DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 2-12 are objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Figures 13-14 are objected to because they appear to be low quality scans not suitable for printing and reproduction. When printed, the photographs will become obscured and difficult to interpret. Thus, new corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the submitted drawings are illegible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “preparing the fleet of vehicles to meet expected a future activation signal based on the power consumption flexibilities”. It is unclear what “meet expected a future” means. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting this phrase as “expected or future”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoonmaker et al. US PGPUB 2014/0330460.
Regarding claim 1, Schoonmaker discloses a method to provide ancillary services related to frequency reserve provision, voltage and/or reactive power control, inertia, and peak power reduction in an electrical grid [par. 9], the method comprises:
recurrently obtaining a present state for at least some vehicles of a fleet of vehicles being at least partly driven by electrical power provided by the electrical grid [par. 36-37 & 39; speed, energy demand and location of electric propulsion vehicles is monitored; fig. 1], wherein torque of one or more electrical motors which controls speed of each vehicle of the fleet of vehicles is at least partly controllable by power consumed by each vehicle [par. 33 & 36, electric-propulsion vehicles, thus the torque (of the electrical motors, which control speed) is controllable by consumption/application of electric power to the motor];
receiving or determining an activation signal including a required change in net power consumption to be provided to the electrical grid and a required duration of the required change in power net consumption [fig. 8, step 802-808; pars. 78-80; an energy shortage (demand>available) is determined and the plan is modified (change in net consumption) accordingly for a time period (required duration)];
recurrently determining a change of mode of operation for one or more of the vehicles based on a present state and a present mode of operation of the vehicles necessary to achieve the required change in net power consumption defined by the activation signal [pars. 37, 50, 52, 54, 60 & 80-81; energy demand of the vehicles is determined and modified according the to the feedback loop of fig. 8]; and
changing mode of operation for the one or more vehicles for the required duration to conform to the determined change of mode of operation thereby altering available electrical power in the electrical grid to provide the ancillary service [pars. 37, 50, 52, 54, 60 & 80-81; energy demand of the vehicles is determined and modified according the to the feedback loop of fig. 8, which assists with peak demand of the grid thereby providing an ancillary service].
Regarding claim 2, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the present state is at least one selected from the group consisting of weight, speed, location, torque, and net power consumption [par. 36-37 & 39; speed, energy demand and location of electric propulsion vehicles is monitored; fig. 1].
Regarding claim 3, Schoonmaker discloses wherein each vehicle of the one or more vehicles is in different modes of operation at different sub-intervals of the required duration [pars. 51-52, 56, 59, 63 & 79-82; the plans can be “vehicle-by-vehicle” such that in each iteration (sub-interval) of a total interval requiring demand control different vehicles are in different modes (high consumption allowed, reduce consumption, regenerative braking, etc.)].
Regarding claim 5, Schoonmaker discloses wherein all vehicles of the fleet of vehicles are trains [pars. 25-26 & 63].
Regarding claim 6, Schoonmaker discloses wherein all vehicles of the fleet of vehicles are road vehicles selected from the group consisting of trucks, busses and cars [par. 25-26; automobiles, “transportation vehicles”, “passenger car”].
Regarding claim 7, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the fleet of vehicles comprises a first sub-fleet of vehicles and a second sub- fleet of vehicles; all vehicles of the first sub-fleet of vehicles are trains; and all vehicles of the second sub-fleet of vehicles are road vehicles selected from the group consisting of trucks, busses and cars [par. 26 & 34; cars can be used in a system that is mainly trains or locomotives].
Regarding claim 8, Schoonmaker discloses wherein each vehicle of the fleet of vehicles is connected to the electrical grid by a current collector arranged on each vehicle [par. 34 & 38; catenary/overhead].
Regarding claim 10, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the current collector is a pantograph [par. 34 & 38; catenary line (which uses a pantographic on the vehicle)].
Regarding claim 11, Schoonmaker discloses further comprising:
determining a power consumption flexibility of each vehicle of the fleet of vehicles; and exploiting the power consumption flexibility to meet a future received or determined activation signal [par. 36, 42, 62-64, 66, 71 & 73; based on scheduled trips or lack of scheduled trips (more flexibility) a schedule is developed to meet future demand (activation signal)].
