DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a transfer mechanism in claim 6 wherein transfer is a functional language with the mechanism being a generic placeholder for means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “transfer mechanism” in claim 6 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses for the transfer mechanism that is configured to transfer the carrier into the heat treatment chamber but lacks any specific corresponding structure that performs such function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timans et al (US 2003/0183612; hereinafter Timans ‘612) in view of Timans (US 2009/0161724; hereinafter Timans ‘724).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Timans ‘612 discloses the structure and method claimed including a chamber housing (34) with a light transmitting window (40) forming a part of the chamber housing, and light source (46) provided on an outer side of the chamber housing for irradiating light on a substrate (36) arranged in the chamber housing through the light transmitting window. But, Timans ‘612 does not disclose the light source is an LED light source.
Timans ‘724 discloses it is known to a light source (30) for heating a substrate (12) by light irradiation wherein the light source can be an LED light source (para 0039).
In view of Timans’ 724, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Timans’ 612 with the light source that can be alternatively provided with an LED light source that is known to predictably provide a high heating light irradiation to adequately and suitably process the substrate as known in the art.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Timans ‘612, as modified by Timans ‘724, discloses that the light transmitting window is made of a quartz (para 0061 of Timans ‘612) which is the same preferred material used in the disclosed invention (also, see para 0050 on page 16 of the Applicant’s specification) wherein the quart window of Timans ‘612 would also be also capable of transmitting at least 50% or more of the light from the LED light source as done in the Applicant’s invention. Also, see MPEP 21112.01.II.
With respect to claim 3, Timans ‘612, as modified by Timans ‘724, discloses the LED light source that is spaced or separated from the substrate, and while Timans ‘612 does not show that the separation is less than or equal to 50 mm, it would have been obvious to provide the LED light source to be less than or equal to 50 mm as a matter of routine optimization to predictably and effectively provide the desired high light irradiation without losing or weaking its light intensity if the light source is situated further away from the substrate.
With respect to claim 4, Timans ‘612, as modified by Timans ‘724, discloses the LED light source that emits radiation in the wavelength range that includes 100 nm (para 0039 of Timans ‘724) which is less than 500 nm wherein Timans ‘612 discloses the light transmitting window is formed of quartz which is known to be silica.
With respect to claim 5, Timans ‘612 as modified by Timans ‘724 discloses the chamber housing that that includes a first wall with a first light transmitting window (40) forming the first wall, a second wall opposed to the first wall wherein a second light transmitting window (42) forming the second wall wherein a first light source (46) irradiates the light through the first light transmitting widow and a second light source (44) irradiates the light through the second light transmitting window that performs the heat treatment on both a first side and a second side of the substrate as illustrated in Figure 1 wherein the first light source and the second light source can be an LED light source as taught by Timans ‘724 (also, see para 0039 Timans ‘724).
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timans et al (US 2003/0183612; hereinafter Timans ‘612) in view of Saito (US 2023/0005798) and Timans (US 2009/0161724; hereinafter Timans ‘724).
Timans ‘612 discloses the structure claimed including a heat treatment chamber housing (34) and the chamber housing having a light transmitting window (40) forming a part of the chamber housing, and light source (46) provided on an outer side of the chamber housing for irradiating light on a substrate (36) arranged in the chamber housing through the light transmitting window. But, Timans ‘612 does not show a carrier that holds the substrate with a plurality of support members, a transfer mechanism that transfers the carrier into the heat treatment chamber, and the light source being an LED light source.
Saito shows it is known to provide a carrier having a plurality of support members shown by a transfer arm (51a) and holding the substrate by an opening of a substrate holder to which the plurality of support members are attached, a transfer mechanism (50) for transferring the carrier into a heating treatment chamber (100) to transfer a substrate (W) into the heating treatment chamber for its heat treatment by a light source (150). Also see annotated drawing Figure 1 below.
Timans ‘724 discloses it is known to a light source (30) for heating a substrate (12) by light irradiation wherein the light source can be an LED light source (para 0039).
In view of Saito and Timans’ 724, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Timans’ 612 with a carrier having a plurality of support members for holding the substrate and carrying the substrate into the heating chamber which can be performed automatically via a controller to predictably and safely deliver the substrate into the heating chamber for its heat treatment as disclosed by Saito wherein the light source that can be alternatively provided with an LED light source that is known to predictably provide a high heating light irradiation to adequately and suitably process the substrate as known in the art.
With respect to claim 7, Timans ‘612, as modified by Saito and Timans ‘724, discloses that the light transmitting window is made of a quartz (para 0061 of Timans ‘612) which is the same preferred material used in the disclosed invention (also, see para 0050 on page 16 of the Applicant’s specification) wherein the quart window of Timans ‘612 would also be also capable of transmitting at least 50% or more of the light from the LED light source as done in the Applicant’s invention. Also, see MPEP 21112.01.II.
With respect to claim 8, Timans ‘612, as modified by Saito and Timans ‘724, discloses the LED light source that is spaced or separated from the substrate, and while Timans ‘612 does not show that the separation is less than or equal to 50 mm, it would have been obvious to provide the LED light source to be less than or equal to 50 mm as a matter of routine optimization to predictably and effectively provide the desired high light irradiation without losing or weaking its light intensity if the light source is situated further away from the substrate.
With respect to claim 9, Timans ‘612, as modified by Saito and Timans ‘724, discloses the LED light source that emits radiation in the wavelength range that includes 100 nm (para 0039 of Timans ‘724) which is less than 500 nm wherein Timans ‘612 discloses the light transmitting window is formed of quartz which is known to be silica.
With respect to claim 10, Timans ‘612 as modified by Saito and Timans ‘724, discloses the chamber housing that that includes a first wall with a first light transmitting window (40) forming the first wall, a second wall opposed to the first wall wherein a second light transmitting window (42) forming the second wall wherein a first light source (46) irradiates the light through the first light transmitting widow and a second light source (44) irradiates the light through the second light transmitting window that performs the heat treatment on both a first side and a second side of the substrate as illustrated in Figure 1 wherein the first light source and the second light source can be an LED light source as taught by Timans ‘724 (also, see para 0039 Timans ‘724).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gat (US 2001/0002668) discloses a light transmitting window made of silica or quartz.
Toyoda (US 2014/0170862) discloses for a carrier with a plurality support arms for carrying and holding a substrate thereto with a transfer mechanism for transferring the carrier.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761