DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 22 July 2025.
Claims 21-41 are currently pending and being examined.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 26 and 37 recites “a biasing member for biasing”, which will be interpreted as a spring as shown as element 336 in figures 57-61.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24-32, and 35-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swayze (US 2014/0166717) in view of Edwards (US 2014/0155923).
Swayze teaches:
Claims 21, 31, and 32: A powered surgical device (10-fig.1) comprising:
an end effector (20,40-fig.1) including an annular reload (20-fig.1) and an anvil (40-fig.1) movable relative to the annular reload (¶[0037]-[0038]);
a motor (280-fig.10) for providing rotational input (¶[0080]-[0082]);
an adapter (at least 60-fig.1) having a distal end portion (fig.1; ¶[0037]) for coupling to the anvil (40-fig.1) and the annular reload (20-fig.1) and a proximal end portion (fig.1; ¶[0037]) for coupling to the motor (280-fig.10; 70-fig.1), the adapter including:
an inner housing (64-fig.2A);
an outer housing (72-fig.4A) disposed over the inner housing (see fig.4A; ¶[0054]);
an outer tube (62-fig.2A) extending from the outer housing (¶[0054]);
a transmission assembly (at least 392,364,372,370-fig.19) disposed inside the inner housing and the outer tube (¶[0100]-[0102]), the transmission assembly configured to receive the rotational input from the motor and to convert the rotational input into axial translation output for actuating at least one of the anvil or the annular reload (“Such a control logic may be operable to selectively reverse the direction of rotation by motor (280), to thereby provide selective advancement or retraction of trocar (238) and anvil (240) to adjust the gap distance d, depending on the direction in which firing ring (252) is rotated.” ¶[0082]; ¶[0100]-[0102]).
Swayze does not expressly teach a rotation assembly coupled to the outer housing and movable from a locked configuration to an unlocked configuration, wherein in the locked configuration the rotation assembly engages the inner housing thereby preventing rotation of the outer housing and the outer tube relative to the inner housing and in the unlocked configuration the rotation assembly is disengaged from the inner housing allowing for rotation of the outer housing and the outer tube relative to the inner housing.
However, Edwards teaches a rotation assembly (at least 8,30,52; ¶[0059]) coupled to the outer housing (72,74-fig.3B) and movable from a locked configuration (fig.2A; ¶[0057]) to an unlocked configuration (fig.2B; ¶[0057]), wherein in the locked configuration the rotation assembly engages the inner housing (34-fig.4) thereby preventing rotation of the outer housing and the outer tube relative to the inner housing (¶[0057]) and in the unlocked configuration the rotation assembly is disengaged from the inner housing allowing for rotation of the outer housing and the outer tube relative to the inner housing (¶[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Swayze, by having a rotation assembly and curved shaft, as taught by Edwards, so when the shaft is curved the end effector can be angled in relation to the handle assembly, therefore making it easier to operate because the user does not have to hold the handle at an awkward angle when the end has to be at a different angle. (Edwards ¶[0029])
Swayze as modified by Edwards teaches:
Claim 24 and 35: The powered surgical device according to claim 21, wherein the rotation assembly includes a lock button (Edwards: 52-fig.2A) operably supported on the outer housing (Edwards: ¶[0057]).
Claims 25 and 36: The powered surgical device according to claim 24, wherein the lock button (Edwards: 52-fig.2A) is movable between a first button position (Edwards: fig.2A; ¶[0057]) and a second button position (Edwards: fig.2B; ¶[0057]), wherein while the lock button is in the first button position the rotation assembly is in the locked configuration (Edwards: fig.2A; ¶[0057]) and while the lock button is in the second button position the rotation assembly is in the unlocked configuration (Edwards: fig.2B; ¶[0057]).
Claims 26 and 37: The powered surgical device according to claim 25, wherein the lock button includes a biasing member for biasing the lock button to the first button position (Edwards: ¶[0052]-[0053]).
Claims 27 and 38: The powered surgical device according to claim 25, wherein the inner housing (Edwards: 34-fig.4) includes a plurality of cutouts (Edwards: see fig.4 showing cutouts between locking splines 36; ¶[0057]).
Claims 28 and 39: The powered surgical device according to claim 27, wherein the rotation assembly further includes a lock shoe (Edwards: 44-fig.4; ¶[0057]) disposed between the inner housing (Edwards: 34-fig.4) and the outer housing (Edwards: 30-fig.4).
Claims 29 and 40: The powered surgical device according to claim 28, wherein the lock shoe is movable (Edwards: 44-fig.4; ¶[0057]) between a first lock position (Edwards: fig.2A; ¶[0057]) and a second lock position (Edwards: fig.2B; ¶[0057]) in response to movement of the lock button between the first button position and the second button position (Edwards: ¶[0057]), wherein in the first lock position the lock shoe is disposed inside one cutout of the plurality of cutouts (Edwards: fig.2A; ¶[0057]) and in the second lock position the lock shoe is disposed outside of the plurality of cutouts (Edwards: fig.2B; ¶[0057]).
Claims 30 and 41: The powered surgical device according to claim 29, wherein the lock shoe (Edwards: 44-fig.4; ¶[0057]) is axially slidable relative to the lock button (¶[0057]-[0059]).
Claim(s) 22-23 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swayze (US 2014/0166717) in view of Edwards (US 2014/0155923), further in view of Bear (US 2016/0374672).
Claims 22 and 33: The powered surgical device according to claim 21.
Swayze as modified by Edwards does not expressly teach an outer tube has a curved shape defining a curved path.
However, Bear teaches an outer tube (210-fig.1) has a curved shape defining a curved path (see fig.1 showing a curved shaft; ¶[0285]-[0287]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Swayze as modified by Edwards, by having a curved shaft, as taught by Bear, so the stapler can navigate tight and confined anatomical spaces and to easily follow the contour of the bowel.
Swayze as modified by Edwards and Bear teaches:
Claims 23 and 34: The powered surgical device according to claim 22, wherein the transmission assembly is configured to move along the curved path (Bear: ¶[0285]-[0287]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 7-9, filed 22 July 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swayze (US 2014/0166717) in view of Edwards (US 2014/0155923).
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731