Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “at least one at printed circuit board” appears to have a typo. It appears that “at” should be deleted or an appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minikey, JR. et al (US 2016/0159287 A1, Minikey).
Regarding claim 1, Minikey discloses a rearview mirror assembly for a vehicle (Figs. 1-14A) comprising:
a housing (para 28, “housing 30”);
a mounting bracket (para 45, “internal support 107”) connected to the housing (see Fig. 4, when the mirror is assembled 107 is connected to 30);
a mounting member (para 45, “mount 105”) extending between
a member first end (Fig. 4, one end close to 32) configured to attach to an overhead structure (para 44, “mounting member 32”) of the vehicle (para 28, “32 is adapted for mounting on a windshield or a headliner of a vehicle”) and
a connection end (Fig. 4, the other end close to housing 30) connected to the mounting bracket (para 45, “a plurality of fasteners 108 secure … 107 with … 105”); and
a tether (para 45, “wire harness 109”) including a first end connected to the mounting bracket (see Fig. 5, one end of 109 is connected to 107), the tether (109) extending at least partially through a hollow interior (para 45, “109 is routed through barrel 111”) of the mounting member (105) to a second end (close to 32) that is configured to attach to the overhead structure of the vehicle (see Fig. 4, the second end is configured to attach to 32, also Figs. 3 an 3A show 109 attached to 32).
Regarding claim 6, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection end forms a joint (by 108) with the mounting bracket (107) permitting relative articulation (Fig. 4, by actuator device 110) between the mounting bracket (107) and the mounting member (105).
Regarding claim 9, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 1, wherein the tether includes a cord extending between the first end and the second end (see Figs. 3A and 4, 109 extends between 32 and 107).
Regarding claim 10, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 1, wherein the member first end defines a slot and the tether extends through the slot (see Fig. 3A, 109 is extends through the slot of 105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey, JR. et al (US 2016/0159287 A1, Minikey) in view of Fllipiak (US 8,201,800 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Minikey discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the rearview mirror assembly includes at least one electronic component located in the housing.
Fillipiak disclose wherein the rearview mirror assembly includes at least one electronic component located in the housing (column 4, lines 65-67, “reflect element 16 includes an electro-chromic material positioned between the front glass element 100 and the rear glass element 102”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to include at least one electronic component such as electrochromic mirror for the purpose of improving night driving safety, reducing drive fatigue and eye strain and providing clearer overall rear view.
Regarding claim 3, Fillipiak discloses wherein the at least one electronic component includes a power supply wiring (Fig. 5 and column 5, line 40 “wiring 50”) routed at least partially through the hollow interior of the mounting member (Fig. 5, see 40 has a hollow interior wherein the wiring 50 is routed through), but silent on a tether cord.
Minikey has a tether cord extending at least partially through the hollow interior of the mounting member, but silent on a power supply wiring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to put both the tether cord and the power supply wiring extending at least partially through the hollow interior of the mounting member for the purpose of completely hiding wires from view, avoiding dangling or exposed cables along the headliner, and further improving safety because exposed wires can distract the driver or get caught on objects. Hidden routing reduces these risks and protects wires from damage.
Regarding claim 4, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 3, wherein the at least one electronic component includes an electro-optic assembly (Fillipiak, column 4, lines 65-67, “reflect element 16 includes an electro-chromic material positioned between the front glass element 100 and the rear glass element 102”).
Regarding claim 5, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 4, wherein the at least one electronic component further includes a camera and a light source (Fillipiak, column 16, line 1, “camera” camera inherently has a light source).
Regarding claim 11, Minikey discloses a rearview mirror assembly for a vehicle (Figs. 1-14A) comprising:
a housing (para 28, “housing 30”);
a mounting bracket (para 45, “internal support 107”) connected to the housing (see Fig. 4, when the mirror is assembled 107 is connected to 30);
a mounting member (para 45, “mount 105”) extending between
a member first end (Fig. 4, one end close to 32) configured to attach to an overhead structure (para 44, “mounting member 32”) of the vehicle (para 28, “32 is adapted for mounting on a windshield or a headliner of a vehicle”) and
a connection end (Fig. 4, the other end close to housing 30) connected to the mounting bracket (para 45, “a plurality of fasteners 108 secure … 107 with … 105”); and
a tether (para 45, “wire harness 109”) including a cord (109 is a cord) having a first end connected to the mounting bracket (see Fig. 5, one end of 109 is connected to 107), the cord (109) extending at least partially through a hollow interior (para 45, “109 is routed through barrel 111”) of the mounting member (105) to a second end (close to 32) that is configured to attach to the overhead structure of the vehicle (see Fig. 4, the second end is configured to attach to 32, also Figs. 3 an 3A show 109 attached to 32).
