DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to and the benefit of U.S. provisional application No. 63/485,410, filed Feb. 16, 2023, which is hereby incorporate by reference in its
entirety.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “PTAC 300” in [0065] and [0066]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The original disclosure Paragraphs [0041], [0042], [0045], and [0046], recites “…guage…”. This seems an inadvertent typographical error.
It seems to be --gauge--
Also, the disclosure recites “PTAC 300” in [0065] and [0066]. This term or reference number is not recited in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Billman et al (US 20160061501).
As per claim 1, Billman teaches a device for use with a detachable power cord having a plug (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30). …”), the device comprising:
a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1-4 see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug);
a circuit configured to determine a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined); and
a controller configured to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037] “In particular, by determining a first voltage at a first electrical connection between the power input interface 102 and the power supply cord 104, the controller 106 or other system components may determine which of a plurality of different, interchangeable power supply cords is being utilized. More particularly, based on the first voltage at power input interface 102 it can be determined whether the power supply cord 104 is rated to provide power having amperages above or below a threshold amperage”; see [0038] “ If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”).
As per claim 2, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches wherein the circuit is configured to determine a maximum operating current of the detachable power cord as the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] “… if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage”, Thus, the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined).
As per claim 3, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches
further comprising:
a fan (see Fig. 1 fan(s) 114 );
a heater (see Fig. 1 heater(s) 112 );
and a condenser (see Fig. 1 refrigeration system 116 includes a condenser and see [0035] “ the refrigeration system 116 can be a sealed refrigeration system that includes components such as a compressor, a condenser, an evaporator, and an expansion valve”),
wherein the controller is configured to operate, as the function of the device, at least one of the fan, the heater, and the condenser based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037-0038] “…If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”).
As per claim 8, Billman teaches a device (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30). …”) comprising:
a detachable power cord having a plug (see [0064]);
a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1-4 see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug );
a circuit configured to determine a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052], [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein); and
a controller configured to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036], [0037], [0038]; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein).
As to claim 9, this claim is the device claim corresponding to the device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 10, this claim is the device claim corresponding to the device claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 14, Billman teaches a method of operating a device, the method comprising:
attaching a detachable power cord having a plug into a receptacle configured to receive the plug (see Fig. 1 device 100 with supply cord 104 and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”; also, see [0064] “…, a plurality of different but interchangeable power supply cords can be used to power the air conditioner unit. In particular, the plurality of different power supply cords can respectively provide power at a plurality of different amperages (e.g. 15, 20, and 30) …”; see Fig. 1-4 see Fig. 1 supply cord and see Fig. 2-4 different cords that are detachable; also, see [0040] “…thus, the first power supply cord 204 can be mated to the power input interface 202”, thus, the interface 202 is a receptacle that receives the cord mating interface/plug );
determining, via a circuit, a maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined); and
operating, via a controller, a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036], [0037], [0038]; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067]; also, see claim 1 above same rationale applies herein).
