DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 13-16 have been considered but are moot of a new ground(s) of rejection discussed below. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection.
With respect to the last office action, Applicant amends the claims, discusses the office action and the prior arts of record (PARs) and further argues that the PARs do not meet the claims limitations (see Applicant’s Remarks).
In response, Examiner notes Applicant’s amendments/arguments, however, the PAR or ROSS et al (2022/0201366), generates (see figs.1-7, Server, [0020-0023] and [0025-0036]) a unified manifest (DASH/HLS or UMF “URL(s) time based templates” for generating segments for just-in-transcoding) containing a media presentation description (MPD) for a media content and preparing a media presentation of the media content accordingly (transcoding segments with varying bitrate and other media components: input source (e.g., a mezzanine feed)), wherein the unified manifest lists all media components and tracks in files related to the media content as an inventory list of all component materials and supports preselections (UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS are URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly, see [0025-0034] and [0040-0063]), wherein the unified manifest contains sufficient metadata and constructs for signaling an adaptation switching relationship and a preselection binding relationship of the media components and tracks in files, such that, when signaling the adaptation switching relationship and the preselection binding relationship (manifest formatter, receives source streams: linear content, VOD content, etc., via wired or/and wireless and performs adaptions switching and preselection binding relationship, transcoding, generating video and audio streams that are timecode aligned), the media components and tracks in files are left alone and untouched, and any modification of the preselection binding relationship does not involve any change to the corresponding media components and tracks in files; and transmitting the unified manifest to a streaming and playback client and transmitting the unified manifest to a streaming and playback client (first, second, etc., Control Device/computing Device “CDDn”) ([0025-0036], [0040-0066] and [0069-0086]), Server or Computing Device (SCD), generates a UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS, URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly; first CDD receives the UMF, dynamically modifying the UMF based on the specific CDD, using manifest formatter of the first origin computing Device or Server for content, the UMF contains URL specific to one or more segments of the source stream of the content, DASH/HLS includes timing data such PTS, unique session ID for tracking segments received and not available; further communicate messages to track portion of content processed and not available; Communicates templates: constructs URLs to segments and further support preselection of media components; further request specific URLs to request segments, store for rendering later; wherein the MPD comprises a series of periods that divide the media content into different time portions; each period including a number of preselections; each preselection containing a number of adaptation sets; each adaptation set containing a number of representations; and each representation containing a number of segments ([0025-0036], [0040-0066] and [0069-0086]), generates a UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS, URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly; first CDD receives the UMF, dynamically modifying the UMF based on the specific CDD, using manifest formatter of the first origin computing Device or Server for content, the UMF contains URL specific to one or more segments of the source stream of the content, DASH/HLS includes timing data such PTS, unique session ID for tracking segments received and not available; further communicate messages to track portion of content processed and not available; Communicates templates: constructs URLs to segments and further support preselection of media component, as discussed below. Hence the amendments do not overcome the PAR. The amendments to the claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection. This office action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 6, 8-10, 13, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ROSS et al (2022/0201366).
As to claims 1-4, ROSS discloses systems, methods and apparatus for improved failover techniques and further discloses a method of preselections for media processing, streaming and playback, comprising:
generating (figs.1-7, Server, [0020-0023] and [0025-0036]) a unified manifest (DASH/HLS or UMF “URL(s) time based templates” for generating segments for just-in-transcoding) containing a media presentation description (MPD) for a media content and preparing a media presentation of the media content accordingly (transcoding segments with varying bitrate and other media components: input source (e.g., a mezzanine feed)), wherein the unified manifest lists all media components and tracks in files related to the media content as an inventory list of all component materials and supports preselections (UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS are URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly, see [0025-0034] and [0040-0063]), wherein the unified manifest contains sufficient metadata and constructs for signaling an adaptation switching relationship and a preselection binding relationship of the media components and tracks in files, such that, when signaling the adaptation switching relationship and the preselection binding relationship (manifest formatter, receives source streams: linear content, VOD content, etc., via wired or/and wireless and performs adaptions switching and preselection binding relationship, transcoding, generating video and audio streams that are timecode aligned), the media components and tracks in files are left alone and untouched, and any modification of the preselection binding relationship does not involve any change to the corresponding media components and tracks in files; and transmitting the unified manifest to a streaming and playback client and transmitting the unified manifest to a streaming and playback client (first, second, etc., Control Device/computing Device “CDDn”) ([0025-0036], [0040-0066] and [0069-0086]), Server or Computing Device (SCD), generates a UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS, URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly; first CDD receives the UMF, dynamically modifying the UMF based on the specific CDD, using manifest formatter of the first origin computing Device or Server for content, the UMF contains URL specific to one or more segments of the source stream of the content, DASH/HLS includes timing data such PTS, unique session ID for tracking segments received and not available; further communicate messages to track portion of content processed and not available; Communicates templates: constructs URLs to segments and further support preselection of media components; further request specific URLs to request segments, store for rendering later; wherein the MPD comprises a series of periods that divide the media content into different time portions; each period including a number of preselections; each preselection containing a number of adaptation sets; each adaptation set containing a number of representations; and each representation containing a number of segments ([0025-0036], [0040-0066] and [0069-0086]), generates a UMF or dynamic manifest or playlist of DASH/HLS, URL(s) time based templates to generates segments, caching or buffering as needed, Just-in-time packager for delivery accordingly; first CDD receives the UMF, dynamically modifying the UMF based on the specific CDD, using manifest formatter of the first origin computing Device or Server for content, the UMF contains URL specific to one or more segments of the source stream of the content, DASH/HLS includes timing data such PTS, unique session ID for tracking segments received and not available; further communicate messages to track portion of content processed and not available; Communicates templates: constructs URLs to segments and further support preselection of media component
As to claims 5-6, ROSS further discloses wherein the unified manifest is in one of: a standard form used to derive manifests for Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH) and HTTP (Hypertext Transfer Protocol) Live Streaming (HLS); a DASH form used to generate DASH manifests for streaming and playback clients; and an HLS form used to generate HLS playlists for HLS clients ([0025-0030], [0032-0043], [006-0051], [0062-0066] and [0069-0086]); and wherein the unified manifest is convertible or customizable into a DASH manifest or an HLS playlist for the streaming and playback client, based on client characteristics including capabilities, geolocations, and/or membership levels ([0025-0030], [0032-0043], [006-0051], [0062-0066] and [0069-0086]), target segments based on configuration file and capabilities using customized templates.
As to claims 8-10, the claimed “A method of preselections for media processing, streaming and playback, comprising,” is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-2
Claims 13-14 are met as previously discussed in claims 5-6.
As to claim 16, the claimed “A system of preselections for media processing, streaming and playback, comprising,”, is composed of the same structural elements that were discussed with respect to claims 1-2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROSS et al (2022/0201366) in view of HU (2024/00880487).
As to claims 7 and 15, ROSS discloses all the claim limitations as discussed above with respect to claims 6 and 14 above, BUT appears silent as to and generating an ISO Base Media File Format (ISOBMFF) file according to the unified manifest to encapsulate all the media components related to the media content to be either streamed or downloaded as a single file to the streaming and playback client.
However, in the same field of endeavor, HU discloses method and apparatus for processing media data and further discloses and generating various file formats including an ISO Base Media File Format (ISOBMFF) file according to the unified manifest to encapsulate all the media components related to the media content to be either streamed or downloaded as a single file to the streaming and playback client (figs.1-8, Abstract, [0005-0007] and [0045-0072]).
Hence it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of HU into the system of ROSS for efficient data processing before streaming to clients.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNAN Q SHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
ANNAN Q. SHANG