Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 14-20 in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goulis et al (US 20190301948 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goulis discloses a system for monitoring temperature (thermocouple system) of a product, comprising: at least one temperature probe assembly (108); and a docking station (104 which comprises 204 and 128) configured to selectively receive (Fig.1) the temperature probe assembly (108) in a docked position (Fig.1), the docking station (104) configured to create an electrical connection (para [0053]) to the temperature probe assembly (108) when the temperature probe assembly (108) is in the docked position (Fig.1), and the docking station (104 which comprises 204 and 128) programmed to communicate (Fig.1, para [0068]) with the temperature probe assembly (108) in a leader/follower (144) relationship.
Regarding claim 2, Goulis discloses the system for monitoring temperature (thermocouple system), wherein the docking station (104 which comprises 204 and 128) is associated with a first network (para [0101]), and wherein the temperature probe assembly (108) has settings associated with the first network (para [0101]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goulis et al in view of Pulvermacher et al (US 20190339133 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Goulis discloses the system (thermocouple system), wherein the docking station (104 which comprises 204 and 128); wherein the system (thermocouple system); associated with a second network (para [0101]), and wherein the temperature probe assembly (108) is configured to update its settings based on the second network when connected (para [0101]). Goulis fails to explicitly disclose a first docking station; a second docking station.
Pulvermacher teaches a first docking station (38; Figs.5, 6A and 6B); a second docking station (48; Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Goulis’ thermocouple system with Pulvermacher’s first and a second docking station because this will provide an efficient way of charging, collecting and transmitting data.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goulis et al in view of Roshandel et al (US 20150124852 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Goulis discloses the system (thermocouple system),wherein the temperature probe assembly (108) further comprises: a temperature probe (140) configured to sense a temperature (para [0069]) of the product; electrical communication with the temperature probe (140); Goulis fails to explicitly disclose a body; a battery disposed within the body; an electrical connector fixed to the body, the electrical connector configured to charge the battery; and a communication device disposed within the body.
Roshandel teaches a body (10); a battery (Fig.2) disposed within the body (10); an electrical connector (para [0022]) fixed to the body (10), the electrical connector (para [0022]) configured to charge the battery (Fig.2); and a communication device (20) disposed within the body (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Goulis’ thermocouple system with a battery as taught by Roshandel because this will provide continuous tracking of the products’ temperature and greatly reduce food waste.
Regarding claim 5, Goulis discloses the system (thermocouple system), wherein the temperature probe assembly (108). Goulis fails to explicitly disclose a scanner fixed to the body.
Roshandel teaches scanner (71) fixed to the body (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Goulis’ thermocouple system with a scanner as taught by Roshandel because this will provide continuous tracking of the products’ temperature and greatly reduce food waste.
Allowable Subject Matter
14-20 are allowed.
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the prior art alone or in combination fails to explicitly disclose telemetry data collected that includes a target temperature and an ambient temperature as measured by the temperature probe. The telemetry data further includes a probe sensor serial number, a temperature of a battery of the temperature probe, a voltage of the battery, a state of charge of the battery, a probe state or status, and at least one scanned barcode.
Regarding claims 14-20, Goulis discloses a method for measuring a temperature ( method of determining a temperature) of a product with a temperature probe assembly (108), the temperature probe assembly (108) comprising a temperature probe (140) configured to sense a temperature (Abstract); receiving a temperature reading (para [0050]), via the temperature probe (108), the temperature reading corresponding (para [0050]) to a temperature of a product in which the temperature probe (108) is inserted.
The prior art fails to explicitly disclose the method comprising: scanning a code, via the scanner; and outputting an indication of the temperature reading, based on the code in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
The remaining claims are allowable due to their dependency.
Conclusion
/MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855