As to claim 15, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As to claim 16, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 20, Billman teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: Billman further teaches detaching the detachable power cord from the receptacle configured to receive the plug (see [0010] “… The utilized power supply cord is one of a plurality of different power supply cords that are interchangeable for providing power to the power input interface. The plurality of different power supply cords are capable of respectively providing power at a plurality of different amperages…”; also, see [0021] “For example, the utilized power supply cord providing power to the air conditioner unit can be one of a plurality of different power supply cords that are capable of interchangeable use with the air conditioner unit. The plurality of different power supply cords are capable of respectively providing power at a plurality of different amperages”; also, see [0037] and [0064]); and
attaching a second detachable power cord having a second plug into the receptacle configured to receive the second plug (see [0010], [0021], [0037] and [0064]);
determining, via the circuit, a maximum operating parameter of the second detachable power cord (see [0010], [0021], [0037] and [0064]; also, see [0052] “see [0052] “thus, by sampling or otherwise determining a voltage at the ninth input connection of the power input interface, it can be determined whether the first power supply cord 202, the second power supply cord 302, or the third power supply cord 404 is being utilized to provide power to the air conditioner unit. As a consequence, the voltage at the ninth input connection can be indicative of whether the power provided to air conditioner unit is provided at 30 amperes or 15 or 20 amperes”; also, see [0064] and [0065-0067] the maximum current/amperage of a cord is determined”);
and operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the second detachable power cord (see Fig. 1 controller 106 and see [0036] “According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the controller 106 can control operation of the heaters 112 based on parameters of the power supplied by the power supply cord 104. As an example, the controller 106 may de-energize one or more of the heaters 112 when the heaters 112 are operating, the fans 114 are operating below a threshold speed level, and the power supplied by the power supply cord 104 exceeds a threshold power.”; also, see [0037] “In particular, by determining a first voltage at a first electrical connection between the power input interface 102 and the power supply cord 104, the controller 106 or other system components may determine which of a plurality of different, interchangeable power supply cords is being utilized. More particularly, based on the first voltage at power input interface 102 it can be determined whether the power supply cord 104 is rated to provide power having amperages above or below a threshold amperage”; see [0038] “ If the power supply cord 104 is determined to be rated for amperages exceeding the threshold amperage and various other conditions are met, then the controller 106 can de-energize at least one of the one or more heaters 112, thereby reducing a risk of overheating the air conditioner unit…”; also, see Fig. 5 and see [0065-0067] “…. However, if it is determined at 516 that the power supply cord being utilized is providing power at amperages greater than a threshold amperage, then method 500 can proceed to 518. At 518 at least one heater of the air conditioner unit can be de-energized. For example, a lowest wattage heater of three different heaters can be de-energized at 518. However, other heaters or other combinations of heaters can be de-energized at 518 as well. In such fashion, overheating conditions associated with maximum wattage heater use and low fan speed can be eliminated”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Zhang et al (US 20170179744).
As per claim 4, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, But it does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider.
However, Zhang teaches a devices for identifying a type of cable comprising a voltage divider circuit, wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider (see Fig. 2 second resistor and circuit forming a voltage divider; also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050] “0] Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a voltage divider circuit, wherein the circuit comprises a resistor to be used in conjunction with the plug to form a voltage divider as taught by Zhang in order to identify a type of cable being connected based on the circuit and maximum operating parameter associated with the cable (see [0020] and [0078] “…the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 10 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.6˜1.8V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 5 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 5 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.0˜1.2V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 1.2 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 4 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 0.6˜0.8V”; also, see [0080] “ Therefore, for example, if the measured voltage is 1.7V, the adapter may determine that the measured voltage within a voltage range of 1.6˜1.8V, and in turn, may determine that the type of connected cable is the type corresponding to the voltage range (i.e., a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A)”; Thus, applying the same steps and/or structure to the device of Billman, the type of cable in Billman’s can be identified and any cable can be identified by simply using a volage divider).
As per claim 11, Billman teaches the device of claim 8, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the circuit comprises a circuit resistor, wherein the plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider.
However, Zhang teaches a devices for identifying a type of cable comprising a circuit comprises a circuit resistor, wherein a plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form a voltage divider (see Fig. 2 circuit resistor includes first resistor and plug resistor include a second resistor and circuit forming a voltage divider; also, see [0049] “As described above, in the circuit, the first resistor and the second resistor are connected in series, and thus, the output voltage from the internal power source may be divided”; also, see [0047], [0050] “0] Therefore, when the different types of cables are provided with second resistors having different resistance values, respectively, voltage drops across the different cables are also different, and thus it is feasible to identify the type of the connected cable based on the voltage drop across the first resistor (i.e., one example of the measured voltage), or, the voltage drop across the cable”; also, see [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a voltage divider circuit, a circuit comprises a circuit resistor, wherein a plug comprises a plug resistor, and wherein the circuit resistor and the plug resistor form the voltage divider as taught by Zhang in order to identify a type of cable being connected based on the circuit and maximum operating parameter associated with the cable (see [0020] and [0078] “…the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 10 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.6˜1.8V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 5 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 5 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 1.0˜1.2V, or the voltage range corresponding to the type of the cable provided with the second resistor having a resistance value of 1.2 kΩ (for example, a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 4 A on the premise that the security is ensured when using) may be 0.6˜0.8V”; also, see [0080] “ Therefore, for example, if the measured voltage is 1.7V, the adapter may determine that the measured voltage within a voltage range of 1.6˜1.8V, and in turn, may determine that the type of connected cable is the type corresponding to the voltage range (i.e., a cable capable of delivering a maximum current of 7 A)”; Thus, applying the same steps and/or structure to the device of Billman, the type of cable in Billman’s can be identified and any cable can be identified by simply using a volage divider).
