055] of applicant’s disclosure states that “The belt sensing circuit 300c may include one or both of the motor load cell 404 and the exciter assembly load cell 408 to indirectly measure loads that correlate to an amount of tension within the belt 162c.” However, a load cell directly measures force/strain and therefore does not perform “indirect determination” of tension as recited in claim 8. Essentially, the claimed limitation in claim 8 expressly requires that the sensing circuitry indirectly determines the amount of tension in the belt. As such, the examiner interprets the indirect requirement to exclude direct load cell management and instead require the use of indirect forms of measurement such as vibration based or ultrasonic sensors which measure operational characteristics correlated with belt force)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit configured to receive output from the first and second load sensors and, from the output, determines the amount of tension in the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to determine when a tension drop or slip has occurred as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 8.
Steffen does not teach the equipment further comprising an indicator to alert an operator of the outdoor power equipment if the tension within the belt is below the minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches the equipment further comprising an indicator to alert an operator of the outdoor power equipment if the tension within the belt is below the minimum tension value. (Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the inclusion of an alert system to notify a user when the tension within the belt is below the minimum tension value of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to accurately detect when a slip or tension drop has occurred as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 14, Steffen teaches an outdoor power equipment comprising:
a drive assembly; (The vibration exciter device has at least one electric motor that drives a rotatably mounted imbalance mass in rotational fashion, and that can be driven by the electrical energy of the at least one energy storage element. Due to its use of electrical energy as drive force, such a vibratory plate does not produce noxious exhaust gases. In addition, the motor that provides the drive force for the imbalance mass is situated on the lower mass, so that no mechanical or hydraulic energy has to be transmitted from the upper mass to the lower mass. Column 1 line 61 – Column 2 line 3 Fig. 2, The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-48)
a working assembly; (An electric motor 7 together with the associated imbalance mass or masses 8 forms a so-called exciter or imbalance exciter. Column 4 lines 40-43 The vibration exciter device 6 is situated on the soil contact plate 4 and is connected fixedly thereto. Column 5 lines 15-17 The vibration exciter device 6 includes an electric motor 7 by which at least one imbalance mass 8 can be set into rotation. For this purpose, the imbalance mass 8 is preferably connected to the motor shaft 9 of the electric motor 7. Column 4 lines 44-47)
Steffen does not teach a belt operatively coupled to the drive assembly and to the working assembly, the belt configured to transfer torque from the drive assembly to the working assembly; and
a sensing circuit configured to detect an amount of tension in the belt and to provide an indication to an operator of the outdoor power equipment if the amount of tension in the belt is below a minimum tension value.
However, Kataria teaches a belt operatively coupled to the drive assembly and to the working assembly, the belt configured to transfer torque from the drive assembly to the working assembly; and (FIG. 3A depicts the overall layout of the belt drive illustrating the driver pulley, driven pulley, and belt. A belt 300 is mounted on the driver pulley 305 and driven pulley 310 which are fixed respectively to a motor shaft 311 and a load shaft 312 using locking screws 315. Column 4 lines 41-45)
a sensing circuit configured to detect an amount of tension in the belt and to provide an indication to an operator of the outdoor power equipment if the amount of tension in the belt is below a minimum tension value. (Sinusoidal waves having predefined amplitude are sent from transmitting transducer on the belt and amplitude of the signal reflected from the belt is measured and compared with a threshold value to detect reduced tension. An acoustic sleeve is mounted on driving and driven pulley locknuts to blank the reflected signal periodically to measure the speeds of the pulleys compared to detect the slip of the belt. The apparatus generates an alert to user when the belt tension is reduced and/or when slip is detected. Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the belt drive system and sensing circuit of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the system of Steffen to monitor the slip between the belt and the drive system in order to maximize power transmission efficiency suggested by Kataria in column 2 lines 60-63.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 14.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes a non-contact sensor configured to detect a characteristic of the belt that correlates to the amount of tension within the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes a non-contact sensor configured to detect a characteristic of the belt that correlates to the amount of tension within the belt. (According to a preferred embodiment of the invention, it provides sensing the tension of belt by non-contact method while the same apparatus can be used to monitor the belt tension as well as slip. Column 2 lines 14-17)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include thenon-contact sensor configured to detect a characteristic of the belt that correlates to the amount of tension within the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would allow the outdoor power equipment to monitor both the tension and slip simultaneously while the belt is moving without the need to stop the system to take measurements as suggested by Kataria in the brief summary of the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 15.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensor is an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensor is an ultrasonic sensor. (A method and apparatus for monitoring tension and detecting slip of industrial belts while in running condition on belt drive system by using ultrasonic transducers. Abtract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the use of ultrasonic sensors of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to utilize a non-contact method to monitor belt tension / when slips occur as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 15.