However, Minikey does not disclose:
at least one electronic component and at least one at printed circuit board ("PCB") in the housing that controls functionality of the at least one electronic component;
a power supply wiring extending at least partially through a hollow interior of the
mounting member and operably coupled to the at least one PCB.
Fillipiak disclose wherein the rearview mirror assembly includes at least one electronic component (column 4, lines 65-67, “reflect element 16 includes an electro-chromic material positioned between the front glass element 100 and the rear glass element 102”) and at least one at printed circuit board (Fig. 1 and column 4, lines 18-26 and lines 43-50, “circuit board 38 and the reflective element 16 are located adjacent the carrier plate 32”) in the housing (see Fig. 1, 38 and 16 are in the housing) that controls functionality of the at least one electronic component (column 5, lines 40-45, “wiring 50 is routed through the mounting bracket 29 and into the housing 12 for supplying and/or receiving power and control to circuits on the circuit board 38 … the wiring 50 can be used to power the EC mirror … or power and/or control and of the electrical components …”); and
a power supply wiring (Fig. 5 and column 5, line 40 “wiring 50”) extending at least partially through a hollow interior of the mounting member (Fig. 5, see 40 has a hollow interior wherein the wiring 50 is routed through), and operably coupled to the at least one PCB (see Fig. 4, 50 is operably coupled to 38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to include at least one electronic component such as electrochromic mirror for the purpose of improving night driving safety, reducing drive fatigue and eye strain and providing clearer overall rear view; then further
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to put both the tether cord and the power supply wiring extending at least partially through the hollow interior of the mounting member for the purpose of completely hiding wires from view, avoiding dangling or exposed cables along the headliner, and further improving safety because exposed wires can distract the driver or get caught on objects. Hidden routing reduces these risks and protects wires from damage.
Regarding claim 12, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 11, wherein the cord includes a length that provides an amount of slack less than an amount of slack than the power supply wiring (Minikey’s 109 shown in Fig. 4 appears to have less slack than Fllipaik’s 50 shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, the rearview mirror assembly of claim 12, wherein the at least one electronic component includes at least one of an electro-optic assembly, a camera, or a light source (Fillipiak, column 16, line 1, “camera” camera inherently has a light source).
Regarding claim 15, Minikey in view of Fillipiak discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the at least one PCB includes a first PCB and a second PCB, both operably coupled to the power supply wiring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to have the at least one PCB includes a first PCB and a second PCB, both operably coupled to the power supply wiring for the purpose of achieving modular design and easier upgrades/manufacturing and better space utilization in compact housing.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minikey, JR. et al (US 2016/0159287 A1, Minikey) in view of Fllipiak (US 8,201,800 B2) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Zhao et al (US 2021/0097864 A1).
Minikey in view of Fillipiak discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the at least one electronic component includes a communication module for contacting emergency services.
Zhao discloses at least one electronic component includes a communication module for contacting emergency services (para 101).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to have at least one electronic component including a communication module for contacting emergency as taught by Zhao for the purpose of contacting emergency services in the event of emergency for assistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 7 and 8, claims are allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the mounting bracket defines a post extending from the mounting bracket to a chamfer, and the first end of the tether is looped around the post and retained by the chamfer as set forth in the claimed combination.
Regarding claims 16-20, claims are allowable at least for the reason that the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the mounting bracket defining a post and the tether having a first end defining a loop extending around the post as set forth in the claimed combination.
Minikey discloses a rearview mirror assembly for a vehicle (Figs. 1-14A) comprising:
a housing (para 28, “housing 30”);
a mounting bracket (para 45, “internal support 107”) connected to the housing (see Fig. 4, when the mirror is assembled 107 is connected to 30);
a mounting member (para 45, “mount 105”) extending between
a member first end (Fig. 4, one end close to 32) configured to attach to an overhead structure (para 44, “mounting member 32”) of the vehicle (para 28, “32 is adapted for mounting on a windshield or a headliner of a vehicle”) and
a connection end (Fig. 4, the other end close to housing 30) connected to the mounting bracket (para 45, “a plurality of fasteners 108 secure … 107 with … 105”); and
a tether including cord (para 45, “wire harness 109”) including a first end connected to the mounting bracket (see Fig. 5, one end of 109 is connected to 107),
the cord (109) extending to a second end (close to 32) that is configured to attach to the overhead structure of the vehicle (see Fig. 4, the second end is configured to attach to 32, also Figs. 3 an 3A show 109 attached to 32).
However, Minikey does not disclose the mounting bracket defining a post and the tether having a first end defining a loop extending around the post as set forth in the claimed combination.
Conclusion
12/26/2025
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872