As to claim 17, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the device claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Langgood et al (US 20100117453).
As per claim 5, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches wherein the plug comprises a (see [0027] “…the power supply cord 104 can transmit alternating current power from a utility outlet to the power input interface 102 of the air conditioner unit. In some embodiments, the alternating current power can have a voltage at about 208 to 230 volts”; see [0039] “ In particular, the first power supply cord 204 is rated to provide 208/230 volt alternating current power at about 15 amperes. The particular values for power supply cords (e.g. 15, 20, and 30 ampere ratings) and heaters discussed herein are provided as examples only, the present disclosure can be applied to many different components exhibiting many different parameters”). Billman suggests that any cable can be used, and while 208 V and 240 V are known for having three prongs, Billman does not explicitly teach wherein the plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits.
Langgood teaches a device comprising cable with a first plug, wherein the first plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits (see [0018] “ The device 10 may receive power by virtue of connecting either one of the power connectors 21, 22 to any of a variety of AC power outlets available worldwide using an appropriate power cord having a line socket at one end for connecting to one of the power connectors 21, 22 and a location-specific power plug at the other end for connecting to an AC power outlet… While many different standards exist for AC wall outlets, the following discussion assumes, by way of example, that the first power outlet 41 is a high-line outlet having two prong receptacles 44 and operating at 10 amperes and 220V at 50 Hz, and that the second power outlet 42 is a low-line outlet having three prong receptacles 46 and operating at 15 amperes and 110V at 60 Hz”; also, see Fig. 1 cord 31 with three wire prongs and see [0019] “..The first power cord 31 includes a ten-ampere C13 line socket 33 at one end for connecting to the corresponding type-C14 first power connector 21… the second power cord 32 includes a C19 line socket 37 at one end for connecting to the corresponding C20 second power connector 22 on the device 10.”, C13 and C14 are three prong grounded connectors for handling 0-250 Volts AC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman's, invention to include one or more plugs, wherein the plug comprises a three-wire grounding plug used for 208 V circuits, a three-wire grounding plug used for 240 V circuits, and/or a two-pole and ground plug used for 277 V circuits as taught by Langgood in order to provide a different selection of power settings for functions of the device based on different connector/plug type (see [0022] “A different selection of power settings may be predefined for use with each power connector 21, 22 according to connector type. For example, the power settings selected for use with the first connector 21 may include a current limit of ten amperes appropriate for the C13/C14 connector type. Likewise, the power settings selected for use with the second power connector 22 may include a current limit of sixteen amperes appropriate for the C19/C20 connector type. Any unique combination of power settings may be associated with each different connector type, which will typically be expressed in terms of a particular combination of voltage, frequency, and current/amperage. These power settings may be enforced, in part, by a power supply controller 19 configured to invoke the power settings corresponding to the exposed power connector 21 or 22…”).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Li (CN 105914807 A, as supported by the machine translation provided).
As per claim 6, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, Billman further teaches further comprising a memory and a data structure (see [0030] “The memory media can be co-located with the processing devices or can be located remotely. The processing devices can implement instructions stored in the memory media to perform operations. For example, controller 106 can implement instructions stored in memory to perform method 500 of FIG. 5.) and control a function of the device based on the maximum operating parameter (see Fig. 5 steps 516-18 and [0067] a specific heater is controlled), but Billman does not explicitly teach a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein the controller is configured to access the data structure to operate a function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (e.g. using a look up table to determine a function/operation of the device based on an association of the function and the max operating parameter).