Regarding claim 12, Schoonmaker discloses further comprising preparing the fleet of vehicles to meet expected a future activation signal based on the power consumption flexibilities [par. 36, 42, 62-64, 66, 71 & 73; based on scheduled trips or lack of scheduled trips (more flexibility) a schedule is developed to meet future demand (activation signal)].
Regarding claim 13, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to delay a start action or execute a start action early for a predefined or calculated duration of time after or before a scheduled time, wherein the scheduled time at least in part is based on a departure time according to a timetable [par. 68-69; a trip can be modified to start earlier to meet limits of an energy plan, the trip has a schedule];
an estimated departure time had the vehicle been early or late in relation to a timetable;
or an estimated departure time for a vehicle operating without timetable [pars. 68-69].
Regarding claim 14, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to decrease or increase acceleration in a predefined or calculated duration of time [pars. 63-64 & 70; the train can have its speed control such as at a “slower rate of speed” for a particular amount of time].
Regarding claim 15, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to coast in a predefined or calculated duration of time [par. 58, 63 & 70-71; slower rate of speed or retaining the same speed to reduce energy usage; reducing energy on a decline or flat for a particular amount of time (“cruising”)].
Regarding claim 16, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to delay a deceleration action or execute a deceleration action early for a predefined or calculated duration of time after or before a scheduled time, wherein the scheduled time at least in part is based on an arrival time according to a timetable
[par. 24, 36, 40, 63 & 68-69; braking can be scheduled or adjusted (early or later) to meet a schedule or plan, the inclines can be known and thus a steep decline in the train’s path can be delayed or accelerated based on the train leaving earlier/later, the decline will result in a deceleration; the trip has a schedule];
an estimated arrival time had the vehicle been early or late in relation to a timetable; or
an estimated arrival time for a vehicle operating without timetable [pars. 68-69].
Regarding claim 18, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to brake and by utilizing the one or more electrical motors of the one or more vehicles re-generating power by operating the one or more electrical motors as generator(s) in a predefined or calculated duration of time in order to provide power to the electrical grid [pars. 24, 36, 40, 70 & 95; coordinated/scheduled regenerating braking; the regenerative braking can return energy to the grid].
Regarding claim 19, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to decrease or increase set speed in a predefined or calculated duration of time [pars. 36, 63-64, 70 & 95; the train can have its speed control such as at a “slower rate of speed” for a particular amount of time].
Regarding claim 20, Schoonmaker discloses a system to provide ancillary services related to frequency reserve provision, voltage, inertia, and reactive power control and/or peak power reduction for an electrical grid [figs. 1-3; par. 9], the system comprises:
a fleet of vehicles being at least partly driven by electrical power provided by the electrical grid [par. 36-37 & 39; speed, energy demand and location of electric propulsion vehicles is monitored; fig. 1], wherein torque of one or more electrical motors which controls speed of each vehicle of the fleet of vehicles is at least partly controllable by power consumed by each vehicle [par. 33 & 36, electric-propulsion vehicles, thus the torque (of the electrical motors, which control speed) is controllable by consumption/application of electric power to the motor];
one or more processors configured to recurrently obtain a present state for at least some vehicles of a fleet of vehicles being at least partly driven by electrical power provided by the electrical grid [fig. 3; par. 47-51; 300 has is a planning system with a processor for obtaining present states of the vehicles and planning power consumption],
wherein torque of one or more electrical motors which controls speed of each vehicle of the fleet of vehicles is at least partly controllable by power consumed by each vehicle [par. 33 & 36, electric-propulsion vehicles, thus the torque (of the electrical motors, which control speed) is controllable by consumption/application of electric power to the motor];
receive or determine an activation signal including a required change in net power consumption to be provided to the electrical grid and a required duration of the required change in power net consumption [fig. 8, step 802-808; pars. 78-80; an energy shortage (demand>available) is determined and the plan is modified (change in net consumption) accordingly for a time period (required duration)];
recurrently determine a change of mode of operation for one or more of the vehicles based on a present state and a present mode of operation of the vehicles necessary to achieve the required change in net power consumption defined by the activation signal [pars. 37, 50, 52, 54, 60 & 80-81; energy demand of the vehicles is determined and modified according the to the feedback loop of fig. 8]; and
change mode of operation for the one or more vehicles for the required duration to conform to the determined change of mode of operation thereby altering available electrical power in the electrical grid to provide the ancillary service; wherein the fleet of vehicles is connected and configured to provide an ancillary service to the electrical grid [pars. 37, 50, 52, 54, 60 & 80-81; energy demand of the vehicles is determined and modified according the to the feedback loop of fig. 8, which assists with peak demand of the grid thereby providing an ancillary service].