Steffen does not teach wherein the non-contact sensor is configured to detect vibration of the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the non-contact sensor is configured to detect vibration of the belt. (Monitoring of tension by measuring natural frequency of vibration of the belts in different arrangements. Column 1 lines 47-48)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include the use of a non-contact sensor to detect vibration of the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to determine via a non-contact method when a tension drop or slip occurs as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 18.
Steffen does not teach wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit operatively coupled to the non-contact sensor, and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to correlate the vibration of the belt with the amount of tension within the belt.
However, Kataria teaches wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit operatively coupled to the non-contact sensor, and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to correlate the vibration of the belt with the amount of tension within the belt. (According to yet another optional but additional aspect of the invention, the same set of transducers and electronic circuit are used for sensing the tension and slip. According to a preferred embodiment of the invention, it provides sensing the tension of belt by non-contact method while the same apparatus can be used to monitor the belt tension as well as slip. Moreover, the system can monitor the tension and slip simultaneously while the belt is moving without the need to stop the system to take measurements. In summary, the disclosed invention of belt tension monitoring system offers considerable improvement and advantages over those described in prior art. Column 2 lines 11-23)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen to include wherein the sensing circuit includes an electronic control unit operatively coupled to the non-contact sensor, and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to correlate the vibration of the belt with the amount of tension within the belt of Kataria. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to accurately detect when a slip or tension drop occurs as suggested by Kataria in the abstract.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 14.
Steffen additionally teaches wherein the outdoor power equipment is a plate compactor. (A vibratory plate for soil compaction machine has an upper mass and a lower mass that is elastically coupled to the upper mass and that has a soil contact plate. The soil contact plate has a vibration exciter device. At least one energy storage element is situated on the upper mass. Abstract)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Steffen and Kataria above, and further in view of CN 109115487 A hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Steffen and Kataria teach the outdoor power equipment according to claim 15.
Steffen and Kataria do not teach wherein the sensor is a laser sensor.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the sensor is a laser sensor. (A belt transmission system dynamic performance test working circuit, comprising: a first laser displacement sensor signal transmitting end belt displacement signal receiving end of the data collecting unit is connected. the second laser displacement sensor signal transmitting end connecting data collecting unit under belt displacement signal receiving end, first laser rotating speed sensor signal sending end connected drive wheel rotational velocity signals receiving end data collecting unit, second laser rotating speed sensor signal transmitting end connecting data collecting unit driven wheel speed signal receiving end. Summary of the invention)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outdoor power equipment of Steffen and Kataria to include the use of a laser sensor of Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would enable the outdoor power equipment to accurately detect when a slip or tension drop occurs as suggested by Zhu in the abstract.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicants argument stating that Steffen discourages the use of belt drives because Steffen identifies maintenance disadvantages associated with belt or hydraulic transmission systems, and therefore a person of ordinary skill In the art would not modify Steffen in view of Kataria from pages 1-4 of the Arguments/Remarks document filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Steffen acknowledges belt drive transmission as a known conventional arrangement for
transmitting drive force in vibratory plate compactors and merely states that such arrangements may require maintenance. Steffen does not state that belt drives are inoperable, unsuitable, or incompatible with the device, but instead provides an alternative embodiment relocating the motor to reduce maintenance considerations. A statement of relative disadvantage does not constitute teaching away.
Kataria teaches monitoring of belt tension and slip in belt drive systems generally to improve maintenance and operational reliability. The proposed modification therefore does not rely on Steffen requiring a belt drive, but rather applies a known monitoring technique to rotating drive components of a mechanical machine environment to improve condition monitoring. The combination represents the use of established functions to improve reliability and maintenance awareness.
Accordingly, Steffen does not teach away from the proposed combination.
Applicants’ argument that Steffen cannot be combined with Kataria because Steffen does not include a belt driven exciter pully system on page 4 of the Arguments/Remarks document filed 11/24/2025 has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Steffen discloses an electric motor rotationally driving imbalance masses through a
motor shaft forming the vibration exciter. A rotating shaft transmitting rotational energy to the exciter constitutes an output shaft of the motor. Therefore, the identified structure reasonably corresponds to the claimed shaft features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
2/6/26