Li teaches a method and device comprising a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
As to claim 12, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the system claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 18, Billman teaches the method of claim 14, Billman further teaches wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord comprises operating the function of the device via the controller including a memory having a data structure stored therein (see [0030] “The memory media can be co-located with the processing devices or can be located remotely. The processing devices can implement instructions stored in the memory media to perform operations. For example, controller 106 can implement instructions stored in memory to perform method 500 of FIG. 5.) and control a function of the device based on the maximum operating parameter (see Fig. 5 steps 516-18 and [0067] a specific heater is controlled), but Billman does not explicitly teach the memory having a data structure stored associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord further comprises accessing, via the controller, the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billman et al (US 20160061501) in view of Li (CN 105914807 A, as supported by the machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Hines et al (US 20220140635).
As per claim 7, Billman teaches the device of claim 1, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the controller comprises a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the controller is configured to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
While Lin teaches a controller 50 associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter, Billman and Lin dos not explicitly teach a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter.
However, Hines teaches a system and method comprising a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter (see 0069 “some or all steps of the method 600 can be implemented by charger controller 314 of FIG. 3. The method 600 can be performed by any suitable computing structures, such as, for example, programmable logic circuits and/or programmable logic arrays”; see [0063] “… the maximum charging current can be retrieved from a lookup table where temperature is provided to the lookup table as input…”; , The method 600 can include, at 608, controlling a battery charger based at least in part on the maximum charging current to charge the one or more cells. For instance, in some embodiments, the battery charger, such as a supply of the battery charger, can be configured to provide an amount of voltage and/or current to battery pack that is equal to or less than the maximum charging current. . For instance, in some embodiments, the charger controller can adjust characteristics of one or more digital signals, such as pulse width modulated (PWM) signals, to configure an amount of current and/or voltage and/or power supplied by the battery charger (e.g., the supply”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman-Lin’s combination as taught above to include a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter as taught by Hines in order to control the current output of a device based on the maximum current (see the Abstract) and reduce overheating of the device (see [0034]) and because programmable logic array consume less power than a conventional or regular CPU controller.
As to claim 13, this claim is the method claim corresponding to the system claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons mutatis mutandis.
As per claim 19, Billman teaches the method of claim 14, Billman further teaches wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord comprises operating the function of the device via the controller (see [0028-0229], [0036]), but Billman does not explicitly teach the controller including a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, and wherein the operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord further comprises operating, via the controller, the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord.
Li teaches a method and device comprising a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 page 8 a data structure such as a table associating a priori maximum operating parameter such as maximum current in a cable associated with a detected impedance/resistor of the cable, and associating the maximum current with a function of the device such as heating poet consumption), wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord (see table 1 and see page 8 last par. “ When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated…”, and see page 9 pars. 1-2 “In the embodiment of the present invention, for the maximum input current setting charging cable of charging cable under each impedance, when the charging cable input current that system needs is more than the charging cable maximum input current set, by charging cable input current clamper at the charging cable maximum input current set, electric current is excessive causes charging cable seriously to generate heat in prevention, thus ensure the safety of charging cable, promote Consumer's Experience. Step 104, generates the second instruction, sends described second instruction to the charging adapter being connected with described charging cable, makes the electric current that described charging cable is exported by described charging adapter less than or equal to described maximum charge threshold current”; also, see page 10 pars 6-8 “…When after the impedance determining charging cable, may determine that the heating power consumption flowing through electric current under this impedance, so that it is determined that the threshold current that this charging cable is corresponding, make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter
less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated. In the embodiment of the present invention…”; also, see page 15 last 5 paragraphs “In the embodiment of the present invention, the comparison table arranged between the first electrical parameter value and the threshold
current born by charging cable is stored in the memorizer of described electronic equipment; Described controller 50, being additionally operable to according to described first electrical parameter is that described charging cable determines the first charge threshold electric current, including: According to the first electrical parameter of the described charging cable calculated, search described comparison table, determine that described charging cable determines maximum charge threshold current…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman’s invention to include a controller and memory having a data structure stored therein associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord, wherein a controller is configured to access the data structure to operate the function of the device based on the determined maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord and the a priori maximum operating parameter of the detachable power cord as taught by Li in order to facilitate the control of the function of the device and its power output of the device by using a table correlating values to maximum operating parameters and avoid overheating f the system or cable (see page 11 Par. 2, 4 and 7 “the first instruction is i.e. to make electronic equipment be in the mode of operation performing that charging adapter carries out relevant control, even if electronic equipment is in the second mode of operation. Second mode of operation is i.e. on the computation schema of the impedance etc. to charging cable, by the calculating to charging cable impedance, is controlled the charging current of charging cable, makes the charging cable will not be overheated…”] page 12 par. 9 “ … make the electric current that charging cable is exported by charging adapter less than set threshold current, it is ensured that charging cable will not be overheated”).
