/DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 01/09/2024.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 16-25 are pending. Applicant has cancelled claims 6, 12-15 and 26-28. Applicant has elected Group I, Claims 1-5, 7-11 without traverse during telephone interview. Claims 16-25 are withdrawn as non-elected group claims.
Election/Restriction
4. Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-5, 7-11 drawn to a sorbent material for performing solid phase extraction, classified in b01j20/103.
II. Claims 16-25, drawn to a method for performing solid phase extraction, classified in G01N2030/8827.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case, sorbent material can used for microchip separation or filtration membrane or microfluidic separation instead of solid phase extraction.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
• the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification, and/or
• the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, and/or
• the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
5. A telephone call was made to Mr. Ricardo Joseph on 06/18/2026 to request an oral election to the above restriction requirement and applicant has elected Group I, Claims 1-5 and 7-11 without traverse. Group II claims will be withdrawn.
6. Applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a continuation or divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, the allowable linking claim, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or non-statutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Where a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is suggested to amend “the terminal” to “the at least two terminal” to ensure proper antecedent basis and to ensure consistency in the claim 2 line 1 and Claim 3 line 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
10. Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lauber et al (WO2019067637 A1, IDS cited reference by applicant).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Lauber discloses high purity chromatographic material (HPCM) utilized in the method of solid phase extraction (page 24 lines 13-17 and page 38-lines 8-10) comprising a porous particles having average particle size of 0.3 to 100 um (page 10 lines 3-13, 27-29, overlaps claimed range of greater than 5 um and less than 100 um), wherein the surface of the porous particles comprising a hydrophobic surface group and one or more ionizable modifiers with proviso that when the ionizable modifier does not contain a Zwitterion, the ionizable modifier does not contain a quaternary ammonium moiety (i.e. reads on ligand, page 25 lines 1-5, page 28 lines 24-25) wherein the one or more ionizable modifier includes bis(3-trimethoxysilylpropyl)-N-methylamine (page 29 lines 20-21, reads on claims 1-3, also reads ligand that includes one or more bridging alkyl substituted amines and at least two terminal siloxyl groups with less than 16 carbon atoms of claim 1). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, Lauber discloses hydrolytic stability over pH range from about 8.5 to 12 (see page 16 lines 23-27, page 10 lines 30-31). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, Lauber discloses porous particles are porous silica particles (page 10 lines 7-12, examples)
Regarding claim 7, Lauber discloses porous particles are porous silica/organic hybrid particles (page 25 lines 7-8, page 10 lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 8, Lauber discloses porous particles having ligand surface concentration is less than 0.7 umol/m2 (page 32 lines 14-17). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, Lauber discloses porous particles have an average pore diameter of between 20 to 1500 A (page 10 lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 10, Lauber discloses one more bridging alkyl substituted amines comprises one or more pKa values less than 10.5 (i.e., pKa=10, page 33 lines 9-11). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 11, Lauber discloses ligand with less than 12 carbon atoms (i.e., hydrophobic surface group and ionizable modifiers, page 16 lines 6-13, pages 27-29).
Conclusion
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 06/23/2026