Regarding claim 21, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the ancillary service is at least one selected from the group consisting of frequency reserve provision, voltage and reactive power control and peak power reduction [pars. 37, 50, 52, 54, 60 & 80-81; energy demand of the vehicles is determined and modified according the to the feedback loop of fig. 8, which assists with peak demand of the grid thereby providing an ancillary service].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoonmaker et al. US PGPUB 2014/0330460 in view of Kempton et al. US PGPUB 2011/0202418.
Regarding claim 4, Schoonmaker discloses wherein receiving or determining the activation signal comprises: measuring locally a frequency of the electrical grid, from which the one or more of the vehicles consumes power; and if the measured frequency is outside a predefined frequency range or a rate of change of the frequency is outside a predefined range, determining one or more modes of operation for the one or more vehicles so as to contribute or bring the frequency within the predefined frequency range.
However, Kempton discloses an electric vehicle charging system with V2G power [par. 92] wherein receiving or determining the activation signal comprises: measuring locally a frequency of the electrical grid, from which the one or more of the vehicles consumes power [pars. 39, & 138-139]; and
if the measured frequency is outside a predefined frequency range or a rate of change of the frequency is outside a predefined range, determining one or more modes of operation for the one or more vehicles so as to contribute or bring the frequency within the predefined frequency range [pars. 39, 138-139 & 192; measuring the frequency and correcting is when need (“detect and correct”), thus some range is defined as correct and some range is defined as incorrect].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schoonmaker to further include wherein receiving or determining the activation signal comprises: measuring locally a frequency of the electrical grid, from which the one or more of the vehicles consumes power; and if the measured frequency is outside a predefined frequency range or a rate of change of the frequency is outside a predefined range, determining one or more modes of operation for the one or more vehicles so as to contribute or bring the frequency within the predefined frequency range for the purpose of correcting the local frequency when needed, as taught by Kempton (pars. 39, 138-139 & 192).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoonmaker et al. US PGPUB 2014/0330460.
Regarding claim 9, Schoonmaker does not explicitly disclose wherein the current collector is a wireless current collector.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a wireless current collector, such as a charging lane which uses inductive power transfer on a road. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include wherein for the purpose of allowing charging of moving vehicles while maintaining current aesthetics, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoonmaker et al. US PGPUB 2014/0330460 in view of Huber et al. US PGPUB 2013/0140121.
Regarding claim 17, Schoonmaker discloses wherein the change in mode of operation causes at least one of the vehicles in the fleet of vehicles to brake in said one or more vehicle in a predefined or calculated duration of time [pars. 24, 36, 40, 70 & 95; coordinated/scheduled braking].
However, Huber discloses an electric vehicle charging system which dissipates energy in brake resistors [par. 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schoonmaker to further include wherein dissipating energy in brake resistors for the purpose of mitigating dangerous voltage transients, as taught by Huber (par. 16).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Peitzke et al. US PGPUB 2011/0037275 discloses an electric vehicle charging system for rail-based vehicles allowing the rail vehicles to discharge energy back to the grid for frequency regulation and peak demand.
Peitzke et al. US PGPUB 2013/0043721 discloses an electric vehicle charging system for rail-based vehicles allowing the rail vehicles to discharge energy back to the grid for frequency regulation and peak demand, including control of the torque of the vehicles.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859