While Lin teaches a controller 50 associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter, Billman and Lin dos not explicitly teach a programmable logic array associating the function of the device with an a priori maximum operating parameter.
However, Hines teaches a system and method comprising a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter (see 0069 “some or all steps of the method 600 can be implemented by charger controller 314 of FIG. 3. The method 600 can be performed by any suitable computing structures, such as, for example, programmable logic circuits and/or programmable logic arrays”; see [0063] “… the maximum charging current can be retrieved from a lookup table where temperature is provided to the lookup table as input…”; , The method 600 can include, at 608, controlling a battery charger based at least in part on the maximum charging current to charge the one or more cells. For instance, in some embodiments, the battery charger, such as a supply of the battery charger, can be configured to provide an amount of voltage and/or current to battery pack that is equal to or less than the maximum charging current. . For instance, in some embodiments, the charger controller can adjust characteristics of one or more digital signals, such as pulse width modulated (PWM) signals, to configure an amount of current and/or voltage and/or power supplied by the battery charger (e.g., the supply”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Billman-Lin’s combination as taught above to include a programmable logic array for performing a method associating a function of a device with an a priori maximum operating parameter as taught by Hines in order to control the current output of a device based on the maximum current (see the Abstract) and reduce overheating of the device (see [0034]) and because programmable logic array consume less power than a conventional or regular CPU controller.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as cited in PTO form 892, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lei et al (WO 2019206317) teaches a device comprising a detection circuit for detecting the type of cable, the circuit comrosiing a resistor and a detected value of the resistance is used to identify a an attribute of the cable such as power transmission capacity of the cable, wherein a look up table is used to identify the maximum capacity of the cable associated to one or more resistances associated to one or more type of cables (see page 8 “It should also be understood that the processor 130 may be based on the correspondence between the resistance of the first resistor and the attribute of the USB cable in one or more types of USB cables stored in the charging device 100 in advance, different models. USB cables have different properties. For example, the correspondence may be stored in a storage unit of the charging device100 in the form of a table. For example, the correspondence can be as shown in Table 1. The processor determines an attribute of the USB cable according to the correspondence. Since the resistance of the first resistor in the same type of USB cable is the same, the model and attributes of the USB cable can be determined according to the value of the first resistor in a USB cable”; also, see .page 10 last par. and page 13 par. 6; and pages 26, table 1, page 28 table 2, and page 30 table 3).
Kromer et al (US 20160036381) recites [0076] “For example, the type of cable used to connect two components may be determined, in some embodiments, by measuring the impedance of the cable at one or more frequencies and by comparing the measured values to expected values for various cables. As another example, a dedicated identification circuit may be integrated with the cable, and the type of cable may be determined, in some embodiments, by measuring an electrical characteristic (e.g., impedance) of the dedicated ID circuit.”
Angle et al (US 9920962, cited in the IDS) teaches a PTAC device, controlling a component of the device based on the type of cable used and maximum capacity of the cable (see Col 6 lines 26-65 “ Plug 216 can be configured to fit in a wall receptacle having various suitable current ratings (e.g. 15 amps 20 amps, or 30 amps…For instance, if a wall receptacle having a 15 amp current rating is provided, the 1000 watt heater bank and the 1400 watt heater bank may be energized, but not the 2400 watt heater bank. As another example, if a wall receptacle having a 20 amp current rating is provided, the 1000 watt heater bank and the 2400 watt heater bank may be energized, but not the 1400 watt heater bank. If a receptacle rated at 30 amps is provided, all three heater banks may be energized.”).
Kumar et al (US 20220171443) teaches a system comprising allocating power to a port/cable based on a maximum rating of power transmission (see [0021], [0023-0024], [0048], [0104]).
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid or differentiate from such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
/O. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117