DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 20, 22 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 9 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,921,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely broader than the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 61 recites “wherein one of the first and second transmissive electrodes is patterned in areas separated by gaps, and the other of the first and second transmissive electrodes is not patterned,” whereas claim 20, from which claim 61 depends, has been amended to require both the first and second transmissive electrodes are patterned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22, 26, 27, 51 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatani et al. (US 2008/0316366), of record, in view of Mizuki et al. (US 2008/0123037).
Regarding claim 20, Takatani discloses a display device (Figs. 1-11) for use in ambient illumination comprising:
a spatial light modulator (14, Fig. 1) arranged to output light (paras. [0047, 0050]), wherein the spatial light modulator comprises a display polariser (13) arranged on a side of the spatial light modulator (Fig. 1), the display polariser being a linear polariser (para. [0045]);
a view angle control arrangement (12) comprising:
an additional polariser (11) arranged on the same side of the of the spatial light modulator (14) as the display polariser (13) outside the display polariser (Fig. 1), the additional polariser being a linear polariser (para. [0043]); and
at least one polar control retarder (12) arranged between the display polariser (13) and the additional polariser (11), the at least one polar control retarder including a switchable liquid crystal retarder (23, 12) comprising a layer of liquid crystal material (23), and first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) on opposite sides of the layer of liquid crystal material (Fig. 1), wherein the first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) are patterned in areas separated by gaps, such that on the the first and second transmissive electrodes the gaps define a plurality of areas and different voltages maybe applied to each of the plurality of areas (Figs. 4, 6; paras. [0063, 0099]), to provide plural addressable regions of the layer of liquid crystal material (paras. [0063, 0090, 0099, 0121]), at least one of the plural regions being in a shape of a mark for display to an observer (Figs. 4, 6; paras. [0041, 0063, 0092, 0122]); and
a control system arranged to control the spatial light modulator (14) and to apply voltages across the first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) for driving the layer of liquid crystal material (23) (paras. [0047-0049]),
wherein the control system is arranged to be operable in plural modes of operation (paras. [0040, 0049, 0122, 0129]), including:
a wide-angle operational display mode (Fig. 3), in which the control system controls the spatial light modulator (14) to display an operational image and applies voltages across the first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) that drive the layer of liquid crystal material (23) into a same state in different regions such that: the operational image is visible in each of the regions at a wide angle and at a narrow angle; and the mark is not visible at the narrow angle or at the wide angle (Fig. 3; paras. [0041, 0055, 0086]); and
a narrow-angle operational mark display mode (Fig. 4), in which the control system controls the spatial light modulator (14) to display an operational image and applies voltages across the first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) that drive the layer of liquid crystal material (23) into different states in different regions such that: the operational image is visible in each of the regions at the narrow angle but is not visible in each of the regions at the wide angle; and the mark is not visible at the narrow angle, but is visible at the wide angle (Fig. 4; paras. [0041, 0060, 0063, 0075, 0079, 0099-0100, 0122-0123]).
Takatani fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gaps that are aligned across the layer of liquid crystal material are offset.
However, Mizuki discloses a display device (Figs. 1-4), wherein the gaps (40, 41) that are aligned across the layer of liquid crystal material (30) are offset (Figs. 1-7; para. [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the gaps that are aligned across the layer of liquid crystal material are offset, as in Mizuki, into the display device of Takatani to improve response speed while suppressing a drop in contrast (Mizuki, para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 22, Takatani discloses wherein the display polariser (13) is an output polariser arranged on an output side of the spatial light modulator (14), and the additional polariser (11) is arranged on an output side of the display polariser (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Takatani discloses wherein the wide angle is a polar angle of 45° from a normal to the display device at a predetermined azimuth angle around the normal to the display device (Figs. 3-4, 12-13; paras. [0056, 0061, 0071, 0081-0083, 0089]).
Regarding claim 27, Takatani discloses wherein the narrow angle is in a range of polar angles of from 0° to 20° from a normal to the spatial light modulator (14) at the predetermined azimuth angle (Figs. 3-4, 12-13; paras. 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 51, Takatani discloses wherein the mark is an icon or text (Figs. 4, 6; paras. [0041, 0092]).
Regarding claim 61, Takatani discloses wherein one of the first and second transmissive electrodes (26, 27) is patterned in areas separated by gaps, and the other of the first and second transmissive electrodes is not patterned (paras. [0063, 0090, 0121]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatani et al. (US 2008/0316366) in view of Mizuki et al. (US 2008/0123037), as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (US 2019/0250458), of record.
Regarding claim 23, Takatani in view of Mizuki discloses the limitations of claims 20 and 22 above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the view angle control arrangement further comprises a reflective polariser arranged between the output polariser and the additional polariser, the reflective polariser being a linear polariser, and the at least one polar control retarder is arranged between the reflective polariser and the additional polariser.
However, Robinson discloses a display device (Fig. 1), wherein the view angle control arrangement (Fig. 1) further comprises a reflective polariser (302) arranged between the output polariser (218) and the additional polariser (318), the reflective polariser (302) being a linear polariser (para. [0254]), and the at least one polar control retarder (300) is arranged between the reflective polariser (302) and the additional polariser (318) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the view angle control arrangement further comprises a reflective polariser arranged between the output polariser and the additional polariser, the reflective polariser being a linear polariser, and the at least one polar control retarder is arranged between the reflective polariser and the additional polariser, as in Robinson, into the display device of Takatani and Mizuki for enhanced luminance and light efficiency.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatani et al. (US 2008/0316366) in view of Mizuki et al. (US 2008/0123037), as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Gass et al. (US 2007/0040780), of record.
Regarding claim 52, Takatani in view of Mizuki discloses the limitations of claim 20 above, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the gaps have a width of at most twice a thickness of the layer of liquid crystal material.
However, Gass discloses a display device (Fig. 1), wherein the gaps (in between 103) have a width of at most twice a thickness of the layer of liquid crystal material (105) (Fig. 1; paras. [0161, 0165, 0232]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the gaps have a width of at most twice a thickness of the layer of liquid crystal material, as in Gass, into the display device of Takatani and Mizuki for enhanced contrast of the mark in the display as desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on the primary reference applied in the prior rejection of record for the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, the new ground of rejection over Takatani in view of Mizuki is considered appropriate in accordance with the amendments to the claim.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871